DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a processing unit” in claims 9 and 13.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “to second device” to “to the second device” (i.e., previously recited). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edidin (US 2012/0100729).
Regarding claim 1, Edidin discloses a method of connecting a medical device (disposable unit 206, figure 4a | disposable imaging unit [0020]) to a control unit (base unit 208, figure 4a), comprising: coupling a connector (see portion of 206 at disposable unit interface 202, figure 4a) of the medical device to a port (see portion of 208 at base unit interface 204, figure 4a) on the control unit, wherein the connector is removably coupled to the port (see figure 4a), and wherein coupling the connector to the port includes: inserting a first prong (304, figure 4a) of the connector into a first opening (302, figure 4a) of the port; inserting a second prong (304, figure 4a) of the connector into a second opening (302, figure 4a) of the port; and operatively coupling an electrical wire (corresponding trace, wire…[0033]) of the connector to an electrical interface (212, figure 4a) of the control unit, wherein the electrical interface is disposed between the first opening and the second opening such that a straight line extends through the first opening, the second opening, and the electrical interface (best seen with figures 2b and 4a).
Regarding claim 4, Edidin further discloses the connector includes an electrical connection portion (210…each be coupled to a corresponding…wire [0033]), and wherein the electrical wire is electrically coupled to the electrical connection portion ([0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Edidin further discloses the electrical connection portion is disposed between the first prong and the second prong (see figures 2b and 4a).
Regarding claim 6, Edidin further discloses a straight line extends through the first prong, the second prong, and the electrical connection portion (see figures 2b and 4a).
Regarding claim 7, Edidin further discloses the electrical connection portion is recessed relative to an end of the first prong and an end of the second prong (see 304 vs. 210, figure 4a).
Regarding claim 9, Edidin further discloses the control unit includes a processing unit (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a processor [0024] | 508, figure 5a) coupled to the electrical interface (electrical connectors 552 operably coupled to the system control module 508 [0055]), the processing unit being configured to receive imaging data from an imager (camera module 570, figure 5a) of the medical device, through the electrical wire and the electrical interface (control…imaging unit 504 [0052]).
Regarding claim 10, Edidin discloses a method of coupling a first medical device (disposable unit 206, figure 4a | disposable imaging unit [0020]) to a second device (base unit 208, figure 4a), comprising: inserting a connector (see portion of 206 at disposable unit interface 202, figure 4a) of the first medical device into the second device, wherein inserting the connector into the second device includes: inserting a first prong (304, figure 4a) of the connector into a first opening (302, figure 4a) of the second device; inserting a second prong (304, figure 4a) of the connector into a second opening (302, figure 4a) of the second device; and seating an electrical connection portion (210, figure 4a) of the connector against an electrical interface (212, figure 4a) of the second device, wherein, upon seating the electrical connection portion against the electrical interface, data is transmitted from the first medical device to the second device (carrying power or data [0033]), wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector is between the first prong and the second prong such that a straight line extends through the first prong, the second prong, and the electrical connection portion (see figures 2b and 4a).
Regarding claim 16, Edidin further discloses the electrical connection portion is recessed relative to an end of the first prong and an end of the second prong (see 304 vs. 210, figure 4a).
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noguchi (US 2006/0116550).
Regarding claim 1, Noguchi discloses a method of connecting a medical device (100, figure 3 | 100A, figure 9) to a control unit (71, figures 3 or 9), comprising: coupling a connector (43, figure 3 or 143, figure 9) of the medical device to a port (72, figure 3 | 172, figure 10) on the control unit, wherein the connector is removably coupled to the port (see figures 3 or 10), and wherein coupling the connector to the port includes: inserting a first prong (44a, figures 6 or 9) of the connector into a first opening (see 74, figures 6 or 10) of the port; inserting a second prong (55a-b, 56, or 57, figures 6 or 9-10) of the connector into a second opening (best seen in 75, figures 7 or 10) of the port; and operatively coupling an electrical wire (45, figure 7 or 35b, figure 10) in the connector to an electrical interface (see 73, figure 7 | 104, figure 10) in the control unit, wherein the electrical interface is disposed between the first opening and the second opening (see figures 6-7 | see figures 9-10) such that a straight line extends through the first opening, the second opening, and the electrical interface (see figures 6-7 | or see figures 9-10).
