DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim appears to contain clerical errors. Claim 1 recites “a first rotation member accommodated in the rotation bracket,” and then subsequently recites “a second rotation accommodated in the rotation….” The examiner assumes that the claimed “second rotation” is intended to parallel the claimed “first rotation member” and the claimed “rotation” is intended to parallel the claimed “rotation bracket.” Thus, the examiner assumes that the claim is intended to recite “a second rotation member accommodated in the rotation bracket….” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morrison et al. (hereinafter “Morrison” US 10,852,776).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 1) an electronic device (10) comprising:
a housing (12) including a first housing (i.e., first housing portion (14)) and a second housing (i.e., second housing portion (14));
a flexible display (16) disposed on the first housing (14) and the second housing (14); and
a hinge structure (see (18, 80, 82, 20) in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6) connecting the first housing (14) and the second housing (14) to each other (see Col. 7, Ln. 24-49 and Col. 10, Ln. 6-15),
wherein the hinge structure (18, 80, 82, 20) includes (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21):
a rotation structure (see Fig. 20) including a rotation bracket (see (20, 80, 82) in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6 in combination with Fig. 20 and note that each element (40) terminates in an element (20) that couples to (14) to produce rotation; see Col. 8, Ln. 52-54), a first rotation member (i.e., a first (40, 20)) accommodated in the rotation bracket (20, 80, 82) and connected to the first housing (14), and a second rotation member (i.e., a second (40, 20)) accommodated in the rotation bracket (20, 80, 82) and connected to the second housing (14), and
an interlocking structure (see (114, 112) in Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) configured to transfer rotational force of the first housing (i.e., first housing portion (14)) to the second housing (i.e., second housing portion (14)), and
wherein the interlocking structure (114, 112) includes:
a first pulley shaft (i.e., see an upper (112) in Fig. 21) rotatably connected to the rotation bracket (i.e., element (112) is connected to (20, 80, 82) via (40)),
a second pulley shaft (i.e., see a lower (112) in Fig. 21) rotatably connected to the rotation bracket (i.e., element (112) is connected to (20, 80, 82) via (40)),
a wire (i.e., see (136) in Fig. 21) connected to the first pulley shaft (i.e., the upper (112)) and the second pulley shaft (i.e., the lower (112)) and configured to rotate the second pulley shaft (i.e., the lower (112)) based on rotation of the first pulley shaft (i.e., the upper (112)) or rotate the first pulley shaft (i.e., the upper (112)) based on rotation of the second pulley shaft (i.e., the lower (112)), and
an idler pulley (i.e., see (114)) in Fig. 21) located between the first pulley shaft (i.e., the upper (112)) and the second pulley shaft (i.e., the lower (112)) and configured to guide movement of the wire (136; see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48; also see Col. 17, Ln. 13-38).
As pertaining to Claim 2, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the idler pulley (i.e., see (114)) in Fig. 21) includes:
an idler shaft (i.e., a central shaft of (114)) connected to the rotation bracket (see (20, 80, 82) in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6 in combination with Fig. 20),
a second idler pulley (i.e., a left-side (114) in Fig. 21) configured to be rotatable with respect to the idler shaft (i.e., the central shaft of (114)) and connected to the wire (136), and
a first idler pulley (i.e., a right-side (114) in Fig. 21) located between the second idler pulley (i.e., the left-side (114)) and the rotation bracket (20, 80, 82), and rotatably connected with respect to the idler shaft (i.e., the central portion of (114); again, see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48; also see Col. 17, Ln. 13-38).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the wire (136) includes:
a first wire (i.e., a first portion of (136)) connected to the first pulley shaft (i.e., the upper (112)) and the first idler pulley (i.e., the right-side (114)),
a second wire (i.e., a second portion of (136)) connected to the second pulley shaft (i.e., the lower (112)) and the first idler pulley (i.e., the right-side (114)),
a third wire (i.e., a third portion of (136)) connected to the first pulley shaft (i.e., the upper (112)) and the second idler pulley (i.e., the left-side (114)), and
