Drawings
The drawings were received on January 16 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of, in the specification.
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on January 16 2025;
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s filing of terminal disclaimer on 08/28/2026 overcomes the Double patenting rejection.
Applicant’s amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are moot. While the Examiner notes that the applicant is arguing the claim limitations recite " … wherein the navigation module is configured to; receive automatic identification system (AIS) data comprising a location of a target mobile landing structure; navigate an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to a vicinity of the target mobile landing structure based at least in part on the AIS data; combine the AIS data with optical detection data obtained during transit of the UAV to refine an estimated location of the target mobile landing structure…“. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn; However, upon further consideration a new ground(s) of rejection is made for Claims 1 over Twining (WIPO No. WO2017123768A1) in view of Twining II (WIPO No. WO2016204843A2), Rivers (US Patent No. US11430332B2) and Holtz (US Patent No US20190248487A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Twining (WIPO No. WO2017123768A1) in view of Twining II (WIPO No. WO2016204843A2), Rivers (US Patent No. US11430332B2) and Holtz (US Patent No US20190248487A).
Regarding claim 1 Twining teaches, an unmanned aircraft system, comprising; (See Twining paragraph 0022; “The unmanned aircraft may include an aircraft controller, a lift system, a communication system, a sensor system…”); a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store information and executable programmed modules; (See Twining paragraph 0023; “. The unmanned aircraft includes a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to store information and executable programmed modules…”); a processor communicatively coupled with the non-transitory computer-readable medium and configured to execute programmed modules stored therein; (See Twining paragraph 0025; “…a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon one or more sequences of instructions for causing one or more processors to perform steps…”); a navigation module stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium and configured to be executed by the processor;(See Twining paragraph 0025 and 0060; “Fig. 10 is a block diagram illustrating an example controller 100 in an unmanned aircraft according to an embodiment of the invention. In the illustrated embodiment, the controller 100 comprises a flight module 200, a communication module 210, a sensor module 220, a navigation module…, a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon one or more sequences of instructions for causing one or more processors to perform steps, is described. The steps include (a) navigating an unmanned aircraft…”).
Twining does not explicitly teach but Twining II teaches, wherein when a target mobile landing structure is automatically detected, an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) is positioned directly overhead of a landing pad with a visual identifier and begins to descend the UAV in a relative guidance mode between the target mobile landing structure and the UAV; (See Twining II paragraph 75; “Once the aircraft is near the mobile landing area, the aircraft transitions into the landing phase of its mission, as shown in step 720. During the landing phase, the aircraft (by itself or in combination with the MLSU) identifies the center of the mobile landing area and continuously or periodically calculates a landing vector that is directed toward the center of the landing area. By following the landing vector, the aircraft is able to maintain a substantially constant relative (X,Y) position over the mobile landing area. Additionally during the landing phase, the aircraft (by itself or in combination with the MLSU) continuously or periodically calculates a distance between the aircraft and the surface of the mobile landing area. Although the aircraft maintains a constant attitude with respect to the horizon while hovering over the mobile landing area, the mobile landing structure is subject to heave, which is motion in (Z) that can be caused by waves or tides (e.g., the mobile landing structure travels on water), bumps or dips or hills (e.g., the mobile landing structure travels on land), or air pockets or changes in air pressure (e.g., the mobile landing structure travels through air). Accordingly, the aircraft (by itself or in combination with the MLSU) continuously or periodically estimates a future distance between the aircraft and the surface of the mobile landing area in order to maintain a substantially constant relative (Z) position over the mobile landing area.”).
