DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-10, 12, and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory non-obvious type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 3-9 of copending Application No. 19/027,816. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application are rendered obvious by the claims of the copending Application No. 19/027,816.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the copending Application No. 19/027,816 and the applications are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 19/024,700
Copending Application No. 19/027,816
Claims 1 and 12 maps to
Claim 1
Claims 4 and 15
Claim 3
Claims 5 and 16
Claim 4
Claim 6
Claim 5
Claims 7 and 17
Claim 6
Claims 8 and 18
Claim 7
Claims 9 and 19
Claim 8
Claims 10 and 20
Claim 9
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over corresponding claims as mapped in table below of U.S. Patent No. 8677385 in view of Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matter or they are obvious variation of claims in US Patent 8677385.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 19/024,700
U.S. Patent No. 8677385
Claims 1 and 12 maps to
Combination of claims 1 and 7
Combination of claims 1 and 7 of US Patent 8677385 claims inventive steps same as of the inventive steps in claims 1 and 12 of instant application. However, claim 1 of US Patent 8677385 does not claim limitations, “generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.”
Doe discloses, generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member (Par. 0053, one or more viewing probabilities calculated by the viewing probability engine 114 take into consideration any number of characteristics derived from the characteristic imputation engine 112 such as, but not limited to, household size, number of televisions in the household, time-of-day tuning, genre of programs viewed, sex, and/or age. For each household television, the viewing probability engine 114 calculates and allocates a probability of viewing minutes for each household audience member, which may be accumulated to derive viewership. Par. 0024, An audience summary manager 116 is communicatively connected to the viewing probability engine 114 to provide a user with formulas, charts, tables, and/or other formatted output indicative of audience viewing probability information, i.e. generating viewership reports from data provided by viewing probability engine).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 8677385 to include above limitation as taught by Doe, to understanding audience behavior that allows marketing entities to more effectively target the audience with marketing materials that are likely to have an impact, as disclosed in Doe par. 0003.
Doe does not disclose, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.
Ramaswamy discloses, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household (Par. 0022, fig. 1, processing server 175 utilizes audience measurement data received from content exposure meter (i.e. located in viewer household) 150 to determine which content was presented and/or consumed at and/or via the example media device 105 to form content exposure data for the media device 105 and/or for a collection of one or more media devices 105, as shown audience exposure processing server or entity is located remotely from the location of meter device in household).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 8677385 in view of Doe to include above limitation as taught by Ramaswamy rationale for locating audience measurement entity remote from the media service provider household would be to keep the audience measurement entity in secure environment to avoid any interference in its operation.
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over corresponding claims as mapped in table below of U.S. Patent No. 9055334 in view of Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matter or they are obvious variation of claims in US Patent 9055334.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 19/024,700
U.S. Patent No. 9055334
Claims 1 and 12 maps to
Combination of claims 1 and 7
Combination of claims 1 and 7 of US Patent 9055334 claims inventive steps same as of the inventive steps in claims 1 and 12 of instant application. However, combination of claims 1 and 7 of US Patent 9055334 does not claim limitations, “generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.”
Doe discloses, generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member (Par. 0053, one or more viewing probabilities calculated by the viewing probability engine 114 take into consideration any number of characteristics derived from the characteristic imputation engine 112 such as, but not limited to, household size, number of televisions in the household, time-of-day tuning, genre of programs viewed, sex, and/or age. For each household television, the viewing probability engine 114 calculates and allocates a probability of viewing minutes for each household audience member, which may be accumulated to derive viewership. Par. 0024, An audience summary manager 116 is communicatively connected to the viewing probability engine 114 to provide a user with formulas, charts, tables, and/or other formatted output indicative of audience viewing probability information, i.e. generating viewership reports from data provided by viewing probability engine).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 9055334 to include above limitation as taught by Doe, to understanding audience behavior that allows marketing entities to more effectively target the audience with marketing materials that are likely to have an impact, as disclosed in Doe par. 0003.
Doe does not disclose, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.
