DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0140095) in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0017699)(hereinafter Kim’699).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a clothes care apparatus (cabinet 10) comprising:
a main body having a care room (chamber 11);
a blower (fan 32) configured to guide an airflow while provided in the main body;
a duct (fig. 2, pipe 24) including a duct inlet hole (fig. 2, air inlet 37) through which air of the care room is introduced (para. [0114]);
an inner door (fig. 9, first panel 110), which is rotatable, coupleable to the main body (para. [0186]); and
an outer door (fig. 9, second panel 130) coupleable to the inner door (para. [0186]) so that while the outer door is coupled to the inner door, an accommodating space (fig. 9, chamber 12), in which clothes are accommodated, is formed between the outer door and the inner door, the outer door including a clothes support member (fig. 9, fixing member 132) configured to support the clothes in the accommodating space (para. [0164]), and the outer door being configured to rotate with respect to the inner door to open and close the accommodating space (fig. 9),
wherein the inner door includes a partition including a partition hole (fig. 8, hole 150), the partition configured to separate the care room and the accommodating space (fig. 9) and an outlet hole (para. [0167], hole 144) to allow the airflow guided by the blower to be discharged toward the clothes that are supported by the clothes support member.
Kim does not teach an intake path duct connected to the partition hole of the partition and disposed to face the duct inlet hole.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim’699 teaches an intake path duct (figs. 1 and 5, para. [0100], inlet flow path duct 130) connected to the partition hole (annotated fig. 5 below) of the partition and disposed to face the duct inlet hole (fig. 5, inlet 11a).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kim with an intake path duct connected to the partition hole of the partition and disposed to face the duct inlet hole as taught by Kim’699 for the benefit of efficiently managing power by drying an object to be dried using the outside air (Kim’699, para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 teaches the clothes support member (Kim, fig. 9, fixing member 132) is mounted on a rear surface of the outer door facing the inner door (Kim, fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 does not teach in fig. 9 the main body includes a communication hole at a rear of the outlet hole, and the airflow guided by the blower is discharged to the outlet hole through the communication hole.
However, Kim teaches in fig. 8, the main body includes a communication hole (fig. 8, supply hole 271) at the rear of the outlet hole (fig. 8, hole 148), and the airflow guided by the blower is discharged to the outlet hole through the communication hole (para. [0182]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 with a communication hole in the main body so that the airflow guided by the blower is discharged to the outlet hole through the communication hole as suggested in fig. 8 of Kim for the benefit of providing air flowing through the second laundry treating chamber by the air supply system (Kim, para. [0182]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 does not clearly teach in fig. 9 an inner door frame protruding from the partition and a discharge guider provided at a front of the outlet hole.
However, Kim teaches in fig. 7 the inner door includes an inner door frame (fig. 7, element 147) protruding from the partition (fig. 7, element 146) toward the outer door and configured to form an edge of the inner door, and a discharge guider (fig. 7, plate 36 with hole 1361) provided at a front of the outlet hole (fig. 7, hole 144) to guide airflow discharged through the outlet hole toward the clothes.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 with an inner door frame protruding from the partition and a discharge guider provided at a front of the outlet hole as taught in fig. 7 of Kim so that air or steam flowing through the first laundry treating chamber may be supplied to the second laundry treating chamber through the communication hole and the second base fixing plate hole (Kim, para. [0167]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 teaches the inner door includes a pressing plate (Kim, fig. 9, plate 160) configured to press the clothes supported by the clothes support member (Kim, para. [0148]) and a plate groove (Kim, fig. 9, a groove of hinge connection between the inner door and the plate 160) into which a part of the pressing plate is inserted.
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 does not teach the pressing plate is configured to be movable from the plate groove toward the outer door.
However, Kim teaches the pressing plate comprising a fixing protrusion 164 to be received into a fixing groove 142 of the inner door (130) when the pressing plate moves around the hinge, then the pressing plate is configured to be movable from the plate groove (142) toward the outer door (para. [0170]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 with the plate groove as taught in fig. 7 so that the pressing plate is configured to be movable from the plate groove toward the outer door for the benefit of securing the pressing plate to the inner door.
Regarding claim 9, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 teaches the inner door further includes an elastic member (Kim, fig. 7, para. [0165], elastic members 1381 and 1382) provided between the pressing plate and the partition to elastically bias the pressing plate from the partition to the outer door (Kim, as the members 1381 and 1382 are elastic, when there is laundry between the elastic members 1381,1382 and plate 160, the elastic members are configured to elastically bias the pressing plate from the partition to the outer door).
Regarding claim 10, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 teaches the inner door includes a rail provided side inner surfaces facing each other (annotated Kim fig. 7 below) while forming the plate groove of the partition (Kim, fig. 7), and the pressing plate is configured to move toward the outer door along the rail (Kim, figs. 7 and 9, the plate 160 is configured to pivot toward the outer door along the hinge).
Regarding claim 14, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 teaches when the inner door closes the care room, the blower unit feeds the steam to the second chamber (Kim, para. [0040]).
The modified structure Kim-Kim’699 does not teach a controller configured to control the clothes care apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to drive the blower as the inner door closes the care room.
