Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-20 are within the four statutory categories. Claims 1-10 are drawn to a method for authenticating a user, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. process). Claims 11-15 are drawn to a system for authenticating a user, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. machine). Claims 16-20 are drawn to a “computer readable media,” which does not distinguish Claims 16-20 from a transitory medium or article of manufacture, e.g. see paragraph [0067] of the as-filed Specification, and hence Claims 16-20 do not fall within the four statutory categories. However, as will be shown below, even assuming, arguendo, that Claims 16-20 were directed towards a non-transitory medium or article of manufacture, Claims 16-20 are nonetheless unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Prong 1 of Step 2A
Claim 1, which is representative of the inventive concept, recites: A computer-implemented method for real-time detection, by a participant in a health information exchange, of unapproved uses of health information, the method comprising:
building, using a trained computer-implemented model, a knowledge graph representing relationships between characteristics of health related information of a patient;
receiving, from a second participant, a request for access to health information of the patient;
generating, using the knowledge graph and the trained computer-implemented model, questions about the characteristics of health related information of the patient for the second participant to answer to confirm authenticity of the request, wherein generating the questions comprises analyzing the request to identify a type of health information requested and generating one or more questions related to the type of health information requested; and
providing, using the trained computer-implemented model, access to the health information to the second participant based on the second participant providing correct responses to the questions.
The underlined limitations as shown above, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover the abstract idea of a certain method of organizing human activity because they recite managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (i.e. social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions – in this case, creating a knowledge graph illustrating the relationships between data for a user, receiving a request for access to user data, generating questions based on the knowledge graph and an analysis of the request, and providing access to the user data in response to correct responses to the questions encompass limitations that dictate the behavior of a first user (i.e. building the knowledge graph, receiving the request, generating the questions, and providing access) and a second user (i.e. providing the request and providing answers to the questions), wherein rules (i.e. the correctness of the answers) determine whether or not the second user will be provided with access, and hence these limitations include following rules or instructions to determine access to health information), e.g. see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Any limitations not identified above as part of the abstract idea are deemed “additional elements,” and will be discussed in further detail below.
Furthermore, the abstract idea for Claims 11 and 16 is identical as the abstract idea for Claim 1, because the only difference between Claims 1, 11, and 16 is that Claim 11 recites a system and Claim 16 recites a computer readable media, whereas Claim 1 recites a computer-implemented method.
Dependent Claims 2-10, 12-15, and 17-20 include other limitations, for example Claims 2 and 12 recite denying access when the responses are incorrect and notifying the first user as to the denial, Claims 3 and 13 recite building knowledge graphs for a plurality of patients and identifying, based on the knowledge graphs, a group of patients sharing at least one characteristic that make the group susceptible to requests for the data for unapproved uses, Claims 4 and 14 recite building knowledge graphs for a plurality of prescribed item and identifying, based on the knowledge graphs, a prescribed item that makes patients who are prescribed the item susceptible to requests for the data for unapproved uses, Claims 5 and 15 recite identifying, based on the knowledge graphs for the prescribed items, a pattern of an entity requesting data for unapproved uses, Claims 6 and 17 recite determining a motive for the request of data, Claims 7 and 19 recite that the questions do not reveal protected health information for the first user, Claims 8 and 18 recite determining a distance between the first user and the second user, comparing the distance to a threshold, and denying access to the data in response to the distance satisfying the threshold, Claim 9 recites determining a probability of unapproved use of the data based on a plurality of data and determining whether to deny or provide access to the data based on the probability, and Claims 10 and 20 recite providing real-time access to the data in response to the correct responses to the questions, but these only serve to further narrow the abstract idea, and a claim may not preempt abstract ideas, even if the judicial exception is narrow, e.g. see MPEP 2106.04. Additionally, any limitations in dependent Claims 2-10, 12-15, and 17-20 not addressed above are deemed additional elements to the abstract idea, and will be further addressed below. Hence dependent Claims 2-10, 12-15, and 17-20 are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent Claims 1, 11, and 16.