Ramaswamy discloses, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household (Par. 0022, fig. 1, processing server 175 utilizes audience measurement data received from content exposure meter (i.e. located in viewer household) 150 to determine which content was presented and/or consumed at and/or via the example media device 105 to form content exposure data for the media device 105 and/or for a collection of one or more media devices 105, as shown audience exposure processing server or entity is located remotely from the location of meter device in household).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 9055334 in view of Doe to include above limitation as taught by Ramaswamy rationale for locating audience measurement entity remote from the media service provider household would be to keep the audience measurement entity in secure environment to avoid any interference in its operation.
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over corresponding claims as mapped in table below of U.S. Patent No. 9521456 in view of Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matter or they are obvious variation of claims in US Patent 9521456.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 19/024,700
U.S. Patent No. 9521456
Claims 1 and 12 maps to
Combination of claims 1 and 9
Combination of claims 1 and 9 of US Patent 9521456 claims inventive steps same as of the inventive steps in claims 1 and 12 of instant application. However, combination of claim 1 and 9 of US Patent 9521456 does not claim limitations, “generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.”
Doe discloses, generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member (Par. 0053, one or more viewing probabilities calculated by the viewing probability engine 114 take into consideration any number of characteristics derived from the characteristic imputation engine 112 such as, but not limited to, household size, number of televisions in the household, time-of-day tuning, genre of programs viewed, sex, and/or age. For each household television, the viewing probability engine 114 calculates and allocates a probability of viewing minutes for each household audience member, which may be accumulated to derive viewership. Par. 0024, An audience summary manager 116 is communicatively connected to the viewing probability engine 114 to provide a user with formulas, charts, tables, and/or other formatted output indicative of audience viewing probability information, i.e. generating viewership reports from data provided by viewing probability engine).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 9521456 to include above limitation as taught by Doe, to understanding audience behavior that allows marketing entities to more effectively target the audience with marketing materials that are likely to have an impact, as disclosed in Doe par. 0003.
Doe does not disclose, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.
Ramaswamy discloses, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household (Par. 0022, fig. 1, processing server 175 utilizes audience measurement data received from content exposure meter (i.e. located in viewer household) 150 to determine which content was presented and/or consumed at and/or via the example media device 105 to form content exposure data for the media device 105 and/or for a collection of one or more media devices 105, as shown audience exposure processing server or entity is located remotely from the location of meter device in household).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 9521456 in view of Doe to include above limitation as taught by Ramaswamy rationale for locating audience measurement entity remote from the media service provider household would be to keep the audience measurement entity in secure environment to avoid any interference in its operation.
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over corresponding claims as mapped in table below of U.S. Patent No. 9942607 in view of Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matter or they are obvious variation of claims in US Patent 9942607.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 19/024,700
U.S. Patent No. 9942607
Claims 1 and 12 maps to
Combination of claims 5 and 12
Combination of claims 5 and 12 of US Patent 9942607 claims inventive steps same as of the inventive steps in claims 1 and 12 of instant application. However, combination of claim 5 and 12 of US Patent 9942607 does not claim limitations, “the first program identification data and the associated audience identification data collected from a first household, obtaining second program identification data for a television of a second household, generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.”
Doe discloses, the first program identification data and the associated audience identification data collected from a first household, obtaining second program identification data for a television of a second household (Par. 0020, system 100 to facilitate set-top box modeling using data from panelist households (e.g., households that have a people meter). the system 100 includes a set of households 102 include a first subset of non-panelist households 104 households with STBs only) and a second subset of panelist households 106 (e.g., households that have agreed to be monitored and, thus, have both an STB and People Meter.RTM. (PM)). The second set of households 106 are statistically selected to participate (i.e. panelist households, in an audience measurement study and provide both behavior data (e.g., channel changes, volume changes, time-of-day viewing information, etc.) and personalized consumer data (e.g., demographic data related to the household). Par. 0021, The data collected from the STBs of the non-panelist households 104 and/or the panelist households 106 may be stored in one or more memory devices, such as one or more databases. Data collected from the non-panelist household STBs 104 includes behavior information such as, but not limited to, dates and times of viewing a selected channel),
generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member (Par. 0053, one or more viewing probabilities calculated by the viewing probability engine 114 take into consideration any number of characteristics derived from the characteristic imputation engine 112 such as, but not limited to, household size, number of televisions in the household, time-of-day tuning, genre of programs viewed, sex, and/or age. For each household television, the viewing probability engine 114 calculates and allocates a probability of viewing minutes for each household audience member, which may be accumulated to derive viewership. Par. 0024, An audience summary manager 116 is communicatively connected to the viewing probability engine 114 to provide a user with formulas, charts, tables, and/or other formatted output indicative of audience viewing probability information, i.e. generating viewership reports from data provided by viewing probability engine).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 9942607 to include above limitation as taught by Doe, to understanding audience behavior that allows marketing entities to more effectively target the audience with marketing materials that are likely to have an impact, as disclosed in Doe par. 0003.