a fourth wire (i.e., a fourth portion of (136)) connected to the second pulley shaft (i.e., the lower (112)) and the second idler pulley (i.e., the left-side (114); see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48 for arbitrary portions of (136)).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the first pulley shaft (i.e., the upper (112)) includes a first pulley (i.e., see any portion of (112) in Fig. 20) accommodating the first wire (i.e., the first portion of (136)) and a second pulley (i.e., see any other portion of (112) in Fig. 20) accommodating the third wire (i.e., the third portion of (136)) and disposed to face the first pulley (112), and
wherein the second pulley shaft (i.e., the lower (112)) includes a third pulley (i.e., see any portion of (112) in Fig. 20) accommodating the second wire (i.e., the second portion of (136)), and a fourth pulley (i.e., see any other portion of (112)) accommodating the fourth wire (i.e., the fourth portion of (136)) and disposed to face the third pulley (112; again, see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48 and note that the wire (136) is wrapped multiple times around each (112) at arbitrary portions of (136)).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the first idler pulley (i.e., a right-side (114)) and the second idler pulley (i.e., a left-side (114)) are configured to rotate in different directions, when the electronic device (10) is opened or closed (again, see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48 and note the arrows shown in Fig. 21).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the first pulley shaft (i.e., see an upper (112)) is configured to rotate in a first rotation direction (i.e., a counterclockwise direction; see Fig. 21), and the second pulley shaft (i.e., see a lower (112)) is configured to rotate in a second rotation direction (i.e., a clockwise direction; see Fig. 21) opposite to the first rotation direction (i.e., the counterclockwise direction), when the electronic device (10) is opened, and
wherein the second pulley shaft (i.e., see a lower (112)) is configured to rotate in the second rotation direction (i.e., the clockwise direction), and the first pulley shaft (i.e., see an upper (112)) is configured to rotate in the first rotation direction (i.e., the counterclockwise direction), when the electronic device (10) is closed (again, see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48; also see Col. 17, Ln. 13-38; and note that the first and second pulley shafts (112) rotate oppositely when opened and closed).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the interlocking structure (see (114, 112) in Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) includes:
a first arm structure (see an upper (120, 122) in Fig. 20) connected to the first pulley shaft (i.e., see an upper (112)) and configured to rotate based on rotation of the first rotation member (i.e., a first (40, 20)), and
a second arm structure (see a lower (120, 122) in Fig. 20) connected to the second pulley shaft (i.e., see a lower (112)) and configured to rotate based on rotation of the second rotation member (i.e., a second (40, 20); again, see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the first rotation member (i.e., a first (40, 20)) includes a first slit (i.e., a first hole in (120); see Fig. 20), and the second rotation member (i.e., a second (40, 20)) includes a second slit (i.e., a second hole in (120); see Fig. 20), and
wherein the interlocking structure (114, 112) includes:
a first pin (i.e., a first connector) connected to the first arm structure (see an upper (120, 122)) and configured to slide in the first slit (i.e., the first hole in (120)), and
a second pin (i.e., a second connector) connected to the second arm structure (see a lower (120, 122)) and configured to slide in the second slit (i.e., the second hole in (120); again, see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48 and note that the arm structures (120, 122) are shown to be connected via holes or slits and connecting pins in Fig. 20).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the hinge structure (18, 80, 82, 20) includes a fixing structure (120, 56) including a cam structure (120) configured to contact the first pulley shaft (i.e., see an upper (112)) and the second pulley shaft (i.e., see a lower (112)) and a resilient member (56) configured to provide force to the cam structure (120; see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48 and Col. 13, Ln. 60-64).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the resilient member (56) includes a first spring (i.e., a first (56)) surrounding at least part of the first pulley shaft (i.e., see an upper (112)) and a second spring (i.e., a second (56)) surrounding at least part of the second pulley shaft (i.e., see a lower (112); again, see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48 and Col. 13, Ln. 60-64; and see Fig. 20 and note that (56) surrounds a shaft portion of (112)).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the first pulley shaft (i.e., see an upper (112)) is configured to rotate about a first interlocking axis (i.e., an axis of the upper (112)),
