DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 April 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the combination of Ingels (US 2011/0245988) and Lee ( US 6,969,927) fails to render the claim obvious. Specifically, that the lower threshold current of Lee is specific to the AC supply power and not a detected current draw of an electric load. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ingels already discloses measuring the load current for a plurality of loads [see paragraph 0107] and switching between power sources based on the first power feed becoming unstable or failing [see paragraph 0028]. Ingels further logs various parameters when the first power feed is unstable or failing and switches to the second power feed including “current decrease” in paragraph 0076.
Lee specifically states switching to an alternate current power source when a current is below a prescribed threshold [see column 4, lines 18-24] which when combined with Ingels allows the system of Ingels to use current falling below a threshold (unstable power supply) for switching to another power supply.
It is the combination of Ingels in view of Lee that teach switching between power supplies when a detected current draw of an electric load falls below a threshold. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the Amendments, Saavedra (US 2016/0282892) was used to disclose utility power supply and battery power supply and will be used for the amended claims.
Regarding the Double Patenting rejection, the rejection will be maintained for record purposes, but the Applicant’s request to be held in abeyance until there is an indication of allowable subject matter is noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0245988 by Ingels et al. (Ingels hereinafter) in view of US 6,969,927 by Lee in further view of US 2016/0282892 by Saavedra et al. (Saavedra hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Ingels discloses a switching panel [see at least Figure 1, (100)] for providing electrical power to a plurality of electric loads [see at least Figure 1, (111)-(118)] from a first power supply [see at least Figure 1, (101)] or a second power supply [see at least Figure 1, (102)], comprising: a plurality of switching elements each connected to both the first power supply and the second power supply and to at least one electric load within the plurality of electric loads [see at least Figure 1, (131)-(138)], wherein each of the plurality of switching elements is operable in a first condition and a second condition [see at least paragraph 0103]; a controller operatively connected to each of the plurality of switching elements [see at least Figure 1, (161)], wherein the controller is operable to independently control a condition of each of the switching elements [see at least paragraph 0103]; and a plurality of current sensors each in communication with the controller [see at least Figure 1, (101)-(108)], wherein each of the current sensors is positioned between one of the switching elements and at least one electric load of the plurality of electric loads associated with the switching element [see at least Figure 1, (131) to (121) to (111)], wherein each of the plurality of current sensors is operable to detect a current draw of the at least one electric load associated with the switching element [see at least paragraph 0103]; wherein the first power supply and second power supply are configured to supply power to the switching panel simultaneously [see at least paragraph 0105].
Ingels discloses using above and below threshold data [see at least paragraph 0092], but fails to disclose and wherein the controller is configured to, upon receiving an indication that the detected current draw of the at least one electric load associated with the switching element is below a threshold current value, transition one or more of the plurality of switching elements from the first condition to the second condition. However, Lee discloses a power switching apparatus [see at least Abstract] which operates a switch when current falls below a threshold [see at least column 4, lines 18-24].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Ingels to include transitioning the switching element when the current draw is below a threshold, as disclosed by Lee, to allow the system to transition to from the first power supply to the second power supply during a low current event. Thus, offering the benefit of preventing undercurrent situations, which could damage equipment, and allowing the system to maintain power supply to the load.
Ingels in view of Lee fails to disclose a utility power source and a battery power source. However, Saavedra discloses a multi-power source system [see at least Abstract] which can be supplied by both a utility grid and a battery power source [see at least paragraph 0032, “electrical utility grid” and “battery-based backup power source”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Ingels in view of Lee to include the utility power source and the battery power source, as disclosed by Saavedra, as these are common and well-known power supplies which offer the benefit of wide availability.
Regarding claim 2, Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra teaches the switching panel of claim 1.
Ingels discloses wherein each of the plurality of switching elements is configured to transition to an open condition upon receiving an indication from a corresponding one of the current sensors that a sensed current downstream of the switching element has exceeded a second threshold current value [see at least paragraph 0028, “The processor shall avoid that one power feed becomes overloaded by switching off certain ports”; paragraph 0060; paragraph 0107].
Regarding claim 3, Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra teaches the switching panel of claim 2.
Ingels discloses wherein the at least one electric load associated with the switching element is connected to the utility power supply when the switching element is in the first condition, is connected to the battery power supply when the switching element is in the second condition, and is disconnected from both the utility power supply and the battery power supply when the switching element is in the open condition [see at least paragraph 0071].
Regarding claim 7, Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra teaches the switching panel of claim 1.
Saavedra discloses further comprising a tertiary power supply, wherein the tertiary power supply is connected to each of the plurality of switching elements, wherein each of the plurality of switching elements is further operable in a third condition, wherein the tertiary power supply is configured to supply power to the switching panel simultaneously with the utility power supply and the battery power supply, and wherein the controller is configured to transition one or more of the plurality of switching elements to the third condition to connect the tertiary power supply to at least one electric load of the plurality of electric loads [see at least Figure 3, (240), (250) and (260)].
Regarding claim 8, Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra teaches the switching panel of claim 1.
Lee discloses wherein each of the switching elements is a MOSFET [see at least column 9, line 33].
Regarding claim 9, Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra teaches the switching panel of claim 1.
Lee discloses wherein each of the switching elements is an insulated-gate bipolar transistor [see at least column 9, line 33].
Regarding claim 10, Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra teaches the switching panel of claim 1.
Ingels discloses a multi-position switch [see at least Figure 1, (131)].
Lee discloses using a relay [see at least column 2, lines 15-35].