Doe does not disclose, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.
Ramaswamy discloses, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household (Par. 0022, fig. 1, processing server 175 utilizes audience measurement data received from content exposure meter (i.e. located in viewer household) 150 to determine which content was presented and/or consumed at and/or via the example media device 105 to form content exposure data for the media device 105 and/or for a collection of one or more media devices 105, as shown audience exposure processing server or entity is located remotely from the location of meter device in household).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 9942607 in view of Doe to include above limitation as taught by Ramaswamy rationale for locating audience measurement entity remote from the media service provider household would be to keep the audience measurement entity in secure environment to avoid any interference in its operation.
Claims 1, 5, 12 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over corresponding claims as mapped in table below of U.S. Patent No. 10231012 in view of Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matter or they are obvious variation of claims in US Patent 10231012.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 19/024,700
U.S. Patent No. 10231012
Claims 1 and 12 maps to
Combination of claims 1 and 5
Claims 5 and 16 maps to
Claim 2
Combination of claims 1 and 5 of US Patent 10231012 claims inventive steps same as of the inventive steps in claims 1 and 12 of instant application. However, combination of claim 1 and 5 of US Patent 10231012 does not claim limitations, “the first program identification data and the associated audience identification data collected from a first household, obtaining second program identification data for a television of a second household, generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.”
Doe discloses, the first program identification data and the associated audience identification data collected from a first household, obtaining second program identification data for a television of a second household (Par. 0020, system 100 to facilitate set-top box modeling using data from panelist households (e.g., households that have a people meter). the system 100 includes a set of households 102 include a first subset of non-panelist households 104 households with STBs only) and a second subset of panelist households 106 (e.g., households that have agreed to be monitored and, thus, have both an STB and People Meter.RTM. (PM)). The second set of households 106 are statistically selected to participate (i.e. panelist households, in an audience measurement study and provide both behavior data (e.g., channel changes, volume changes, time-of-day viewing information, etc.) and personalized consumer data (e.g., demographic data related to the household). Par. 0021, The data collected from the STBs of the non-panelist households 104 and/or the panelist households 106 may be stored in one or more memory devices, such as one or more databases. Data collected from the non-panelist household STBs 104 includes behavior information such as, but not limited to, dates and times of viewing a selected channel),
generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member (Par. 0053, one or more viewing probabilities calculated by the viewing probability engine 114 take into consideration any number of characteristics derived from the characteristic imputation engine 112 such as, but not limited to, household size, number of televisions in the household, time-of-day tuning, genre of programs viewed, sex, and/or age. For each household television, the viewing probability engine 114 calculates and allocates a probability of viewing minutes for each household audience member, which may be accumulated to derive viewership. Par. 0024, An audience summary manager 116 is communicatively connected to the viewing probability engine 114 to provide a user with formulas, charts, tables, and/or other formatted output indicative of audience viewing probability information, i.e. generating viewership reports from data provided by viewing probability engine).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 10231012 to include above limitation as taught by Doe, to understanding audience behavior that allows marketing entities to more effectively target the audience with marketing materials that are likely to have an impact, as disclosed in Doe par. 0003.
Doe does not disclose, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.
Ramaswamy discloses, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household (Par. 0022, fig. 1, processing server 175 utilizes audience measurement data received from content exposure meter (i.e. located in viewer household) 150 to determine which content was presented and/or consumed at and/or via the example media device 105 to form content exposure data for the media device 105 and/or for a collection of one or more media devices 105, as shown audience exposure processing server or entity is located remotely from the location of meter device in household).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 10231012 in view of Doe to include above limitation as taught by Ramaswamy rationale for locating audience measurement entity remote from the media service provider household would be to keep the audience measurement entity in secure environment to avoid any interference in its operation.
