DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference number mentioned in the description: “300” (see Specification, [0038]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the notification information” recited in claim 18, ln. 2 should likely read “the one or more notifications”;
“pausing causing a game application in progress” recited in claim 20, ln. 4 should likely read “pausing a game application in progress”; and
“receiving user input via a graphical user interface or a rotating portion of a user input device” recited in claim 20, ln. 5-6 should likely read “receiving a second user input via [[a]]the graphical user interface or [[a]]the rotating portion of [[a]]the user input device”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in part “a graphical user interface configured to present selectable icons to control or navigate features of the video game system; and a rotating member that rotates relative to an axis that intersects the controller body such that at least one or more of the selectable icons is selected or one or more of the features is controlled or navigated.” It is indefinite as to how the rotating member may rotate such that one or more of the features is controlled or navigated, alternatively to being rotated to select one or more of the selectable icons, wherein the claim previously recites that the selectable icons are presented to control or navigate features of the video game system.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected for same reasoning.
Claims 2-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected by virtue of their dependencies on claims 1, 15, and 19, respectively.
Claim 9 recites “The controller of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the user input device is inwardly clickable for selecting one or more icons displayed on the graphical user interface.” However, claim 1, from which claim 9 depends, recites in part “the user input device comprising: […] a rotating member that rotates relative to an axis that intersects the controller body such that at least one or more of the selectable icons is selected or one or more of the features is controlled or navigated”. It is indefinite as to whether the one or more icons is selected by rotating the rotating member, as recited in claim 1, or by inwardly clicking at least a portion of the user input device, as recited in claim 9.
Examiner Notes
The cited prior art “Manba One, Manba Gaming, 5 pages (10/04/24)” is evidence of the Manba One Controller, which is noted to have a pre-order date of at least 04/16/24 (see “‘(Pre-order) Manba One Wireless Controller (Black)’, Manba Gaming, 12 pages (04/16/24)”) and a release date of at least 09/24/24 (see ““Wireless Gaming Controller for Switch’, GoNintendo, 5 pages (09/24/24)”).
The cited prior art “Thrustmaster ESWAP X 2 Pro Controller, 2 pages (01/31/24)” and “Grixti, S., “Thrustmaster ESWAP X2 Pro Controller Elden Ring Edition Review – Pro Look and Feel”, Press Start, 6 pages (09/17/24)” are evidence of Thrustmaster ESWAP X2 Pro Controller, which is noted to have a release date of 01/24/24 (see Dushman, J., “Thrustmaster Unveils ESWAP X2: The Next Evolution in Pro Gaming Controllers”, Xiaomi Today, 4 pages (01/30/24)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, 12, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manba One Controller, as evidenced by Manba One, Manba Gaming, 5 pages (10/04/24) (hereinafter “Manba”) and “Wireless Gaming Controller for Switch", GoNintendo, 5 pages (09/24/24) (hereinafter “GoNintendo”).
Regarding claim 1, Manba discloses a controller for a video game system (pp. 1-5) comprising:
a controller body (pp. 1-5, video game controller body);
a processor included in the controller body (pp. 1-5, the video game controller including a processor that enables the controller to pair with and communicate with a video game system/platform and convert inputs (e.g., through buttons, joysticks, etc.) into digital signals to be sent the video game system/platform); and
a user input device communicatively coupled with the processor and attached to one or more locations on the controller body (pp. 1-5, a visual interactive screen and joystick(s)), the user input device comprising:
a graphical user interface configured to present selectable icons to control or navigate features of the video game system (pp. 1-5, where the screen presents icons including a mode and a settings menu); and
a rotating member that rotates relative to an axis that intersects the controller body such that at least one or more of the selectable icons is selected or one or more of the features is controlled or navigated (pp. 1-5, where a joystick having an axis extending downward into the controller body rotates about that axis to perform the selection of at least one or more of the selectable icons on the screen).
Regarding claim 2, Manba further discloses the controller further comprising at least two thumbsticks, the user input device being couplable between the at least two thumbsticks (pp. 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, Manba further discloses the controller body further comprising a front surface and a back surface (pp. 1 & 3).
Regarding claim 8, Manba further discloses wherein the user input device is attached to a top surface of the controller body (pp. 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, Manba further discloses a wireless network interface housed in the controller body and coupled with the processor, wherein the processor is configured to receive notification information of the video game system via the wireless network interface, and, wherein the user input device is configured to receive, from the processor, the notification information and to present corresponding one or more notifications at the graphical user interface (pp. 1-5, wherein the controller is configured to wirelessly pair with a video game system/platform and receives notification information (e.g., game setting options) which are displayed by the graphical user interface of the controller for user configuration).
