DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a front edge of a floor portion (claim 1 and in paragraph [0031]) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112
(pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In paragraph [0037], “The dash panel component 32 is attached to the partition wall portion 16D by an attachment member (not shown). That is, in the present embodiment, the main part of the dash panel 10B of the vehicle body 10 is constituted by the partition wall portion 16D and the dash panel component 32. A brake pedal 36 constituting a part of the "brake device 34" is attached to the dash panel component 32.”
Regarding claim 2, “dash panel component” (lines 3-5) is indefinite.
What is dash panel component 32 of the dash panel 10B? See same deficiency in claim 3 (line 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over
Goto et al. US 9688309 B2.
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, Goto et al. discloses a vehicle body (vehicle body front part 14 shown in Figure 1) comprising: a vehicle body component
(plate body 40 shown in Figure 2) being a metal casting (“since the plate body 40 is made of a sheet metal, compared with the case in which the plate body 40 is manufactured by die cast” in column 8, lines 60-65), wherein the vehicle body component (plate body 40 shown in Figure 2) includes an upper component portion (cowl 32 shown in Figure 1) that extends in a vehicle width direction (shown in Figure 1) and supports a windshield glass (definition of cowl: the part of a motor vehicle that supports the windshield and houses the dashboard), a lower component portion (area near the lower portion of front pillars 30 shown in Figure 1) that extends in the vehicle width direction (inherent that the area near the lower portion of front pillar 30 extends in the vehicle width direction) and is arranged along a front edge of a floor portion to support the floor portion (inherent that the area near the lower portion of front pillar 30 is arranged along a front edge of a floor portion to support the floor (shown in Figure 1)), a pair of side component portions (front pillars 30 shown in Figure 1) that constitutes a part of a front pillar on a vehicle lower side (shown n Figure 1), the side component portions (front pillars 30 shown in Figure 1) connecting the upper component portion (cowl 32 shown in Figure 1) and the lower component portion (area near the lower portion of front pillars 30 shown in Figure 1), and being each provided with a suspension support portion (upper end part of the sustower 12 shown in Figure 1) that supports a part of a suspension (in column 5, lines 30-45), and a partition wall portion (dash panel 34 shown in Figure 1) integrated with the upper component portion (cowl 32 shown in Figure 1), the lower component portion (area near the lower portion of front pillars 30 shown in Figure 1), and each of the side component portions (front pillars 30 shown in Figure 1), the partition wall portion (dash panel 34 shown in Figure 1) partitioning a vehicle cabin (cabin 18 shown in Figure 1) and a power unit room (engine compartment 16 shown in Figure 1).
Claims 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over
Goto et al. US 9688309 B2 in view of EP 0253159 B1 and JP 2014201084 A.
Goto et al., as understood, discloses the vehicle body (vehicle body front part 14 shown in Figure 1).
However, Goto et al. does not show wherein a penetration portion penetrated in a vehicle front-rear direction is provided on the partition wall portion, and the penetration portion is blocked by a dash panel component, and wherein a part of a brake device is attached to the dash panel component
(claim 2); and wherein the dash panel component is made of resin (claim 3).
EP 0253159 B1 teaches a penetration portion (preassembled structural unit 27 shown in Figures 3 and 4) penetrated in a vehicle front-rear direction is provided on the partition wall portion (substructure 22 shown in Figures 3 and 4), and the penetration portion (preassembled structural unit 27 shown in Figures 3 and 4) is blocked by a dash panel component (instrument panel 10 shown in Figures 3 and 4); and dashboards disclosed in FIGS. 1 and 2, which are provided for a motor vehicle, in particular for a car, are each designated 10; they consist of a material suitable for the shape shown, e.g. a multilayer plastic material.
JP 2014201084 A teaches on the dash panel (2) and the cowl upper panel (3), a pair of left and right pedal brackets (6 and 7) that rotatably support the clutch pedal (4) and the brake pedal (5) for vehicle operation are mounted side by side with a space in the vehicle width direction shown in Figure 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the partition portion of Goto et al. wherein a penetration portion penetrated in a vehicle front-rear direction is provided on the partition wall portion, and the penetration portion is blocked by a dash panel component made of plastic, as taught by
EP 0253159 B1, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a preassembled structural unit for the crockpit area of the motor vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the vehicle body of Goto et al. wherein a part of a brake device is attached to the dash panel component, as taught by JP 2014201084 A, with a reasonable expectation of success for vehicle operation.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over
Goto et al. US 9688309 B2 in view of CN 105383570 A.
Regarding claim 4, Goto et al. discloses the vehicle body (vehicle body front part 14 shown in Figure 1) according to claim 1, further comprising a
front-rear direction skeleton portion (front side member 20 shown in Figure 1) that extends in a vehicle front-rear direction (shown in Figure 1) and is attached at a vehicle lower side of the suspension support portion (sustower 12 shown in Figure 1) with respect to a front surface of the partition wall portion (dash panel 34 shown in Figure 1) on a vehicle front side, but does not show wherein a reinforcing rib portion is provided on a back surface of the partition wall portion on a vehicle rear side, the reinforcing rib portion protruding from the back surface to the vehicle rear side and extending from the front-rear direction skeleton portion when viewed from the vehicle front-rear direction.
CN 105383570 A teaches as illustrated in FIG. 1, reinforcing member (62) is formed with ridges (72), when viewed from the vehicle front, the strips extending along the vehicle body width direction, each of the ridges (72) protruding toward the vehicle body front side, and the part (64) from the main body of the vehicle body width direction extends to the flange (70) of the vehicle body width direction outer side end.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the partition wall portion of Goto et al. with ridges, as taught by CN 105383570 A, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure that energy absorption is effectively absorbed.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20150314811 A1 discloses a vehicle body front structure for automobile.
Communication
571-272-6658. The Examiner can normally be reached from 8:30 a.m. to
4:30 p.m. EST Monday through Friday.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Vivek Koppikar can be reached at 571-272-5109.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/Lori Lyjak/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B