DETAILED ACTION
Notice relating to Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s current amendment (dated 11 JUNE 2026), has been entered. The status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1-25 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference(s) and/or citations being used in the current rejection.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant is suggested to review the prosecution histories for related Applications 15/235,000 and 16/697,090, in order to aid in possibly expediting and moving prosecution forward to an Allowance. This is just a note and suggestion by the Examiner, any amendments made by Applicant will be searched thoroughly before a final indication on Allowability is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 12-14, 16, 19-21, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, US 2007/0157248 in view of Green et al., US 2009/0113474.
Regarding claim 1, Ellis discloses a method comprising:
at an electronic device (with user equipment; page 10, paragraph 102, and Fig. 1, elements 108, 110, and 112, and Fig. 6, elements, 108, 110, and 112) with a display device (with at least a display device; page 10, paragraph 103, and Fig. 6, element 610) and one or more input devices (input interface(s)/device(s); page 10, paragraph 104, and Fig. 6, element 614):
generating for display, on the display device, a plurality of representations of groups of channels along a first axis in a user interface (generating an interactive guidance application for display; pages 5-6, paragraph 62, and wherein with representations of a plurality of groups of channels provided along a particular/first axis; Fig. 9, elements 910, and page 13, paragraph 123);
while the plurality of representations is displayed on the display device, receiving an input, via the one or more input devices, corresponding to a selection of a respective representation of the plurality of representations corresponding to a first group of channels (while displaying the groups of channels, can receive an input via the input device for selection of a channel group; Fig. 9, elements 910, and page 13, paragraph 124); and
in response to receiving the input, generating, for display on the display device, an updated user interface that includes ceasing display of the plurality of representations of the groups of channels in the user interface, and displaying a plurality of representations of channels associated with the first group of channels along the first axis in the updated user interface (upon selection of the channel group, application can cease displaying the groups screen and can update the display to show a screen for the selected group, which includes a plurality of channels for that group; Fig 9, elements 910, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 13, paragraphs 124-125, and page 14, paragraph 127).
While Ellis also discloses a user interface, wherein the user interface includes a content display area that is displaying a first content item (Fig. 9, element 920, and Fig. 10, element 1020, and page 13, paragraphs 123 and 125, and page 14, paragraph 133), Ellis does not explicitly disclose displaying an updated user interface, wherein the updated user interface includes a content display area that is displaying the first content item.
In a related art, Green does disclose a user interface includes a content display area that is displaying a first content item (video section can be displayed in interface that shows content that is current being presented/tuned; Fig. 3, element 312, and Fig. 4, element 412, and page 3, paragraph 30), and displaying an updated user interface, wherein the updated user interface includes the content display area that is displaying a first content item (continuous display of the video section with the current content tuned while the user navigates interface/guide, i.e. updated interface/guide; page 3, paragraph 30, and Fig. 3, element 312, and Fig. 4, element 412, and wherein with interface/guide being updated such that content displayed shifts from what was previously being presented; page 3, paragraph 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis and Green by allowing video display windows, such as the ones alluded to in Ellis, and the ones actually shown in Green, to be included in various display interfaces, in order to provide an improved system and method which allows a user to continue viewing content while navigating through a program guide (Green; page 3, paragraph 30).
Regrading claim 4, Ellis in view of Green discloses while displaying the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels in the updated user interface, receiving a second input corresponding to a request to redisplay the plurality of representations of the groups of channels, and in response to receiving the second input, generating, for display on the display device, an updated user interface that includes ceasing display of the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels in the updated user interface, and redisplaying the plurality of representations of the groups of channels in the updated user interface (Ellis; while displaying the guide with particular category of channels, i.e. Fig. 10, can receive input/request to revert back to category selection screen, which will allow user to select different category for display of those channels; Fig. 7, elements 701 and 710, and Fig. 9, elements 910, and page 9, paragraph 93, and page 13, paragraph 124, and changing from previous Sports category to News/World category; Fig. 7, elements 710, and see “Sports” and “News”, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 17, paragraph 148, and Fig. 17, element 1701, and see “World” and “Sports”).
