DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 1/16/25 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/029637 in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0359008 to Wang. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim the same invention of transmitting a request frame that request setting up a quality of service (QOS) to an access point.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
U.S. Application No. 19/029637
U.S. Application No. 19/025279
1. A first station (STA) in a wireless network, comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to cause: transmitting, to an access point (AP), a request frame that requests a setup of a quality of service (QoS) flow for a second STA's peer to peer (P2P) traffic, the request frame including i) one or more QoS parameters associated with the QoS flow and ii) a field indicating a type of request frame; and receiving, from the AP, a response frame in response to the request frame.
1.A first station (STA) in a wireless network, comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to cause: transmitting, to an access point (AP), a first request frame that requests the AP to establish a quality of service (QoS) flow for a second STA, the first request frame including QoS parameters associated with the QoS flow; and receiving, from the AP, a first response frame in response to the first request frame.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang (See paragraph [0067, 0131 and 0180]) of a field indicating a type of request frame in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 7, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2023/0246970 to Canpolat et al.
a. As per claim 1, Canpolat et al teaches a first station (STA) in a wireless network (See paragraph [0020]), comprising: a memory (See paragraph [0028, 0042-0043]); and a processor coupled to the memory (See paragraph [0028, 0042-0043]), the processor configured to cause: transmitting, to an access point (AP), a first request frame that request the AP to establish a quality of service (QOS) flow for a second STA, the first request frame including QOS parameters associated with the QOS flow (See paragraph [0238], the E2E QoS information, of an E2E traffic flow from a first STA (STA-1), e.g., implemented by device 140, to a second STA (STA-2), e.g., implemented by device 150, may be obtained by both the STA-1 and the STA-2, for example, by sending individual SCS setup request frames to an AP); and receiving, from the AP, a first response frame in response to the first request frame (See paragraph [0320], the AP may transmit an SCS response 822 to the STA-1).
b. As per claim 7, Canpolat et al teaches An access point (AP) in a wireless network, comprising: a memory (see paragraph [0042-0043]); and a processor coupled to the memory (See paragraph [0042-0043]), the processor configured to cause: receiving, from a first station (STA), a first request frame that requests the AP to establish a quality of service (QoS) flow for a second STA, the first request frame including QoS parameters associated with the QoS flow (See paragraph [0238], the E2E QoS information, of an E2E traffic flow from a first STA (STA-1), e.g., implemented by device 140, to a second STA (STA-2), e.g., implemented by device 150, may be obtained by both the STA-1 and the STA-2, for example, by sending individual SCS setup request frames to an AP) (See paragraph [0312-0313], QOS characteristics element); transmitting, to the first STA, a first response frame in response to the first request frame (See paragraph [0320], the AP may transmit an SCS response 822 to the STA-1); and establishing the QoS flow for the second STA based on the QoS parameters included in the first request frame (See paragraph [0238]).
c. As per claim 15, Canpolat et al teaches a method performed by a first station (STA) in a wireless network, the method comprising: transmitting, to an access point (AP), a first request frame that requests the AP to establish a quality of service (QoS) flow for a second STA, the first request frame including QoS parameters associated with the QoS flow (See paragraph [0238], the E2E QoS information, of an E2E traffic flow from a first STA (STA-1), e.g., implemented by device 140, to a second STA (STA-2), e.g., implemented by device 150, may be obtained by both the STA-1 and the STA-2, for example, by sending individual SCS setup request frames to an AP) (See paragraph [0312-0313], QOS characteristics element); and receiving, from the AP, a first response frame in response to the first request frame (See paragraph [0320], the AP may transmit an SCS response 822 to the STA-1).
d. As per claims 2 and 16, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Canpolat et al teaches wherein the processor is further configured to cause: transmitting, to the AP, a declaration frame indicating that the second STA authorizes the first STA to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA (See paragraph [0161], devices 102, 140 and/or 150 may be configured to utilize an SCS setup request frame from a STA to carry additional information, for example, the E2E QoS information, e.g., an overall latency bound, which may allow a recipient of the SCS setup request frame, to determine an overall QoS requirement of a QoS stream).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2023/0246970 to Canpolat et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0064633 to Jia et al.
a. As per claims 3 and 17, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach wherein the declaration frame includes a list of identifiers for one or more STAs, including the second STA.
Jia et al teaches wherein the declaration frame includes a list of identifiers for one or more STAs, including the second STA (See paragraph [0056], the AP sends a TWT signal frame 305-a that includes a service list that identifies STAs).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Jia et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to identify the STAs in the system.
7. Claims 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2023/0246970 to Canpolat et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0359008 to Wang et al.
a. As per claim 4, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to cause: transmitting, to the second STA, a second request frame that requests permission to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA; and receiving, from the second STA, a second response frame that indicates permission to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA.
