DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025; 02/12/2025; 03/25/2025; 06/12/2025; 08/20/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12519949 in view of AONO (US 20200177911 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4, U.S. Patent No. 12519949 discloses
obtaining information for a collocated picture and residual information through a bitstream; deriving the collocated picture based on the obtained information (Claim 1: residual information and collocated picture);
deriving a sub-block based temporal merge candidate of a current block based on a collocated block in a collocated picture (Claim 1);
generating a sub-block based merge candidate list based on the sub-block based temporal merge candidate of the current block (Claim 1);
deriving a motion vector for each of a plurality of sub-blocks of the current block based on the sub-block based merge candidate list (Claim 1); and
deriving prediction samples of the plurality of sub-blocks of the current block based on the motion vector for each of a plurality of sub-blocks (Claim 1),
wherein a location of the collocated block is a location in the collocated picture moved based on a motion vector of a spatial neighboring block of the current block from a location in the collocated picture that corresponds to the location of the current block (Claim 1).
U.S. Patent No. 12519949 does not explicitly claim wherein the spatial neighboring block of the current block is a left neighboring block of the current block. However, in an analogous art, AONO discloses wherein the spatial neighboring block of the current block is a left neighboring block of the current block (the neighboring PUs include spatial neighboring PUs of the decoding target PU, such as a left PU [0559]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of AONO and apply them to U.S. Patent No. 12519949. One would be motivated as such as a tile sequence can be independently decoded without reducing coding efficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ESENLIK (US 20200137413 A1).
Regarding claim 3, a bit stream generated by a method, the method comprising… is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 18 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by ESENLIK which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream ([0028]).
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The present invention is directed to an image decoding/decoding method performed by a decoding/encoding apparatus for generating a reconstructed picture based on prediction samples and residual samples.
The combination of the prior art does not teach or suggest a specific implementation with the following distinct properties that include:
wherein a location of the collocated block is a location in the collocated picture moved based on the motion vector of the spatial neighboring block of the current block from a location in the collocated picture that corresponds to a location of the current block.
Closest prior art listed below either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render the above limitations obvious.
RAUT (US 20210195185 A1) teaches a method for coding a segment of an inter frame. The method includes partitioning, by a partitioning unit, a current frame into a plurality of segments. Further, the method includes coding, by a coding unit, a current spatial block at a boundary of a segment included among the plurality of segments by deriving at least one new temporal motion information predictor candidate from a reference frame. Further, the method includes cabac context initialization at the start of each non-first segment from the plurality of segments by deriving temporal stored cabac context from the reference frame.
AONO (US 20200177911 A1) teaches a video encoding device or a video decoding device for performing a spatial-temporal prediction process by deriving a motion vector of a target block, based on a spatial neighboring block or a temporal neighboring block, the image decoding device or the video encoding device including: a unit configured to determine whether or not a reference pixel is present within a tile sequence on a reference picture, the reference pixel being referred to in a case of deriving a motion compensation image by using a motion vector of the target block; and a unit configured to derive a pixel value of the motion compensation image, based on a pixel value within the tile sequence, in a case that the reference pixel is not present within the tile sequence, wherein a position of the temporal neighboring block is a block including any one of lower right coordinates within a collocated block, lower left coordinates of a right neighboring block of the collocated block, and upper right coordinates of a lower neighboring block of the collocated block.
Conclusion
/HESHAM K ABOUZAHRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486