Prong 2 of Step 2A
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (i.e. the non-underlined limitations above – in this case, the computer) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception – for example, the recitation of a computer, which amounts to merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, e.g. see paragraphs [0023]-[0032] of the as-filed Specification, see MPEP 2106.05(f); and/or
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use – for example, the claim language specifying that the data being accessed is health information, which amounts to limiting the abstract idea to the field of healthcare, and the recitation of the use of a trained computer-implemented model, which amounts to limiting the abstract idea to the field of machine learning, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Additionally, dependent Claims 2-10, 12-15, and 17-20 include other limitations, but these limitations also amount to no more than generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g. the machine learning model limitation recited in dependent Claims 10 and 20), and/or do not include any additional elements beyond those already recited in independent Claims 1, 11, and 16, and hence also do not integrate the aforementioned abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
Claims 1, 11, and 16 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception because the additional elements (i.e. the non-underlined limitations above – in this case the computer), as stated above, are directed towards no more than limitations that amount to mere instructions to apply the exception, generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and/or add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, wherein the insignificant extra-solution activity comprises limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, as demonstrated by:
The present Specification expressly disclosing that the structural additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional in nature:
paragraphs [0023]-[0032] of the as-filed Specification discloses that the additional elements (i.e. the computer) comprise a plurality of different types of generic computing systems that are configured to perform generic computer functions (i.e. receive and process data) that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry (i.e. healthcare);
Relevant court decisions: The functional limitations interpreted as additional elements are analogized to the following examples of court decisions demonstrating well-understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g. see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II):
Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g. see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec – similarly, the current invention receives the request to access the health information over a network, for example a wireless network, e.g. see paragraph [0028] of the present Specification;
Storing and retrieving information in memory, e.g. see Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. – similarly, the current invention recites storing the knowledge graph data, and retrieving the knowledge graph data from in order to generate the questions, and in order to determine whether to provide access to the health information based on the responses to the questions;
Dependent Claims 2-10, 12-15, and 17-20 include other limitations, but none of these limitations are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea because, as stated above, the limitations of the aforementioned dependent claims amount to no more than generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g. the machine learning model limitation recited in dependent Claims 10 and 20), and/or do not recite any additional elements not already recited in independent Claims 1, 11, and 16, and hence do not amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, Claims 1-20 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulleit (US 2020/0226285) in view of Salazar (US 2018/0218126), further in view of Nygate (US 2018/0052981).
Regarding Claim 1, Bulleit teaches the following: A computer-implemented method for real-time detection, by a participant in a health information exchange, of unapproved uses of health information (The system regulates access to health information resources (HIRs) stored within various electronic health records (EHRs) for patients, e.g. see Bulleit [0002], [0010]-[0011], and [0243]-[0245], wherein the system may be embodied as a computer-implemented method, e.g. see Bulleit [0252], Claim 1.), the method comprising:
receiving, from a second participant, a request for access to health information of the patient (The system receives a request for an HIR, for example from a doctor for the patient (i.e. a second participant), e.g. see Bulleit [0011], [0050], and [0076]-[0077], Figs. 2-3 and 14.);
generating, using data from a healthcare record, questions about the characteristics of health related information of the patient for the second participant to answer to confirm authenticity of the request (The system generates a set of challenge questions based on data obtained from the EHR, e.g. see Bulleit [0236]-[0241], Figs. 22A-22B. The system further receives answers to the challenge questions and calculates a verification score based on the received answers, and utilizes the verification score to determine whether the user’s identity should be verified, e.g. see Bulleit [0234] and [0242]-[0245].); and
providing access to the health information to the second participant based on the second participant providing correct responses to the questions (The system verifies the identity of the user based on the user providing a sufficient number of correct answers to the challenge questions, e.g. see Bulleit [0242]-[0245], Figs. 22A-22B, and provides access to the health information to verified users, e.g. see Bulleit [0023]-[0024].).
