DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-20 are pending in this examination.
2.1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
2.2. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.1. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
4.2. Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application No. 9135412 to Talvensaari et al (“Talvensaari”) in view of US Patent Application No. 20130182651 to Kelkar et al (“Kelkar”), in view of US Patent No. 9894067 issued to Mandadi et al (“Mandadi”).
Independent claims 1, 9, 17 and 18
As per claim 1, Talvensaari discloses a method comprising: receiving, by the mobile device, a short-term token from the home router, wherein the short-term token is received in response to a request transmitted by the mobile device to the second device (col. 4, lines 60-65, Upon receiving the configuration setup
message 120, the second computing device 170 may configure the transcoder 172 based on the transcoder settings 162. The second computing device 170 may also send the short token 180 to the first computing device 150 as a connection code 122; , col3, lines 23-25, To enable access control for the transcoder 172, the token generation module 176 at the second computing device 170 may generate a short token 180);
transmitting, by the mobile device, a request to access the second device col. 4, line 1-5, the user enters the short token 180 into the token input field 164, the short token 180 may be sent to the second computing device 170. The token validation module 178 may validate the short token);
receiving a long-term token from the second device col. 9, lines 45-55, The short token may be provided to the second computing device to access the resource and to receive a long token generated by the second computing device, at 316. For example, referring to FIG. 1, to access the transcoder 172, a user may input the connection code 122 (e.g., the short token 180) into the token input field 164 of the access interface 156. In a particular embodiment, the user may have a particular time period (e.g., twenty-four hours) to correctly input the connection code 122 into the token input field 164 before the connection code 122 expires…);
Talvensaari does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Kelkar discloses requesting, by a mobile device operating as a virtual portal device, connectivity information for a home router ([0047] As used herein, "network device" generally includes a station (e.g., any data processing equipment such as a computer, cellular phone, personal digital assistant, tablet devices, etc.), an access point, data transfer devices (such as network switches, routers, controllers, etc.) or the like (0074) ….an internal and/or external captive portal; an external management system for managing the network devices in the wireless network; etc.., also see [0050]
a method of establishing a secure, encrypted, virtual private network (VPN), ([0022], [0005], Establishing secure tunnel 175 may involve authentication, encryption, cryptographic key exchange, etc); establishing a VPN between the mobile device and the home router based at least in part on the key ([0027], Establishing secure tunnel 175 may involve authentication, encryption, cryptographic key exchange, also see FIG. 1B, [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Talvensaari with the teaching of Kelkar by including the feature of VPN, in order for Talvensaari’s system to preventing network security weaknesses by establishing secured tunnel between the client and the corporate network. The present disclosure discloses a network device and/or method for virtual private network client Internet Protocol (IP) address conflict detection in the wireless network. The network device receives, from a VPN client, a message that includes a first private IP address corresponding to a VPN client, and re-allocates a second private IP address corresponding to the same VPN client. The second private IP address resolves an IP address conflict between a tentative private IP address allocated for the VPN client by the VPN server within the wireless network and the first private IP address allocated for the VPN client by an ISP server external to the wireless network. The network device also transmits the first private IP address and the second private IP address in a single message, such as a single IP data packet, to the VPN client (Kelkar, abstract).
Talvensaari and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Mandadi discloses the short-term token includes a first encryption key; wherein the request is encrypted based on the first encryption key and token expires (col. 3, lines 45-67, col. 9, lines 1625, col. 33, lines 58-67 lines abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Talvensaari with the teaching of Mandadi/Kelkar by including the feature of key, in order for Talvensaari’s system for providing secure access to services and resources is based on creating short-term session credentials that are associated with a user. Techniques for using short-term credentials with access roles across regions are described herein. A request to assume a role associated with resources in a first region is received by a user in a second region. The request, which is digitally signed with credential associated with the user in the second region causes the generation of a short-term session credential that includes a session key and that can be used to assume the role. The user in the second region then assumes the role and, accordingly, can use the short-term session credentials to access the resources in the first region (Mandadi, Abstract).
