DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, line 1; the phrase “a compressor” should be changed to --the compressor-- for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AOKI et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2020/0333055 A1), hereinafter referred to as AOKI et al ‘055.
Regarding claim 1, AOKI et al. 055 disclose a compressor (10) comprising: a compressor body casing (11) {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶ [0027]}; a compression mechanism unit (20) provided in the compressor body casing {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶ [0027]}; and an accumulator (50) provided outside the compressor body casing, and connected to the compression mechanism unit via at least one outlet pipe (41), the accumulator having at least one through hole (58) through which the outlet pipe is inserted, in a plan view as viewed along a center axis direction (Fig. 2) of the accumulator, a center or a center of gravity (41c) of at least one portion where the outlet pipe is inserted into the through hole being located closer to the compressor body casing than a center axis of the accumulator (50c) {as shown in Figs. 1-2: ¶¶ [0016] and [0050]}.
Regarding claim 2, AOKI et al. 055 disclose the compressor according to claim 1, wherein in the plan view, a virtual straight line (FFL) (first frow path) and a virtual circle are formed, the virtual straight line passes through a center axis (10c) of the compressor body casing and the center axis of the accumulator, the virtual circle is centered on a point (A) at which the virtual straight line intersects with an outer peripheral surface (OPS) of the compressor body casing, and has a radius equal to a distance (R) from the point to the center axis of the accumulator, and the center or the center of gravity (14c) is located in the virtual circle {as shown in annotated Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 3, AOKI et al. 055 disclose the compressor according to claim 2, wherein the center or the center of gravity is located on the virtual straight line in the plan view {as shown in annotated Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 4, AOKI et al. 055 disclose the compressor according to claim 1, wherein an end of the accumulator in the center axis direction has a flat portion (FP) extending along a radial direction of the accumulator, and the through hole is provided in the flat portion {as shown in annotated Fig. 4}.
Regarding claim 7, AOKI et al. 055 disclose a refrigeration apparatus (1) including the compressor according to claim 1 {see ¶ [0019]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AOKI et al ‘055, in view of OYAGI et al (English Translated Japanese Publication No.: 2016020657 A), hereinafter referred to as OYAGI et al ‘657.
Regarding claim 5, AOKI et al. 055 disclose the compressor according to claim 1, EXCEPT for the limitations of wherein an end of the accumulator in the center axis direction has a curved portion contiguous with an outer peripheral side surface of the accumulator, and the through hole is provided in the curved portion.
OYAGI et al ‘657 teach: the concept of an end of the accumulator (13) in the center axis direction has a curved portion (CP) contiguous with an outer peripheral side surface (OPSS) of the accumulator, and the through hole for outlet pipe (18) is provided at least in the curved portion {as annotated shown in Fig. 1}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify AOKI et al. 055 in view of OYAGI et al ‘657 to include the outlet pipe provided at least in the curved portion, in order to facilitate stable attachment of the accumulator to the compressor body without extra structural support need.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the AOKI et al. 055 in view of OYAGI et al ‘657 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AOKI et al ‘055, in view of YAKUSHIJI et al (English Translated WO Publication No.: 2019159497 A1), hereinafter referred to as YAKUSHIJI et al ‘497.
Regarding claim 6, AOKI et al. 055 disclose the compressor according to claim 1, EXCEPT for the limitations of wherein the outlet pipe has an oil return hole communicating with a space in the accumulator and located near a lowermost portion of the accumulator.
YAKUSHIJI et al ‘497 teach: the concept of the outlet pipe (511) has an oil return hole (511a) communicating with a space in the accumulator (5) and located near a lowermost portion (L) of the accumulator {as shown in Fig. 1: Page 4, ¶5 through Page 5}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify AOKI et al. 055 in view of YAKUSHIJI et al ‘497 to include the outlet pipe that has an oil return hole communicating with a space in the accumulator and located near a lowermost portion of the accumulator, in order to facilitate returns of lubricating oil collected at the bottom of the container body to the compression chambers {.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the AOKI et al. 055 in view of YAKUSHIJI et al ‘497 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN-110892633-A to NIGO, MASAHIRO.
CN-101331323-A to MORIMOTO, KOUKI.
WO-2020235076-A1 to KENMOTSU KAZUTO
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
06/06/2026