But Bulleit does not teach and Salazar teaches the following:
building, using a trained computer-implemented model, a knowledge graph representing relationships between characteristics of health related information of a patient (The system includes a knowledge graph training module that applies machine learning techniques comprising forming a positive training set of conversation tokens from patient conversations to generate a knowledge graph, wherein the conversation includes features deemed relevant and/or associated with symptoms, e.g. see Salazar [0028]-[0029].); and
wherein the generating of the questions is performed using the knowledge graph and the trained computer-implemented model (The system includes a medical protocol database that stores medical protocols comprising a series of questions regarding patient complaints and symptoms, e.g. see Salazar [0025], and further includes a recommendation engine that recommends medical protocols for a patient, e.g. see Salazar [0026] and [0045]. Furthermore, the system maps specific medical protocols to various medical concepts of the knowledge graph, e.g. see Salazar [0045].);
wherein generating the questions comprises analyzing the request to identify a type of health information requested and generating one or more questions related to the type of health information requested (The system tokenizes a conversation (i.e. the request), wherein the tokens are identified by types or classes such as patient complaints corresponding to symptoms, e.g. see Salazar [0022]-[0023]. Furthermore, the knowledge graph is generated based on the tokens, e.g. see Salazar [0028]-[0029], and the medical protocols (i.e. the questions) are mapped to various medical concepts of the knowledge graph, e.g. see Salazar [0045].); and
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of healthcare to modify Bulleit to incorporate generating the knowledge graph and the questions using the trained computer-implemented model as taught by Salazar in order to enable the quick review of relevant information, e.g. see Salazar [0046].
But the combination of Bulleit and Salazar does not teach and Nygate teaches the following:
wherein providing access to the health information is performed using the trained computer-implemented model (The system includes machine learning modules that are used to produce Knowledge Based Authentication (KBA) questions, e.g. see Nygate [0074], and evaluate the pass/fail rate of questions, e.g. see Nygate [0028], wherein the user satisfactorily completing the authentication process provides the user with access to an account, e.g. see Nygate [0069].).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of healthcare to modify the combination of Bulleit and Salazar to incorporate using machine learning to authenticate the user as taught by Nygate in order to provide enhanced security and thwarting fraud, e.g. see Nygate [0003] and [0036].
Regarding Claims 11 and 16, the limitations of Claims 11 and 16 are substantially similar to those claimed in Claim 1, with the sole difference being that Claim 11 recites a system including a memory device storing instructions and a processing device executing the stored instructions, and Claim 16 recites a computer readable media storing instructions that are executable by a processor, whereas Claim 1 recites a computer-implemented method. Specifically pertaining to Claims 11 and 16, Examiner notes that Bulleit teaches computer-executable instructions loaded onto a computer and/or processor to perform the limitations of the invention, e.g. see Bulleit [0255], and hence the grounds of rejection provided above for Claim 1 are similarly applied to Claims 11 and 16.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate in view of Stockton (US 2009/0089094).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and Bulleit further teaches the following: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
denying access to the health information to the second participant based on the second participant providing incorrect responses to the questions (The system may deny access to the EHRs and HIRs based on a user not answering enough challenge questions correctly, e.g. see Bulleit [0198] and [0236]-[0245].).
But the combination of Bulleit and Allen does not teach and Stockton teaches the following:
notifying the participant of a denial of access to the second participant to the health information (The system may notify another entity, for example security (i.e. the participant), when access to the patient’s medical data is denied, and store an indication of the denial in an audit log, e.g. see Stockton [0025], [0032], and [0039].).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of regulating access to secure information to modify the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate to incorporate notifying another entity, for example security, of possible fraud as taught by Stockton in order to assure that individuals’ protected health information is properly protected, in accordance with applicable laws, e.g. see Stockton [0002]-[0006].
Regarding Claim 12, the limitations of Claim 12 are substantially similar to those claimed in Claim 2, with the sole difference being that Claim 12 recites a system including a memory device storing instructions and a processing device executing the stored instructions, whereas Claim 2 recites a computer-implemented method. Specifically pertaining to Claim 12, Examiner notes that Bulleit teaches computer-executable instructions loaded onto a computer and/or processor to perform the limitations of the invention, e.g. see Bulleit [0255], and hence the grounds of rejection provided above for Claim 2 are similarly applied to Claim 12.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate in view of Allen (US 2018/0089382), further in view Gunjan (US 2016/0132969).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate teaches the limitations of Claim 1, but does not teach and Allen teaches the following: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
building knowledge graphs for a plurality of patients including the patient, each knowledge graph of the knowledge graphs representing relationships between characteristics of health related information of a patient of the plurality of patients (The system generates knowledge graphs utilizing data for a plurality of patients, e.g. see Allen [0091], [0096], and [0101].).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of healthcare to modify the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate to incorporate generating knowledge graphs for a plurality of patients as taught by Allen in order to improve the accuracy of clinical decision-making and improve the artificial intelligence power for a wide array of patients, e.g. see Allen [0027].