Regarding claim 2, Noguchi further discloses the connector is fixedly attached (interpreted “fixedly attached” to mean a coupling/connection | see connection between 22 and 24, figure 5) to a handle (22, figure 5) of the medical device.
Regarding claim 3, Noguchi further discloses the connector of the medical device is removably coupled to the port of the control unit by a friction fit (43 is pressed into 72…connected [0085]).
Regarding claim 4, Noguchi further discloses the connector includes an electrical connection portion (45a, figure 6), and wherein the electrical wire (45, figure 7) is electrically coupled to the electrical connection portion.
Regarding claim 5, Noguchi further discloses the electrical connection portion is disposed between the first prong and the second prong (see 45a is between 44a and 55a-b or 56-57, figure 6).
Regarding claim 6, Noguchi further discloses a straight line extends through the first prong, the second prong, and the electrical connection portion (see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 7, Noguchi further discloses the electrical connection portion is recessed relative to an end of the first prong and an end of the second prong (see 45a vs. 44a and 55a-b or 56-57, figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, Noguchi further discloses the control unit includes a processing unit (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a processor [0024] | 78, figure 8) coupled to the electrical interface (104, figure 10 | reproduces the CCD signal…[0116]), the processing unit being configured to receive imaging data from an imager (31, figure 3) of the medical device, through the electrical wire and the electrical interface (transfer to 78 [0100]).
Regarding claim 10, Noguchi discloses a method of coupling a first medical device (100A, figure 9) to a second device (71, figure 9), comprising: inserting a connector (143, figure 9) of the first medical device into the second device, wherein inserting the connector into the second device (see figure 9) includes: inserting a first prong (44a, figure 9) of the connector into a first opening (see 74, figure 10) of the second device; inserting a second prong (55a-b, 56, or 57, figures 9-10) of the connector into a second opening (best seen in 75, figure 10) of the second device; and seating an electrical connection portion (102, figure 10) of the connector against an electrical interface (104, figure 10) of the second device, wherein, upon seating the electrical connection portion against the electrical interface, data is transmitted from the first medical device to the second device (transmitting the video signal [0113]), wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector is between the first prong and the second prong such that a straight line extends through the first prong, the second prong, and the electrical connection portion (see figures 9-10).
Regarding claim 11, Noguchi further discloses coupling the second device to a third device (72 is arranged to the endoscope control device 71 [0040] | see 172 and 71, figure 10), wherein the second device is a socket (see 172, figure 10), wherein the third device is a control unit (71, figure 10; endoscope control device 71 [0085]).
Regarding claim 13, Noguchi further discloses the third device includes a processing unit (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a processor [0024] | 78, figure 8) coupled to the electrical interface (104, figure 10 | reproduces the CCD signal…[0116]), the processing unit being configured to receive imaging data from an imager (31, figure 3) of the first medical device, through the electrical connection portion and the electrical interface (transfer to 78 [0100]).
Regarding claim 15, Noguchi further discloses the connector of the first medical device is removably coupled to second device by a friction fit (43 is pressed into 72…connected [0085] | interpreted 143 to be pressed into 172, see figure 10).
Regarding claim 16, Noguchi further discloses the electrical connection portion is recessed relative to an end of the first prong and an end of the second prong (see 102 vs. 44a and 55a-b or 56-57, figure 10).
Regarding claim 17, Noguchi discloses a method of coupling a medical device (100a, figure 9) to a control unit (71, figure 9), comprising: coupling a socket to the control unit (72 is arranged to the endoscope control device 71 [0040] | see 172 and 71, figure 10); inserting a first prong (44a, figure 9) of a connector of the medical device into a first opening (see 74, figure 10) of the socket; inserting a second prong (55a-b, 56, or 57, figures 9-10) of the connector into a second opening (best seen in 75, figure 10) of the socket; and coupling an electrical connection (102, figure 10) of the connector to an electrical interface (104, figure 10) of the socket, wherein the electrical connection of the connector is between the first prong and the second prong of the connector such that a straight line extends through the first prong, the second prong, and the electrical connection (see figures 9-10).
Regarding claim 18, Noguchi further discloses the connector of the medical device is removably coupled to the socket of the control unit by a friction fit (43 is pressed into 72…connected [0085] | interpreted 143 to be pressed into 172, see figure 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edidin (US 2012/0100729) as applied to claims 4 and 10 above, and further in view of Carnevali (US 2015/0244126).