Both Twining and Twining II are in the same field of systems and methods for using unmanned aerial vehicles. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Twining’s communications unit, lift system, sensor system, object detection module with Twining II platform identification module. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Twining’s by adding the platform identification module (mobile landing). Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Twining does not explicitly teach but Rivers teaches, and a user interface communicatively coupled with at least one of: the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the processor, and the navigation module; (See Rivers column 3-4, line 59-5; “…a user interface 132, communications module 134, and other modules 136. Infrared camera 140 may be physically coupled to flight platform 110 and be configured to capture infrared images of a target position, area, and/or object(s) as selected and/or framed by operation of flight platform 110 and/or base station 130. In some embodiments, data from controller 112, orientation sensor 114 and/or 148, GNSS 118 and/or 150, communications module 120, 134 and/or 144, other modules 126, 136, and/or 152, imaging module 142, and/or other components may be communicated to a secondary device (e.g., a smartphone, tablet, computer, and/or other such device). Additionally, the secondary device may also communicate data to flight platform 110, mobile structure 130, and/or infrared camera 140.”); wherein the real-time state of the mobile landing area comprises at least one of: a position, a velocity, an acceleration, and an orientation; (See Rivers column 12, line 20-32 and column 21, line 52-57; “In various embodiments, speed sensor 162 may be mounted to a portion of mobile structure 130 that is substantially outside easy operational accessibility…speed sensor 162 may be powered by a power source for mobile structure 130, for example, using one or more power leads penetrating hull 105b. In alternative embodiments, speed sensor 162 may be implemented as a wind velocity sensor, for example, and may be mounted to mast/sensor mount 108b to have relatively clear access to local wind…system 100 may be configured to monitor such motion (e.g., using sensors 162, 164, 166, and/or 180 coupled to mobile structure 101) and provide measurements of such motion to UAS/flight platform 110 in real time (e.g., using communication modules 154 and 120) as it attempts to land on flight platform receiver 190.”);
such that velocity and attitude commands are issued to the navigation module based on the real-time state of the mobile landing area to match the motion of the target mobile landing structure to track the target mobile landing structure throughout the descent; (See Rivers column 21-22, line 45-16; “system 100 may be configured to facilitate landing UAS on mobile structure 101 while mobile structure 101 is underway. Typically, autopiloted landing of a UAS assumes a landing surface that is horizontal and stationary. By contrast, a landing surface on a moving mobile structure, such as a watercraft, may be moving laterally or longitudinally, heaving vertically, and rolling and/or pitching. In various embodiments, system 100 may be configured to monitor such motion (e.g., using sensors 162, 164, 166, and/or 180 coupled to mobile structure 101) and provide measurements of such motion to UAS/flight platform 110 in real time (e.g., using communication modules 154 and 120) as it attempts to land on flight platform receiver 190. For example, controller 112 of flight platform 100 may be configured to receive such measurements and compensate for such motion while attempting to land on flight platform receiver 190.
In some embodiments, controller 112 may be configured to control propulsion system 124 to substantially match the measured motion of mobile structure while reducing a relative altitude to flight platform receiver 190, until contact/landing. In other embodiments, controller 112 may be configured to determine a periodicity of such motion (e.g., based on a time series of the measured motion), for example, and determine an estimated future landing time and/or position of flight platform receiver 190 corresponding to a relatively stable period in the periodic motion (e.g., such as a peak of a periodic or otherwise characterizable heaving motion of mobile structure 101) and control propulsion system 124 to maneuver flight platform 110 to the determined estimated future landing position at the determined estimated future landing time and land flight platform 110 on flight platform receiver 190. In various embodiments, controller 112 may be configured to combine motion measurements of mobile structure 101 with concomitant measurements of the position and/or motion of flight platform 101 (e.g., absolute, or relative to flight platform receiver 190 and/or mobile structure 101) in order to determine a landing maneuver to land lightly (e.g., without causing damage to flight platform 110 and/or flight platform receiver 190).”); and wherein the user interface is configured to display the detected potential mobile landing structures to a user for visual confirmation; (See Rivers column 22-23, line 43-25; “in some embodiments, user interface 132 and/or controller 130 may be configured to render a display view to facilitate a number of various search operations, such as: creating one or multiple search patterns; transmitting such search patterns to one or more flight platforms 110; monitoring, determining/estimating, and/or displaying flight platform positions, altitudes, individual and/or aggregate search pattern completion percentages, time of/to start of a particular search pattern, time of/to completion of a particular search pattern, and/or other search operation characteristics corresponding to flight platforms participating in a particular search operation; alerting a user to a search pattern completion and presenting the option to assign and/or begin traversing another search pattern; alerting a user to potential targets detected by the one or more flight platforms; displaying imagery of such potential targets to a user; alerting a user if mobile structure 101 is maneuvered beyond a return range of a flight platform; presenting an option to pause/abort/divert a particular flight platform from an assigned search pattern to allow manual control of the flight platform; presenting one or more live imagery feeds from onboard cameras associated with the one or more flight platforms; and storing a datalog of events, feeds, actions, and/or corresponding times associated with the one or more flight platforms and/or the search operations for use in post-event analysis, for example. In various embodiments, such search patterns may be defined as geostationary, for example, or may defined as positioned relative to a current/updating position and/or orientation of mobile structure 101.
