DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, 10, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to disclose measuring a height difference between a folding part and an “upper surface” of a pouch case, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Attention is brought to the fact that the term “upper” is a relative term and may very in different perspectives. In the reference to Kim for example, the “upper surface” changes from drawing to drawing, e.g. the surface being examined faces to the side in Figures 2a-2c and 5, faces downward in Figures 4b and 7-10, and faces upward in Figure 1. Further, the direction the surface faces does not change or limit the system or method, due to the fact the measurement is merely based on a measured height difference between two locations. The reference to Kim explicitly discloses determining a plurality of height differences (h1, h2), at a plurality of locations (P1-P10), wherein the measurements are based upon a difference from a “lowest point” (361) to a plurality of “highest” points (362-1, 362-2). Therefore, the reference to Kim is understood to anticipate the claimed invention.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments that the reference to Kim fails to “limit the scan range of the scanning device”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Attention is brought to the fact the claims as written do not recite any specific language for “limiting the range of the scanning device”. They merely disclose a “partial range” and a “region of interest”. Kim explicitly discloses and defines a plurality of partial measurement regions (R1, R2, R3). Further, each measurement point (P1-P10) may be viewed as a separate “partial range” or “region of interest”. Therefore, the reference to Kim is understood to anticipate the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Publication 2022/0320606 to Kim et al.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11, 13-15 and 17, Kim discloses and shows in Figures 1-12, a system and method for detecting a folding fault of a secondary battery (par. 2, 7-10, 14),
the apparatus comprising:
a laser scanner (100) configured to emit a laser in a designated range according to a designated scan rate and receive a reflected laser (Figure 3) (par. 26, 60, 64-65); and
a processor (200) configured to control the laser scanner to measure a height (h1, h2) of a folding part (362-1, 362-2) and a height of a pouch case (361) of the secondary battery being transferred by a transfer apparatus for each designated section (Figure 3, 8) (par. 66, 73-75, 78; wherein a “W-shaped bend” is formed in the battery pouch case, and a plurality of heights, for a plurality of regions of interest, are determined in relation to a lowest point of the bend),
checking whether there is a section where the height of the folding part (361) measured through the laser scanner is greater than the height of an upper surface (362-1, 362-2) of the pouch case, provided that a height difference (h1, h2) between the folding part and the upper surface of the pouch case is a designated reference value or more (Figure 8, 11, 12) (par. 73-75, 78; wherein a plurality of bend values are measured and compared to preset threshold values to determine if a battery is good or not; wherein a height difference is determined from the “lowest” point of a folding dent part to the “highest” point of a plurality of protrusion parts), and
if there is section where the height difference is the designated reference value or more, determine that the folding fault has occurred (par. 2, 68-69, 73-75, 85-86; wherein a plurality of bend values are measured and compared to preset threshold values to determine if a battery is good or not);
wherein the folding part (13) is formed by folding, at last once, a portion where an upper case (11) and a lower case (12) of the pouch case are bonded (Figures 2a-2c) (par. 8; wherein a bridge part is bent and connects a first receiving part and a second receiving part to form the pouch case);
[claims 3 and 11] wherein a partial region of a measurement range (R1, R2, R3) of the laser scanner is set as a region of interest, the region of interest being set to have a designed width based on a boundary between the pouch case and the folding part, and a designed depth based on the upper surface of the pouch case (Figure 9) (par. 78-81; wherein a surface may be divided into a plurality of regions and maximum bend values for each region may be set as corresponding values; further, each measurement point (P1-P10) may be viewed as a separate region of interest with a designated width and depth), and
the measuring step comprises measuring the height of the upper surface of the pouch case, and the height of the folding part by emitting a laser to a region of interest and receiving a laser reflected from the region of interest (Figure 8, 11, 12) (par. 73-75, 78; wherein a plurality of bend values are measured and compared to preset threshold values to determine if a battery is good or not; wherein a height difference is determined from the “lowest” point of a folding dent part to the “highest” point of a plurality of protrusion parts);
[claims 5 and 13] wherein the measuring step comprises measuring the height of the folding part and the height of the pouch case for each designated section in a longitudinal direction of the secondary battery (Figure 4b, 7, 9-10, 13) (Par. 65, 67);
[claims 6 and 14] wherein the measuring step comprises determining a maximum value among the heights of the folding part measured in each section as the height of the folding part in the corresponding section, and determining a maximum value among the heights of the pouch case measured in each section as the height of the pouch case in the corresponding section (par. 78, 86-87, 90; wherein a plurality of maximum bend values are determined for a plurality of regions, wherein each bend value is comprised of a folding part height value and a pouch case height value; further the standard and tolerance calculations may utilize various well-known analysis methods, including average values, fitted line values or regression analysis);
[claims 7 and 15] further comprising outputting the determined heights of the folding part and the determined heights of the pouch case by illustrating them as a graph (Figures 6, 11-12) (par. 89-90).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, 10, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of US Patent 12,437,461 to Tu et al.
In regards to claims 2 and 10, Kim discloses and shows in Figure 5, a system and method wherein a laser scanner (100), images a longitudinal edge of a battery while the battery is transferred in one direction at a designated speed (par.67).
Kim differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system and method further comprising: wherein the laser scanner is fixedly disposed on an upper side of the rail of the transfer apparatus, and the measuring step is performed while the carrier on which the secondary battery is placed moves to pass a lower end of the laser scanner along the rail at a designated speed.
However, Tu teaches and shows in Figures 1-12, a machine vision detection system and method, wherein a plurality of laser scanning devices (111, 114) are utilized to image the edges of a manufactured battery pack (col. 9, ll. 1-68), wherein a rail system supports the laser scanning devices (Figures 1-3), as a plurality of objects to be inspected (120) pass underneath on a conveyor belt (col. 9, ll. 36-49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim to include the rail support system discussed above for the advantage of improving the efficiency and accuracy of a machine vision system (col. 1, ll. 21-32), with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claims 4 and 12, Kim differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system and method further comprising: wherein the measuring step comprises starting the measurement when the secondary battery is detected in the region of interest, and ending the measurement when the secondary battery is not detected from the region of interest.
However, Tu teaches and shows in Figures 1-12, a machine vision detection system and method, wherein a plurality of laser scanning devices (111, 114) are utilized to image the edges of a manufactured battery pack (col. 9, ll. 1-68), wherein the inspection of the battery cell begins when the battery cell enters an initial position of a detecting station (col. 16, ll. 51 to col. 17, 7). Further, the starting and stopping of measurements when an object enters and leaves an inspection area is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim to include starting and stopping the measurements as discussed above for the advantage of only acquiring necessary object measurements, while improving the efficiency and accuracy of a machine vision system (col. 1, ll. 21-32), with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claims 8 and 16, Kim differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system and method further comprising: further comprising generating an alarm in a designated manner when it is determined that the folding fault has occurred.
However, Tu teaches and shows in Figures 1-12, a machine vision detection system and method, wherein a plurality of laser scanning devices (111, 114) are utilized to image the edges of a manufactured battery pack (col. 9, ll. 1-68), wherein a display of relevant information for a battery under inspection includes different colors (applicant’s alarm) to illustrate the status of an object height for particular regions (col. 19, ll. 1-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim to include the object status indicator or alarm discussed above for the advantage of rapidly and intuitively identifying the status of an object under test, while improving the efficiency and accuracy of a machine vision system (col. 1, ll. 21-32), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JONATHAN M. HANSEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2877
/JONATHAN M HANSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877