As per claim 9, Talvensaari discloses a mobile device comprising: a wireless transceiver; one or more processors; and; a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (col. 10, 25-45),
receive a short-term token from the home router, wherein the short-term token is received in response to a request transmitted by the mobile device to the second device (col. 4, lines 60-65, Upon receiving the configuration setup message
120, the second computing device 170 may configure the transcoder 172 based on the transcoder settings 162. The second computing device 170 may also send the short token 180 to the first computing device 150 as a connection code 122; col3, lines 23-25, To enable access control for the transcoder 172, the token generation module 176 at the second computing device 170 may generate a short token 180);
transmit a request to access the second device col. 4, line 1-5, the user enters the short token 180 into the token input field 164, the short token 180 may be sent to the second computing device 170. The token validation module 178 may validate the short token);
receive a long-term token from the second device col. 9, lines 45-55, The short token may be provided to the second computing device to access the resource and to receive a long token generated by the second computing device, at 316. For example, referring to FIG. 1, to access the transcoder 172, a user may input the connection code 122 (e.g., the short token 180) into the token input field 164 of the access interface 156. In a particular embodiment, the user may have a particular time period (e.g., twenty-four hours) to correctly input the connection code 122 into the token input field 164 before the connection code 122 expires…);
Talvensaari does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Kelkar discloses a mobile device for establishing a secure, encrypted, virtual private network (VPN) to extend the network of a home router at a remote location, the mobile device cause the mobile device to operate as a virtual portal device to([0047] As used herein, "network device" generally includes a station (e.g., any data processing equipment such as a computer, cellular phone, personal digital assistant, tablet devices, etc.), an access point, data transfer devices (such as network switches, routers, controllers, etc.) or the like (0074) ….an internal and/or external captive portal; an external management system for managing the network devices in the wireless network; etc.., also see [0050]).
request connectivity information for a home router; establish a VPN between the mobile device and the home router based at least in part on the key ([0022], [0005], Establishing secure tunnel 175 may involve authentication, encryption, cryptographic key exchange, etc); ([0027], Establishing secure tunnel 175 may involve authentication, encryption, cryptographic key exchange, also see FIG. 1B, [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Talvensaari with the teaching of Kelkar by including the feature of VPN, in order for Talvensaari’s system to preventing network security weaknesses by establishing secured tunnel between the client and the corporate network. The present disclosure discloses a network device and/or method for virtual private network client Internet Protocol (IP) address conflict detection in the wireless network. The network device receives, from a VPN client, a message that includes a first private IP address corresponding to a VPN client, and re-allocates a second private IP address corresponding to the same VPN client. The second private IP address resolves an IP address conflict between a tentative private IP address allocated for the VPN client by the VPN server within the wireless network and the first private IP address allocated for the VPN client by an ISP server external to the wireless network. The network device also transmits the first private IP address and the second private IP address in a single message, such as a single IP data packet, to the VPN client (Kelkar, abstract).
Talvensaari and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Mandadi discloses the short-term token includes a first encryption key; wherein the request is encrypted based on the first encryption key and token expires (col. 3, lines 45-67, col. 9, lines 1625, col. 33, lines 58-67 lines abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Talvensaari with the teaching of Mandadi/Kelkar by including the feature of key, in order for Talvensaari’s system for providing secure access to services and resources is based on creating short-term session credentials that are associated with a user. Techniques for using short-term credentials with access roles across regions are described herein. A request to assume a role associated with resources in a first region is received by a user in a second region. The request, which is digitally signed with credential associated with the user in the second region causes the generation of a short-term session credential that includes a session key and that can be used to assume the role. The user in the second region then assumes the role and, accordingly, can use the short-term session credentials to access the resources in the first region (Mandadi, Abstract).