wherein the second pulley shaft (i.e., see a lower (112)) is configured to rotate about a second interlocking axis (i.e., an axis of the lower (112)),
wherein the idler pulley (114) is configured to rotate about a third interlocking axis (i.e., an axis of (114)), and
wherein when the electronic device (10) is in an unfolded state (i.e., an open state), a distance (i.e., an arbitrary distance) between the third interlocking axis (i.e., the axis of (114)) and the flexible display (16) is greater (i.e., arbitrarily) than a distance (i.e., an arbitrary distance) between the first interlocking axis (i.e., the axis of the upper (112)) and the flexible display (16) or a distance (i.e., an arbitrary distance) between the second interlocking axis (i.e., the axis of the lower (112)) and the flexible display (16; see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48 and Fig. 21 for arbitrary distances).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 20 and Fig. 21) that the idler pulley (114) includes a tension adjustment screw (i.e., see the connecting parts coupling (114) to (120)) configured to adjust a position of at least part of the idler pulley (114) as the tension adjustment screw (i.e., see the connecting parts coupling (114) to (120)) is connecting the idler shaft (114) to the rotation bracket (see (20, 80, 82) in Fig. 1 and Fig. 6; and see Col. 14, Ln. 24-48 with Col. 7, Ln. 39-41 and note that the connecting parts can be screws).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Morrison discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 20, and Fig. 21) that the flexible display (16) includes a first display area (i.e., a first area of (16)) connected to the first housing (i.e., the first housing portion (14)), a second display area (i.e., a second area of (16)) connected to the second housing (i.e., the second housing portion (14)), and a folding area (see (18, 20)) located between the first display area (i.e., a first area of (16)) and the second display area (i.e., a second area of (16)), and
wherein at least portion of the folding area (18, 20) faces the idler pulley (114; see Col. 7, Ln. 24-49 and Col. 14, Ln. 24-48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison in view of Ficyk (US 2020 / 0087855).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Morrison does not explicitly disclose the material composition of the wire (136). That is, Morrison does not explicitly disclose that the wire includes a strand including a plurality of wires and a core surrounded by the strand. However, this structure is well-known in the art.
In fact, in a similar field of endeavor, Ficyk discloses (see Fig. 1) a wire (26) that can be arranged and/or routed in any manner and using any number of pulleys in any configuration (see (42, 50), for example; and see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0015]) using a material composition (see Fig. 2) that includes a strand (132) including a plurality of wires and a core (128) surrounded by the strand (132; see Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0017]). It is an expressed goal of Ficyk to provide a wire for a pulley system that allows for high strength, fatigue resistance, and corrosion resistance (see Page 2, Para. [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morrison with the teachings of Ficyk, such that the wire includes a strand including a plurality of wires and a core surrounded by the strand, as suggested by Ficyk, in order to allow for a pulley system with high strength, fatigue resistance, and corrosion resistance.
As pertaining to Claim 14, Morrison does not explicitly disclose the material composition of the wire (136). That is, Morrison does not explicitly disclose that the wire includes stainless steel. However, this structure is well-known in the art.
In fact, in a similar field of endeavor, Ficyk discloses (see Fig. 1) a wire (26) that can be arranged and/or routed in any manner and using any number of pulleys in any configuration (see (42, 50), for example; and see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0015]) using a material composition (see Fig. 2) that includes stainless steel (see Page 2, Para. [0019]). It is an expressed goal of Ficyk to provide a wire for a pulley system that allows for high strength, fatigue resistance, and corrosion resistance (see Page 2, Para. [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Morrison with the teachings of Ficyk, such that the wire includes stainless steel, as suggested by Ficyk, in order to allow for a pulley system with high strength, fatigue resistance, and corrosion resistance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hale et al. (US 2025 / 0120026) discloses (see Fig. 26) a hinge structure for a flexible display device that comprises a first pulley (BA), a second pulley (BB), and an idler pulley (R1) interconnected with a wire (B1, B2).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623