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over corresponding claims as mapped in table below of U.S. Patent No. 10924802 in view of Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matter or they are obvious variation of claims in US Patent 10924802.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 19/024,700
U.S. Patent No. 10924802
Claims 1 and 12 maps to
Combination of claims 1 and 7
Combination of claims 1 and 7 of US Patent 10924802 claims inventive steps same as of the inventive steps in claims 1 and 12 of instant application. However, combination of claim 1 and 7 of US Patent 10924802 does not claim limitations, “the first program identification data and the associated audience identification data collected from a first household, obtaining second program identification data for a television of a second household, generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.”
Doe discloses, the first program identification data and the associated audience identification data collected from a first household, obtaining second program identification data for a television of a second household (Par. 0020, system 100 to facilitate set-top box modeling using data from panelist households (e.g., households that have a people meter). the system 100 includes a set of households 102 include a first subset of non-panelist households 104 households with STBs only) and a second subset of panelist households 106 (e.g., households that have agreed to be monitored and, thus, have both an STB and People Meter.RTM. (PM)). The second set of households 106 are statistically selected to participate (i.e. panelist households, in an audience measurement study and provide both behavior data (e.g., channel changes, volume changes, time-of-day viewing information, etc.) and personalized consumer data (e.g., demographic data related to the household). Par. 0021, The data collected from the STBs of the non-panelist households 104 and/or the panelist households 106 may be stored in one or more memory devices, such as one or more databases. Data collected from the non-panelist household STBs 104 includes behavior information such as, but not limited to, dates and times of viewing a selected channel),
generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member (Par. 0053, one or more viewing probabilities calculated by the viewing probability engine 114 take into consideration any number of characteristics derived from the characteristic imputation engine 112 such as, but not limited to, household size, number of televisions in the household, time-of-day tuning, genre of programs viewed, sex, and/or age. For each household television, the viewing probability engine 114 calculates and allocates a probability of viewing minutes for each household audience member, which may be accumulated to derive viewership. Par. 0024, An audience summary manager 116 is communicatively connected to the viewing probability engine 114 to provide a user with formulas, charts, tables, and/or other formatted output indicative of audience viewing probability information, i.e. generating viewership reports from data provided by viewing probability engine).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 10924802 to include above limitation as taught by Doe, to understanding audience behavior that allows marketing entities to more effectively target the audience with marketing materials that are likely to have an impact, as disclosed in Doe par. 0003.
Doe does not disclose, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.
Ramaswamy discloses, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household (Par. 0022, fig. 1, processing server 175 utilizes audience measurement data received from content exposure meter (i.e. located in viewer household) 150 to determine which content was presented and/or consumed at and/or via the example media device 105 to form content exposure data for the media device 105 and/or for a collection of one or more media devices 105, as shown audience exposure processing server or entity is located remotely from the location of meter device in household).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 10924802 in view of Doe to include above limitation as taught by Ramaswamy rationale for locating audience measurement entity remote from the media service provider household would be to keep the audience measurement entity in secure environment to avoid any interference in its operation.
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting over corresponding claims as mapped in table below of U.S. Patent No. 11528530 in view of Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim same subject matter or they are obvious variation of claims in US Patent 11528530.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 19/024,700
U.S. Patent No. 11528530
Claims 1 and 12 maps to
Combination of claims 1 and 6
Combination of claims 1 and 6 of US Patent 11528530 claims inventive steps same as of the inventive steps in claims 1 and 12 of instant application. However, combination of claim 1 and 6 of US Patent 11528530 does not claim limitations, “the first program identification data and the associated audience identification data collected from a first household, obtaining second program identification data for a television of a second household, generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.”