It is further noted that said wireless network interface, as claimed, is admitted to be well-known in the art (see Specification, [0076], “In various embodiments, the controller is communicatively coupled with a video game system via mechanisms known in the art and the graphical user interface presents selectable icons to control or navigate features of the video game system. For example, the controller may be communicatively coupled with a video game system using a wireless network interface housed in the controller body and coupled with the processor. The processor may be configured to receive notification information of the video game system via the wireless network interface, and the user input device is configured to receive, from the processor, the notification information and to present corresponding one or more notifications at the graphical user interface.”).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for like reasoning as claim 1 presented above (pp. 1-5, where the controller is configured to pair with a video game console/platform).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected for like reasoning as claim 12 presented above.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected for like reasoning as claims 1 and 15 presented above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manba One Controller, as evidenced by Manba and GoNintendo, in view of Hussaini et al. (U.S. Pub. 2004/0023719 A1) (hereinafter “Hussaini”) and Thrustmaster ESWAP X2 Pro Controller, as evidenced by Thrustmaster ESWAP X 2 Pro Controller, 2 pages (01/31/24) (hereinafter “Thrustmaster”) and Dushman, J., “Thrustmaster Unveils ESWAP X2: The Next Evolution in Pro Gaming Controllers”, Xiaomi Today, 4 pages (01/30/24) (hereinafter “Dushman”).
Regarding claim 3, Manba may not further disclose wherein the user input device is removably attached to the one or more locations on the controller body. However, Hussaini, directed to video game controllers ([0002]), teaches wherein a video game controller may have a removable display device ([0030]). Additionally, Thrustmaster, directed to a video game controller (pp. 1-2), teaches wherein controller inputs (e.g., joysticks, D-pad, etc.) are removably attached to the controller body (pp. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the user input device to be removably attached to the one or more locations, as taught by Hussaini and Thrustmaster, in order to allow for use of a conventional controller with a stand-alone display device, to modify the controller dependent on the game and/or user preference, and/or improve the lifespan on the inputs (e.g., rotating member) (Hussaini, [0030]; Thrustmaster, p. 2).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manba One Controller, as evidenced by Manba and GoNintendo, in view of Thrustmaster ESWAP X2 Pro Controller, as evidenced by Grixti, S., “Thrustmaster ESWAP X2 Pro Controller Elden Ring Edition Review – Pro Look and Feel”, Press Start, 6 pages (09/17/24) (hereinafter “Grixti”) and Dushman.
Regarding claim 4, Manba may not further disclose the controller comprising a magnetic grid interface at least partially disposed between the at least two thumbsticks, the magnetic grid interface comprising a plurality of reference locations, the user input device magnetically attached to the controller body at one or more of the reference locations. However, Grixti, directed to the Thrustmaster ESWAP X2 Pro Controller, teaches the controller comprising a magnetic grid interface system with a plurality of locations at least partially disposed between the at least two thumbsticks such that user input device/components may be magnetically attached to the controller body at one or more of the locations (p. 3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the user input device/components to be magnetically attached to the controller body, as taught by Grixti, in order to modify the configuration of the controller to suit the player’s needs (Grixti, p. 2, where the components may be swapped out dependent on user preference).
Regarding claim 5, Manba may not further disclose, however, Grixti teaches a controller comprising a plurality of user controls, wherein at least one of the user controls is magnetically attached to the controller body at one or more corresponding reference locations of the magnetic grid interface (p. 3, e.g., analog stick, D-pad, steering wheel component, or the like). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the user input device/components (user controls) to be magnetically attached to the controller body, as taught by Grixti, in order to modify the configuration of the controller to suit the player’s needs (Grixti, p. 2, where the components may be swapped out dependent on user preference).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manba One Controller, as evidenced by Manba and GoNintendo, in view of Muramatsu (U.S. Pub. 2012/0142419 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Manba further discloses wherein the graphical user interface is disposed on the front surface of the controller body (pp. 1-5). However, Manba does not further disclose wherein the rotating member is attached to the back surface of the controller body. Nevertheless, Muramatsu, directed to a video game controller with adjustable keys ([0003]; [0009]), teaches wherein analog stick means (rotating member) is connected to the controller main body via rotational shaft and stopper provided on the back side of the controller (Figs 1A-1B; [0021-0023]; [0029-0030]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the rotating member to be attached to the back surface of the controller body, as taught by Muramatsu, in order to adjust the configuration/orientation of the rotating member (analog stick/joystick) of the controller to suit the player’s needs (Muramatsu, [0009], wherein adjusting keys and key angles of the video game controller provides an ease of use to the player).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manba One Controller, as evidenced by Manba and GoNintendo, in view of Minamino et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0126136 A1) (hereinafter “Minamino”).