As per claim 17, Talvensaari discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a second device (col. 4, lines 60-65, Upon receiving the configuration setup message 120, the second computing device 170 may configure the transcoder 172 based on the transcoder settings 162. The second computing device 170 may also send the short token 180 to the first computing device 150 as a connection code 122; col3, lines 23-25, To enable access control for the transcoder 172, the token generation module 176 at the second computing device 170 may generate a short token 180);
transmitting the short-term token to the mobile device in response to receiving the request for the short-term token (col. 4, line 1-5, the user enters the short token 180 into the token input field 164, the short token 180 may be sent to the second computing device 170. The token validation module 178 may validate the short token);
receiving a request to access the second device col. 9, lines 45-55, The short token may be provided to the second computing device to access the resource and to receive a long token generated by the second computing device, at 316. For example, referring to FIG. 1, to access the transcoder 172, a user may input the connection code 122 (e.g., the short token 180) into the token input field 164 of the access interface 156. In a particular embodiment, the user may have a particular time period (e.g., twenty-four hours) to correctly input the connection code 122 into the token input field 164 before the connection code 122 expires…, also see col 5, 10-25,);
Talvensaari does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Kelkar discloses method of establishing a secure, encrypted, virtual private network (VPN), a home router ([0047] As used herein, "network device" generally includes a station (e.g., any data processing equipment such as a computer, cellular phone, personal digital assistant, tablet devices, etc.), an access point, data transfer devices (such as network switches, routers, controllers, etc.) or the like (0074) ….an internal and/or external captive portal; an external management system for managing the network devices in the wireless network; etc.., also see [0050])
establishing a VPN between the mobile device and the home router based at least in part on the key ([0022], [0005], Establishing secure tunnel 175 may involve authentication, encryption, cryptographic key exchange, etc); ([0027], Establishing secure tunnel 175 may involve authentication, encryption, cryptographic key exchange, also see FIG. 1B, [0005]) cryptographic key exchange, also see FIG. 1B, [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Talvensaari with the teaching of Kelkar by including the feature of VPN, in order for Talvensaari’s system to preventing network security weaknesses by establishing secured tunnel between the client and the corporate network. The present disclosure discloses a network device and/or method for virtual private network client Internet Protocol (IP) address conflict detection in the wireless network. The network device receives, from a VPN client, a message that includes a first private IP address corresponding to a VPN client, and re-allocates a second private IP address corresponding to the same VPN client. The second private IP address resolves an IP address conflict between a tentative private IP address allocated for the VPN client by the VPN server within the wireless network and the first private IP address allocated for the VPN client by an ISP server external to the wireless network. The network device also transmits the first private IP address and the second private IP address in a single message, such as a single IP data packet, to the VPN client (Kelkar, abstract).
Talvensaari and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Mandadi discloses the short-term token includes a first encryption key; wherein the request is encrypted based on the first encryption key and token expires (col. 3, lines 45-67, col. 9, lines 1625, col. 33, lines 58-67 lines abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Talvensaari with the teaching of Mandadi/Kelkar by including the feature of key, in order for Talvensaari’s system for providing secure access to services and resources is based on creating short-term session credentials that are associated with a user. Techniques for using short-term credentials with access roles across regions are described herein. A request to assume a role associated with resources in a first region is received by a user in a second region. The request, which is digitally signed with credential associated with the user in the second region causes the generation of a short-term session credential that includes a session key and that can be used to assume the role. The user in the second region then assumes the role and, accordingly, can use the short-term session credentials to access the resources in the first region (Mandadi, Abstract).