But the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, Nygate, and Allen does not teach and Gunjan teaches the following:
identifying, based on the knowledge graphs for the plurality of patients, a group of patients of the plurality of patients sharing one or more characteristics of health related information that makes the group of patients susceptible for requests of health information for unapproved uses (The system maintains medical reports (i.e. knowledge graphs) of patients, wherein the medical reports include patient details such as age, diagnoses, and prescriptions, e.g. see Gunjan [0028]. Additionally, the system identifies patients according to a shared characteristic, for example age, in determining the prominence of fraud (i.e. unapproved uses) among the patients of the shared characteristic, e.g. see Gunjan [0073].).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of regulating access to secure information to modify the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, Nygate, and Allen to incorporate identifying a prominence of fraud for a specific patient group as taught by Gunjan in order to reduce the losses incurred by fraud, e.g. see Gunjan [0095].
Regarding Claim 13, the limitations of Claim 13 are substantially similar to those claimed in Claim 3, with the sole difference being that Claim 13 recites a system including a memory device storing instructions and a processing device executing the stored instructions, whereas Claim 3 recites a computer-implemented method. Specifically pertaining to Claim 13, Examiner notes that Bulleit teaches computer-executable instructions loaded onto a computer and/or processor to perform the limitations of the invention, e.g. see Bulleit [0255], and hence the grounds of rejection provided above for Claim 3 are similarly applied to Claim 13.
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate in view of Eidex (US 2003/0229519).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate teaches the limitations of Claim 1, but does not teach and Eidex teaches the following: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
building knowledge graphs for a plurality of prescribed items, each knowledge graph of the knowledge graphs representing relationships between characteristics related to a prescribed item of the plurality of prescribed items (The system includes a database that stores various data (i.e. relationships between characteristics) pertaining to a drug (i.e. a prescribed item), such as common dosage values and likelihood indicators regarding fraud and abuse, e.g. see Eidex [0035].); and
identifying, based on the knowledge graphs for the plurality of prescribed items, a prescribed item of the plurality of prescribed items having a characteristic that makes patients who are prescribed the item susceptible for requests to health information for unapproved uses (The system utilizes expert rules to evaluate a likelihood of a fraudulent transaction, wherein the expert rules may factor in the type of drug prescribed in calculating the likelihood, e.g. see Eidex [0042].).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of regulating access to secure information to modify the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate to incorporate identifying the prescribed item that makes patients susceptible to requests for unapproved uses as taught by Eidex in order to prevent fraudulent activities, e.g. see Eidex [0007].
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, Nygate, and Eidex teaches the limitations of Claim 4, and Eidex further teaches the following: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying, based on the knowledge graphs for the plurality of prescribed items, a pattern of an entity requesting health information for unapproved uses of health information (The system identifies short-term transaction patterns to determine a fraud score, e.g. see Eidex [0012] and [0015], wherein the fraud score is indicative of the likelihood of fraud, e.g. see Eidex [0042].).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of regulating access to secure information to modify the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate to incorporate utilizing the patterns to determine the fraud score as taught by Eidex in order to prevent fraudulent activities, e.g. see Eidex [0007].
Regarding Claims 14-15, the limitations of Claims 14-15 are substantially similar to those claimed in Claims 4-5, with the sole difference being that Claims 14-15 recite a system including a memory device storing instructions and a processing device executing the stored instructions, whereas Claims 4-5 recite a computer-implemented method. Specifically pertaining to Claims 14-15, Examiner notes that Bulleit teaches computer-executable instructions loaded onto a computer and/or processor to perform the limitations of the invention, e.g. see Bulleit [0255], and hence the grounds of rejection provided above for Claims 4-5 are similarly applied to Claims 14-15.