For example, FIGS. 8-9 illustrate display views 800 and 900 to facilitate search operations using mobile structure 101 and one or more associated UAS/flight platforms 110 in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure. In display view 800, a user is selecting a particular flight platform 110 already assigned a particular search pattern 812 (e.g., using selector 801, which may correspond to a user finger on a touch screen display, for example, or a mouse pointer or other type of graphic display selector), and user interface 132 is rendering a search operations menu 810 over a chart 820 to allow for selection of a particular search operation for the selected flight platform 110 and/or search pattern 812, as shown. Chart 810 may correspond to a satellite image and/or other navigational chart data of an area around mobile structure 101, for example, such that mobile structure 101 and relative positions of one or more search patterns 812 and corresponding flight platforms 110 may be rendered within display view 800. In display view 900, user interface 132/controller 138 is monitoring positions of flight platforms 110 and rendering display view 900 to show those positions and corresponding search patterns 812, as described herein.”).
Both Twining and Rivers are in the same field of systems and methods for using unmanned aerial vehicles. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Twining’s communications unit, lift system, sensor system, object detection module with Rivers navigation module and module identifying the moving platform. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Twining’s by adding the navigation module and module identifying the moving platform (mobile landing). Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Twining does not explicitly teach but Holtz teaches, wherein the navigation module is configured to; receive automatic identification system (AIS) data comprising a location of a target mobile landing structure; navigate an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to a vicinity of the target mobile landing structure based at least in part on the AIS data; (See Holtz paragrap0h 0046; “The landing system 150, operating separately or in conjunction with the motion planner 130, may be configured to determine when to initiate a landing procedure (e.g., in response to a user command or a detected event such as low battery), identify a landing location (e.g., based on images received from image capture devices 114 and/or 115 and/or data from other sensors 112 (e.g., IMU, GPS, proximity sensors, etc.)) and generate control commands configured to cause the UAV to land at the selected location. “); combine the AIS data with optical detection data obtained during transit of the UAV to refine an estimated location of the target mobile landing structure; (See Holtz paragrap0h 0046; “The landing system 150, operating separately or in conjunction with the motion planner 130, may be configured to determine when to initiate a landing procedure (e.g., in response to a user command or a detected event such as low battery), identify a landing location (e.g., based on images received from image capture devices 114 and/or 115 and/or data from other sensors 112 (e.g., IMU, GPS, proximity sensors, etc.)) and generate control commands configured to cause the UAV to land at the selected location. “); and estimate a real-time state, including a location, of a mobile landing area on the target mobile landing structure; (See Holtz paragraph 0137; “…For example, a UAV 100 equipped with LIDAR may emit one or more laser beams in a scan up to 360 degrees around the UAV 100. Light received by the UAV 100 as the laser beams reflect off physical objects in the surrounding physical world may be analyzed to construct a real time 3D computer model of the surrounding physical world. Depth sensing through the use of LIDAR may in some embodiments augment depth sensing through pixel correspondence as described earlier. Further, images captured by cameras (e.g., as described earlier) may be combined with the laser constructed 3D models to form textured 3D models that may be further analyzed in real time or near real time for physical object recognition (e.g., by using computer vision algorithms).”).
Both Twining and Holtz are in the same field of systems and methods for using unmanned aerial vehicles. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Twining’s communications unit, lift system, sensor system, object detection module with Holtz aerial vehicle smart landing. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Twining’s by adding Holtz aerial vehicle smart landing. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 1, Twining further teaches, wherein the user interface is configured to receive a user input in response to the displayed potential mobile landing structure; (See Twining paragraph 0079; “System 550 may also include an input/output ("I/O") interface 585. The I/O interface 585 facilitates input from and output to external devices. For example the I/O interface 585 may receive input from a keyboard or mouse and may provide output to a display. The I/O interface 585 is capable of facilitating input from and output to various alternative types of human interface and machine interface devices alike.”).