However, Kim’699 teaches a controller (fig. 7, controller 200) configured to control the clothes care apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to drive the blower (fig. 3, para. [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 with a controller of Kim’699 for the benefit of starting a drying cycle and controlling the blower fan when the temperature and the humidity of the chamber meets a predetermined condition (Kim’699, para. [0009]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 teaches the blower is a first blower.
The modified structure Kim-Kim’699 does not teach a second blower provided in the main body and controlled separately from the first blower to generate an airflow flowing into the accommodating space, and the controller is configured to drive the second blower as the outer door closes the care room together with the inner door.
However, Kim’699 teaches a second blower (fig. 3, blower fan 72) provided in the main body and controlled separately from the first blower (fig. 3, blower fan 32) to generate an airflow flowing into the accommodating space (para. [0084]), and the controller (fig. 7, controller 200) is configured to drive the second blower as the door system closes the care room (fig. 3, para. [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 with a second blower as taught by Kim’699 for the benefit of controlling circulating air in the chamber (Kim’699, para. [0093]).
Claims 7-8, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0140095) and Kim et al. (US 2021/0017699), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Jang (US 2024/0052553).
Regarding claim 7, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 does not teach the inner door includes a pusher configured to push the pressing plate toward the outer door.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches the inner door (fig. 20, door body 451) includes a pusher (550) configured to push the pressing plate (530) toward the outer door.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 with the pusher configured to push the pressing plate toward the outer door as taught by Jang for the benefit of removing wrinkles by efficiently and uniformly pressing laundry in a limited space (Jang, para. [0017]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699-Jang does not teach the pusher includes a pusher base disposed at a rear of the pressing plate and configured to be moved in a forward and backward direction, and a connecting protrusion configured to connect the pressing plate and the pusher base to move the pressing plate in response to a movement of the pusher base, and the partition includes a pusher accommodating groove configured to accommodate the pusher base and formed by a portion of the partition while being spaced apart from the plate groove, and a guide hole configured to guide a movement of the connecting protrusion in the forward and backward direction.
However, Jang teaches the pusher includes a pusher base (fig. 12, moving mount 553) disposed at a rear of the pressing plate (fig. 12, roller 530) and configured to be moved in a forward and backward direction (fig. 12a, when the moving mount 553 moves downward), and a connecting protrusion (fig. 12a, elastic member 552) configured to connect the pressing plate and the pusher base to move the pressing plate in response to a movement of the pusher base (fig. 12a), and the door panel (figs. 4c, 12a, plate 510 and door outer plate 4111) includes a pusher accommodating groove (figs. 4c, 12a, space between plates 510 and plates 4111 to accommodate elements 553 and 552) configured to accommodate the pusher base and formed by a portion of the door panel while being spaced apart from the plate groove (fig. 22), and a guide hole (fig. 12a, a hole through the plate 510) configured to guide a movement of the connecting protrusion (fig. 12a, elastic member 552) in the forward and backward direction.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Kim-Kim’699-Jang with a pusher base, a connecting protrusion, a pusher accommodating groove and a guide hole as taught by Jang for the benefit of removing wrinkles by efficiently and uniformly pressing laundry in a limited space (Jang, para. [0017]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 does not clearly teach in fig. 9 the inner door is connectable to a heating wire such that the partition transfer heat to the pressing plate to increase a temperature of the pressing plate.
However, Jang teaches the inner door is connectable to a heating wire (fig. 6b, wires 5591 and 5592) such that the partition transfer heat to the pressing plate to increase a temperature of the pressing plate (para. [0244]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 with the teaching that the inner door is connectable to a heating wire such that the partition transfer heat to the pressing plate to increase a temperature of the pressing plate as taught by Jang so that the pressing plate can transmit heat to the pants to remove wrinkles (Jang, para. [0244]).
Regarding claim 13, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 does not teach a controller configured to drive the pressing plate as the outer door closes the care room together with the inner door.
However, Jang teaches a controller (para. [0117], [0182]) configured to drive the pressing plate as the outer door closes the care room together with the inner door.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 with a controller of Jang for the benefit of transmitting and receiving a control signal or supply power to control the pressing plate (Jang, para. [0182]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0140095) and Kim et al. (US 2021/0017699), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Park (US 2017/0159229).
Regarding claim 12, the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 teaches the main body includes a water supply container (Kim, fig. 2, tank 45) configured to supply water to generate steam, and a drain container (Kim, fig. 2a, tank 47) configured to collect water; the drain container and water supply container is positioned in a lower chamber of the main body.
The modified structure Kim-Kim’699 does not teach the inner door includes a withdrawal hole provided in the lower portion of the partition such that the water supply container and the drain container are withdrawn through the inner door while the inner door is closed.
However, Park teaches the inner door includes a withdrawal hole (fig. 4, hole 134, 130) provided in a portion of the partition such that the supply unit is withdrawn through the inner door while the inner door is closed (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Kim-Kim’699 with a withdrawal hole in the inner door as taught by Part for the benefit of providing an alternate way to access to the drain container and water supply container when the inner door is closed (Park, fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 12/22/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 102 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented. Thus, the amended limitations have been addressed as analyzed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732