As per claim 18, Talvensaari discloses a method comprising: receiving, by the mobile device, a short-term token from the home router, wherein the short-term token is received in response to a request transmitted by the mobile device to the second device (col. 4, lines 60-65, Upon receiving the configuration setup message
120, the second computing device 170 may configure the transcoder 172 based on the transcoder settings 162. The second computing device 170 may also send the short token 180 to the first computing device 150 as a connection code 122; col3, lines 23-25, To enable access control for the transcoder 172, the token generation module 176 at the second computing device 170 may generate a short token 180);
transmitting to a remote server, by the mobile device, a request to access the home router based at least in part on the short-term token (col. 4, line 1-5, the user enters the short token 180 into the token input field 164, the short token 180 may be sent to the second computing device 170. The token validation module 178 may validate the short token);
receiving a long-term token from the remote server, wherein the short-term token expires before the long-term token (col. 9, lines 45-55, The short token may be provided to the second computing device to access the resource and to receive a long token generated by the second computing device, at 316. For example, referring to FIG. 1, to access the transcoder 172, a user may input the connection code 122 (e.g., the short token 180) into the token input field 164 of the access interface 156. In a particular embodiment, the user may have a particular time period (e.g., twenty-four hours) to correctly input the connection code 122 into the token input field 164 before the connection code 122 expires…);
Talvensaari does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Kelkar discloses method of establishing a secure, encrypted, virtual private network (VPN), requesting, by a mobile device, connectivity information for a home router ([0047] As used herein, "network device" generally includes a station (e.g., any data processing equipment such as a computer, cellular phone, personal digital assistant, tablet devices, etc.), an access point, data transfer devices (such as network switches, routers, controllers, etc.) or the like (0074) ….an internal and/or external captive portal; an external management system for managing the network devices in the wireless network; etc.., also see [0050]).
establishing a VPN between the mobile device and the home router based at least in part on the long-term token ([0022], [0005], Establishing secure tunnel 175 may involve authentication, encryption, cryptographic key exchange, etc); ([0027], Establishing secure tunnel 175 may involve authentication, encryption, cryptographic key exchange, also see FIG. 1B, [0005]).
Talvensaari and Kelkar do not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Mandadi discloses the short-term token includes a first encryption key; wherein the request is encrypted based on the first encryption key and token expires (col. 3, lines 45-67, col. 9, lines 1625, col. 33, lines 58-67 lines abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Talvensaari with the teaching of Mandadi/Kelkar by including the feature of key, in order for Talvensaari’s system for providing secure access to services and resources is based on creating short-term session credentials that are associated with a user. Techniques for using short-term credentials with access roles across regions are described herein. A request to assume a role associated with resources in a first region is received by a user in a second region. The request, which is digitally signed with credential associated with the user in the second region causes the generation of a short-term session credential that includes a session key and that can be used to assume the role. The user in the second region then assumes the role and, accordingly, can use the short-term session credentials to access the resources in the first region (Mandadi, Abstract).
As per claim 2, the combination of Talvensaari, Kelkar and Mandadi discloses themethod of claim 1, wherein the connectivity information is provided by a remote
server separate from the mobile device and the home router (Talvensaari, col. 5, lines 55-64).
As per claim 3, the combination of Talvensaari, Kelkar and Mandadi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the connectivity information for the home router includes a router internet protocol (IP) address and a transmission control protocol/user datagram protocol (TCP/UDP) port (Talvensaari, col. 8, lines 45-60).
As per claim 4, the combination of Talvensaari, Kelkar and Mandadi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the short-term token expires within a time period of less than 24 hours (Talvensaari, col. 3, lines 45-50, the short token 180 may expire twenty-four hours after being generated).
As per claim 6, the combination of Talvensaari, Kelkar and Mandadi discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the long-term token includes a second encryption key (Talvensaari, col. 5, lines 44-64). different from the first encryption key and the VPN is established based at least in part on the second encryption key (Talvensaari, col. 9, lines 44-60).
As per claim 7, the combination of Talvensaari, Kelkar and Mandadi discloses the method of claim 5, wherein reception of the long-term token is based on a verification by the home router of the short-term token (Talvensaari, col. 4, lines 10-15, if the short token 180 is valid, the token generation module 176 may generate a
long token182, also see col. 5, lines 10-25).
As per claim 8, the combination of Talvensaari, Kelkar and Mandadi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the long-term token is generated by the home router (Talvensaari, col. 9, lines 45-50).
Claim 10, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 2.
Claim 11, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 3.
Claim 12, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 4.
Claim 14, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 6.
Claim 15, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 7.
Claim 16, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 8.
4.3. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talvensaari, Kelkar and Mandad as applied to claim above, and in view of US Patent Application No. 20050232428 to Little et al (“Little”).