Regarding claim 3 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 1, Twining also teaches, further comprising: a communications unit accessible by a user, the communications unit having a user interface, a storage medium, and a communication element; (See Twining paragraph 0084; “…term "computer readable medium" is used to refer to any non-transitory computer readable storage media used to provide computer executable code (eg., software and computer programs) to the system 550. Examples of these media include main memory 565, secondary memory 570 (including internal memory 575, removable medium 580, and external storage medium 595), and any peripheral device communicatively coupled with communication interface 590 (including a network information server or other network device). These non-transitory computer readable mediums are means for providing executable code, programming instructions, and software to the system 550.”).
Regarding claim 4 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 3, Twining also teaches, further comprising: a sensor system configured to obtain sensor information related to an environment of the UAV and at least one of: store sensor information in the non-transitory computer- readable medium and transmit sensor information to the communications unit; (See Twining paragraph 0023; “…The processor is configured to control operation of the lift system and the sensor system, is communicatively coupled with the non-transitory computer readable medium and is configured to execute programmed modules stored therein. The object detection module is stored in the non-transitory computer readable medium and is executed by the processor. The object detection module obtains sensor information stored in the non-transitory computer readable medium by the sensor system and detects potential objects of interest within the environment of the aircraft based on an analysis of the sensor information. The object detection module may be additionally configured to communicate the detected potential objects of interest to the communications unit.”).
Regarding claim 5 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 4, Twining further teaches, wherein the user interface is configured to display the detected potential mobile landing structures to the user; (See Twining Page 8, Paragraph 0020; “then the user interface may display a map of the area displaying the exact location of the objects of interest (Examiner notes, object of interest can be the detected mobile landing)”).
Regarding claim 6 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 5, Twining further teaches, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive user input in response to the displayed potential mobile landing structure; (See Twining paragraph 0052; “…Fig. 6 depicts an example of a user interface 60 forming part of the UA system 10. The user interface 60 ensures that the user, regardless of their location, can interface with the UA system 10. The user interface 60 can be used to display data, receive user inputs, provide guidance and navigation information, provide health and status information, tracking, and control. The user interface 60 may perform data processing tasks. The user interface 60 may provide alerts and notifications to the user - including, but not limited to, notification of detection of objects of interest 20…”).
Regarding claim 7 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 6, Twining further teaches, wherein the user input is communicated to the UAV via the communications unit; (See Twining paragraph 0061; “The flight module 200 is configured to fly the aircraft 20. The flight module 200 is configured to perform all processes, perform all calculations, and execute all algorithms to ensure reliable flight of the aircraft 20. The flight module 20 may also be referred to herein as a flight controller, autopilot, or inner-loop control. The flight module 20 is configured to translate inputs from the aircraft controller 100 to the appropriate outputs to the previously described lift system 110. For example, if the aircraft 20 needs to descend at a steady rate, the flight module 200 determines how much to adjust the power being delivered to each lift mechanism 150 in order to execute that descent.”).
Regarding claim 8 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 4, Twining further teaches, further comprising: a lift system comprising one or more lift mechanisms configured to propel the UAV; (See Twining paragraph 0061; “The flight module 200 is configured to fly the aircraft 20. The flight module 200 is configured to perform all processes, perform all calculations, and execute all algorithms to ensure reliable flight of the aircraft 20. The flight module 20 may also be referred to herein as a flight controller, autopilot, or inner-loop control. The flight module 20 is configured to translate inputs from the aircraft controller 100 to the appropriate outputs to the previously described lift system 110. For example, if the aircraft 20 needs to descend at a steady rate, the flight module 200 determines how much to adjust the power being delivered to each lift mechanism 150 in order to execute that descent.”).
