DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 18 November 2025, is reviewed and entered. This Office Action is a final rejection.
Status of Claims
Amended
1-2, 6, 8-9, 15
Newly Added
21
Canceled
5, 7, 17
Pending
1-4, 6, 8-16, 18-21
Presented for Examination
1-4, 6, 8-16, 18-21
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Drawing Objections
Overcome and withdrawn.
112(b) Rejections
Overcome and withdrawn.
Art Rejections in view of Sundh
Applicant argues the present stale portion and Sundh stable portion have different means of attachment to the glove.
Examiner acknowledges the differences; however, the claims are broad enough to read on attachment means such as Sundh’s.
Applicant argues Sundh’s pocket receives a distinct component separate from the stable portion. This is not persuasive. Sundh’s stable portion includes 1 and 15, and the pocket receives at least a portion (15) of the stable portion.
The arguments that are drawn to newly added or amended subject matter are addressed in the rejections below.
In light of the above, the rejections are believed to be proper.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 18 November 2025. These drawings are acceptable to enter, but do not overcome the objections below.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 42 in FIG 7. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 13 (the figures support the at least one accessory fastener comprises a screw, but not a hook or loop fastener) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the subject matter of claim 13 (the specification supports the at least one accessory fastener comprises a screw, but not a hook or loop fastener), the light source inserted beneath the plurality of openings in claim 15, and specifically “inserted beneath.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is indefinite because it is not clear if the “openings” of claim 14 include the “opening” of claim 1 or if claim 14 is introducing new openings. Based on a review of the disclosure, Examiner believes these are intended to be different openings. If so, an amendment that distinguishes the openings such as amending “openings” in claim 2 to –a plurality of additional openings—would be sufficient to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sundh (US 1230943 A).
As to claim 15, Sundh discloses an apparatus for being worn on a hand of a user (“portable light,” title), comprising:
a glove including a plurality of finger portions (glove 2), the glove adapted for projecting light from a rear surface of a portion of the glove proximal of the plurality of finger portions (capable of projecting light, such as with lamps 6-9),
wherein the glove comprises a dimensionally stable material along a portion of the glove adapted to cover a user's knuckles (1 is leather as disclosed in col 1 line 34; present para. 28 defines “dimensionally stable material” as material that is “rigid or semi-rigid” and leather is known to have at least some degree of rigidity), and wherein the dimensionally stable material includes a plurality of openings for allowing a passage of light from a light source inserted beneath the plurality of openings (1 includes sockets 10 which are openings and capable of allowing a passage of light from when a light source is inserted beneath 10).
As to claim 16, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the glove includes at least one lighting module connected to the rear surface of the portion of the glove proximal of the plurality of finger portions (combination of 1 and 6-10).
As to claim 18, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one lighting module is adapted for projecting light in a direction generally orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the glove (capable of projecting and intended to project, see col 2 line 94-105 which describes the directions of the light).
As to claim 19, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one lighting module is adapted for projecting light in at least two different directions (present para. 0037 discloses this is a function of how the wearer moves their hand, the Sundh lighting module is capable of being moved such that it projects light in at least two different directions in the same manner disclosed by Applicant).
As to claim 20, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the plurality of openings comprise a first set of openings for projecting light in a first direction (e.g., 6-7, capable of projecting and intended to project, see col 2 line 94-105 which describes the directions of the light) and a second set of openings for projecting light in a second direction (e.g., 8-9, capable of projecting and intended to project, see col 2 line 94-105 which describes the directions of the light).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirby (US 3608093 A).
As to claim 21, Kirby discloses an apparatus for being worn on a hand of a user (glove, title), comprising:
a glove (10), the glove comprising:
a plurality of finger portions (FIGS 1-4);
at least one fastener (17, 18), wherein at least one of the plurality of finger portions is adapted for being retracted from a position covering a finger of the user's hand and fastened to the glove using the at least one fastener (FIGS 3-4);
a cover for covering the at least one fastener when not fastened to at least one of the plurality of finger portions (16 is capable of covering the at least one fastener, e.g., due to the flexibility of 14, 14 may be tucked into the glove and covered by 16);
a dimensionally stable portion proximal of the plurality of finger portions for covering knuckles on the hand of the user when worn (FIG 2, a portion of the glove 10 proximate the knuckles);
a portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion adapted for fastening to one or more accessories (FIG 2, a portion proximate the stable portion); and
at least one accessory fastener for fastening with the one or more accessories (elastic insert and/ or the hook and loop disclosed in col 3 line 5-15, which are capable of fastening with an accessory).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundh (US 1230943 A) in view of Gunter (US 5117508 A).