Regarding claim 9, Manba may not explicitly further disclose wherein at least a portion of the user input device is inwardly clickable for selecting one or more icons displayed on the graphical user interface. However, Minamino, directed to providing operation signals of an input apparatus (e.g., controller) to games (Figs. 2A-2B; [0002]), teaches wherein analog sticks, for example, may also function as a depressible button and/or where a touch pad also functions as a depressible button ([0033]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for at least a portion of the user input device of Manba (e.g., joystick) to be depressible for providing an input/selection, as taught by Minamino as an additional and/or alternative method of selecting one or more icons displayed on the screen (Minamino, [0033], wherein when depressed, a button function (input) is executed).
Claims 10-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manba One Controller, as evidenced by Manba and GoNintendo, in view of O’Leary et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0124191 A1) (hereinafter “O’Leary”).
Regarding claim 10, Manba does not further disclose wherein the graphical user interface is a touchscreen for receiving touch input from a user for selecting one or more icons displayed on the graphical user interface. However, O’Leary, directed to receiving user inputs via remote input devices ([0002]), teaches a game controller (see Fig. 5K, “580”) that includes one or more display generation components such as a touch screen display which displays content ([0192]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Manba to be a touch-capable display, as taught by O’Leary, in order to provide additional or alternative input techniques/selection capabilities.
Regarding claim 11, the Manba One Controller may pair with multiple platforms, such as iOS (iPhone), Android, and more (see e.g., GoNintendo, p. 2). However, Manba does not further disclose wherein the user input device is further configured to present, via the graphical user interface, a non-video game feature and to cause the processor to instruct the video game system about pausing a video game execution upon a selection of the non-video game feature via the graphical user interface or the rotating member. However, O’Leary teaches these limitations (Figs. 5K & 14A-14P; [0192]; [0195]; [0282]; [0464-0479]; [0509-0514], where the video game controller (i.e., input device 1414 (controller) having one or more of the characteristics of any of the input devices described with reference to Figs. 5-13), which can include display generation components such as an LCD or LED display or touch screen display, receives display information and displays content (e.g., media content, a user interface, etc.) via the display generation component of the video game controller, wherein the video game controller displays notifications (e.g., received messages, incoming phone call, etc.), and in response to receiving input associated with the notifications, pauses a first user interface (e.g., game session)). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to present, via the graphical user interface of Manba, a non-video game feature, such as an incoming phone call or message, and provide for pausing a video game execution upon selection of the non-video game feature using control elements of the controller (e.g., joystick (rotating member) of Manba), as taught by O’Leary, in order to allow for immediate user interaction with a notification event, enhance user-device interactions, and to avoid accidental progression through the first user interface (e.g., the game session) (O’Leary, [0509-0514]).
Regarding claim 12, Manba further discloses a wireless network interface housed in the controller body and coupled with the processor, wherein the processor is configured to receive notification information of the video game system via the wireless network interface, and, wherein the user input device is configured to receive, from the processor, the notification information and to present corresponding one or more notifications at the graphical user interface (pp. 1-5, wherein the controller is configured to wirelessly pair with a video game system/platform and receives notification information (e.g., game setting options) which are displayed by the graphical user interface of the controller for user configuration). To the extent that a person of ordinary skill in the art would find that Manba does not further disclose a wireless network interface housed in the controller body and coupled with the processor, wherein the processor is configured to receive notification information of the video game system via the wireless network interface, and, wherein the user input device is configured to receive, from the processor, the notification information and to present corresponding one or more notifications at the graphical user interface (though Examiner would respectfully disagree), O’Leary further teaches where the game controller may comprise a display generation component such as an LCD or LED display, touch screen display, and/or projection device and is capable of communication (e.g., wirelessly) with another device to provide user inputs to the other device, receive display information from the other device with which the game controller is connected, and display associated content via the display generation component of the game controller ([0192]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the controller body of Manba a wireless network interface such that the processor is configured to receive notification information of the video game system via the wireless network interface and transmit the notification information to the graphical user interface to present corresponding one or more notifications, as taught by O’Leary, to generate displayed content in association with the video game system with which the game controller is connected (O’Leary, [0192]).