Doe discloses, the first program identification data and the associated audience identification data collected from a first household, obtaining second program identification data for a television of a second household (Par. 0020, system 100 to facilitate set-top box modeling using data from panelist households (e.g., households that have a people meter). the system 100 includes a set of households 102 include a first subset of non-panelist households 104 households with STBs only) and a second subset of panelist households 106 (e.g., households that have agreed to be monitored and, thus, have both an STB and People Meter.RTM. (PM)). The second set of households 106 are statistically selected to participate (i.e. panelist households, in an audience measurement study and provide both behavior data (e.g., channel changes, volume changes, time-of-day viewing information, etc.) and personalized consumer data (e.g., demographic data related to the household). Par. 0021, The data collected from the STBs of the non-panelist households 104 and/or the panelist households 106 may be stored in one or more memory devices, such as one or more databases. Data collected from the non-panelist household STBs 104 includes behavior information such as, but not limited to, dates and times of viewing a selected channel),
generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member (Par. 0053, one or more viewing probabilities calculated by the viewing probability engine 114 take into consideration any number of characteristics derived from the characteristic imputation engine 112 such as, but not limited to, household size, number of televisions in the household, time-of-day tuning, genre of programs viewed, sex, and/or age. For each household television, the viewing probability engine 114 calculates and allocates a probability of viewing minutes for each household audience member, which may be accumulated to derive viewership. Par. 0024, An audience summary manager 116 is communicatively connected to the viewing probability engine 114 to provide a user with formulas, charts, tables, and/or other formatted output indicative of audience viewing probability information, i.e. generating viewership reports from data provided by viewing probability engine).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 10924802 to include above limitation as taught by Doe, to understanding audience behavior that allows marketing entities to more effectively target the audience with marketing materials that are likely to have an impact, as disclosed in Doe par. 0003.
Doe does not disclose, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household.
Ramaswamy discloses, wherein the computing system is located remotely from the second household (Par. 0022, fig. 1, processing server 175 utilizes audience measurement data received from content exposure meter (i.e. located in viewer household) 150 to determine which content was presented and/or consumed at and/or via the example media device 105 to form content exposure data for the media device 105 and/or for a collection of one or more media devices 105, as shown audience exposure processing server or entity is located remotely from the location of meter device in household).
It would have been obvious to modify the claim of the U.S. Patent No. 11528530 in view of Doe to include above limitation as taught by Ramaswamy rationale for locating audience measurement entity remote from the media service provider household would be to keep the audience measurement entity in secure environment to avoid any interference in its operation.
Claims 1, 4-6, 12, and 15 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory non-obvious type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12335565. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application are rendered obvious by the claims of the US Patent No. 12335565.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the copending Application No. 19/027,816 and the applications are claiming common subject matter, mapping of claims as follows:
Instant Application No. 19/024,700
US Patent No. 12335565
Claims 1 and 12 maps to
Claim 1 and 15
Claims 4 and 15
Claim 3
Claims 5 and 16
Claim 4
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10-12, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729).
Regarding claim 1, Doe discloses, A computing system comprising a processor and a memory, the computing system configured to perform a set of operations (Par. 0081, fig. 12) comprising:
obtaining, via a network, audience member behavior data developed based on first program identification data and associated audience identification data, the first program identification data and the associated audience identification data collected from a first household (Par. 0020, system 100 to facilitate set-top box modeling using data from panelist households (e.g., households that have a people meter). the system 100 includes a set of households 102 include a first subset of non-panelist households 104 households with STBs only) and a second subset of panelist households 106 (e.g., households that have agreed to be monitored and, thus, have both an STB and People Meter.RTM. (PM)). The second set of households 106 are statistically selected to participate (i.e. panelist households, in an audience measurement study and provide both behavior data (e.g., channel changes, volume changes, time-of-day viewing information, etc.) and personalized consumer data (e.g., demographic data related to the household));
obtaining second program identification data for a television of a second household, wherein the second program identification data is obtained using a base metering device and does not include associated audience identification data (Par. 0017, A set-top box installed by a service provider (e.g., a cable-television service provider, a satellite-television service provider, etc. Par. 0020, the system 100 does not acquire and/or otherwise obtain personalized consumer data (e.g., demographic data from the non-panelist households). Par. 0021, The data collected from the STBs of the non-panelist households 104 and/or the panelist households 106 may be stored in one or more memory devices, such as one or more databases. Data collected from the non-panelist household STBs 104 includes behavior information such as, but not limited to, dates and times of viewing a selected channel ), allows a media researcher and/or a marketing entity to ascertain specific subscriber behavior information, i.e. STB installed by cable service provider collecting (i.e. STB acting as base metering device) the identification of viewing of selected channel that is provided to viewing model engine 108 i.e. audience measurement entity is obtaining channel viewing data from non-panelist households with STB acting as base meter without obtaining demographic data);
