DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to contain a reference to a claim previously set forth. Claim 4 depends from a canceled claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshima (JP 2003-171046).
Regarding claim 1, Oshima discloses a medium transport device comprising: first roll body 11 that feeds out a medium that is wound into a roll shape; a main roller 33 that applies a feeding force to the medium in a transport direction; and sub rollers 35 that pair with the main roller to rotate while nipping the medium therebetween; a first plate and a second plate (see Fig 7, below) that are for removing a wrinkle occurring in the medium being transported and that are disposed between the main roller 33 and a recording head 21,
wherein the sub rollers 35 are a plurality of rollers including a first roller, a second roller, and a third roller, arranged at distances from each other along the longitudinal direction of the main roller, and the distances include a first distance and a second distance. See Fig. 7, shown in part below. Oshima lacks the explicit disclosure of the second distance being larger than the first distance (Fig. 7 shows such a distance relationship; however, the drawing is not necessarily to scale). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the second distance be larger than the first distance, in order to space out the roller holders 55 appropriately along the length of the main roller 33.
Regarding claim 5, the apparatus of Oshima as modified above comprises a recording device comprising: the medium transport device according to claim 1, and a recording section 21 that performs recording on the medium transported by the medium transport device.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshima in view of Uruma (US 9,758,332).
Regarding claim 2, Oshima as modified above comprises the medium transport device according to claim 1, wherein the main roller 33 is disposed between the first roll body 11 and the recording head 21 and the recording head performing a process on the transported medium. Oshima lacks a second roll body that winds the medium transported in the transport direction and the recording head being positioned between the first roll body and the second roll body. Uruma teaches the use of a second roll body 22 that winds the medium transported in the transport direction and a recording head 3 being positioned between a first roll body 21 and the second roll body, in order to store the medium after it is printed upon. Uruma, col. 3, lines 62-67. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use a second roll body that winds the medium transported in the transport direction and the recording head being positioned between the first roll body and the second roll body, in the device of Oshima, as taught by Uruma, in order to store the medium after it is printed upon.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Oshima does not teach removing a wrinkle occurring in the medium being transported by a first plate and a second plate that are disposed between the main roller and the recording head, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Oshima does not disclose a structure composed of two distinct flat plates.” Remarks, p. 6. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 7, as shown in the rejection of claim 1, discloses a first and second plate. These plates are capable of removing wrinkle in the material being transported, as the material can pass over the plates as it is fed through the device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759