DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dansmc (Dansmc, https://web.archive.org/web/20150331191950/http://www.dansmc.com/watercooling.htm, “Water Cooling”, March 31st 2015).
Regarding claim 1, Dansmc discloses an installation structure for a reservoir (“Coolant Reservoir” photo, see image below), the installation structure comprising: a main frame that extends rearward from a head pipe; a down frame that extends downward from the head pipe (see modified photo below for indicated parts);
a bridge that connects the down frame and the main frame (“Radiator Cap Left Side” shows the down frame then angling below the engine where it will reach a bridge point to connect to the top frame as is typical in motorcycle frames);
a radiator disposed in front of the engine and configured to radiate heat from cooling water of an engine (“Radiator Cap Left Side” and “Coolant Reservoir” photos both showing a radiator in front of the engine); and
a reservoir tank configured to adjust a flow rate of cooling water in the radiator (“Most Cooling Systems have a Coolant Reservoir Tank, also called a Recovery or Overflow Tank. This tank catches coolant that overflows from the radiator when it is hot then, as the engine cools, the coolant is sucked back into the radiator”),
wherein the reservoir tank is provided above the engine and rearward of the radiator so as to overlap a region surrounded by the main frame, the down frame, and the bridge in a side view (“Coolant Reservoir” photo shows the reservoir above and behind the radiator, above the engine, and in the region surrounded by the frames), and
wherein a part of the reservoir tank is inserted between the main frame and the bridge in a front view (the photos of Dansmc are for a motorcycle with a VIN of JKAENGA16JA032142, please see the photo of a front view of the frame of the motorcycle below, found at https://www.ebay.com/itm/274803553984 with labeled portions showing the reservoir between the main frame and bridge, wherein the bridge connects the down frame and main frame and wherein if you were to “flatten” the view from the front the bridge would be below the reservoir and the main frame above it, a portion of the reservoir being fixed to the attachment portion indicated for placement reference).
Frame of a Kawasaki EN450 model motorcycle
Regarding claim 2, Dansmc discloses the installation structure for a reservoir tank according to the installation structure for a reservoir tank according to wherein the radiator overlaps a fuel tank in a front view, and the reservoir tank is provided between the radiator and the fuel tank (shown in “Coolant Reservoir” photo, seen above).
Regarding claim 5, Dansmc discloses installation structure for a reservoir tank according to the installation structure for a reservoir tank according to wherein a water supply pipe extends obliquely upward and forward from a tank upper portion of the reservoir tank, and a water supply port disposed at a distal end of the water supply pipe is exposed to an upper side of the radiator in a front view (as can be seen in the coolant reservoir photo above (larger shown http://www.dansmc.com/water_cool_radiator_catchtank1.jpg), the reservoir is above the radiator with a supply pipe that is obliquely upward and forward from it, and the pipe goes around to connect to the radiator, shown further in the diagram toward the top of the page (http://www.dansmc.com/water_cool_cool1.jpg), which while not that exact bike layout shows the pipe goes around and connects to a top of the radiator).
Regarding claim 6, Dansmc discloses installation structure for a reservoir tank according to the installation structure for a reservoir tank according to wherein a water supply port is formed in an upper portion of the radiator, and the water supply port of the water supply pipe of the reservoir tank is located between the water supply port of the radiator and the main frame in the front view (“Coolant Reservoir” and “Radiator Cap Left Side” photos, and in light of the diagram at the top, wherein the water supply ports and lines between the reservoir and radiator are located at an upper portion of the radiator and the reservoir tank is located between the port and the main frame above it).
Regarding claim 7, Dansmc discloses the installation structure for a reservoir tank according to claim 1, wherein in the front view, an upper portion of the reservoir tank is disposed at a lateral side of the main frame (See the above frame picture and “coolant reservoir” wherein the reservoir would seem, when viewed from the front, at least partially to the side of the main frame), and a lower portion of the reservoir tank is disposed at a lateral side of the bridge (as shown in the coolant reservoir photo, the reservoir extends downward below the portion where the fuel tank ends and the seat portion begins, as shown in the frame photo, the bridge extends upward from both sides of the down pipe into a connection portion which attaches to the frame at that location, wherein at least a portion of the reservoir would appear laterally to the side of this meeting portion).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dansmc in view of Lorne (Lorne Scott-Wilson, All Things Triumph Tiger Explorer 1200-Checking Coolant Level, https://youtu.be/JDeFsaxk3nM, April 15th 2021).
Regarding claim 4, Dansmc discloses installation structure for a reservoir tank according to claim 1, but fails to disclose the structure further comprising a side cover covering the reservoir tank from a lateral side, wherein an opening partially exposing the reservoir tank is formed in the side cover, and an inspection line for cooling water is formed on a tank side surface of the reservoir tank, and wherein the opening of the side cover exposes a portion of the reservoir tank which is upper than the inspection line in the side view.
Lorne discloses a motorcycle coolant reservoir tank with a cover (shown) having an opening to show the reservoir tank with a portion exposed showing inspection lines (0:37, line can be seen). This cover would provide protection to the reservoir tank as we all protect any rider by preventing accidental touching of the hot coolant, while still allowing easy viewing of the tank’s level.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the motorcycles of Dansmc to include a shield cover for their reservoir with an opening in it such as shown in Lorne for the purposes of protection/safety while still allowing easy coolant level checks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art fails to disclose or make obvious a reservoir tank for an engine and structure, wherein the structure has both a “front” view wherein a down frame and main frame are connected by a bridge and the reservoir between the bridge and main frame when viewed from the front, but also the reservoir’s bottom is below the bridge.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
It is not expressed that the multiple photographs are the same vehicle models. Particularly notable that the “Radiator Cap Left Side” and “Coolant Reservoir” photos are the two being discussed.
Applicant argues with regards to previous claim 3, now added to the amended claim 1, that a part of the reservoir tank of Dansmc is not located between the “main frame” and “the bridge” in a front view. Applicant noting that the images of Dansmc does not show its front view so any considerations on this matter would be inferring from side views.
With regards to the arguments
Dansmc’s photos “radiator cap left side” and “coolant reservoir” appear to be the exact same model of vehicle if not the same exact vehicle; both have the same architecture, paint, and appearance. Beyond those details: both show the same VIN for the vehicle meaning they are the same vehicle. The vin can be seen on the front of the bike by the steering stem in “radiator cap left side” and on the frame in the “Coolant Reservoir” photo. There is no reason to believe these are anything but an identical vehicle. The VIN is JKAENGA16JA032142 which is for a Kawasaki EN450.
The Kawasaki EN450 frame, shown above includes a coolant reservoir disposed frontward in the frame which is attached to the frame just below the front part of the main frame, wherein a bridge connecting the lengthy curved down frame to the upper main frame is shown in the rear and wherein this portion if viewed from the front would appear “below” the reservoir while the main frame would appear “above” it.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN A LATHERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747