DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims make reference to a “head pipe” which is disclosed in the specification and the drawings to be shown at the indicated point 11 on the frame shown. The art often refers to this structure as a “head tube.” It’s understood these are the same thing and the “head pipe” of the claims will be examined as though it is a motorcycle/bike head tube.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dansmc (Dansmc, https://web.archive.org/web/20150331191950/http://www.dansmc.com/watercooling.htm, “Water Cooling”, March 31st 2015).
Regarding claim 1, Dansmc discloses an installation structure for a reservoir (“Coolant Reservoir” photo, see image below), the installation structure comprising: a main frame that extends rearward from a head pipe; a down frame that extends downward from the head pipe (see modified photo below for indicated parts);
a bridge that connects the down frame and the main frame (“Radiator Cap Left Side” shows the down frame then angling below the engine where it will reach a bridge point to connect to the top frame as is typical in motorcycle frames);
a radiator disposed in front of the engine and configured to radiate heat from cooling water of an engine (“Radiator Cap Left Side” and “Coolant Reservoir” photos both showing a radiator in front of the engine); and
a reservoir tank configured to adjust a flow rate of cooling water in the radiator (“Most Cooling Systems have a Coolant Reservoir Tank, also called a Recovery or Overflow Tank. This tank catches coolant that overflows from the radiator when it is hot then, as the engine cools, the coolant is sucked back into the radiator”),
wherein the reservoir tank is provided above the engine and rearward of the radiator so as to overlap a region surrounded by the main frame, the down frame, and the bridge in a side view (“Coolant Reservoir” photo shows the reservoir above and behind the radiator, above the engine, and in the region surrounded by the frames).
Regarding claim 2, Dansmc discloses the installation structure for a reservoir tank according to the installation structure for a reservoir tank according to wherein the radiator overlaps a fuel tank in a front view, and the reservoir tank is provided between the radiator and the fuel tank (shown in “Coolant Reservoir” photo, seen above).
Regarding claim 3, Dansmc discloses installation structure for a reservoir tank according to the installation structure for a reservoir tank according to wherein a part of the reservoir tank is inserted between the main frame and the bridge in a front view (“Coolant Reservoir” photo above, the reservoir is between the bridge, which is to the rear of it in a side view, and the main frame, which angles downward above it in the side view).
Regarding claim 5, Dansmc discloses installation structure for a reservoir tank according to the installation structure for a reservoir tank according to wherein a water supply pipe extends obliquely upward and forward from a tank upper portion of the reservoir tank, and a water supply port disposed at a distal end of the water supply pipe is exposed to an upper side of the radiator in a front view (as can be seen in the coolant reservoir photo above (larger shown http://www.dansmc.com/water_cool_radiator_catchtank1.jpg), the reservoir is above the radiator with a supply pipe that is obliquely upward and forward from it, and the pipe goes around to connect to the radiator, shown further in the diagram toward the top of the page (http://www.dansmc.com/water_cool_cool1.jpg), which while not that exact bike layout shows the pipe goes around and connects to a top of the radiator).
Regarding claim 6, Dansmc discloses installation structure for a reservoir tank according to the installation structure for a reservoir tank according to wherein a water supply port is formed in an upper portion of the radiator, and the water supply port of the water supply pipe of the reservoir tank is located between the water supply port of the radiator and the main frame in the front view (“Coolant Reservoir” and “Radiator Cap Left Side” photos, and in light of the diagram at the top, wherein the water supply ports and lines between the reservoir and radiator are located at an upper portion of the radiator and the reservoir tank is located between the port and the main frame above it).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dansmc in view of Lorne (Lorne Scott-Wilson, All Things Triumph Tiger Explorer 1200-Checking Coolant Level, https://youtu.be/JDeFsaxk3nM, April 15th 2021).
Regarding claim 4, Dansmc discloses installation structure for a reservoir tank according to claim 1, but fails to disclose the structure further comprising a side cover covering the reservoir tank from a lateral side, wherein an opening partially exposing the reservoir tank is formed in the side cover, and an inspection line for cooling water is formed on a tank side surface of the reservoir tank, and wherein the opening of the side cover exposes a portion of the reservoir tank which is upper than the inspection line in the side view.
Lorne discloses a motorcycle coolant reservoir tank with a cover (shown) having an opening to show the reservoir tank with a portion exposed showing inspection lines (0:37, line can be seen). This cover would provide protection to the reservoir tank as we all protection to any rider by preventing accidental touching of the hot coolant, while still allowing easy viewing of the tank’s level.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the motorcycles of Dansmc to include a shield cover for their reservoir with an opening in it such as shown in Lorne for the purposes of protection/safety while still allowing easy coolant level checks.
Conclusion
/KEVIN A LATHERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747