Regarding claim 8, Edidin discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 4. Edidin is silent regarding the electrical interface of the control unit includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin, and wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector includes at least one electrical pad corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin.
Carnevali teaches a docking connector (3, figures 3-5) with a plurality of biasing electrical contacts (11, figures 3-5), typically biasing pogo pins or biasing leaf spring contacts ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to modify the electrical interface and electrical connection portion of Edidin with biasing pogo pins and biasing leaf spring contacts respectively as taught by Carnevali ([0035]). Doing so would provide an alternative structure of electrical contacts ([0035]). The modified method would comprise the electrical interface of the control unit includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin ([0035]; Carnevali), and wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector includes at least one electrical pad (biasing leaf spring contacts…[0035] | the Examiner interpreted the pin and contacts to be used together) corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin.
Regarding claim 14, Edidin discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 10. Edidin is silent regarding the electrical interface includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin, and wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector includes at least one electrical pad corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin.
Carnevali teaches a docking connector (3, figures 3-5) with a plurality of biasing electrical contacts (11, figures 3-5), typically biasing pogo pins or biasing leaf spring contacts ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to modify the electrical interface and electrical connection portion of Edidin with biasing pogo pins and biasing leaf spring contacts respectively as taught by Carnevali ([0035]). Doing so would provide an alternative structure of electrical contacts ([0035]). The modified method would comprise the electrical interface includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin ([0035]; Carnevali), and wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector includes at least one electrical pad (biasing leaf spring contacts…[0035] | the Examiner interpreted the pin and contacts to be used together) corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin.
Claim(s) 8, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi (US 2006/0116550) as applied to claims 4 and 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Carnevali (US 2015/0244126).
Regarding claim 8, Noguchi discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 4. Noguchi is silent regarding the electrical interface of the control unit includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin, and wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector includes at least one electrical pad corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin.
Carnevali teaches a docking connector (3, figures 3-5) with a plurality of biasing electrical contacts (11, figures 3-5), typically biasing pogo pins or biasing leaf spring contacts ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to modify the electrical interface and electrical connection portion of Noguchi with biasing pogo pins and biasing leaf spring contacts respectively as taught by Carnevali ([0035]). Doing so would provide an alternative structure of electrical contacts ([0035]). The modified method would comprise the electrical interface of the control unit includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin ([0035]; Carnevali), and wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector includes at least one electrical pad (biasing leaf spring contacts…[0035] | the Examiner interpreted the pin and contacts to be used together) corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin.
Regarding claim 14, Noguchi discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 10. Noguchi is silent regarding the electrical interface includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin, and wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector includes at least one electrical pad corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin.
Carnevali teaches a docking connector (3, figures 3-5) with a plurality of biasing electrical contacts (11, figures 3-5), typically biasing pogo pins or biasing leaf spring contacts ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to modify the electrical interface and electrical connection portion of Noguchi with biasing pogo pins and biasing leaf spring contacts respectively as taught by Carnevali ([0035]). Doing so would provide an alternative structure of electrical contacts ([0035]). The modified method would comprise the electrical interface includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin ([0035]; Carnevali), and wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector includes at least one electrical pad (biasing leaf spring contacts…[0035] | the Examiner interpreted the pin and contacts to be used together) corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin.
Regarding claim 20, Noguchi discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 17. Noguchi is silent regarding the electrical interface of the socket includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin, and wherein the electrical connection of the connector includes at least one electrical pad corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin.
Carnevali teaches a docking connector (3, figures 3-5) with a plurality of biasing electrical contacts (11, figures 3-5), typically biasing pogo pins or biasing leaf spring contacts ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to modify the electrical interface and electrical connection portion of Noguchi with biasing pogo pins and biasing leaf spring contacts respectively as taught by Carnevali ([0035]). Doing so would provide an alternative structure of electrical contacts ([0035]). The modified method would comprise the electrical interface of the socket includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin ([0035]; Carnevali), and wherein the electrical connection of the connector includes at least one electrical pad (biasing leaf spring contacts…[0035] | the Examiner interpreted the pin and contacts to be used together) corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin.