Regarding claim 7, Ellis in view of Green discloses while displaying the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels along the first axis in the updated user interface (Ellis; screen with plurality of channels for the particular selected group; Fig 9, elements 910, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 13, paragraphs 124-125, and page 14, paragraph 127), receiving a second input corresponding to a request to display information related to a first channel of the first group of channels, and in response to receiving the second input, displaying the information related to the first channel in the updated user interface (Ellis; can provide input, i.e. secondary/additional, for presentation of overlay, i.e. updated interface, related to the content/programming, schedule information, etc. of the channel; page 9, paragraph 91).
Regarding claim 12, Ellis in view of Green discloses while displaying the information related to the first channel in the updated user interface, receiving a third input corresponding to a request to select a second channel of the first group of channels, and in response to receiving the third input ceasing display of the information related to the first channel in the updated user interface and displaying information related to the second channel in the updated user interface (Ellis; while information is being presented, user can input request to exit the information screen, select a different/second channel, and then request to provide information associated with that different/second channel; page 9, paragraphs 89, 91, and 93).
Regarding claim 13, Ellis in view of Green discloses a first representation of a first channel of the first group of channels is a currently-selected representation, and the method further comprises: displaying the first representation of the first channel with a first visual characteristic (Ellis; selected channel/programming can be outlined/highlighted; Fig. 10, element 1001, and page 9, paragraph 89, and page 13, paragraph 126, and page 14, paragraph 133); and
displaying the representations of the channels of the first group of channels other than the first representation with a second visual characteristic, different from the first visual characteristic (Ellis; the other channels/programming remains non-outlined/non-highlighted; Fig. 10, element 1001, and page 9, paragraph 89, and page 13, paragraph 126, and page 14, paragraph 133).
Regarding claim 14, Ellis in view of Green discloses while displaying the first representation of the first channel with the first visual characteristic, receiving a second input corresponding to a request to make a second representation of a second channel of the first group of channels the currently-selected representation (Ellis; input for movement to different channel(s)/content; page 9, paragraph 89, and page 14, paragraph 133); and
in response to receiving the second input updating the first representation of the first channel to have the second visual characteristic instead of the first visual characteristic and updating the second representation of the second channel to have the first visual characteristic instead of the second visual characteristic (Ellis; based on selection, i.e. including moved/second selection, channel/programming can be outlined/highlighted, with the other channel(s)/programming going to or remaining non-outlined/non-highlighted; Fig. 10, element 1001, and page 9, paragraph 89, and page 13, paragraph 126, and page 14, paragraph 133).
Regarding claim 16, Ellis in view of Green discloses each respective representation of the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels comprises an image corresponding to a respective channel of the first group of channels (Ellis; can be shown with at least channel name images, and/or other images included with specific channels in the first grouping; page 14, paragraph 127, and Fig. 10, elements 1050 and 1011, and wherein channels within groups can also have corresponding logos/graphics; page 5, paragraph 59, and page 6, paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 19, Ellis in view of Green discloses two or more of the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels comprise visual feeds from their respective channels that are updated over time (Ellis; can continuously cycle through live video, i.e. update over time, from the plurality of channels, i.e. including two or more; pages 14-15, paragraph 133, and page 15, paragraph 134, and Fig. 12A, elements 1255).
Regarding claim 20, Ellis in view of Green discloses while displaying the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels (Ellis; Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 14, paragraph 127), receiving selection of a first representation of a first channel of the plurality of representations, and in response to the selection, displaying content from the first channel in a content display area of the updated user interface (Ellis; upon selection of particular channel/content, can present live video in particular, i.e. updated, area of interface; page 14, paragraph 133, and Figs. 10 and 11, element 1020).
Regarding claim 21, Ellis in view of Green discloses the first group of channels corresponds to a content category (Ellis; associated with at least a category, such as Sports, Movies, or On-Demand; Fig. 9, elements 950, and page 13, paragraph 123), and displaying the plurality of the representations of channels associated with the first group of channels comprises determining whether currently-available content on a set of channels has a content type corresponding to the content category of the first group of channels and in accordance with a determination that the currently-available content on the set of channels has the content type corresponding to the content category of the first group of channels, including representations of the channels in the set of channels in the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels (Ellis; can determine common types for media channels with currently broadcast content; page 3, paragraph 42, and can then display the representations of channels associated with the particular common type/category; Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 14, paragraph 124, and corresponding to at least categories; page 5, paragraph 56).