Claims 6, 8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate in view of Subramanian (US 8,931,044).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate teaches the limitations of Claim 1, but does not teach and Subramanian teaches the following: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a motive for the request based on the knowledge graph and details associated with the request and the second participant (The system includes storing scanned patient documents (i.e. knowledge graphs), e.g. see Subramanian col. 5, line 16 through col. 6, line 18, and further stores details regarding individuals such as the address of an individual, e.g. see Subramanian col. 6, lines 44-61. Additionally, the system includes security policy that determines that a user’s reason (i.e. motive) for access a patient record is illegitimate, for example based on the address of the requester (i.e. details associated with the second participant), e.g. see Subramanian col. 14, lines 4-33.).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of regulating access to secure information to modify the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate to incorporate determining the motive for accessing the record as taught by Subramanian in order to comply with applicable privacy laws, e.g. see Subramanian col. 1, lines 23-38.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate teaches the limitations of Claim 1, but does not teach and Subramanian teaches the following: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a distance between a location of the patient and a second location of the second participant (The system determines whether an address for a patient and a doctor who wishes to access the patient record are within the same neighborhood, e.g. see Subramanian col. 14, lines 14-17.);
determining whether the distance satisfies a threshold distance (The addresses being in the same neighborhood may cause the system to determine that a threshold distance has been satisfied such that the system prevents the doctor from accessing the patient record, e.g. see Subramanian col. 14, lines 4-33.); and
responsive to determining that the distance satisfies the threshold distance, denying access to the health information to the second participant (The system denies access to the patient record when it is determined that the doctor is within the same neighborhood (i.e. has satisfied the threshold distance), e.g. see Subramanian col. 14, lines 4-33.).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of regulating access to secure information to modify the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate to incorporate determining access permissions based on a distance as taught by Subramanian in order to ensure that the access request is for medical reasons, e.g. see Subramanian col. 14, lines 22-25.
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, the limitations of Claims 17 and 18 are substantially similar to those claimed in Claims 6 and 8, with the sole difference being that Claims 17 and 18 recite a computer readable media storing instructions that are executable by a processor, whereas Claims 6 and 8 recite a computer-implemented method. Specifically pertaining to Claims 17 and 18, Examiner notes that Bulleit teaches computer-executable instructions loaded onto a computer and/or processor to perform the limitations of the invention, e.g. see Bulleit [0255], and hence the grounds of rejection provided above for Claims 6 and 8 are similarly applied to Claims 17 and 18.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate in view of Shoenhair (US 2006/0026039).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate teaches the limitations of Claim 1, but does not teach and Shoenhair teaches the following:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the questions do not reveal protected health information (PHI) of the patient (The system includes requires a requester to satisfy a challenge response in order to verify the requester’s identity and to receive protected health information, wherein the challenge response pertains to one or more shared facts of federal government-recognized facilities that treat Medicare patients, all medical practitioners licensed to prescribe medications licensed by the FDA, and facsimile numbers, e.g. see Shoenhair [0038]-[0039] – that is, none of the aforementioned shared facts comprise PHI of the patient, and hence the questions do not reveal patient PHI.).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of regulating access to secure information to modify the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate to incorporate the questions not revealing patient PHI as taught by Shoenhair in order to prevent comprising of the PHI and to maintain security of the PHI, e.g. see Shoenhair [0026] and [0033].
Regarding Claim 19, the limitations of Claim 19 are substantially similar to those claimed in Claim 7, with the sole difference being that Claim 19 recites a computer readable media storing instructions that are executable by a processor, whereas Claim 7 recites a computer-implemented method. Specifically pertaining to Claim 19, Examiner notes that Bulleit teaches computer-executable instructions loaded onto a computer and/or processor to perform the limitations of the invention, e.g. see Bulleit [0255], and hence the grounds of rejection provided above for Claim 7 are similarly applied to Claim 19.
Claims 9-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate in view of Neuweg (US 2021/0035121).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate teaches the limitations of Claim 1, but does not teach and Neuweg teaches the following: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a probability of unapproved use of health information based on a plurality of factors comprising receiving the correct responses to the questions (The system determines a likelihood of fraud (i.e. a probability of unapproved use) based on user responses to questions, e.g. see Neuweg [0026] and [0035].), determining requests are received for a cluster of patients prescribed a certain medication, determining a plurality of requests are received from the second participant having a common medical identity, determining a plurality of requests are received within a threshold time period for the cluster of patients from a plurality of second participants having different medical identities, or some combination thereof; and
determining whether to provide access to the health information based on the probability of unapproved use (Initially, Examiner notes that this step is only required if the “some combination thereof” language recited in the previous step includes the specific step of determining of the probability of unapproved use, as opposed to some combination of determining steps not including the probability calculation. The system includes rules that dictate actions for the system to take based on the calculated likelihood of fraud, for example freezing an account (i.e. denying access), or permitting an action (i.e. providing access), e.g. see Neuweg [0034]-[0035], [0041]-[0042], [0051].).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of regulating access to secure information to modify the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate to incorporate determining a probability of fraudulent activity based on the answers to questions as taught by Neuweg in order to greatly reduce costs to account holders and authorities, e.g. see Neuweg [0003].
