DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 12 June 2026, is reviewed and entered. This Office Action is a final rejection.
Status of Claims
Amended
1, 14-15
Canceled
5, 7, 17
Pending
1-4, 6, 8-16, 18-21
Presented for Examination
1-4, 6, 8-16, 18-21
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Drawing Objections, Specification Objections
The drawing objection with respect to reference number “42” is overcome by the replacement drawing. The remaining drawing objection and specification objection are not overcome and are addressed below.
112(b) Rejections
Overcome by the amendment and withdrawn.
102 Rejections
Regarding claim 15, Applicant’s arguments are drawn to amended subject matter and are addressed in the rejections below.
Regarding claim 21, Applicant argues Kirby does not disclose a cover for covering the at least one fastener. This is not persuasive. Kirby 16 has all the structure of the claimed cover and is capable of covering the fastener, so reads on the claimed cover.
Applicant argues only 17 of fastener 17/18 would be covered by 16. Applicant is reminded that the claim does not require the entirety of the fastener be covered, nor does it require the fastener be covered at all, only the capability of being covered.
Examiner suggests providing more cover structure in the claims in order to further define the cover over Kirby.
103 Rejections
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s arguments are drawn to amended subject matter and are addressed in the rejections below.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12 June 2026. These drawings are acceptable to enter, but do not overcome the objections below.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 13 (the figures support the at least one accessory fastener comprises a screw, but not a hook or loop fastener; on 6/12/26, Applicant argues FIGS 4 and 4A support a hook and loop fastener, but there is no reference character indicating which of the features is hook and loop fastener, and it is not clear that FIGS 4 and 4A support hook and loop fastener) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the subject matter of claim 13 (the specification supports the at least one accessory fastener comprises a screw, but not a hook or loop fastener; para. 0033 discloses the magazine 36 may include a fastener such as a hook and loop combination, but this is a disclosure of the accessory having a fastener, not the apparatus), the light source inserted beneath the plurality of openings in claim 15, and specifically “inserted beneath.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18 and 19 recite the limitation "the at least one lighting module". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 has support for at least one lighting module; however, claims 18-19 depend from claim 15 which does not have support for at least one lighting module. Claim 15 has support for “a light source” but not at least one lighting module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kastl (1,524,137).
As to claim 1, Kastl discloses an apparatus for being worn on a hand of a user (title), comprising: a glove (10), the glove comprising: a plurality of finger portions (FIG 1);a dimensionally stable portion proximal of the plurality of finger portions for covering knuckles on the hand of the user when worn (15 is proximate the finger portions and the finger portions are capable of covering and intended to cover the knuckles on the hand), wherein the glove includes an opening for receiving the dimensionally stable portion and releasing the entirety of the dimensionally stable portion from the glove (11 receives 15 and 15 is removable from the glove as disclosed in col 2 line 75);a portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion adapted for fastening to one or more accessories (portion of 10 proximate 16); and at least one accessory fastener for fastening with the one or more accessories (16 which is capable of fastening and intended to fasten with accessory 17).
As to claim 6, Kastl discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the one or more accessories are selected from a group consisting of a light module, a watch, a compass, a patch (flap or cover 17 is a patch), a magazine, and combinations thereof.
As to claim 8, Kastl discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further including a pocket associated with the opening for at least partially receiving the dimensionally stable portion (24 receives 15).
As to claim 9, Kastl discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the dimensionally stable portion is oversized relative to the opening (FIG 3).
As to claim 10, Kastl discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the dimensionally stable portion of the glove is adapted for projecting light therefrom (capable of projecting light therefrom, such as when watch 15 projects light).
As to claim 11, Kastl discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the dimensionally stable portion comprises one or more openings for allowing light to pass from a light source within the glove (FIG 4 shows opening between 15 and 20a that are capable of allowing light to pass).
As to claim 12, Kastl discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion comprises a strap adapted for fastening to an additional accessory (20 is capable of fastening to an additional accessory, such as a piece of paper or a garment).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 4,761,835).
