DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record Arai (US 2016/0316139 A1) in view of Ooya (US 2018/0259739 A1), as a whole, fails to teach the claim limitations as a whole, specifically, “a first accessory apparatus including a first operation ring that has a rotational end and a second operation ring that has no rotational end, and that the processor (a) allocates a first function to the first operation ring, and (b), in a case where the first function is included in functions allocatable to the second operation ring, allocates a second function different from the first function to the second operation ring or restricts allocation of the first function to the second operation ring”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Attention is directed to the prior art of Arai, specifically figs. 2, 5, and 6. Imaging apparatus 100 is comprised of a first operation ring 210 and a second operation ring 220. The functions that may be allocated to either the first operation ring 210 and second operation ring 220 are aperture value, focal distance, and in-focus distance. These functions are not the same (emphasis added). The 3 aforementioned functions may be allocated to the first operation ring 210 or the second operation ring 220. Secondly, microcomputer 50 within imaging apparatus 100, is responsible for assigning the different functions to all the operational buttons and the dial operations of the imaging apparatus, hence shown in fig. 5. Lastly, para 0105 states the following as pertaining to the first and second operation rings, “Moreover, the ROM 200c comprises a list showing the kinds of parameters that are allocatable to the first operation ring 210 and the second operation ring 220 of the lens 200. Moreover, the ROM 200c comprises information indicating the operation unit position of the lens 200, that is, information indicating the positions of the first operation ring 210 and the second operation ring 220 on the lens exterior drawing”. Therefore Arai teaches the ability to have multiple functions assigned to either the first operation ring 210 or second operation ring 220. Lastly, the prior art of Arai teaches that both the first operation ring 210 and the second operation ring 220 may be rotated (see para 0014 and 0115). The claim as currently constructed requires that a second operation ring has no rotational end (i.e. no rotation or lock or disable). The prior art of Ooya teaches the ability to have a release switch 85 having the ability to enable/disable (i.e. no rotation or lock or disable) an operation ring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, to teach the claim limitations as currently constructed. Based on this reasoning/rationale, the prior art of rejection will remain. It is highly suggested to amend the claims further to highlight the inventive concept.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (US 2016/0316139 A1) in view of Ooya (US 2018/0259739 A1).
As per claim 1, Arai discloses an image pickup apparatus (figs. 1 and 2, imaging apparatus 100) to which a first accessory apparatus including a first operation ring that has a rotational end is connectable (figs. 1 and 2, imaging apparatus 100, lens 200, first operation ring 210), the image pickup apparatus comprising:
a processor (fig. 1, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50) (a) configured to, in a case where the first accessory apparatus or a second accessory apparatus connected to the image pickup apparatus together with the first accessory apparatus includes a second operation ring (figs. 1 and 2, imaging apparatus 100, lens 200, first operation ring 210, second operation ring 220, microcomputer 50 controls first and second operation rings, and has the ability to control whether they rotate or not, see para 0040) allocate functions related to control of the first accessory apparatus or the image pickup apparatus to the first and second operation rings (fig. 2, imaging apparatus 100, lens 200, first operation ring 210, second operation ring 220, microcomputer 50, para 0039-0042), and (b) configured to perform the control in accordance with operations of the first and second operation rings (para 0039-0042),
wherein the processor (fig. 1, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50) (a) allocates a first function to the first operation ring (figs. 1 and 2, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates functions to first operation ring 210 as desired, para 0039-0042), and (b), in a case where the first function is included in functions allocatable to the second operation ring, allocates a second function different from the first function to the second operation ring or restricts allocation of the first function to the second operation ring (figs. 1 and 2, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions to first operation ring 210 and second operation ring 220 as desired, see para 0039-0042).
Arai fails to teach a ring with no “rotational end”. However, Ooya discloses a lens barrel 1 which can be attached to a camera body, wherein lens barrel 1 comprises a release switch 85 having the ability to enable and disable an operation ring (Ooya, fig. 1, lens barrel 1, release switch 85, para 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, by integrating the release switch as taught by Ooya, onto the lens barrel as taught by Arai, because doing so would provide a more efficient way of disabling an operation ring, thus enhancing the overall control of the lens barrel and imaging device.
As per claim 2, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first and second functions are functions for controlling mutually different control targets in the first accessory apparatus or the image pickup apparatus (Arai, figs. 1, 2, and 6, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions to first operation ring 210 (i.e. aperture value, focal distance, in focus distance), see para 0039-0042).
As per claim 3, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first and second functions are functions for providing mutually different set values in control of a same control target in the first accessory apparatus or the image pickup apparatus (Arai, figs. 1, 2, and 6, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions to first operation ring 210 (i.e. aperture value, focal distance, in focus distance), see para 0039-0042).
As per claim 4, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor generates, based on information related to the first operation ring that is acquired from the first accessory apparatus, information related to a set value for the control in accordance with a rotational position of the first operation ring in the first function (Arai, figs. 1, 2, and 6, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions to first operation ring 210 (i.e. aperture value, focal distance, in focus distance), see para 0039-0042).
As per claim 5, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the information related to the first operation ring includes (a) the set value corresponding to an actual position of the first operation ring and (b) maximum and minimum values of the set value within a range in which the first operation ring is operable (Arai, figs. 1, 2, and 6, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions to first operation ring 210 (i.e. aperture value, focal distance, in focus distance), see para 0039-0042).
As per claim 6, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor allocates the first and second functions to the first and second operation rings based on information related to a configuration of at least one of the first and second operation rings that is acquired from the first or second accessory apparatus (Arai, figs. 1, 2, and 6, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions to first operation ring 210 (i.e. aperture value, focal distance, in focus distance), see para 0039-0042).
