DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-final action in response to application filed on 04/07/2025. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: system in claim 1.
Examiner suggest deleting the word “system” so the element would be simply referred as a computer. Such computer would not invoke 112(f).
Claim Objection
Claim 3 is objected because “the at least one computer processor” appears to be a typographical error as no prior computer processor was identified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they recite an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A prong 1
As per claim 1, with the exception of computer system, bar code, and mail envelope, feeders of assembly mechanism, all the steps recite an abstract idea. In this case, these steps, as a group, shows a series of rules to be used to determine documents to be mailed (e.g., as banking statement). This is a business relationship, as well as interpersonal relationship, both of which falls into certain methods of organizing human activities. Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2
The computer, bar code, feeders as well as mail envelopes, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, are nothing more than merely generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of use to implement the abstract idea. Therefore, they do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application.
Step 2B
As noted above in step 2A prong 2, of which the analysis still applies in step 2B, the additional elements are nothing more than generally linking the abstract idea to particular field of use, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination. Therefore, they do not provide significantly more. Therefore claim 1 is not eligible.
Examiner suggest physically control machinery such as a assembly machine in a more explicit manner to demonstrate improvement in a technology, which can be seen as integrating the abstract idea into practical application.
Claims 2-7 merely further limit the abstract idea by providing additional steps using additional elements that are substantially similar (e.g., processor being used similarly as computer system). They would be analyzed in substantially similar manner and arrive at the same conclusion as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalra (US 20110125637) in view of Paul (US 20080267510).
As per claim 1, Karltra discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, by at least one computer system, data identifying information for a plurality of entities (Karltra, 0006, system combines payments owed to selected entities and relieves the consumer of burden of having to deposit separate investment funds each month.),
wherein the data, for each entity of the plurality of the entities, comprises:
i) at least one identifier, directly or indirectly, owned or managed by such entity (Fig. 7B, item 710, Privileged Assets, reference and ROC number), and
ii) at least one record date associated with the at least one identifier (Fig. 7B item 710, Privileged Assets, reference and ROC number);
automatically determining, by the at least one computer system, at least one document to be mailed to each entity of the plurality of entities, wherein the at least one document related to the at least one identifier (0006, system combines payments owed to selected entities and relieves the consumer of the burden of having to deposit separate investment funds each month);
automatically generating, by the at least one computer system, a delivery data for each mailing envelope to be mailed to each entity of the plurality of entities (Karltra, 0046, Billing system organize and print billing information ), wherein the delivery data comprises:
Kaltra does not but Paul teaches
unique production control bar code data, generated based on the at least one identifier (0042, Alternately, the document may be identified by a required postal authority barcode, sequence numb er or document processing system control code. See also 0039, once positive identification of a document is achieved … data accessed and used to control the document input section 12 (cutters, accumulators, folders…)); and
automatically assembling, in a machine automated mode, based on the at least one unique production control bar code data, each mailing envelope (0039, once positive identification of a document … data is accessed and used to control … cutters, accumulators, folders …), by:
selecting, in the machine automated mode, a plurality of printed documents from a plurality of feeders of at least one assembling mechanism (See Fig. 1, inserter 14 invovling feeders, see also 0039, once positive identification of a document … data is accessed and used to control … cutters, accumulators, folders …).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to include Paul’s inserter that uses unique bar code to perform quality check on inserter with Karltra’s billing statement mailing for the purpose of ensuring correct package is being mailed (Paul: 0041)
As per claim 2, Karltra further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein each entity of the plurality of entities is one of: an individual and a financial institution (0006).
As per claim 4, Karltra further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprises:
periodically obtaining the at least one document from at least one electronic depository (Karltra, 0060, system creates card billing file).
As per claim 5, Karltra further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprises:
automatically converting the at least one document into at least one print-ready formatted file (0046, billing system organize and print billing information).
As per claim 6, Kaltra does not but Paul teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprises:
utilizing at least one camera to read an image of the at least one unique production control bar code associated with the at least one document (Fig. 1, item 34, image camera and see 0042 for identification of document based on barcode).
The rationale to combine would persist.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalra (US 20110125637) in view of Paul (US 20080267510), further in view of Rai (US 20130128302).
As per claim 3, Karltra does not but Rai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprises:
automatically determining, by the at least one computer processor, a printing allocation among a plurality of printers to print documents for mailings to the plurality of entities based, at least in part, on the delivery data (Rai, Abstract, identifying a plurality of available print devices … selecting the configuration associated with the smallest processing time).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to include Rai’s printer allocation with Karltra’s billing statement printing and mailing for the purpose of reducing processing time.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalra (US 20110125637) in view of Paul (US 20080267510), further in view of Baker (US 20060131378).
As per claim 7, Kaltra does not but Baker teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprises:
Automatically generating at least one tracking log and at least one manifest document for a postal service (Baker, 0034, the combination describes a mail piece in that mailing is the basis of trace and track system. The arrangement allows these two data elements to become associated in a database for downstream tracking); and
automatically tracking the at least one document to the plurality of entities based on the at least one unique production bar code, the at least one tracking log, and the at least one manifest document (Baker, 0034, see citation above).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 8856046, 1 and 12 of Patent No. 9183531, 1-7 of Patent No. 915957, in view of prior arts cited above.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each and every limitation of claim 1 of present invention can be substantially found in claim 1 of the above referenced patents. Similarly, all the dependent claims can be similarly analyzed. Any difference would be cured by the same references shown above in 103 rejection. The rationale to combine the references would persist.
Conclusion
GEORGE CHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628