As to claim 15, Chen discloses an apparatus for being worn on a hand of a user (title), comprising: a glove including a plurality of finger portions (1), the glove adapted for projecting light form a rear surface of a portion of the glove proximal of the plurality of finger portions (capable of projecting light), wherein the glove comprises a dimensionally stable material along a portion of the glove adapted to cover a user's knuckles (38/37/34/33 are capable of covering a user’s knuckles, such as the thumb knuckles), and wherein the dimensionally stable material includes a plurality of openings for allowing a passage of light from a light source inserted beneath the plurality of openings through the dimensionally stable material (32 and the unlabeled openings in 34 and 37 are capable of allowing a passage of light from a light source such as a light source at 35).
Claim(s) 15-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sundh (US 1230943 A).
As to claim 15, Sundh discloses an apparatus for being worn on a hand of a user (“portable light,” title), comprising:
a glove including a plurality of finger portions (glove 2), the glove adapted for projecting light from a rear surface of a portion of the glove proximal of the plurality of finger portions (capable of projecting light, such as with lamps 6-9),
wherein the glove comprises a dimensionally stable material along a portion of the glove adapted to cover a user's knuckles (1 is leather as disclosed in col 1 line 34; present para. 28 defines “dimensionally stable material” as material that is “rigid or semi-rigid” and leather is known to have at least some degree of rigidity), and wherein the dimensionally stable material includes a plurality of openings for allowing a passage of light from a light source inserted beneath the plurality of openings through the dimensionally stable material (1 includes sockets 10 which are openings through 1 and capable of allowing a passage of light from when a light source is inserted beneath 10).
The recitation “openings for allowing a passage of light from a light source inserted beneath the plurality of openings through the dimensionally stable material” is an intended use recitation. A recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Because the prior art reference and the claimed invention are structurally identical, they are expected to be capable of being used in the same manner, and the prior art reference reads on the intended use recitation in the claim.
Applicant is respectfully reminded that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case the sockets are capable of allowing a passage of light from a light source inserted beneath the sockets, because light may pass from the bottom of the socket or around the socket or through the leather of 1.
As to claim 16, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the glove includes at least one lighting module connected to the rear surface of the portion of the glove proximal of the plurality of finger portions (combination of 1 and 6-10).
As to claim 18, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one lighting module is adapted for projecting light in a direction generally orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the glove (capable of projecting and intended to project, see col 2 line 94-105 which describes the directions of the light).
As to claim 19, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one lighting module is adapted for projecting light in at least two different directions (present para. 0037 discloses this is a function of how the wearer moves their hand, the Sundh lighting module is capable of being moved such that it projects light in at least two different directions in the same manner disclosed by Applicant).
As to claim 20, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the plurality of openings comprise a first set of openings for projecting light in a first direction (e.g., 6-7, capable of projecting and intended to project, see col 2 line 94-105 which describes the directions of the light) and a second set of openings for projecting light in a second direction (e.g., 8-9, capable of projecting and intended to project, see col 2 line 94-105 which describes the directions of the light).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirby (US 3608093 A).
As to claim 21, Kirby discloses an apparatus for being worn on a hand of a user (glove, title), comprising: a glove (10), the glove comprising: a plurality of finger portions (FIGS 1-4); at least one fastener (17, 18), wherein at least one of the plurality of finger portions is adapted for being retracted from a position covering a finger of the user's hand and fastened to the glove using the at least one fastener (FIGS 3-4); a cover for covering the at least one fastener when not fastened to at least one of the plurality of finger portions (Kirby 16 is capable of covering 17 or 18 when not fastened to a finger portion, such as by tucking 14 into the interior of the glove; Kirby 12 is capable of covering 17 and/ or 18 when not fastened to a finger portion 14, such as by folding 12 over 18 to cover 18); a dimensionally stable portion proximal of the plurality of finger portions for covering knuckles on the hand of the user when worn (FIG 2, a portion of the glove 10 proximate the knuckles); a portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion adapted for fastening to one or more accessories (FIG 2, a portion proximate the stable portion); and at least one accessory fastener for fastening with the one or more accessories (elastic insert and/ or the hook and loop disclosed in col 3 line 5-15, which are capable of fastening with an accessory).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mack (US 9781957 B2).
