DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the mechanism 400 (see fig. 6 and 7) is being referred to “movement mechanism’ (see par. [0067] of the PG Pub. version of the specification) and “motion mechanism” (see par. [0070] of the Pg. Pub. version of the specification). Throughout the specification, the mechanism 400 for directing ultrasonic treatment being referred to as “movement mechanism” and “motion mechanism”. The examiner suggests to amend the specification to recite “movement mechanism” from “motion mechanism” to be consistent with the specification and figure 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/805,211 in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and U.S. Application No. 18/805,211 are directed to ultrasound system with a hand wand with handle, latch, motor, a sealed housing comprising a fluid and a window, transducer module, ultrasound element configured to focus ultrasound below a skin, but U.S. Application No. 18/805,211 fails to explicitly sate that the ultrasonic treatment element is acoustically coupled to the window, magnetic coupling, an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to pin connector. Bockenstedt discloses that the ultrasonic treatment element is acoustically coupled to the acoustically transparent window (see par. [0046] and fig. 6A), an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector (see par. [0041], [0048], [0049], [0074]) and magnetic coupling (see par. [0037], [0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have utilized the teaching of that the ultrasonic treatment element is acoustically coupled to the acoustically transparent window and magnetic coupling in the invention of U.S. Application No. 18/805,211, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide better focusing of the ultrasound for better treatment, easy connection between the transducer and hand wand, and to provide electronic communication.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 11-20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/805,211 in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and U.S. Application No. 18/805,211 are directed to ultrasound system with a hand wand with handle, latch, motor, a sealed housing comprising a fluid and a window, transducer module, ultrasound element configured to focus ultrasound below a skin, but fails to explicitly sate magnetic coupling, an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector. Bockenstedt discloses that the ultrasonic treatment element is acoustically coupled to the acoustically transparent window (see par. [0046] and fig. 6A), magnetic coupling (see par. [0037], [0067]), an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector (see par. [0041], [0048], [0049], [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have utilized the teaching of magnetic coupling in the invention of U.S. Application No. 18/805,211, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide better focusing of the ultrasound for better treatment, easy connection between the transducer and hand wand, and to provide electrical communication.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/025,430 in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and copending Application No. 19/025,430 are directed to ultrasound treatment device comprising a hand wand, a shaft, a motor, a housing, and transducer module, but copending Application No. 19/025,430 fails to explicitly state that the housing is sealed and comprising an acoustic fluid, and magnetic coupling. Bockenstedt discloses an ultrasound treatment device housing is sealed (see par. [0069], fig. 6A) and comprising an acoustic fluid (see par. [0046]), and magnetic coupling (see par. [0037], [0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have utilized the teaching of sealed housing comprising an acoustic fluid and magnetic coupling in the invention of copending Application No. 19/025,430, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide better focused ultrasound treatment to the region of interest and to provide a leak free housing, and easy connection between the transducer and hand wand.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 11-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/025,430 in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and copending Application No. 19/025,430 are directed to ultrasound treatment device comprising a hand wand, a shaft, a motor, a housing, and transducer module, but copending Application No. 19/025,430 fails to explicitly state that the housing is sealed, and magnetic coupling. Bockenstedt discloses an ultrasound treatment device housing is sealed (see par. [0069], fig. 6A), and magnetic coupling (see par. [0037], [0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have utilized the teaching of sealed housing and magnetic coupling in the invention of copending Application No. 19/025,430, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide better focused ultrasound treatment to the region of interest and to provide a leak free housing, and easy connection between the transducer and hand wand.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/025,676 in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and copending Application No. 19/025,430 are directed to ultrasound treatment device comprising a hand wand, a shaft, a motor, a housing, and transducer module, but copending Application No. 19/025,676 fails to explicitly state that the housing is sealed, magnetic coupling and an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector. Bockenstedt discloses an ultrasound treatment device housing is sealed (see par. [0069], fig. 6A), magnetic coupling (see par. [0037], [0067]), and an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector (see par. [0041], [0048], [0049], [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have utilized the teaching of sealed housing and magnetic coupling in the invention of copending Application No. 19/025,676, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide better focused ultrasound treatment to the region of interest and to provide a leak free housing, easy connection between the transducer and hand wand and to provide electrical communication.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 11-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/025,676 in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146]). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application and copending Application No. 19/025,430 are directed to ultrasound treatment device comprising a hand wand, a shaft, a motor, a housing, and transducer module, but copending Application No. 19/025,676 fails to explicitly state that the housing is sealed, and magnetic coupling. Bockenstedt discloses an ultrasound treatment device housing is sealed (see par. [0069], fig. 6A), magnetic coupling (see par. [0037], [0067]), and an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector (see par. [0041], [0048], [0049], [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have utilized the teaching of sealed housing and magnetic coupling in the invention of copending Application No. 19/025,676, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide better focused ultrasound treatment to the region of interest and to provide a leak free housing, easy connection between the transducer and hand wand and to provide electrical communication.This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the claim limitation “a treatment frequency” is indefinite because it is unclear if this treatment frequency is the same treatment frequency that is already recited in claim 1 or different treatment frequency.