collecting demographic information for an audience member of the second household (Par. 0077-0078, fig. 10, data fusion with alternate interest group data, having similar behavior pattern (i.e. content viewing behavior), interest group contains data of behavior and associated demographics, such data may include a readership survey in which participants' magazine purchase behaviors are monitored and classification data is obtained including, but not limited to, name, address, profession, family size, ethnicity. If a corresponding match is found (block 1010), the behavior based data (e.g., set-top box data 104, i.e. set-top box data of non-panelist STB, which is a STBs installed in households by cable provider) and the characteristics (e.g., demographics) from the interest group data 118 associated with one or more matching pattern(s) are provided to the example data fusion engine 408, i.e. collect demographic information from interest group data for audience of the household in which STBs are installed by cable provider),
determining, for the audience member of the second household, using a model that is trained with the audience member behavior data, an audience-member viewing probability for television content identified in the second program identification data, the audience-member viewing probability representing a likelihood that the audience member viewed the television content (Par. 0078 fig. 11, calculation of viewing probabilities of household members of non-panelist set-top box behavior (i.e. viewing of television channels identified in service provider household having STBs), and
generating a viewership report for the television content using the audience-member viewing probability and the demographic information for the audience member (Par. 0053, one or more viewing probabilities calculated by the viewing probability engine 114 take into consideration any number of characteristics derived from the characteristic imputation engine 112 such as, but not limited to, household size, number of televisions in the household, time-of-day tuning, genre of programs viewed, sex, and/or age. For each household television, the viewing probability engine 114 calculates and allocates a probability of viewing minutes for each household audience member, which may be accumulated to derive viewership. Par. 0024, An audience summary manager 116 is communicatively connected to the viewing probability engine 114 to provide a user with formulas, charts, tables, and/or other formatted output indicative of audience viewing probability information, i.e. generating viewership reports from data provided by viewing probability engine).
Doe does not disclose, wherein the computing system of the audience measurement entity is located remotely from the media service provider household.
Ramaswamy discloses, wherein the computing system of the audience measurement entity is located remotely from the media service provider household (Par. 0022, fig. 1, processing server 175 utilizes audience measurement data received from content exposure meter (i.e. located in viewer household) 150 to determine which content was presented and/or consumed at and/or via the example media device 105 to form content exposure data for the media device 105 and/or for a collection of one or more media devices 105, as shown audience exposure processing server or entity is located remotely from the location of meter device in household).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Doe, by teaching of wherein the computing system of the audience measurement entity is located remotely from the media service provider household, as taught by Ramaswamy, rationale for locating audience measurement entity remote from the media service provider household would be to keep the audience measurement entity in secure environment to avoid any interference in its operation.
Regarding claim 7, The computing system of claim 1,
Doe further discloses, wherein the audience-member viewing probability is based on a channel of the television content (Par. 0062, the probability of a 6-11 year old viewing a general entertainment channel (i.e. based on a general type of entertainment channel) will likely be higher during the 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM slot than between the 11:00 PM to 1:00 AM slot).
Regarding claim 8, The computing system of claim 7,
Doe further discloses, wherein the audience-member viewing probability is based further on a time of the television content or a genre of the television content (Par. 0062, the probability of a 6-11 year old viewing a general entertainment channel will likely be higher during the 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM (i.e. based on time of the television content) slot than between the 11:00 PM to 1:00 AM slot).
Regarding claim 10, The computing system of claim 1,
Doe further discloses, wherein the demographic information is collected prior to obtaining the second program identification data (Par. 0077, compares patterns of behavior in the set-top box data (i.e. non-panelist participants) with similar patterns that may exist in the interest group data 118 (block 1018), subset of such data may include a readership survey in which participants' (i.e. non-panelist participants who’s demographic is not collected by using meters) magazine purchase behaviors are monitored and classification data is obtained including, but not limited to, name, address, profession, family size, ethnicity, etc, i.e. a readership survey in which participants' (i.e. non-panelist participants who’s demographic is not collected by using meters) is done before hand and available for comparison for viewing data collected from non-panelist households).
Regarding claim 11, The computing system of claim 10,
Doe further discloses, wherein obtaining the second program identification data comprises receiving the second program identification data from the base metering device (Par. 0015, a set-top box in a household may contain the requisite processing capabilities to monitor, store, and transmit viewing habit data to a marketing entity Par. 0021, The data collected from the STBs (i.e. acting as metering device that collects program identification data) of the non-panelist households 104 and stored in one or more memory devices, such as one or more databases).