As to claim 21, Mack discloses an apparatus for being worn on a hand of a user (title), comprising: a glove (inner glove 12), the glove comprising: a plurality of finger portions (FIG 5);at least one fastener (one of magnets 17 in FIG 1), wherein at least one of the plurality of finger portions is adapted for being retracted from a position covering a finger of the user's hand and fastened to the glove using the at least one fastener (FIG 2);a cover for covering the at least one fastener when not fastened to at least one of the plurality of finger portions (outer glove 11; magnets are sewn between the inner and outer glove; therefore, the outer glove 11 covers the magnet);a dimensionally stable portion proximal of the plurality of finger portions for covering knuckles on the hand of the user when worn (portion of 12 proximal the finger portions that is capable of covering the knuckles when worn);a portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion adapted for fastening to one or more accessories (portion of the dimensionally stable portion that is capable of fastening accessories thereto, such as by adhesive); and at least one accessory fastener for fastening with the one or more accessories (another one of magnets 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundh (US 1230943 A) in view of Gunter (US 5117508 A).
As to claim 1, Sundh discloses an apparatus for being worn on a hand of a user (“portable light,” title), comprising: a glove (glove 2), the glove comprising: a plurality of finger portions (FIG 1);
a dimensionally stable portion proximal of the plurality of finger portions for covering knuckles on the hand of the user when worn (combination of 1 and 15; 1 is leather as disclosed in col 1 line 34; present para. 28 defines “dimensionally stable material” as material that is “rigid or semi-rigid” and leather is known to have at least some degree of rigidity), wherein the glove includes an opening for receiving the dimensionally stable portion and releasing the entirety of the dimensionally stable portion from the glove (the opening of pocket 3 capable of receiving and releasing the battery 15 of the portion; 1/ 15 is releasable from the glove by cutting the stitches attaching it to the glove; col 1 line 30-40 discloses 1 is sewn to 2 and sewing is releasable by cutting or pulling the threads);
a portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion adapted for fastening to one or more accessories (capable of fastening).
Sundh does not disclose at least one accessory fastener for fastening with the one or more accessories.
Gunter teaches a similar apparatus (“System for attaching a display unit to a glove,” title) including at least one accessory fastener for fastening with the one or more accessories (FIG 2 shows accessory 20 mounted to the glove via fasteners including straps 22 and 26, button 29 and tack 28, and hook and loop 23a and 23b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the glove of Sundh with the at least one accessory fastener taught by Gunter, for the purpose of providing a means for attaching an accessory such as a watch to the glove.
As to claim 6, Sundh as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more accessories are selected from a group consisting of a light module, a watch (this is the result of the modification presented in claim 1 above, see Gunter col 2 line 30-35), a compass, a patch, a magazine, and combinations thereof.
As to claim 8, Sundh discloses a pocket associated with the opening for at least partially receiving the dimensionally stable portion (pocket 3 receives 15 of the portion).
As to claim 9, Sundh discloses the dimensionally stable portion is oversized relative to the opening (FIG 1).
As to claim 10, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the dimensionally stable portion of the glove is adapted for projecting light therefrom (capable of projecting light, such as with lamps 6-9).
As to claim 11, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the dimensionally stable portion comprises one or more openings for allowing light to pass from a light source within the glove (1 includes sockets 10 which are openings).
As to claim 12, Sundh as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion comprises a strap adapted for fastening to an additional accessory (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, see Gunter’s strap 22 and/ or 26).
As to claim 13, Sundh as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one accessory fastener comprises a hook or loop fastener (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, see Gunter’s hook and loop 23a and 23b).
As to claim 14, Sundh as modified does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one accessory fastener comprises a pair of screws passing through a plurality of additional openings in the portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion.
