DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 0/2/13/2025, 05/20/2025, 12/12/2025, 04/29/2025, and 05/21/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 13-14 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogdoll et al. (Bogdoll, Daniel et al. “Multimodal Detection of Unknown Objects on Roads for Autonomous Driving.” 2022 IEEE International Conference on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics (SMC) (2022): 325-332, hereinafter “Bogdoll”) in view of Armstrong et al. (US Patent Number 2021/0158308-A1, hereinafter “Armstrong”).
Regarding claim 1, Bogdoll teaches: A vision-based perception system for monitoring a physical environment of the system comprising: (Fig. 2)
a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) device configured to obtain a temporal sequence of point cloud data sets representing the environment; (III. Method C. 3D Lidar Detection, "We first utilized CenterPoint++ [49] to label objects as known in the 3D lidar space. CenterPoint++ ranked 2nd in the Waymo Real-time 3D detection challenge [10], as it achieved an mAPH of 72.8 and an inference speed of 57.1ms. Besides the outstanding performance, we chose CenterPoint++ as the model is only based on lidar data and its implementation is open-sourced. To be more precise, we used the two staged model architecture with the VoxelNet [50] backbone. Moreover, the model’s input is the multi-sweep aggregation of the current and the last two-point cloud frames.")
a camera device configured to capture a temporal sequence of images of the environment; (III. Method C. 3D Lidar Detection, "We first utilized CenterPoint++ [49] to label objects as known in the 3D lidar space. CenterPoint++ ranked 2nd in the Waymo Real-time 3D detection challenge [10], as it achieved an mAPH of 72.8 and an inference speed of 57.1ms. Besides the outstanding performance, we chose CenterPoint++ as the model is only based on lidar data and its implementation is open-sourced. To be more precise, we used the two staged model architecture with the VoxelNet [50] backbone. Moreover, the model’s input is the multi-sweep aggregation of the current and the last two-point cloud frames.")
and a processing unit comprising a first neural network and a second neural network different from the first neural network and configured to: (III. Method A. Road Segmentation, "In order to focus primarily on objects on the road, we applied a semantic segmentation model in the image domain as a first step. "; D. 2D Camera Detection, "Clustered objects that were not classified by the 3D detector are further processed in the 2D image space. Therefore, we mapped the detected 3D bounding boxes onto the corresponding position in the image space. … For the 2D classification, we used CLIP [51], a zero-shot model that can be used for visual classification tasks by providing the names of the visual categories to be recognized.")
recognize an object present in the temporal sequence of images by means of the first neural network; (III. Method A. Road Segmentation, "In order to focus primarily on objects on the road, we applied a semantic segmentation model in the image domain as a first step. By using camera data, we made use of the higher information density through given shape and texture properties compared to the sparse lidar point cloud.")
determine an unrecognized object present in the temporal sequence of images; (III. Method A. Road Segmentation, Fig. 2(f); Method D. 2D camera detection, "Clustered objects that were not classified by the 3D detector are further processed in the 2D image space.")
determine a bounding box for the determined unrecognized object based on at least one of the point cloud data sets; (III. Method D. 2D camera detection, "Therefore, we mapped the detected 3D bounding boxes onto the corresponding position in the image space. ")
obtain a neural network representation of the unrecognized object based on the temporal sequence of images and the determined bounding box by means of the second neural network (III. Method D. 2D camera detection, "Next, we constructed 2D candidate bounding boxes from the area of each 3D box and passed them to the 2D classifier for recognition.");
Bogdoll does not teach: And train the first neural network for recognition of the unrecognized object based on the obtained neural network representation of the unrecognized object.
However, Armstrong does teach: And train the first neural network for recognition of the unrecognized object based on the obtained neural network representation of the unrecognized object. (Armstrong, [0045], "The method can optionally include classifying the image (or set thereof) as “unknown.” …The labeled images can subsequently be used as training data to update the contamination detection system (e.g., train or update the neural network).")
