DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the mechanism 400 (see fig. 6 and 7) is being referred to “movement mechanism’ (see par. [0067] of the PG Pub. version of the specification) and “motion mechanism” (see par. [0070] of the Pg. Pub. version of the specification). Throughout the specification, the mechanism 400 for directing ultrasonic treatment being referred to as “movement mechanism” and “motion mechanism”. The examiner suggests to amend the specification to recite “movement mechanism” from “motion mechanism” to be consistent with the specification and figure 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim limitation “an fluid” in line 2 should be amended to read –a fluid--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a movement mechanism” in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,537,304. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and U.S. Patent No. 10,537,304 are directed to ultrasound system with a seal housing; ultrasound element configured to focus ultrasound below a skin; and a movement mechanism. Furthermore, the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,537,304 are narrower than claim 1 of current application.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,123,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and U.S. Patent No. 11,123,039 are directed to ultrasound system with a seal housing; ultrasound element configured to focus ultrasound below a skin; and a movement mechanism. Furthermore, the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,123,039 are narrower than claim 1 of current application.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,723,622. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and U.S. Patent No. 11,723,622 are directed to ultrasound system with a seal housing; ultrasound element configured to focus ultrasound below a skin; and a movement mechanism. Furthermore, the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,723,622 are narrower than claim 1 of current application.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,473. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and U.S. Patent No. 12,102,473 are directed to ultrasound system with a seal housing; ultrasound element configured to focus ultrasound below a skin; and a movement mechanism. Furthermore, the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,473 are narrower than claim 1 of current application.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/805,211 in view of Zanelli et al. (US 2005/0154332; hereinafter Zanelli). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and U.S. Application No. 18/805,211 are directed to ultrasound system with a sealed housing comprising a fluid and a window; ultrasound element configured to focus ultrasound below a skin; and a movement mechanism, but U.S. Application No. 18/805,211 fail to explicitly sate that the ultrasonic treatment element is acoustically coupled to the window. Zanelli discloses that the ultrasonic treatment element is acoustically coupled to the acoustically transparent window (see par. [0024] and fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have utilized the teaching of that the ultrasonic treatment element is acoustically coupled to the acoustically transparent window in the invention of U.S. Application No. 18/805,211, as taught by Zanelli, to provide better focusing of the ultrasound for better treatment.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/025,430 in view of Zanelli et al. (US 2005/0154332; hereinafter Zanelli). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and copending Application No. 19/025,430 are directed to ultrasound treatment device comprising a housing, ultrasonic element, transparent window, and a movement mechanism, but copending Application No. 19/025,430 fails to explicitly state that the housing is sealed and comprising an acoustic fluid. Zanelli discloses an ultrasound treatment device housing is sealed (see par. [0023]) and comprising an acoustic fluid (see par. [0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have utilized the teaching of housing comprising an acoustic fluid in the invention of copending Application No. 19/025,430, as taught by Zanelli, to provide better focused ultrasound treatment to the region of interest and to provide a leak free housing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/025,251 in view of Zanelli et al. (US 2005/0154332; hereinafter Zanelli). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and copending Application No. 19/025,251 are directed to ultrasound treatment device comprising a sealed housing, ultrasonic element, a window, and a movement mechanism, but copending Application No. 19/025,251 fails to explicitly state that the housing comprising a fluid. Zanelli discloses an ultrasound treatment device with sealed housing comprising acoustic fluid (see par. [0024]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have utilized the teaching of housing with fluid in the invention of copending Application No. 19/025,251, as taught by Zanelli, to provide coupling medium for the ultrasound transmission for better treatment.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/025,676 in view of Zanelli et al. (US 2005/0154332; hereinafter Zanelli). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and copending Application No. 19/025,676 are directed to ultrasound treatment device comprising a housing, ultrasonic element, and a movement mechanism, but copending Application No. 19/025,676 fails to explicitly state that the housing is sealed. Zanelli discloses an ultrasound treatment device with sealed housing (see par. [0024]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have utilized the teaching of sealed housing in the invention of copending Application No. 19/025,676, as taught by Zanelli, to provide a leak free housing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 (b) as being anticipated by Zanelli et al. (US 2005/0154332; hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Zanelli discloses an ultrasound treatment device. Zanelli shows a module for ultrasound treatment (see fig. 2), comprising: a sealed housing comprising an fluid (see 110 in fig. 5 and par. [0023]) and a window (see par. [0023]; fig. 5); an ultrasonic piezoelectric element configured to focus ultrasound at a depth below a skin surface with a treatment frequency (see par. [0023]; 106 in fig. 5), wherein the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element is acoustically coupled to the window view the fluid (see par. [0023], fig. 5), and a movement mechanism (see “drive system” in par. [0014], [0023], [0024]) configured to move the ultrasonic piezoelectric element to direct an ultrasonic treatment (see [0003], [0023], [0025], [0026]).
Conclusion
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797