Drawings
Figure 5,6 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terai(US 5273310 A) in view of Hurst(US 7093847 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Terai discloses an instrument panel (1) comprising: an airbag retainer(18) that is for attachment of an airbag main body(16); and a tray(7a) that is disposed below the airbag retainer(fig 1,2), the airbag retainer and the tray being attached to a panel main body(fig 1,2), wherein a part of the tray is attached to the panel main body with a fastening tool(8). Terai does not disclose an opening portion in the retainer however Hurst discloses an airbag retainer comprising an opening portion(20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terai such that a retainer comprising opening portions is used to provide a mounting point on the retainer that requires less space and allowing the mounting structure to lock on, providing a secure fit. The combination would result in the fastening tool being visually recognizable through the opening formed in the airbag retainer.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Terai in view of Hurst discloses wherein the airbag main body is attached to the airbag retainer by being locked at the opening portion of the airbag retainer (col 2, line 62- col 3, line 2, terai; Fig 2 Hurst).
Regarding claim 3, Terai discloses wherein the tray is disposed to be aligned with an air outlet (20-23) of an air conditioning device in a vehicle width direction(fig 1,2; col 3 lines 3-18).
Conclusion
SHAMS . DHANANI
Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614