Regarding claim 10, the claim limitation “a depth” is indefinite because it is unclear if this depth is the same depth that is already recited in claim 1 or different depth.
Regarding claim 12, the claim limitation “a depth” is indefinite because it is unclear if this depth is the same depth that is already recited in claim 11 or different depth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-7, 11, 13, 15-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zanelli et al. (US 2010/0228163; hereinafter), in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146; hereinafter Bockenstedt)
Regarding claim 1, Zanelli discloses an ultrasound treatment device. Zanelli shows a module for ultrasound treatment (see fig. 2), comprising: a hand wand (see fig. 4; par. [0024]) configured for copuling to a transducer module (see fig. 5), wherein the hand wand comprises: a handle (see fig. 4; par. [0024]), a button operably controlling an ultrasound treatment function (see fig. 6), a motor configured to be operably connected to a shaft (see par. [025]; fig. 5), wherein the transducer module comprises: a sealed housing comprising a fluid (see 110 in fig. 5 and par. [0023]) and a window (see par. [0023]; fig. 5), an ultrasonic piezoelectric element configured to focus ultrasound at a depth below a skin surface with a treatment frequency (see par. [0023]; 106 in fig. 5), wherein the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element is acoustically coupled to the window view the fluid (see par. [0023], fig. 5), and wherein the motor (see “drive system” in par. [0014], [0023], [0024]) is configured to move the ultrasonic piezoelectric element to direct an ultrasonic treatment (see [0003], [0023], [0025], [0026]).
But, Zanelli fails to explicitly state magnetic coupling, a latch, an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector.
Bockenstedt discloses a mechanical arm. Bockenstedt teaches magnetic coupling (see par. [0037], [0067]), a latch (see fig. 6A), an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector (see par. [0041], [0048], [0049], [0074]), and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector (see par. [0041], [0048], [0049], [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of magnetic coupling, a latch, an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide a easy connection between the transducer module and the hand wand for easy switch to a different transducer module, and to provide electronic communication.
Regarding claim 2, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Bockenstedt teaches wherein the transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand via the latch (see fig. 6A and abstract), which thereby permits a second transducer module to interchangeably attach to the hand wand (see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand via the latch, which thereby permits a second transducer module to interchangeably attach to the hand wand in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide a easy connection between the transducer module and the hand wand for easy switch to a different transducer module.
Regarding claim 3, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows a controller comprising a processor configured to execute software for controlling the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element (see par. [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows a graphical user interface configured for control of the ultrasound treatment (see fig. 3 and par. [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Bockenstedt teaches wherein the graphical user interface comprises a touch screen (see par. [0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of touch screen user interface in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide a better user interface by having a faster and more efficient interaction.
Regarding claim 6, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows further comprising a display configured displaying any one or more of equipment activation status, treatment parameters, and system messages (see par. [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, further comprising a radio frequency (RF) driver circuit configured deliver power to the transducer module (see fig. 6 and par. [0025]).
Regarding claim 11, Zanelli discloses an ultrasound treatment device. Zanelli shows comprising: a hand wand configured for magnetic coupling to a transducer module, wherein the hand wand (see fig. 4 and par. [0024]) comprises: a handle (see fig. 4 and par. [0024]); a controlling device operably controlling an ultrasound treatment function (see fig. 6, [0023], ); an integrated receptacle configured for insertion of the transducer module (see fig. 5); and a motor configured to be operably connected to a shaft (see fig. 5 and par. [0025]); and wherein the transducer module comprises: a sealed housing (see fig. 5); an ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element configured to focus ultrasound energy at a depth below a skin surface (see par. [0022]; fig. 2 and 5), wherein the motor is configured to linearly move the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element within the sealed housing (see fig. 5) to direct an ultrasound treatment along a linear path (see fig. 5).
But, Zanelli fails to explicitly state magnetic coupling, an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector.
Bockenstedt discloses a mechanical arm. Bockenstedt teaches magnetic coupling (see par. [0037], [0067]), an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector (see par. [0041], [0048], [0049], [0074]), a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector (see par. [0041], [0048], [0049], [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of magnetic coupling, an integrated receptacle comprising a pin connector, and a circuit board configured for electrical connection to the pin connector in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide an easy connection between the transducer module and the hand wand for easy switch to a different transducer module, and to provide electronic communication.