Gunter (and thus Sundh as modified by Gunter) does disclose a single screw (28a is threaded as disclosed in col 2 line 45-60) passing through an opening (opening in the glove occupied by 28a and/ or the retaining button in 29) in the portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion.
One of ordinary skill would recognize that duplicating Gunter’s 28/29 would provide a more secure attachment between the glove and accessory and would result in “a pair of screws passing through openings in the portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to duplicate Gunter’s 28/29, since mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to duplicate Gunter’s 28/29 to provide a more secure attachment between the glove and accessory.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundh (US 1230943 A) in view of Gunter (US 5117508 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kirby (US 3608093 A).
As to claim 2, Sundh does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the glove further includes at least one fastener, and wherein at least one of the plurality of finger portions is adapted for being retracted from a position covering a finger of the user's hand and fastened to the glove using the at least one fastener.
Kirby teaches a similar apparatus (glove, title) including the glove further includes at least one fastener (17, 18), and wherein at least one of the plurality of finger portions (14) is adapted for being retracted from a position covering a finger of the user's hand and fastened to the glove using the at least one fastener (FIGS 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a retractable finger portion for the purpose of allowing the wearer’s finger to be selectively covered for warmth and protection.
As to claim 3, Sundh as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one fastener is associated with a cover for covering the at least one fastener when not fastened to at least one of the plurality of finger portions (Kirby 16 is capable of covering 17 or 18 when not fastened to a finger portion, such as by tucking 14 into the interior of the glove; Kirby 12 is capable of covering 17 and/ or 18 when not fastened to a finger portion 14, such as by folding 12 over 18 to cover 18).
As to claim 4, Sundh as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one fastener comprises a hook and loop fastener (Kirby 17 and 18).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kastl (US 1,524,137) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kirby (US 3608093 A).
As to claim 2, Kastl does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the glove further includes at least one fastener, and wherein at least one of the plurality of finger portions is adapted for being retracted from a position covering a finger of the user's hand and fastened to the glove using the at least one fastener.
Kirby teaches a similar apparatus (glove, title) including the glove further includes at least one fastener (17, 18), and wherein at least one of the plurality of finger portions (14) is adapted for being retracted from a position covering a finger of the user's hand and fastened to the glove using the at least one fastener (FIGS 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a retractable finger portion for the purpose of allowing the wearer’s finger to be selectively covered for warmth and protection.
As to claim 3, Kastl as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one fastener is associated with a cover for covering the at least one fastener when not fastened to at least one of the plurality of finger portions (Kirby 16 is capable of covering 17 or 18 when not fastened to a finger portion, such as by tucking 14 into the interior of the glove; Kirby 12 is capable of covering 17 and/ or 18 when not fastened to a finger portion 14, such as by folding 12 over 18 to cover 18).
As to claim 4, Kastl as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one fastener comprises a hook and loop fastener (Kirby 17 and 18).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kastl (US 1,524,137).
As to claim 13, Kastl does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one accessory fastener comprises a hook or loop fastener.
Kastl discloses the fastener is a snap (col 1 line 45-50).
It is known in the art that various types of fastening mechanisms are functionally equivalent. Hook and loop, button and buttonhole, hook and catch, snaps, screws, and adhesive are a few examples. These fasteners may be used interchangeably depending upon the desired aesthetic effect. Further, the specification does not give an indication of why the hook and loop would be desirable over another fastener type.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a hook and loop fastener in order to provide a known releasable fastener.
As to claim 14, Kastle does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one accessory fastener comprises a pair of screws passing through a plurality of additional openings in the portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion.
Kastl discloses the fastener is a pair of snaps (col 1 line 45-50).
It is known in the art that various types of fastening mechanisms are functionally equivalent. Hook and loop, button and buttonhole, hook and catch, snaps, screws, and adhesive are a few examples. These fasteners may be used interchangeably depending upon the desired aesthetic effect. Further, the specification does not give an indication of why the hook and loop would be desirable over another fastener type.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a pair of screws in order to provide a known releasable fastener.
Conclusion
SALLY HADEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/SALLY HADEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732