DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anguera et al. (US 8237615, cited by the applicant).
Re claim 1: Anguera teaches a wireless device comprising a radiating system comprising at least one port (208, 238); and a radiating structure comprising a ground plane layer (1402) comprising a clearance containing a slot defined by a curve (fig. 14c), the curve containing first and second connecting points (1406, 1407 as shown in fig. 14a); at least one booster arrangement comprising first and second boosters (1401, 1405) arranged in a non-concatenated disposition and at least partially included in a boosters piece (1401, i.e., the radiation booster (1401) also serves as a boosters piece) mounted on the clearance of the ground plane layer (fig. 14a), the boosters piece (1401) having a largest dimension smaller than λ/20, where λ is the free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of operation of the radiating system (col. 8, lines 46-67), the first booster (1401) comprising a conductive element including at least one connection point (1403) connected to an additional conductive element (1404) contained in the boosters piece, the additional conductive element comprising a feeding point (1404), the second booster (1405) comprising a feeding element comprising a feeding point, the feeding element being connected to the first and second connecting points 1406, 1407) of the curve defining the slot of the ground plane layer and being positioned at a distance d2 from a closest edge of the boosters piece, wherein the additional conductive element of the first booster (1401) is positioned at a distance d1 from said closest edge of the boosters piece to the feeding element (fig. 14c); and at least one radiofrequency system connected to the feeding points of the first and second boosters (see figs. 2b, 2c, 14a-14c; col. 8, lines 8-67, col. 19, line 49-col. 20, line 16, col. 29, line 20- col. 31, line 21).
Re claim 2: Wherein the radiating system (200) comprises first and second ports (203, 208) and the radiating structure (2012) is configured to provide operation at the first and second ports (col. 19, lines 36-48).
Re claim 3: Wherein the radiating system (200) comprises one port (208) and the radiating structure is configured to provide operation only at the one port (i.e., providing communication connection between the radiation booster and the connection point of the ground plane layer, Abstract).
Re claim 4: Wherein the boosters piece (1401) has a length to width ratio greater than 1, wherein the width is a dimension along which the slot feeding element is contained and the length is perpendicular to and in a same plane as the width (i.e., a different booster box accommodating different sized radiation boosters, col. 9, lines 1-11).
Re claim 5: Wherein the boosters piece (1401) has a length to width ratio less than 1, wherein the width is a dimension along which the slot feeding element is contained and the length is perpendicular to and in a same plane as the width (i.e., a different booster box accommodating different sized radiation boosters, col. 9, lines 1-11).
Re claim 6: Wherein the radiofrequency system (500) comprises a same number of filters (506, 507) as a number of ports (501, 502) in the radiating system (fig. 5).
Re claim 7: Wherein the radiofrequency system comprises fewer filters than a number of ports in the radiating system (i.e., number of filters are required according to the frequency regions of operation, in which implicitly indicates that the fewer filter is needed for same frequency regions, col. 16, line 60- col. 17, line 3).
Re claim 8: Wherein the ground plane clearance is as big as a footprint of the boosters piece (1401)(fig. 14c).
Re claim 9: Wherein the ground plane clearance is larger than a footprint of the boosters piece (1401) (fig. 14c).
Re claim 11: Wherein the slot of the ground plane clearance is smaller than the ground plane clearance (fig. 14c).
Re claim 12: Wherein the feeding element (1404) is located at zero distance from the closest edge of the boosters piece (fig. 14c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anguera in view of Anguera Pros et al (US 2014/0015728)
The teachings of Anguera have been discussed above.
Although, Anguera teaches wireless device comprising the slot, he fairly teaches that the slot of the ground plane clearance is as large as the ground plane clearance.
However, Anguera Pros teaches that radiating structures (3900, 3930) comprising a clearance area (3903(a) and 3903(b)) wherein the booster footprint (3904) can be 0% (see figs. 39a, 39b; paragraph 0223).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Anguera Pros to the teachings of Anguera in order to prevent intersecting between the ground plane and a conductive surface of the ground plane.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
None of prior art teaches a wireless device comprising a radiating system that comprises a board including a radiating structure comprising a ground plane layer comprising a clearance containing a slot defined by a curve, the curve containing first and second connecting points; a boosters piece mounted on the ground plane clearance and comprising at least portions of first and second boosters arranged in a non-concatenated disposition and at least one non-electrical connection element affixing the boosters piece to the board that contains the radiating structure, the first booster comprising a conductive surface contained in a top surface of the boosters piece and including at least one connection point connected to a via of the boosters piece, the via comprising a feeding point, the second booster comprising a feeding conductive strip contained in the boosters piece, the feeding conductive strip being positioned at a distance d2 from a closest edge of the boosters piece and being connected to the first and second connecting points of the curve defining the slot of the ground plane layer and containing a feeding point, wherein the via is positioned at a distance d1 from said closest edge of the boosters piece to the feeding conductive strip, and wherein the boosters piece features a largest dimension smaller than λ/20, where λ is the free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of operation of the radiating system; and a radiofrequency system connected by conductive pads to at least one of the feeding point of the first booster or the feeding point of the second booster as set forth in the claims.
Conclusion
/SEUNG H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876