Regarding claim 13, Manba may not further disclose, however, O’Leary teaches wherein the one or more notifications comprise an incoming call alert or text message that is reviewable via the user input device ([0192]; [0195]; [0282]; [0464-0479]; [0509-0514]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the controller body of Manba a wireless network interface such that the processor is configured to receive notification information of the video game system via the wireless network interface and transmit the notification information to the graphical user interface to present corresponding one or more notifications, wherein the one or more notifications comprise an incoming call alert or text message, as taught by O’Leary, to allow for immediate user interaction with a notification event, enhance user-device interactions, and/or to display content in association with a device with which the game controller is connected (O’Leary, [0192]; [0509-0514]; GoNintendo, p. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Manba may not further disclose, however, O’Leary teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive user input via the user input device in response to the one or more notifications causing a gaming application progress to be paused ([0035]; [0046]; [0192]; [0195]; [0282]; [0464-0479]; [0509-0514], i.e., via input element 1404 (e.g., joystick)). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pause a video game execution upon receiving user input in response to one or more notifications regarding a non-video game feature, such as an incoming phone call or message, using control elements of the controller (e.g., joystick (rotating member) of Manba), as taught by O’Leary in order to allow for immediate user interaction with a notification event, enhance user-device interactions, and to avoid accidental progression through the first user interface (e.g., the game session) (O’Leary, [0509-0514]).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected for like reasoning as claim 12 presented above.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected for like reasoning as claim 13 presented above.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected for like reasoning of claim 14 presented above.
Regarding claim 20, Manba may not further disclose receiving notification information; presenting corresponding one or more notifications at the graphical user interface; pausing causing a gaming application in progress; and receiving user input via a graphical user interface or a rotating portion of a user input device in response to the one or more notifications. However, O’Leary, directed to receiving user inputs via remote input devices ([0002]), teaches these limitations (Figs. 5K & 14A-14P; [0192]; [0195]; [0282]; [0464-0479]; [0509-0514], where video game controller (i.e., input device 1414 (controller) having one or more of the characteristics of any of the input devices described with reference to Figs. 5-13), which can include display generation components such as an LCD or LED display or touch screen display, receives display information and displays content (e.g., media content, a user interface, etc.) via the display generation component of the video game controller, wherein the video game controller displays notifications (e.g., received messages, incoming phone call, etc.), receives input associated with the notifications, and pauses a first user interface (e.g., game session)). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive notification information, present (e.g., via the graphical user interface of Manba) one or more notifications such as an incoming phone call or message, provide for pausing a video game execution, and receive user input regarding the one or more notifications using control elements of the controller (e.g., joystick (rotating member) of Manba), as taught by O’Leary, in order to allow for immediate user interaction with a notification event, enhance user-device interactions, and to avoid accidental progression through the first user interface (e.g., the game session) (O’Leary, [0509-0514]; GoNintendo, p. 2, where the Manba One Controller may pair with multiple platforms, such as iOS (iPhone), Android, and more).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 9,911,552 B2 – This reference teaches a controller comprising, in part, an operation panel which detects user touch operations and which also may serve as a plate-shaped push button.
U.S. 6,325,719 B1 – This reference teaches a controller comprising, in part, a jog dial rotatably mounted on the controller as part of an input operating part.
U.S. Pub. 2025/0295992 A1 – This reference teaches a controller that may comprise a screen.
U.S. Pub. 2023/0112293 A1 – This reference teaches a modular controller, where a connector of the modular controller comprises a magnetic element which provides for a straightforward, yet strong, connection between modules, obviates the need for more complex plug and receiver type connectors, and facilitates maintaining electrical connection between modules.
U.S. Pub. 2021/0308563 A1 – This reference teaches a controller with swappable input controls, where an attachment mechanism may be a magnet that allows a modular input control to be removably secured to the controller body, and, in some implementations, allows the modular input control to rotate in the interface port.
U.S. Pub. 2020/0238167 A1 – This reference teaches an LCD monitor disposed or arranged on the body of a game controller and analog stick buttons.
U.S. Pub. 2004/0259638 A1 – This reference teaches a controller with a trackball control element.
U.S. Pub. 2003/0220142 A1 – This reference teaches a video game controller with a display screen.
Turtle Beach Stealth Pivot Controller (Released 11/26/24) – This controller comprises a display screen and rotatable components.
/ALYSSA N BIANCAMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3715