Claim(s) 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi (US 2006/0116550) as applied to claims 11 and 17 above, and further in view of Miller (US 2009/0269962).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Noguchi discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claims 11 and 17. Noguchi is silent regarding the socket is coupled to the control unit by one or more fasteners.
Miller teaches a plug connector (100, figure 2) that is mated into a receptacle (200, figure 2) through equipment panel (300, figure 2). The receptacle is assembled to an equipment panel and secured thereto by fasteners (244, figure 5; [0034]).
It would have been obvious to modify the method of Noguchi to have a socket coupled to the control unit by one or more fasteners (244, figure 5; [0034]) as taught by Miller. Doing so would secure the socket to the control unit.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 4-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,329,355. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
* The claims are mapped to Viering (US 12,329,355).
Regarding claim 1, Viering discloses a method of connecting a medical device to a control unit (claim 1), comprising: coupling a connector of the medical device to a port on the control unit (claim 1), wherein the connector is removably coupled to the port (claim 1), and wherein coupling the connector to the port (claim 1) includes: inserting a first prong of the connector into a first opening of the port (claim 1); inserting a second prong of the connector into a second opening of the port (claim 1); and operatively coupling an electrical wire of the connector to an electrical interface of the control unit (claim 1), wherein the electrical interface is disposed between the first opening and the second opening such that a straight line extends through the first opening, the second opening, and the electrical interface (claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Viering further discloses the connector is fixedly attached to a handle of the medical device (claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Viering further discloses the connector of the medical device is removably coupled to the port of the control unit by a friction fit (claim 4).
Regarding claim 4, Viering further discloses the connector includes an electrical connection portion (claim 5), and wherein the electrical wire is electrically coupled to the electrical connection portion (claim 5).
Regarding claim 5, Viering further discloses the electrical connection portion is disposed between the first prong and the second prong (claim 6).
Regarding claim 8, Viering further discloses the electrical interface of the control unit includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin (claim 7), and wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector includes at least one electrical pad corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin (claim 7).
Regarding claim 10, Viering discloses a method of coupling a first medical device to a second device (claim 8), comprising: inserting a connector of the first medical device into the second device (claim 8), wherein inserting the connector into the second device (claim 8) includes: inserting a first prong of the connector into a first opening of the second device (claim 8); inserting a second prong of the connector into a second opening of the second device (claim 8); and seating an electrical connection portion of the connector against an electrical interface of the second device (claim 8), wherein, upon seating the electrical connection portion against the electrical interface (claim 8), data is transmitted from the first medical device to the second device (claim 8), wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector is between the first prong and the second prong such that a straight line extends through the first prong, the second prong, and the electrical connection portion (claim 8).
Regarding claim 11, Viering further discloses coupling the second device to a third device (claim 8), wherein the second device is a socket (claim 9), wherein the third device is a control unit (claim 9).
Regarding claim 12, Viering further discloses the socket is coupled to the control unit by one or more fasteners (claim 10).
Regarding claim 14, Viering further discloses the electrical interface includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin (claim 11), and wherein the electrical connection portion of the connector includes at least one electrical pad corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin (claim 11).
Regarding claim 15, Viering further discloses the connector of the first medical device is removably coupled to second device by a friction fit (claim 12).
Regarding claim 17, Viering discloses a method of coupling a medical device to a control unit (claim 13), comprising: coupling a socket to the control unit (claim 13); inserting a first prong of a connector of the medical device into a first opening of the socket (claim 13); inserting a second prong of the connector into a second opening of the socket (claim 13); and coupling an electrical connection of the connector to an electrical interface of the socket (claim 13), wherein the electrical connection of the connector is between the first prong and the second prong of the connector such that a straight line extends through the first prong, the second prong, and the electrical connection (claim 13).
Regarding claim 18, Viering further discloses the connector of the medical device is removably coupled to the socket of the control unit by a friction fit (claim 14).
Regarding claim 19, Viering further discloses the socket is coupled to the control unit by one or more fasteners (claim 15).
Regarding claim 20, Viering further discloses the electrical interface of the socket includes at least one spring loaded pogo pin (claim 16), and wherein the electrical connection of the connector includes at least one electrical pad corresponding to each of the at least one spring loaded pogo pin (claim 16).
Conclusion
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
June 25, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795