Regarding claim 9 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 8, Twining does not explicitly teach but Rivers teaches, further comprising: a mobile landing area recognition module stored in the non-transitory computer- readable medium and configured to be executed by the processor; (See Rivers column 4, line 24-43; “a machine-readable medium may be provided for storing non-transitory instructions for loading into and execution by controller 112 and/or 138. In these and other embodiments, controller 112 and/or 138 may be implemented with other components where appropriate, such as volatile memory, non-volatile memory, one or more interfaces, and/or various analog and/or digital components for interfacing with devices of system 100. For example, controller 112 and/or 138 may be adapted to store sensor signals, sensor information, parameters for coordinate frame transformations, calibration parameters, sets of calibration points, and/or other operational parameters, over time, for example, and provide such stored data to a user using user interface 132. In some embodiments, controller 112 may be integrated with one or more other elements of flight platform 110, for example, or distributed as multiple logic devices within flight platform 110. In some embodiments, controller 138 may be integrated with one or more elements of mobile structure 130 or distributed as multiple logic devices within mobile structure 130.”); the mobile landing area recognition module configured to obtain sensor information stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium by the sensor system and identify the mobile landing area on the target mobile landing structure of the potential mobile landing structures based on an analysis of the sensor information obtained from a signal transmitted via a transmitter of the target mobile landing structure and an analysis of an input of a visual identifier located on the mobile landing area;(See Rivers column 4, line 24-43 and column 6, line 17-36; “a machine readable medium may be provided for storing non-transitory instructions for loading into and execution by controller 112 and/or 138. In these and other embodiments, controller 112 and/or 138 may be implemented with other components where appropriate, such as volatile memory, non-volatile memory, one or more interfaces, and/or various analog and/or digital components for interfacing with devices of system 100. For example, controller 112 and/or 138 may be adapted to store sensor signals, sensor information, parameters for coordinate frame transformations, calibration parameters, sets of calibration points, and/or other operational parameters, over time, for example, and provide such stored data to a user using user interface 132. In some embodiments, controller 112 may be integrated with one or more other elements of flight platform 110, for example, or distributed as multiple logic devices within flight platform 110. In some embodiments, controller 138 may be integrated with one or more elements of mobile structure 130 or distributed as multiple logic devices within mobile structure 130…User interface 132 of mobile structure 130 may be implemented as one or more of a display, a touch screen, a keyboard, a mouse, a joystick, a knob, a steering wheel, a yoke, and/or any other device capable of accepting user input and/or providing feedback to a user. In various embodiments, user interface 132 may be adapted to provide user input (e.g., as a type of signal and/or sensor information transmitted by communications module 134 of mobile structure 130) to other devices of system 100, such as controller 112. User interface 132 may also be implemented with one or more logic devices (e.g., similar to controller 112) that may be adapted to store and/or execute instructions, such as software instructions, implementing any of the various processes and/or methods described herein. For example, user interface 132 may be adapted to form communication links, transmit and/or receive communications (e.g., infrared images and/or other sensor signals, control signals, sensor information, user input, and/or other information), for example, or to perform various other processes and/or methods described herein.”).
Both Twining and Rivers are in the same field of systems and methods for using unmanned aerial vehicles. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Twining’s communications unit, lift system, sensor system, object detection module with Rivers platform identification module. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Twining’s by adding the platform identification module (mobile landing). Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 10 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 9, Twining does not explicitly teach but Twining II teaches, wherein the mobile landing area recognition module is further configured to estimate a quiescent period having a start time and an end time based on an analysis of the sensor information, wherein the quiescent period corresponds to the surface of the mobile landing area; (See Twining II Paragraph 46 “ The landing module 240 periodically or substantially continuously calculates the attitude of the surface of the mobile landing area with respect to the aircraft and/or horizon based on sensor data and in accordance with these calculations the landing module 240 estimates a future attitude of the surface of the mobile landing area. Advantageously, the landing module 240 is configured to estimate the time range (Examiner notes; start and end time) for a quiescent period for the surface of the mobile landing area, wherein the quiescent period is the interval of time where all mobile landing structure motions are within acceptable limits for performing a desired activity, such as landing the unmanned aircraft on the surface of the mobile landing area.”).
