DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“said dispensing system being operable to selectively lock and unlock” in claim 1.
“a control system operable to selectively unlock and lock said dispensing system” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a control system operable to selectively unlock and lock said dispensing system”, there is no recitation of the control system locking or unlocking the dispensing system, while in paragraph [0019] it is disclosed that the dispensing conduit can be unlocked this is not disclosed as being related to the control system.
Claim limitation “said dispensing system being operable to selectively lock and unlock” and “a control system operable to selectively unlock and lock said dispensing system” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no disclosure of the structure that unlocks or locks the dispensing system or the unlock and locking structure that is controlled by the controller. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Feldman (US 5240144 A) in view of Proctor (US 20050194399 A1).
a hermetically sealed compressible container (A1-B2; FIG 7; hermetic seal is inherent to the operation of a pressurized system) comprising an interior region of a predetermined volume magnitude substantially filled with the liquid volume disposed therein, and further comprising a hermetically sealed interface component operable to receive a hermetically sealed connection therewith while maintaining the hermetically sealed state of said compressible container (Col 5, lines 32-47);
a hollow pressurized container (90; FIG 7), comprising: a hollow housing portion having a hermetically sealable opening and a pressure sealed housing interface operable to receive a hermetic connection therewith (hermetic connection is inherent to structure); and
a lid portion (92) operable to releaseably connect to said housing portion to form a hermetic seal with said sealable opening;
wherein, said sealable opening is sized and configured to receive said sealed compressible container therethrough (FIG 7), and wherein said housing portion is sized and configured to store said sealed compressible container therein (FIG 7), such that when said sealed compressible container is disposed therein and said lid portion (92) is connected to said housing portion, said hollow pressurized container is operable to maintain said compressible container therein in a pressurized environment;
a dispensing system (FIG 9), connected to said compressible container hermetically sealed interface component through said pressurized container pressure sealed housing interface in a hermetically sealed manner forming a hermetic seal therewith, said dispensing system being operable to selectively lock and unlock while maintaining said hermetic seal (FIG 9);
a regulated pressure system (114), connected to said pressurized container (FIG 7), operable to exert and maintain a sufficient pressure level in said pressurized environment that is sufficient to continually compress said compressible container to reduce said predetermined volume magnitude of said internal region to substantially match a magnitude of the liquid volume stored therein and to maintain said internal region volume reduction, and that is further sufficient to cause at least one portion of the liquid volume to be expelled through said compressible container hermetically sealed interface component and through said dispensing system in a form of a liquid pour (FIG 9).
But is silent on a control system operable to selectively unlock and lock said dispensing system.
Proctor teaches a control system operable to selectively unlock and lock said dispensing system (Paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Feldman with control system as taught by Proctor in order to selectively open and close the valve.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12264056. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1, US Pat ‘056 discloses the features of claim 1 of Application 19025427, but is silent on hermetic seals and control system as taught by Feldman and Proctor, respectively, as disclosed above.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11820637 in view of Feldman and Proctor.
Claim 1, US Pat ‘637 discloses the features of claim 1 of Application 19025427, but is silent on hermetic seals and control system as taught by Feldman and Proctor, respectively, as disclosed above.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10865089. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9896320. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9242845. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Conclusion
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754