As per claim 7, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when allocating the second function to the second operation ring, the processor allocates, to the second operation ring as the second function, a disabling function by which the control in accordance with the operation of the second operation ring is not performed (Ooya, fig. 1, lens barrel 1, release switch 85, discloses the ability to disable an operation ring, therefore, processor would be unable to allocate a function to a second operation ring when release switch 85 is activated, see para 0031).
As per claim 8, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is capable of allocating, to each of the first and second operation rings, a first control function that causes the image pickup apparatus to control a first control target in accordance with the operation of each of the first and second operation rings,
wherein the processor is capable of allocating to the first operation ring a second control function that causes the first accessory apparatus to control the first control target in accordance with the operation of the first operation ring not through the image pickup apparatus, and
wherein, when allocating the first function that is the first control function or the second control function to the first operation ring, the processor allocates, to the second operation ring, the second function that is different from the first and second control functions (figs. 1, 2, and 6, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions to first operation ring 210 and second operation ring 220 (i.e. aperture value, focal distance, in focus distance), see para 0039-0042, furthermore Ooya discloses the ability to disable an operation ring not through the camera body, therefore processor would be unable to allocate a function to a second operation ring when release switch 85 is activated, see para 0031).
As per claim 9, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 8,
wherein the functions allocatable to the second operation ring include a disabling function by which the control in accordance with the operation of the second operation ring is not performed (Ooya, fig. 1, lens barrel 1, release switch 85, discloses the ability to disable an operation ring, therefore, processor would be unable to allocate a function to a second operation ring when release switch 85 is activated, see para 0031), and
wherein the disabling function is the second function that is different from the first and second control functions (Arai, figs. 1, 2, and 6, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions to first operation ring 210 (i.e. aperture value, focal distance, in focus distance), see para 0039-0042, furthermore the disabling feature as taught by Ooya is different from the functions allocatable by Arai).
As per claim 10, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is capable of allocating to at least one of the first and second operation rings a second control function that causes the first accessory apparatus to control a first control target in accordance with the operation of the at least one operation ring not through the image pickup apparatus, and
wherein, in a case where the second control function is allocated to the at least one operation ring, the processor performs communication for causing the first accessory apparatus to control the first control target in the second control function (Arai, figs. 1, 2, and 6, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions to first operation ring 210 (i.e. aperture value, focal distance, in focus distance), see para 0039-0042, furthermore the disabling feature (release switch 85) as taught by Ooya is not through the imaging apparatus).
As per claim 11, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor allocates the second function that is different from the first function and is selected by a user to the second operation ring (Arai, figs. 1 and 2, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions to first operation ring 210 and second operation ring 220 as desired, see para 0039-0042).
As per claim 12, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the image pickup apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when restricting the allocation of the first function to the second operation ring, the processor restricts selection of the first function by a user as a function to be allocated to the second operation ring (Arai, figs. 1 and 2, imaging apparatus 100, microcomputer 50 allocates different functions or takes away (i.e. restrict) to first operation ring 210 and second operation ring 220 as desired, see para 0039-0042).
As per claim 13, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses an image pickup apparatus comprising a processor configured to:
allocate functions to a first operation ring having a rotational end and a second operation ring having no rotational end, and
perform control in accordance with operations of the first and second operation rings in the functions allocated to the first and second operation rings,
wherein the processor allocates, to the first operation ring, the function different from that allocated to the second operation ring in a case where the functions allocatable to the first operation ring include at least part of the functions allocatable to the second operation ring (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 1 above).
As per claim 14, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses an accessory apparatus connectable to an image pickup apparatus, the accessory apparatus comprising:
a first operation ring having a rotational end;
a second operation ring having no rotational end; and
a processor configured to transmit to the image pickup apparatus information enabling control in accordance with an operation of each of the first and second operation rings in a function allocated to each of the first and second operation rings (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 1 above).
As per claim 15, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the processor transmits to the image pickup apparatus information related to the first operation ring that is used to generate information related to a set value for the control in accordance with a rotational position of the first operation ring in a first function of the image pickup apparatus (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 4 above).
As per claim 16, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses the accessory apparatus according to claim 14,
wherein the processor transmits to the image pickup apparatus information in accordance with the operation of the first operation ring in a case where a first control function that causes the image pickup apparatus to control a first control target in accordance with the operation of the first operation ring is allocated to the first operation ring, and
wherein the processor controls the first control target in accordance with the operation of the first operation ring in a case where a second control function that causes the accessory apparatus to control the first control target in accordance with the operation of the first operation ring not through the image pickup apparatus is allocated to the first operation ring (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 8 above).
As per claim 17, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses a control method of an image pickup apparatus to which a first accessory apparatus including a first operation ring that has a rotational end is connectable, the control method comprising the steps of:
allocating, in a case where the first accessory apparatus or a second accessory apparatus connected to the image pickup apparatus together with the first accessory apparatus includes a second operation ring that has no rotational end, functions related to control of the first accessory apparatus or the image pickup apparatus to the first and second operation rings; and
performing the control in accordance with operations of the first and second operation rings,
wherein the method (a) allocates a first function to the first operation ring, and (b), in a case where the first function is included in functions allocatable to the second operation ring, allocates a second function different from the first function to the second operation ring or restricts allocation of the first function to the second operation ring (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 1 above).
As per claim 18, the combined teachings of Arai in view of Ooya, as a whole, further discloses a control method of an image pickup apparatus, the control method comprising the steps of:
allocating functions to a first operation ring having a rotational end and a second operation ring having no rotational end; and
performing control in accordance with operations of the first and second operation rings in the functions allocated to the first and second operation rings,
wherein the method allocates, to the first operation ring, the function different from that allocated to the second operation ring in a case where the functions allocatable to the first operation ring include at least part of the functions allocatable to the second operation ring (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 1 above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN H MOREHEAD III/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639