DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Double Patenting rejection is overcome due to the amendments to claim 1.
The arguments submitted on 05/18/2026 are directed towards a non-elected embodiment (see below) within claims 2 and 5 – 20.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “facet screw engagement feature” in claim 1.
Regarding the facet screw engagement feature, figure 6B ad paragraph [0125] disclose protrusions. Therefore, the structure determined sufficient to perform the function of engagement with the facet screw is a protrusion or functional equivalent thereof.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 2 and 5 – 20 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Original claim 1 was directed towards the embodiment shown in Figs. 1A – 6C due to limitations directed towards the bend in the guide tube. Claims 2 and 5 – 20 appear to be directed towards a different embodiment shown in figures 7A – 11D due to the limitations directed towards the washer/body having a base defining an opening …. the washer base/body further comprising one or more protrusions extending longitudinally from said base.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 2 and 5 – 7 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 2016/0331553 A1) in view of Stoffman et al. (US 2014/0207240 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses a system for delivering a facet implant assembly to a joint space between adjacent vertebrae (Abstract), the system comprising:
a facet implant assembly comprising a facet implant (ref. 200, Figs. 5A- 5D); and
a guide tube delivery device (paragraph [0062], ref. 300, Fig. 7B) comprising a proximal end (ref. 352) and a distal end (ref. 354) configured to receive the facet implant assembly (paragraph [0064], Fig. 7B), and defining a longitudinal extending lumen from the distal end to the proximal end (ref. 350, Fig. 7B),
wherein the distal end of the said delivery device includes a facet implant engagement feature configured to engage with said facet implant of said facet implant assembly (see remarked Fig. 7B below).
Tanaka is silent that the facet implant is a screw. However, Tanaka states that the facet implant is exemplary and that other implants may be used (paragraph [0060]).
Stoffman teaches a spinal fusion device (Fig. 3, ref. 10, paragraph [0031]) wherein the device is a screw (paragraph [0033] discloses a helical threading ref. 50 and Fig. 3 shows a screw-like body) and is configured to receive a screw device (refs. 90, 100). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fusion implant of Tanaka such that the fusion implant is a screw as taught by Stoffman, for the purpose of better securing the device between the fusion structures via more surface area threading (paragraph [0033).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka in view of Stoffman discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the facet screw comprises a cylindrical body having an elongated body and external threads (Stoffman, paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka in view of Stoffman discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the cylindrical body further comprises a channel feature extending at least partially along said body thereby interrupting one or more of said threads (both Tanaka and Stoffman disclose a channel feature extending through an outer surface and therefore interrupting a thread, see Figs. 7B and 3 respectively).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TESSA M MATTHEWS/Examiner, Art Unit 3773