As per claim 19, the combination of Talvensaari, Kelkar and Mandad discloses the invention as described above. Talvensaari, Kelkar and Mandad do not explicitly disclose however, In the same field of endeavor, Little discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the long-term token is based, at least in part, on decrypting the request to access the home router (Little, [0041], [0044] also see [0031]-[0034], fig.6 and associates texts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Talvensaari with the teaching of Little/Mandadi/Kelkar by including the feature of long-term key, in order for Talvensaari’s system for establishing an authentic and secure relationship between two messaging systems to exchange data. A method carried out by a first system for establishing a secure bidirectional communication path between the first system and a second system for an exchange of one or more messages is described. A first key pair having a first public key and a first private key is generated, and a second key pair having a second public key and a second private key is generated. The second public key is generated based upon a shared secret known to the first system and the second system. The second public key and the first public key are sent to the second system. A third public key and a fourth public key generated by the second system are received, wherein the fourth public key is generated based upon the shared secret. A master key is calculated based upon the first private key, the second private key, the third public key and the fourth public key, wherein the master key is configured to be used in encryption of one or more messages (Little, Abstract).
Claim 20, is rejected for similar reasons as stated above, and claim 19.
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as the prior art discloses many of the claim features (See PTO-form 892).
a). US Patent Application No. 20160300220 to Sethi et al., discloses A system for enabling a secure transaction between a first user and a second user is disclosed. The system includes a first device. The first device includes (i) a memory and (ii) a processor. The memory stores (a) database, (b) a set of modules, and (c) instructions. The set of modules include a first device token obtaining module, a first device encryption key obtaining module, a first device long token communicating module, a first device long token receiving module, a first device payment transfer information receiving module, a first device transaction information encryption module, a first device encrypted transaction information associating module, a first device payment transfer information communicating module, a first device transaction information approval module, a first device transaction reporting module, and a first device payment transfer information verification module.
b). US Patent Application No. 20060039356 to Rao et al., discloses in one embodiment of the gateway 340, once a frame enters the gateway 340 via an SSL tunnel, the packet and its payload are dispatched via callbacks into a handlers executing in user mode, which provide functionality for SSL decryption. In another embodiment, openSSL may be used. In other embodiments, a hardware accelerator is used. In a further embodiment, the gateway 340 comprises one or more blades for providing remote access. Once the packet is decrypted, it is injected into an HTTP network stack where headers are assembled and passed on to the remote access blade. In a remote access blade, a packet is classified by the type of data contained within the packet. In one embodiment, the packet contains an HTTP header requesting login and registration. In another embodiment, the packet seeks TCP/UDP/RAW/OTHER connection establishment. In still another embodiment, the packet contains connection-specific data. In yet another embodiment, the packet contains a special feature request such as collaboration with other users, fetching of user directory and presence or requesting telephony functionality such as conferencing and web cast. The remote access module dispatches the packet appropriately to the corresponding sub handler. For example, the client 105 may request that a connection be set up to a specific machine on the private network behind the gateway 340. The remote access module may consult with the access control module and if a positive response is returned, the remote access module may grant the request. In some embodiments, the remote access module 120 may grant the request by injecting subsequent frames on the private network using a frame forwarding module utilizing NAT/PAT to correlate incoming frames to corresponding SSL tunnels 341a-341n to a client 105a-105c.
c). US Patent Application 20160094994 to Kirkby et al discloses this application discloses a method of provisioning an electronic device. The electronic device proactively broadcasts an advertising packet that includes a device identifier associated with the electronic device. A server receives the device identifier via a client device, and issues a link approval response when it verifies that the electronic device associated with the device identifier is available for provisioning in association with a user account. In response to the link approval response, the electronic device and the client device establish communication via a short range wireless link. The client device encrypts at least a portion of network credentials of a secure wireless network using a password key generated at the server, and provides the encrypted network credentials to the electronic device. The electronic device decrypts the encrypted network credentials using a key generated at the electronic device, and accesses the secure wireless network using the decrypted network credentials.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HARUNUR . RASHID
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2497
/HARUNUR RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497