Both modified Twining and Twining II are in the same field of systems and methods for using unmanned aerial vehicles. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Twining’s unmanned aircraft-based object detection method, as modified by Collins, with Twining II landing recognition module and implementation of quiescent period. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Twining’s by adding function of landing recognition module combined with quiescent period. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 10, Twining does not explicitly teach but Twining II teaches, wherein the mobile landing area recognition module is further configured to identify a landing initiation time, and wherein the navigation module is further configured to control the lift system at the landing initiation time to bring the UAV into contact with the surface of the mobile landing area during the quiescent period, wherein the UAV makes contact with the surface of the mobile landing area during the first half of the quiescent period; (See Twining II Paragraph 47; “… the landing module 240 is configured to determine a landing time within the time range of the quiescent period and calculate a landing initiation time at which the aircraft 20 will initiate its landing maneuver…Advantageously, at the landing initiation time, the landing module 240 is configured to alter the amount of power being delivered to the individual lift mechanisms 150 of the lift system 1 10 to cause the aircraft 20 to descend.”).
Both modified Twining and Twining II are in the same field of systems and methods for using unmanned aerial vehicles. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Twining’s unmanned aircraft-based object detection method, as modified by Collins, with Twining II landing recognition module and implementation of quiescent period. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Twining’s by adding function of landing recognition module combined with quiescent period. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 9, Twining further teaches, wherein the mobile landing area recognition module is further configured to identify the mobile landing area by applying a machine learning algorithm to the sensor information; (See Twining Paragraph 0013; “In one embodiment, the computer identification may be accomplished via recognition of preprogrammed potential objects of interest. In another embodiment, the detection and identification of an object may be achieved by way of machine learning, alternatively referred to as artificial intelligence ("AT'), where the system can refine and enhance its object detection capabilities as it collects and processes more and more data, with or without user feedback. Such machine learning can apply to a specific trip, to specific environmental conditions (for example, lighting conditions or sea state), to a specific geographic area, or in other specific usage scenarios. Alternatively, the machine learning may apply to the object detection and identification in general”); wherein the machine learning algorithm comprises a visual detection algorithm; (See Twining Paragraph 0068; “the algorithm uses the GPS location and camera state of the unmanned aircraft 14 to pinpoint the exact location of kelp paddies, so that the boat operator can transit the fishing vessel directly to those locations”).
Regarding claim 13 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 8, Twining further teaches, wherein the navigation module is configured to control operation of the lift system by decreasing or eliminating an amount of power delivered to the one or more lift mechanisms of the lift system, upon or immediately before bringing the UAV into contact with the surface of the mobile landing area; (See Twining Paragraph 0061; “The flight module 20 is configured to translate inputs from the aircraft controller 100 to the appropriate outputs to the previously described lift system 110. For example, if the aircraft 20 needs to descend at a steady rate, the flight module 200 determines how much to adjust the power being delivered to each lift mechanism 150 in order to execute that descent”).
Regarding claim 14 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 8, Twining further teaches, wherein the navigation module is configured to control operation of the lift system by specifying an amount of power delivered to the one or more lift mechanisms of the lift system to generate a downward thrust, to maintain contact of the UAV with the surface of the mobile landing area; (See Twining Paragraph 0061; “The flight module 20 is configured to translate inputs from the aircraft controller 100 to the appropriate outputs to the previously described lift system 110. For example, if the aircraft 20 needs to descend at a steady rate, the flight module 200 determines how much to adjust the power being delivered to each lift mechanism 150 in order to execute that descent”).
Regarding claim 15 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 8, Twining also teaches, further comprising: an object detection module stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium and configured to be executed by the processor, the object detection module configured to obtain sensor information stored in the non-transitory computer- readable medium by the sensor system; (See Twining Paragraph 0023; “The object detection module is stored in the non-transitory computer readable medium and is executed by the processor. The object detection module obtains sensor information stored in the non-transitory computer readable medium by the sensor system and detects potential objects…”).