As to claim 1, Sundh discloses an apparatus for being worn on a hand of a user (“portable light,” title), comprising: a glove (glove 2), the glove comprising: a plurality of finger portions (FIG 1);
a dimensionally stable portion proximal of the plurality of finger portions for covering knuckles on the hand of the user when worn (combination of 1 and 15; 1 is leather as disclosed in col 1 line 34; present para. 28 defines “dimensionally stable material” as material that is “rigid or semi-rigid” and leather is known to have at least some degree of rigidity), wherein the glove includes an opening for receiving and releasing the dimensionally stable portion (the opening of pocket 3 capable of receiving and releasing the battery 15 of the portion);
a portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion adapted for fastening to one or more accessories (capable of fastening).
Sundh does not disclose at least one accessory fastener for fastening with the one or more accessories.
Gunter teaches a similar apparatus (“System for attaching a display unit to a glove,” title) including at least one accessory fastener for fastening with the one or more accessories (FIG 2 shows accessory 20 mounted to the glove via fasteners including straps 22 and 26, button 29 and tack 28, and hook and loop 23a and 23b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the glove of Sundh with the at least one accessory fastener taught by Gunter, for the purpose of providing a means for attaching an accessory such as a watch to the glove.
As to claim 6, Sundh as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more accessories are selected from a group consisting of a light module, a watch (this is the result of the modification presented in claim 1 above, see Gunter col 2 line 30-35), a compass, a patch, a magazine, and combinations thereof.
As to claim 8, Sundh discloses a pocket associated with the opening for at least partially receiving the dimensionally stable portion (pocket 3 receives 15 of the portion).
As to claim 9, Sundh discloses the dimensionally stable portion is oversized relative to the opening (FIG 1).
As to claim 10, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the dimensionally stable portion of the glove is adapted for projecting light therefrom (capable of projecting light, such as with lamps 6-9).
As to claim 11, Sundh discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the dimensionally stable portion comprises one or more openings for allowing light to pass from a light source within the glove (1 includes sockets 10 which are openings).
As to claim 12, Sundh as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion comprises a strap adapted for fastening to an additional accessory (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, see Gunter’s strap 22 and/ or 26).
As to claim 13, Sundh as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one accessory fastener comprises a hook or loop fastener (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, see Gunter’s hook and loop 23a and 23b).
As to claim 14, Sundh as modified does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one accessory fastener comprises a pair of screws passing through openings in the portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion.
Gunter (and thus Sundh as modified by Gunter) does disclose a single screw (28a is threaded as disclosed in col 2 line 45-60) passing through an opening (opening in the glove occupied by 28a and/ or the retaining button in 29) in the portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion.
One of ordinary skill would recognize that duplicating Gunter’s 28/29 would provide a more secure attachment between the glove and accessory and would result in “a pair of screws passing through openings in the portion proximal of the dimensionally stable portion.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to duplicate Gunter’s 28/29, since mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to duplicate Gunter’s 28/29 to provide a more secure attachment between the glove and accessory.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundh (US 1230943 A) in view of Gunter (US 5117508 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kirby (US 3608093 A).
As to claim 2, Sundh does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the glove further includes at least one fastener, and wherein at least one of the plurality of finger portions is adapted for being retracted from a position covering a finger of the user's hand and fastened to the glove using the at least one fastener.
Kirby teaches a similar apparatus (glove, title) including the glove further includes at least one fastener (17, 18), and wherein at least one of the plurality of finger portions (14) is adapted for being retracted from a position covering a finger of the user's hand and fastened to the glove using the at least one fastener (FIGS 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a retractable finger portion for the purpose of allowing the wearer’s finger to be selectively covered for warmth and protection.
As to claim 3, Sundh as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one fastener is associated with a cover for covering the at least one fastener when not fastened to at least one of the plurality of finger portions (Kirby 16 is capable of covering 17 or 18 when not fastened to a finger portion, such as by tucking 14 into the interior of the glove).
As to claim 4, Sundh as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one fastener comprises a hook and loop fastener (Kirby 17 and 18).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SALLY HADEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/SALLY HADEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732