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate teaches the limitations of Claim 1, but does not teach and Neuweg teaches the following:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a trained machine learning model provides, in real-time, access to the health information to the second participant based on the second participant providing correct responses to the questions (The system tracks data and performs actions, for example freezing an account and/or sending an alert, in real time, e.g. see Neuweg [0003], [0040], and [0045], wherein the actions are taken based on a likelihood of fraud that is calculated utilizing machine learning algorithms, e.g. see Neuweg [0042].).
Furthermore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of regulating access to secure information to modify the combination of Bulleit, Salazar, and Nygate to incorporate utilizing the machine learning algorithm to perform fraud prevention actions in real time as taught by Neuweg in order to greatly reduce costs to account holders and authorities, e.g. see Neuweg [0003].
Regarding Claim 20, the limitations of Claim 20 are substantially similar to those claimed in Claim 10, with the sole difference being that Claim 20 recites a computer readable media storing instructions that are executable by a processor, whereas Claim 10 recites a computer-implemented method. Specifically pertaining to Claim 20, Examiner notes that Bulleit teaches computer-executable instructions loaded onto a computer and/or processor to perform the limitations of the invention, e.g. see Bulleit [0255], and hence the grounds of rejection provided above for Claim 10 are similarly applied to Claim 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed July 30, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that the claimed invention is patent eligible because it is not directed towards the abstract idea of a certain method of organizing human activities, specifically of the trained computer-implemented model that generates tailored authentication questions and controls access, e.g. see pg. 8 of Remarks – Examiner disagrees.
Examiner initially notes that, as shown above, the trained computer-implemented method is not characterized as part of the abstract idea, and has been analyzed as an additional element. However, also as shown above, as presently claimed the trained computer-implemented method is claimed at such a high level of generality that it merely generally links the abstract idea to the technological environment of machine learning. For example, the claims merely recite that the questions are generated “using” the trained computer-implemented model in some entirely unspecified fashion, and hence the recitation of the trained computer-implemented model is at such a high level of generality so as to involve the model in some way, shape, or form without providing an explanation as to how the model operates, how it is trained, and/or what the model itself comprises.
Applicant further alleges that the claimed invention is patent eligible because it integrates any abstract idea into a practical application, specifically because it reduces waste of computing resources by accurately determining request approval or denial, as is claimed in [0019]-[0020] of the as-filed Specification, and because it recites significantly more than the abstract idea, e.g. see pgs. 9-10 of Remarks – Examiner disagrees.
[0019]-[0020] of the as-filed Specification discloses that the claimed invention “[authenticates] whether a request for health information of a patient is for an approved use or an unapproved use.” Even assuming, arguendo, that the claimed invention achieves the improvement of “accurately authenticating a user’s access request to a medical record,” the problems addressed by the claimed invention are nonetheless the problems of “clinical and financial outcomes,” e.g. see [0002] of the as-filed Specification. That is, the claimed invention addresses the need for improved clinical and financial outcomes, which are problems that have existed since long before the advent of any computer technology, and hence are not problems specifically arising in the realm of computer networks.
Furthermore, as with prong 1 of step 2A of the analysis, the trained computer-implemented model is claimed at such a high level of generality that it does not represent a technological solution because the claim language provides no detail regarding how the model is trained and/or actually applied in order to achieve the alleged improvement. That is, the claim language is insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not provide a sufficient nexus between the claimed invention and the alleged improvement.
Hence, the claimed invention does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and/or recite significantly more than the abstract idea.
For the aforementioned reasons, Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed July 30, 2026, regarding the rejections of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. As stated above, the newly amended claim limitations of Claim 1, 11, and 16 have necessitated the new grounds of rejection, and Salazar and Nygate are now cited to address the newly amended claim limitations pertaining to the knowledge graph construction and the trained computer-implemented model. Hence Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons disclosed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is as follows:
Hwang (US 2018/0205727) – teaches a dynamic user authentication system including knowledge graphs that are adaptable based on learning.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN P GO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681