DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 12,130,507 ("Chow").
Regarding claim 1, Chow discloses a wafer sensor comprising:
a wafer substrate (36, Fig. 3 or 36’, Fig. 6); and
a plurality of pixels (PCM pixels, Fig. 2B, also, see Figs. 3-6, showing at least 3 pixels corresponding to PCM 14, 16, 18, as an example, and/or see unit-cells 76, 78, 80, 82, Fig. 7A, as a second example) on the wafer substrate (36, Fig. 3 or 36’, Fig. 6), wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels comprises:
a blocking layer (34, Figs. 3, 5 or 34’, Fig. 6),
a reflective layer (30, Figs. 3, 5-6, col. 8, lines 6-8) on the blocking layer (34, Fig. 3 or 34’, Fig. 6),
a phase change material layer (22, 24, 26, Fig. 3 or 22’, 24’, 26’, Fig. 6) on the reflective layer (30, Figs. 3, 6), and
a plurality of metal antennas (14, 16, 18, Fig. 3, or 14’, 16’, 18’, Fig. 6, and see two antennas 64/68 in unit cell 76, Fig. 7A, col. 10, lines 4-17) on the phase change material layer (22, 24, 25, Fig. 3 or 22’, 24’, 26’, Fig. 6, and see 62/69, Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 2, Chow discloses the wafer sensor of claim 1, further comprising a trench (9, Fig. 3, 5-6, col. 8, line 5, or see the space between PCM pixels within unit-cells in Fig. 7A for a second example of a trench) between two adjacent pixels of the plurality of pixels (between adjacent pixels corresponding to PCM 14, 16, 18, see col. 8, lines 10-11 and 14-21, the cavities maintain separation between the pixels so that they are individually addressed/heated, therefore functionally, they are a trench, similarly in Fig. 7A, the spaces between the PCM pixels are trenches).
Regarding claim 3, Chow discloses the wafer sensor of claim 1, wherein the phase change material layer of each pixel of the plurality of pixels comprises Sb2Se3, Sb2S3, GeSbTe (col. 8, line 2), or GeSbSeTe (col. 7, line 56).
Regarding claim 4, Chow discloses the wafer sensor of claim 1, wherein the reflective layer (30, Figs. 3, 6) of each pixel of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 7A) comprises aluminum, tungsten, or copper (col. 8, line 7).
Regarding claim 5, Chow discloses the wafer sensor of claim 1, wherein each metal antenna of the plurality of metal antennas (14, 16, 18, Fig. 3, or 14’, 16’, 18’, Fig. 6, and see 64/68 in unit cell 76, Fig. 7A) of each pixel of the plurality of pixels (PCM pixels, Fig. 2B, and see unit-cells 76, 78, 80, 82, Fig. 7A) comprises aluminum, tungsten, or copper (col. 7, lines 22-23).
Regarding claim 6, Chow discloses the wafer sensor of claim 1, wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels further comprises: a first spacer (40, Fig. 5) between the reflective layer (30, Fig. 5) and the phase change material layer (22, 24, 26, Fig. 5); a second spacer (28, Fig. 5) between the phase change material layer (22, 24, 26, Fig. 5)and at least one metal antenna of the plurality of metal antennas (any one of 14, 16, 18, Fig. 5, the layer 28 is between antenna/PCM mesa laterally).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,187,891 ("Moon").
Regarding claim 8, Chow discloses the wafer sensor of claim 1, but does not disclose that each pixel of the plurality of pixels further comprises a passivation layer covering the plurality of metal antennas.
However, Moon discloses a passivation layer (col. 6, lines 63-67) covering the plurality of metal antennas (140, Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a passivation layer covering the metal antennas as disclosed by Moon in the device of Chow in order to protect the pixel from oxidation, moisture, and contamination.
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0038614 ("Hampton").