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify lidar segmentation through machine learning (as taught by Bogdoll) to include training based on unrecognized objects (as taught by Armstrong) because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, lidar segmentation through machine learning as modified by training based on unrecognized objects can yield a predictable result of allowing for better future performance by teaching it based on data the model had previous issue with. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in lidar segmentation through machine learning the ability to do training based on unrecognized objects since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Bogdoll in view of Armstrong teaches: The vision-based perception system according to claim 1, wherein the processing is further configured to: cluster points of each of the point cloud data sets to obtain point clusters for each of the point cloud data sets; and determine the unrecognized object by determining that for at least a some of the point cloud data sets one of the point clusters does not correspond to any object recognized by means of the first neural network. (Bogdoll, III. Method B. Corner case proposal generation, "After we identified the point cloud on the road, we generated corner case proposals by clustering the points via DBSCAN. We chose an = 1 as a distance to neighbors in a cluster and required that a cluster consists of at least 30 points. The clustering into single objects makes our pipeline an open-set detection, as clusters are initially considered unknown. However, we used state-of-the-art closed-set detection architectures to rule out clusters as known objects.")
Regarding claim 3, Bogdoll in view of Armstrong teaches: The vision-based perception system according to claim 2, wherein the processing unit is configured to perform: ground segmentation based on the point cloud data sets to determine ground; and to determine the unrecognized object by determining that that the unrecognized object is located on the determined ground. (Bogdoll, III. Method B. Corner case proposal generation, "Therefore, we flattened all points and reduced the point cloud to two dimensions, i.e., setting the height to zero. A point lies on the road if the number of intersections with the scene of the estimated alpha shape is even, and thus the flattened point lies within the surface.")
Regarding claim 9, Bogdoll in view of Armstrong teaches: The vision-based perception system according to claim 1, wherein the vision- based perception system is configured to be installed in a vehicle and the temporal sequence of point cloud data sets and the temporal sequence of images represent a driving scene of the vehicle. (Bogdoll, III. Method A. Road Segmentation, Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 has been analyzed with regard to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 has been analyzed with regard to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 has been analyzed with regard to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogdoll et al. (Bogdoll, Daniel et al. “Multimodal Detection of Unknown Objects on Roads for Autonomous Driving.” 2022 IEEE International Conference on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics (SMC) (2022): 325-332, hereinafter “Bogdoll”) in view of Armstrong et al. (US Patent Number 2021/0158308-A1, hereinafter “Armstrong”) and Xie et al. (Xie, Christopher & Park, Keunhong & Martin Brualla, Ricardo & Brown, Matthew. (2021). FiG-NeRF: Figure-Ground Neural Radiance Fields for 3D Object Category Modelling. 10.48550/arXiv.2104.08418, hereinafter “Xie”).
Regarding claim 6, Bogdoll in view of Armstrong does not teach: The vision-based perception system according to claim 1, wherein the second neural network comprises a first Multilayer Perceptron (MLP) trained based on the Neural Radiance Field technique and a second MLP trained based on the Neural Radiance Field technique different from the first MLP; and the first MLP is configured to obtain the neural network representation of the unrecognized object and the second MLP is configured to obtain a neural network representation of a background of the unrecognized object.
However, Xie does teach: The vision-based perception system according to claim 1, wherein the second neural network comprises a first Multilayer Perceptron (MLP) trained based on the Neural Radiance Field technique and a second MLP trained based on the Neural Radiance Field technique different from the first MLP; and the first MLP is configured to obtain the neural network representation of the unrecognized object and the second MLP is configured to obtain a neural network representation of a background of the unrecognized object. (Xie, 1. Introduction, "We propose Figure-Ground Neural Radiance Fields (FiG-NeRF), which uses two NeRF models to model the objects and background, respectively."; "The key to our approach is to decompose the neural radiance field into two components: a foreground component Ff and a background component Fb, each modeled by a conditional NeRF.")
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify lidar segmentation through machine learning (as taught by Bogdoll in view of Armstrong) to include neuro radiance field technique (as taught by Xie) because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, lidar segmentation through machine learning as modified by neuro radiance field technique can yield a predictable result of allowing for 3d reconstructions from 2d data that allows for more accurate segmentation. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in lidar segmentation through machine learning the ability to do neuro radiance field technique since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 has been analyzed with regard to claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Conclusion
/JINSU HWANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2667 /MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667