DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of electing Group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on May 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 20-24 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a canceled invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 15, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “PEEK” is read as polyether ether ketone (PEEK). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the term "substantially" is relative term which render the claims indefinite. The term "substantially" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghidiu et al. (WO 2016/049109 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Ghidiu teaches an article ([0038], Fig. 14A), comprising at least one coated layer such as MXene ([0038]), the at least one coated layer comprising: a substrate and a coating disposed on the substrate such as polyetherimide substrate ([0038]), the coating comprising a layered nanomaterial such as MXene nanoplatelets and a solute embedded and distributed in the layered nanomaterial ([0018], [0020]), wherein the solute comprises at least one salt soluble such as lithium salt in a solvent ([0025], [0072]), and the substrate comprises a polymer ([0077]).
Regarding claim 2, Ghidiu teaches wherein the layered nanomaterial has a thickness of 92 nm for example ([0037]).
Regarding claim 3, Ghidiu teaches wherein the layered nanomaterial comprises nanosheets of MXene, wherein MXene is a layered nitride, carbide , or carbonitrides of at least one transition metal (M) having a formula of Mn+iXnTx, wherein X is nitrogen or carbon, n is an integer representing a number of layers of nitrogen or carbon, n+1 is a number of layers of the at least one transition metal, T is a functional group, and x is in a range of from 0 to 2 ([0056], [0080], [0177]).
Regarding claim 4, Ghidiu teaches wherein n is in the range of from 1 to 3 ([0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Ghidiu teaches wherein the MXene has a formula of Ti3C2Tx ([0083], [0087], [0236]).
Regarding claim 6, Ghidiu teaches wherein T is selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, O, OH, and a combination thereof ([0025], [0132], [0241], [0242], claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Ghidiu teaches wherein the layered nanomaterial is oriented in a plane substantially parallel to a surface of the substrate ([0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Ghidiu teaches wherein the layered nanomaterial is hydrophilic while the substrate is hydrophobic ([0013], [0077]).
Regarding claim 9, Ghidiu teaches wherein the polymer in the substrate is in a form of a film for example ([0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Ghidiu teaches wherein the polymer is polyether ether ketone (PEEK) for example ([0077]).
Regarding claim 11, Ghidiu teaches wherein the polymer is polyether ether ketone (PEEK) ([0077]).
Regarding claim 12, Ghidiu teaches wherein the at least one salt comprises a metal cation and an anion ([0072], [0091], [0097]).
Regarding claim 13, Ghidiu teaches wherein the metal ion is Li+ for example, the anion is F- for example, and the at least one salt is water-soluble ([0242], [0244]).
Regarding claim 14, Ghidiu teaches wherein the coating is electrically and thermally conductive, and the article is configured to be used for thermal management ([0020], [0221]).
Regarding claim 15, Ghidiu teaches further comprising at least two electrodes connected with the coating and configured to provide Joule heating ([0061], [0096], [0177], [0180]).
Regarding claim 16, Ghidiu teaches wherein the at least one coated layer comprises a first coated layer and a second coated layer the same as the first coated layer ([0056], [0066]).
Regarding claim 17, Ghidiu teaches further comprising a separation layer disposed between the first coated layer and the second coated layer ([0056], [0066]).
Regarding claim 18, Ghidiu teaches wherein the article is configured to be wearable and protective ([0077], [0227]).
Regarding claim 19, Ghidiu teaches wherein the article is a protective garment or gear ([0023], [0077], [0227]).
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-19 unpatentable over claims 13, 15-24 of copending Application No. 19/025275 (‘275). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claim 13 of copending application '275. That is, claim 13 of copending application falls entire within the scope of claim 1 or, in other words, claim 1 is anticipated by claim 13 of copending application.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/288278 (‘278). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claim 1 of copending application '278. That is, claim 1 of copending application falls entire within the scope of claim 1 or, in other words, claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of copending application.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/HAI Y ZHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717