Wang et al teaches wherein the processor is further configured to cause: transmitting, to the second STA, a second request frame that requests permission to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA; and receiving, from the second STA, a second response frame that indicates permission to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA (See paragraph [0206-0208]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
b. As per claims 5, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to cause: transmitting, to the AP, the first request frame that requests the AP to establish QoS flows for a group of one or more second STAs, the first request frame includes QoS parameters associated with the QoS flow for the group; and receiving, from the AP, the first response frame in response to the first request frame.
Wang et al teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause: transmitting, to the AP, the first request frame that requests the AP to establish QoS flows for a group of one or more second STAs, the first request frame includes QoS parameters associated with the QoS flow for the group; and receiving, from the AP, the first response frame in response to the first request frame (See paragraph [0097 and 0104]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
c. As per claims 6, 13 and 20, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach wherein the first request frame includes an identifier for the group of the one or more second STAs.
Wang et al teaches wherein the first request frame includes an identifier for the group of the one or more second STAs (See paragraph [0130 and 0138]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
d. As per claim 8, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to cause: receiving, from the first STA, a declaration frame indicating that the second STA has authorized the first STA to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA.
Wang et al teaches wherein the processor is further configured to cause: receiving, from the first STA, a declaration frame indicating that the second STA has authorized the first STA to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA (See paragraph [0202]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
e. As per claims 9, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to cause: receiving, from the second STA, a declaration frame indicating that the second STA has authorized the first STA to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA.
Wang et al teaches wherein the processor is further configured to cause: receiving, from the second STA, a declaration frame indicating that the second STA has authorized the first STA to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA (See paragraph [0208 and 0214]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
f. AS per claim 10, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to cause: transmitting, to the second STA, a verification request frame to verify whether the second STA has authorized the first STA to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA; and receiving, from the second STA, a verification response frame to confirm that the second STA has authorized the first STA to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA
Wang et al teaches transmitting, to the second STA, a verification request frame to verify whether the second STA has authorized the first STA to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA; and receiving, from the second STA, a verification response frame to confirm that the second STA has authorized the first STA to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA (See paragraph [0208 and 0214]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
g. As per claim 12, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to cause:2receiving, from the AP, the first request frame that requests the AP to establish QoS flows for a group of one or more second STAs, the first request frame includes QoS parameters associated with the QoS flow for the group; and transmitting, to the AP, the first response frame in response to the first request frame.
Wang et al teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause:2receiving, from the AP, the first request frame that requests the AP to establish QoS flows for a group of one or more second STAs, the first request frame includes QoS parameters associated with the QoS flow for the group; and transmitting, to the AP, the first response frame in response to the first request frame (See paragraph [0098 and 0193-0194]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
h. As per claim 14, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to cause: allocating, to the group of the one or more second STAs, a transmission opportunity (TXOP) in response to the first request frame.
Wang et al teaches allocating, to the group of the one or more second STAs, a transmission opportunity (TXOP) in response to the first request frame (See paragraph [0071-0072 and 0206-0207]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
i. As per claim 18, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach transmitting, to the second STA, a second request frame that requests permission to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA; and receiving, from the second STA, a second response frame that indicates permission to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA.
Wang et al teaches transmitting, to the second STA, a second request frame that requests permission to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA; and receiving, from the second STA, a second response frame that indicates permission to establish the QoS flow on behalf of the second STA (See paragraph [0098 and 0193-0194]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
j. As per claim 19, Canpolat et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach transmitting, to the AP, the first request frame that requests the AP to establish QoS flows for a group of one or more second STAs, the first request frame including QoS parameters associated with the QoS flow for the group; and receiving, from the AP, the first response frame in response to the first request frame.
Wang et al teaches transmitting, to the AP, the first request frame that requests the AP to establish QoS flows for a group of one or more second STAs, the first request frame including QoS parameters associated with the QoS flow for the group; and receiving, from the AP, the first response frame in response to the first request frame (See paragraph [0097 and 0151-0152]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Wang et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to satisfy QOS across the overlapping basic service set.
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable U.S. Publication No. 2023/0246970 to Canpolat et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0359008 to Wang et al
as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0064633 to Jia et al.
a. As per claims 11, Canpolat et al in view of Wang teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Canpolat et al fails to teach wherein the declaration frame includes a list of identifiers for one or more STAs, including the second STA.
Jia et al teaches wherein the declaration frame includes a list of identifiers for one or more STAs, including the second STA (See paragraph [0056], the AP sends a TWT signal frame 305-a that includes a service list that identifies STAs).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Jia et al in the claimed invention of Canpolat et al in order to identify the STAs in the system.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2006/0252443 to Sammour et al teaches Method and System for Efficient Addressing and power savings in wireless systems.
U.S. Publication No. 2016/0330714 to Hedayat teaches multiplexing Acknowledgement messages in response to Downlink Frames.
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444