Regarding claim 12, Ingels discloses a switching panel [see at least Figure 1, (100)] for providing electrical power to an electric load [see at least Figure 1, (111)-(118)] from multiple power supplies configured to supply power to the switching panel simultaneously [see at least Figure 1, (101) and (102)], the switching panel comprising: a switching element [see at least Figure 1, (131)-(138)] connected to each of a first power supply [see at least Figure 1, (101)] and a second power supply [see at least Figure 1, (102)], and configured to transmit electrical power received from the first power supply or the second power supply to at least one electric load coupled to the switching element [see at least Figure 1, (111)-(118)], the switching element being operable in a first condition, a second condition, and an open condition [see at least paragraph 0071]; a controller operatively connected to the switching element and operable to control a condition of the switching element [see at least Figure 1, (161)]; and a current sensor in communication with the controller, wherein the current sensor is positioned between the switching element and the electric load [see at least Figure 1, (121)-(128)], wherein the current sensor is operable to detect a current draw of the electric load [see at least paragraph 0107].
Ingels discloses using above and below threshold data [see at least paragraph 0092], but fails to disclose and wherein the controller is configured to, upon receiving an indication that the detected current draw of the at least one electric load associated with the switching element is below a threshold current value, transition one or more of the plurality of switching elements from the first condition to the second condition. However, Lee discloses a power switching apparatus [see at least Abstract] which operates a switch when current falls below a threshold [see at least column 4, lines 18-24].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Ingels to include transitioning the switching element when the current draw is below a threshold, as disclosed by Lee, to allow the system to transition to from the first power supply to the second power supply during a low current event. Thus, offering the benefit of preventing undercurrent situations, which could damage equipment, and allowing the system to maintain power supply to the load.
Ingels in view of Lee fails to disclose a utility power source and a battery power source. However, Saavedra discloses a multi-power source system [see at least Abstract] which can be supplied by both a utility grid and a battery power source [see at least paragraph 0032, “electrical utility grid” and “battery-based backup power source”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Ingels in view of Lee to include the utility power source and the battery power source, as disclosed by Saavedra, as these are common and well-known power supplies which offer the benefit of wide availability.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0245988 by Ingels et al. (Ingels hereinafter) in view of US 6,969,927 by Lee in further view of US 2016/0282892 by Saavedra et al. (Saavedra hereinafter) and US 2014/0327315 by Baba.
Regarding claim 11, Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra teaches the switching panel of claim 1.
Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra fails to explicitly teach wherein the battery power supply is connected to a DC-AC inverter, wherein the DC-AC inverter is configured to supply AC electrical power to the plurality of switching elements. However, Baba discloses a multi-power source system [see at least Abstract] which utilizes an inverter to convert a DC power source to AC power [see at least paragraph 0112; Figure 2, (125)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra to utilize an inverter for the battery power supply, as disclosed by Baba, to allow for DC systems, such as backup battery power supplies, to connect to the system and provide AC power. Thus, creating the benefit of providing power to the system when the first power supply is down.
Regarding claim 13, Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra teaches the switching panel of claim 12.
Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra fails to teach wherein a DC-AC inverter is positioned between the second power supply and the switching panel, the DC-AC inverter being configured invert DC electrical power from the second power supply into AC electrical power to supply AC electrical power to the switching element. However, Baba discloses a multi-power source system [see at least Abstract] which utilizes an inverter to convert a DC power source to AC power [see at least paragraph 0112; Figure 2, (125)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Ingels in view of Lee in further view of Saavedra to utilize an inverter for the battery power supply, as disclosed by Baba, to allow for DC systems, such as backup battery power supplies, to connect to the system and provide AC power. Thus, creating the benefit of providing power to the system when the first power supply is down.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 and 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,139,681 in view of US 2016/0282892 by Saavedra et al. (Saavedra hereinafter).
Claim 1 of the Patent contains all of the components and current threshold operation of the Application claims 1 and 12 as well as exceeding a threshold in the Application claim 2, the utility power supply of the Application claim 4 and the generator of the Application claim 5. Claims 5, 6 and 7 of the Patent contain the limitations of claims 8, 9 and 10 of the Application, respectively.
The claims differ in the use of a utility power supply and a battery power supply. However, Saavedra disclose the use of a utility power supply and a battery power supply in a similar system [see at least paragraph 0032, “the electrical grid” and “battery-based backup power source”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the Patent to use a utility power supply and a battery power supply, as disclosed by Saavedra, as these are common and well-known power supplies which offer the benefit of wide availability.
Regarding claim 7, the Patent provides the basis for claim 6, but fails to disclose further comprising a tertiary power supply, wherein the tertiary power supply is connected to each of the plurality of switching elements, wherein each of the plurality of switching elements is further operable in a third condition, wherein the tertiary power supply is configured to supply power to the switching panel simultaneously with the utility power supply and the battery power supply, and wherein the controller is configured to transition one or more of the plurality of switching elements to the third condition to connect the tertiary power supply to at least one electric load of the plurality of electric loads. However, this is a duplication of parts and Saavedra discloses this limitation [see at least Figure 3, (240), (250) and (260)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to have a third power supply attached to the system to offer further redundancy. Thus, increasing stability and ensuring the system can remain operational.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,139,681 in view of US 2016/0282892 by Saavedra et al. (Saavedra hereinafter) in further view of US 2014/0327315 by Baba.
Regarding claims 11 and 13, the Patent in view of Saavedra provides the basis for claims 11 and 13, but fails to disclose wherein the battery power supply is connected to a DC-AC inverter, wherein the DC-AC inverter is configured to supply AC electrical power to the plurality of switching elements. However, Baba discloses this limitation [see at least paragraph 0112; Figure 2, (125)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system utilize an inverter for the battery power supply, as disclosed by Baba, to allow for DC systems, such as backup battery power supplies, to connect to the system and provide AC power. Thus, creating the benefit of providing power to the system when the first power supply is down.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REGIS J BETSCH/SPE, Art Unit 2836