Regarding claim 13, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows wherein the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element is configured to direct the ultrasound energy at the depth for treatment in at least a dermis tissue (see abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Bockenstedt teaches wherein the transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand via a latch (see abstract and fig. 6A), which thereby permits a second transducer module to interchangeably attach to the hand wand (see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the transducer module is configured to detach from the hand wand via a latch, which thereby permits a second transducer module to interchangeably attach to the hand wand in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide a easy connection between the transducer module and the hand wand for easy switch to a different transducer module.
Regarding claim 16, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows a controller comprising a processor configured for controlling the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element (see par. [0027]).
Regarding claim 17, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows a graphical user interface configured for control of the ultrasound treatment (see par. [0025]) and Bockenstedt teaches that the GUI is a touch screen (see par. [0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of touch screen user interface in the invention of Zanelli, as taught by Bockenstedt, to provide a better user interface by having a faster and more efficient interaction.
Regarding claim 18, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows a display configured displaying any one or more of equipment activation status, treatment parameters, and system messages (see par. [0027]).
Regarding claim 19, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Zanelli shows a radio frequency (RF) driver circuit (see fig. 6 and par. [0025]).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zanelli et al. (US 2010/0228163; hereinafter), in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146; hereinafter Bockenstedt) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2005/0033201; hereinafter Takahashi).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fails to explicitly state a foot switch configured for controlling the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element.
Takahashi discloses ultrasound surgical system and teaches state a foot switch configured for controlling the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element (fig. and par. [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a foot switch configured for controlling the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element in the invention of Zanelli and Bocke nstedt, as taught by Takahashi, to provide an easy way to control the ultrasound module while the physician can use both hands to perform treatment.
Claims 9-10 and 12, 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zanelli et al. (US 2010/0228163; hereinafter), in view of Bockenstedt et al. (US 2009/0240146; hereinafter Bockenstedt) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Gliklich et al. (US 2007/0032784; hereinafter Gliklich).
Regarding claims 9-10, 12 and 14, Zanelli and Bockenstedt disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fails to explicitly state wherein the ultrasonic treatment piezoelectric element is configured to deliver ultrasound energy with a treatment frequency in a range of 1 MHz to 10 MHz, focus ultrasound at depth in a range between 3 mm and 9 mm below the skin surface, and an acoustic power in a range of 1 watt to 100 watts
Gliklich discloses a targeted muscle ablation for reducing signs of aging and teaches treatment frequency in a range of 1 MHz to 10 MHz (see par. [0016], [0032]) and focus ultrasound at depth in a range between 3 mm and 9 mm below the skin surface (see par. [0031]), and an acoustic power in a range of 1 watt to 100 watts (see par. [0016], [0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of treatment frequency in a range of 1 MHz to 10 MHz, focus ultrasound at depth in a range between 3 mm and 9 mm below the skin surface, and an acoustic power in a range of 1 watt to 100 watts in the invention of Zanelli and Bockenstedt, as taught by Gliklich, to be able to safely treat layers beneath the dermal layer for reducing signs of aging.
Response to Arguments
The previous double patent rejections over U.S. Patent No. 10,537,304, U.S. Patent No. 11,123,039, U.S. Patent No. 11,723,622, U.S. Patent No. 12,102,473, and copending Application No. 19/025,251 have been withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendments to the clams.
The previous objection to claim 1 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
The previous claim interpretation under 35 USC 112 (f) for claim element "movement mechanism" has been withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment to claim 1.
The examiner has maintained the previous object to specification the mechanism 400 (see fig. 6 and 7) is being referred to "movement mechanism' (see par. [0067] of the PG Pub. version of the specification) and "motion mechanism" (see par. [0070] of the Pg. Pub. version of the specification). Throughout the specification, the mechanism 400 for directing ultrasonic treatment being referred to as "movement mechanism" and "motion mechanism". The Applicant states on page 5 (see response filed on 04/17/2026) that claim 1 has been amended to remove the claim element "movement mechanism" which invoke 35 USC 112 (f) and therefore the specification objection should be withdrawn, however, the objection to specification was not related to claim interpretation under 35 USC 112 (f) or claim objection. The objection to specification because the specification refers mechanism 400 (see fig. 6 and 7) as "movement mechanism' and "motion mechanism", and is not consistent through out the specification.
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/17/2026, with respect to prior art rejection of independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any rejection applied in the prior Office action of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner has provided new prior art Bockenstedt to address independent claims 1 and 11.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797