Regarding claim 9, Chow discloses a wafer alignment system comprising:
a wafer sensor (Figs. 3, 5-6); wherein the wafer sensor comprises:
a wafer substrate (36, Fig. 3,5 or 36’, Fig. 6); and
a plurality of pixels (PCM pixels, Fig. 2B, also, see Figs. 3-6, showing at least 3 pixels corresponding to PCM 14, 16, 18, as an example, and/or see unit-cells 76, 78, 80, 82, Fig. 7A, as a second example) on the wafer substrate (36, Fig. 3 or 36’, Fig. 6), wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels comprises:
a blocking layer (34, Figs. 3, 5 or 34’, Fig. 6),
a reflective layer (30, Figs. 3, 5-6, col. 8, lines 6-8) on the blocking layer (34, Fig. 3, 5 or 34’, Fig. 6),
a phase change material layer (22, 24, 26, Fig. 3 or 22’, 24’, 26’, Fig. 6) on the reflective layer (30, Figs. 3, 6), and
a plurality of metal antennas (14, 16, 18, Fig. 3, or 14’, 16’, 18’, Fig. 6, and see two antennas 64/68 in unit cell 76, Fig. 7A, col. 10, lines 4-17) on the phase change material layer (22, 24, 25, Fig. 3 or 22’, 24’, 26’, Fig. 6, and see 62/69, Fig. 7A).
Chow does not disclose a chuck configured to support the wafer sensor and heat the wafer sensor; and a transfer device configured to transfer the wafer sensor to the chuck.
However, Hampton discloses a chuck configured to support the wafer sensor (paragraph [0017], chuck not explicitly shown) and heat the wafer sensor (paragraph [0020]); and a transfer device configured to transfer the wafer sensor to the chuck (implied, see paragraphs [0017], [0019], substrate is positioned on the chuck).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a chuck for supporting and heating the wafer sensor and a transfer devce to place the wafer on the chuck as disclosed by Hampton in the device of Chow in order to provide stable and precise controlled surface during processing as well as maintain orientation/alignment.
Regarding claim 10, Chow in view of Hampton discloses the wafer alignment system of claim 9, and Chow further discloses that the wafer sensor comprises a trench (9, Fig. 3, 5-6, col. 8, line 5, or see the space between PCM pixels within unit-cells in Fig. 7A for a second example of a trench) between two adjacent pixels of the plurality of pixels (between adjacent pixels corresponding to PCM 14, 16, 18, see col. 8, lines 10-11 and 14-21, the cavities maintain separation between the pixels so that they are individually addressed/heated, therefore functionally, they are a trench, similarly in Fig. 7A, the spaces between the PCM pixels are trenches).
Regarding claim 11, Chow in view of Hampton discloses the wafer alignment system of claim 9, and Chow further discloses that the phase change material layer of each pixel of the plurality of pixels comprises Sb2Se3, Sb2S3, GeSbTe (col. 8, line 2), or GeSbSeTe (col. 7, line 56).
Regarding claim 12, Chow in view of Hampton discloses the wafer alignment system of claim 9, and Chow further discloses that the reflective layer (30, Figs. 3, 6) of each pixel of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 7A) comprises aluminum, tungsten, or copper (col. 8, line 7).
Regarding claim 13, Chow in view of Hampton discloses the wafer alignment system of claim 9, and Chow further discloses that each metal antenna of the plurality of metal antennas (14, 16, 18, Fig. 3, or 14’, 16’, 18’, Fig. 6, and see 64/68 in unit cell 76, Fig. 7A) of each pixel of the plurality of pixels (PCM pixels, Fig. 2B, and see unit-cells 76, 78, 80, 82, Fig. 7A) comprises aluminum, tungsten, or copper (col. 7, lines 22-23).
Regarding claim 14, Chow discloses the wafer alignment system of claim 9, wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels further comprises: a first spacer (40, Fig. 5) between the reflective layer (30, Fig. 5) and the phase change material layer (22, 24, 26, Fig. 5); a second spacer (28, Fig. 5) between the phase change material layer (22, 24, 26, Fig. 5)and at least one metal antenna of the plurality of metal antennas (any one of 14, 16, 18, Fig. 5, the layer 28 is between antenna/PCM mesa laterally).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: the first and second spacers comprise silicon oxide, is not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 15-17, the invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: control the transfer device to adjust alignment based on the measured change in the phase change material layer, is not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: controlling, by the measurement station, the transfer device to adjust alignment of the wafer sensor based on the analyzed change in the phase change material layer, is not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/MONICA T TABA/Examiner, Art Unit 2878