Twining does not explicitly teach but Twining II teaches, and detect potential mobile landing structures within the environment of the UAV based on an analysis of the sensor information, wherein each of the potential mobile landing structures is capable of accommodating the UAV ; (See Twining II Paragraph 48 and 30; “…The controller 300 is also configured to control operation of the sensor system 320 to receive information about the environment of the mobile landing structure 30 and the mobile landing area… FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an example system 10 for unmanned aircraft navigation according to an embodiment of the invention. In one embodiment, the system 10 includes an unmanned aircraft 20 and a mobile landing area 40. The mobile landing area 40 is placed upon or is part of a mobile structure 30, which may be any sort of mobile structure capable of moving on land, water or in the air…”).
Both Twining and Twining II are in the same field of systems and methods for using unmanned aerial vehicles. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Twining’s communications unit, lift system, sensor system, object detection module with Twining II platform identification module. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Twining’s by adding detect potential mobile landing. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 16 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz vers teaches the system of claim 15, Twining further teaches, wherein the object detection module is further configured to determine a physical location of the potential mobile landing structure based on an analysis of at least one of the sensor information, an estimated coordinate location of the potential mobile landing structure, and a location identifier of the potential mobile landing structure; ( See Twining Paragraph 0024 “The object detection system may include additional features. For example, the object detection module may be further configured to determine a physical location of the potential object of interest based on an analysis of the sensor information, the physical location being coordinate location...”).
Regarding claim 18 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 15, Twining further teaches, wherein the object detection module is further configured to identify the detected potential mobile landing structure based on an analysis of at least one of physical location and physical attributes; (See Twining Paragraph 0024; “The object detection module may be further configured to identify the detected potential object of interest based upon location and/or physical attributes (e.g. size, shape, color, and the like)”).
Regarding claim 19 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 18, Twining further teaches, wherein the physical attributes comprise at least one of size, shape, and color; (See Twining Paragraph 0012; “object may be identified simply by its color or shape.”).
Regarding claim 20 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 1, Twining does not explicitly teach but Twining II teaches, wherein the mobile landing area on the mobile landing structure is identified based on a visual identifier on the surface of the mobile landing area, wherein the visual identifier comprises one or more areas of high contrast ; (See Twining II Paragraph 33; “…The aircraft 20 approaches the mobile landing structure 30 and identifies the mobile landing area 40, for example by visual recognition of the target 50 or visual recognition of an image of the landing area stored in data storage area 140 or received from MLSU 60…”; Also see Twining II Figure 6c); wherein identifying the mobile landing area comprises identifying the visual identifier on the surface of the mobile landing area; (See Twining II Paragraph 33; “…The aircraft 20 approaches the mobile landing structure 30 and identifies the mobile landing area 40, for example by visual recognition of the target 50 or visual recognition of an image of the landing area stored in data storage area 140 or received from MLSU 60…”).
Both Twining and Twining II are in the same field of systems and methods for using unmanned aerial vehicles. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Twining’s unmanned aircraft-based object detection method with Twining II moving platform identifier. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Twining’s by adding important part of detecting the moving platform (mobile landing). Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Twining (WIPO No. WO2017123768A1) in view of Twining II (WIPO No. WO2016204843A2), Rivers (US Patent No. US11430332B2), Holtz (US Patent No US20190248487A) and Hobbs (US Patent No. US20180357910A1).
Regarding claim 17 Twining in view of Twining II, Rivers and Holtz teaches the system of claim 16, Twining does not explicitly teach but Hobbs teaches, wherein the location identifier of the potential mobile landing structure is an automatic identification system (AIS) identifier; (See Hobbs Paragraph 0031; “Also illustrated in the example of FIG. 3 is a pad identifier 126. Pad identifier 126 can be included to provide a unique identification of the pad to approaching aircraft. Pad identifier 126 can be implemented using electronic or optical techniques to identify the pad. Pad identifier 126 can be implemented, for example, as a barcode label, a QR code label, an RFID tag, a RuBee tag (IEEE standard 1902.1), an iButton tag, or other like identifier that can be read by an approaching aircraft.”).
Both Twining and Hobbs are in the same field of systems and methods for using unmanned aerial vehicles. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Twining’s unmanned aircraft-based object detection method with Hobbs identification system. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Twining’s by adding important part of detecting the moving platform (mobile landing). Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666