Regarding claim 12, Doe in view of Ramaswamy meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Doe meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, Doe meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, Doe meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 10.
Claims 2-4 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729), in further view of Thompson et al. (US 20080310408).
Regarding claim 2, The computing system of claim 1,
Doe in view of Ramaswamy does not disclose, wherein: the first household is located in a first region.
Thompson discloses, wherein: the first household is located in a first region (Par. 0073-0074, collecting consumer information such as content watched by the consumer, living in city and consumers living in suburban areas. Par. 0082, market segment database divides group of households into number of unique clusters, consumers live in city and consumers living in suburban area, i.e. program identification data collected from first household located in first region (i.e. city) and second household located in second region (i.e. suburb)); and
the second household is located in a second region that is different from the first region (Par. 0073-0074, collecting consumer information such as content watched by the consumer, living in city and consumers living in suburban areas. Par. 0082, market segment database divides group of households into number of unique clusters, consumers live in city and consumers living in suburban area, i.e. program identification data collected from first household located in first region (i.e. city) and second household located in second region (i.e. suburb)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Doe in view of Ramaswamy, by teaching of the first household is located in a first region and the second household is located in a second region that is different from the first region, as taught by Thompson, to compile and correlate demographic information for different geographical area to statistically derive demographic, lifestyle and behavior information of different regions, as disclosed in Thompson par. 0082.
Regarding claim 3, The computing system of claim 2,
Doe further discloses, wherein the base metering device is coupled to the television (Par. 0040, televisions connected to an STB (i.e. STB collecting viewing information, is a metering device).
Regarding claim 4, The computing system of claim 3,
Doe further discloses, wherein the first program identification data and the associated audience identification data are collected from the first household using a meter in the first household (Par. 0020, fig. 1, system 100 to facilitate set-top box modeling using data from panelist households (e.g., households that have a people meter)).
Regarding claim 13, Doe in view of Ramaswamy in further view of Thompson meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, Doe meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, Doe meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729), in further view of Thompson et al. (US 20080310408), in further view of Wright (US 20090055854).
Regarding claim 5, The computing system of claim 4,
Doe in view of Ramaswamy in further view of Thompson does not disclose, wherein the meter is communicatively coupled to a sensor that detects a presence of audience members in a viewing area of the first household.
Wright discloses, wherein the meter is communicatively coupled to a sensor that detects a presence of audience members in a viewing area of the first household (Par. 0021, The meter(s) may include various sensors to detect people in a room, and/or acoustic signals, such as audio signals emitted by a television and/or audience member voice signals spoken by persons in the viewer's household).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Doe in view of Ramaswamy in further view of Thompson, by teaching of the meter is communicatively coupled to a sensor that detects a presence of audience members in a viewing area of the first household, as taught by Wright, to identify people who are exposed the content in passive manner by voice or image identification, as disclosed in Wright par. 0043.
Regarding claim 16, Doe in view of Ramaswamy in further view of Thompson in further view of Wright meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 5.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Doe (US 20080300965), in view of Ramaswamy (US 20070294729), in further view of Thompson et al. (US 20080310408), in further view of Wright (US 20090055854), in further view of Marci et al. (US 20100211439).
Regarding claim 6, The computing system of claim 5,
Doe in view of Ramaswamy in further view of Thompson in further view of Wright does not disclose, wherein the model is a fuzzy logic model, a Naive Bayes model, or a regression model.
Marci further discloses, wherein the model is a fuzzy logic model, a Naive Bayes model, or a regression model (Par. 0130, The system can further include a database of audience engagement to a variety of historic media. statistical analyses for creating predictive models, the preferred predictor model can include, regression analyses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Doe in view of Ramaswamy in further view of Thompson in further view of Wright, by teaching of wherein the model is a fuzzy logic model, a Naive Bayes model, or a regression model, as taught by Marci, to predict audience measurement based on statistical method to handle large amount of data, as disclosed in Marci par. 0130.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objected the claim to be allowed:
The examiner has found that the prior arts of records does not appear to teach or suggest or render obvious the claimed limitations in combination with the specific added limitations as recited in dependent claims.
Conclusion
/A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/MICHAEL E TEITELBAUM, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422