Claim 24, which discloses an electronic device, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 1. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
one or more processors (including at least a processor and/or control circuitry; page 10, paragraph 103, and Fig. 6, elements 602 and 606);
memory (Ellis; including memory; page 10, paragraph 103, and Fig. 6, element 608); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed (Ellis; with stored executable instructions; page 10, paragraph 103).
Claim 25, which discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 1. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Ellis; computer readable medium, i.e. memory can include non-transitory types such as hard drives, ROM, etc.; page 10, paragraph 103).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, US 2007/0157248 in view of Green et al., US 2009/0113474, and further in view of Suomela et al., US 2009/0328101.
Regarding claim 2, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as while displaying the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels in the updated user interface, receiving a second input comprising ceasing display of the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels in the updated user interface, and displaying a plurality of representations of channels associated with a second group of channels, different from the first group of channels, in the updated user interface (Ellis; while displaying the guide with particular first category of channels, i.e. Fig. 10, can receive input/request to revert back to category selection screen, which will allow user to select different category of channels, i.e. second, for display of those channels; Fig. 7, elements 701 and 710, and Fig. 9, elements 910, and page 9, paragraph 93, and page 13, paragraph 124, and changing from previous Sports category to News/World category; Fig. 7, elements 710, and see “Sports” and “News”, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 17, paragraph 148, and Fig. 17, element 1701, and see “World” and “Sports”).
While Ellis in view of Green also discloses on a touch-sensitive surface of a device (Ellis; device with touch screen; page 9, paragraphs 89 and 95, and page 10, paragraph 104), Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose a contact and a movement of the contact detected, and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the contact is in a direction substantially orthogonal to a first axis performing certain operations.
In a related art, Suomela does disclose a contact and a movement of the contact detected, and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the contact is in a direction substantially orthogonal to a first axis performing certain operations (certain operations can be performed in response to contact and movement on touch screen device, wherein the touch and movement is in an orthogonal direction relative to a display, i.e. including at least first axis; page 8, paragraph 85).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Suomela by allowing certain operations to be performed based on input touch and touch movements, and be used with the already present guide and touch navigation operations of Ellis in view of Green, in order to provide an improved system and method for an electronic program guide that presents content programming information for one or more program channels on a broadcast TV device and which allows a user to input data, instructions and commands remotely or from another device that is not local, such as, for example, a touch screen (Suomela; page 2, paragraph 19, and page 3, paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 3, Ellis in view of Green and Suomela discloses in accordance with a determination that the movement of the contact is in a direction substantially parallel to the first axis (Suomela; touch and direction can be in multiple different directions, i.e. such as left to right, right to left, top to bottom, bottom to top, which can be considered at least parallel with a first axis; page 8, paragraph 85, and Ellis; channels provided along a particular/first axis; Fig. 9, elements 910, and page 13, paragraph 123, and Fig. 10, element 1050), scrolling through the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels in accordance with the movement of the contact (Ellis; with scrolling operations to scroll to different channels/feeds; page 15, paragraph 134, and Suomela; again, operations performed based on movement/direction of the touch; page 8, paragraph 85, and with scrolling operations; Fig. 4B1, see Scroll right/select).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, US 2007/0157248 in view of Green et al., US 2009/0113474, and further in view of Choi et al., US 2011/0267291 and Frusciano, US 8,589,977.
Regarding claim 5, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 4, as well as the second input comprises a first portion detected on a touch-sensitive surface of a device (Ellis; input and wherein with device with touch screen, i.e. touch input on a portion; page 9, paragraphs 89 and 95, and page 10, paragraph 104), channels associated with the first group of channels (Ellis; Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 13, paragraphs 124-125, and page 14, paragraph 127, and Fig. 16, elements 1605, and page 17, paragraph 146), and a selectable user interface element, the selectable user interface element being for displaying the plurality of representations of the groups of channels (Ellis; while displaying representations of channels associated with at least a particular category, i.e. such as sports group, user interface elements can be provided, which upon selection will revert the user back to a channel group screen; Fig. 16, element 1630, and page 17, paragraph 146, and Fig. 7, elements 710); and
receiving selection of the selectable user interface element (Ellis; can input/select the particular element; page 17, paragraph 146), wherein ceasing display of the plurality of representations of the channels and redisplaying the plurality of representations of the groups of channels are in response to receiving selection of the selectable user interface element (Ellis; upon selection will revert the user back to a channel group screen; Fig. 16, element 1630, and page 17, paragraph 146, and Fig. 7, elements 710).
Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose a first portion comprising a first contact and a first movement of the first contact substantially parallel to a first axis, the first portion corresponding to a request to scroll to an end of the plurality of representations of channels, a second portion detected on the touch-sensitive surface of a device after the first portion, the second portion comprising a second contact and a second movement of the second contact, the second movement of the second contact being in substantially a same direction as the first movement of the first contact, and the second movement of the second contact being greater than a movement threshold; and
the method further comprises: in response to receiving the second portion of the second input, scrolling past the end of a plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels, and displaying a selectable user interface element adjacent to the end of the plurality of representations of the channels along the first axis.
In a related art, Choi does disclose a first portion comprising a first contact and a first movement of the first contact substantially parallel to a first axis (with at least detected touch pattern, including movement and direction; page 17, paragraph 358, and movement in a direction that can be parallel to at least a first axis, i.e. such as from left to right and/or top to bottom; page 17, paragraph 369, and page 18, paragraphs 377 and 382, and page 19, paragraph 395), the first portion corresponding to a request to scroll to an end of the plurality of representations of channels (can be for scrolling through, i.e. to end, of channels; page 17, paragraph 366, and page 18, paragraph 380, and Figs. 27 and 28, elements 201), a second portion detected on the touch-sensitive surface of a device after the first portion (can perform multiple touch inputs, i.e. interval between indicating multiple; page 17, paragraph 358), the second portion comprising a second contact and a second movement of the second contact, the second movement of the second contact being in substantially a same direction as the first movement of the first contact (touch input could be in a substantially similar direction as a first, with the first being left to right and/or top to bottom; page 17, paragraph 369, and page 18, paragraphs 377 and 382, and Fig 28, element 201, and the second being in a same direction as the first; Fig. 32, element 201, and page 18, paragraph 393, and/or if the first movement was in a straight down direction, the second could be considered substantially similar in that it could be a movement in a diagonally down direction; Fig. 36, element 201, and page 19, paragraph 401), and the second movement of the second contact being greater than a movement threshold (pattern of touch input, i.e. second, based on determined touch speed, i.e. intensity of the touch movement, wherein determination is made in relation to a particular speed, i.e. also interpreted to correspond to a threshold; page 17, paragraph 366, and also includes duration of the touch, i.e. again interpreted to include determining duration(s) above/under certain amounts/threshold(s); page 17, paragraph 358); and
the method further comprises in response to receiving the second portion of the second input, performing an operation (after receiving the input, i.e. including at least a second, can perform corresponding operation(s); pages 18-19, paragraphs 393-394, and page 19, paragraphs 401-403).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Choi by allowing certain operations to be performed based on input touch patterns and be used with the already present guide and touch navigation operations of Ellis in view of Green, in order to provide an improved image display apparatus and a method for operating the same, and more particularly, to an image display apparatus and a method for operating the same, which increase user convenience (Choi; page 1, paragraph 3).
Ellis in view of Green and Choi does not explicitly disclose in response to an input scrolling past the end of a plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels, and displaying a selectable user interface element adjacent to the end of the plurality of representations of the channels along a first axis.
In a related art, Frusciano does disclose in in response to an input scrolling past the end of a plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels, and displaying a selectable user interface element adjacent to the end of the plurality of representations of the channels along a first axis (responsive to input(s), system can determine that user has scrolled in a direction, i.e. along a particular axis, and past an end of a particular category, and can then provide a next/different category of channels/content, i.e. selectable interface element(s), that is/are adjacent to the end of the particular category; col. 8, lines 24-48, and Fig. 4, at least elements 402, 420, and 430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, Choi, and Frusciano by allowing different techniques to be used for navigating among various categories of channels/content that were already disclosed in Ellis in view of Green and Choi in order to provide and improved system and method for controlling scroll rates and/or the presentation of guide listing information to users of devices such as televisions, set top boxes, etc. (Frusciano; col. 1, lines 46-49).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, US 2007/0157248 in view of Green et al., US 2009/0113474, and further in view of Grad, US 2011/0078739.
Regarding claim 6, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as ceasing the display of the plurality of representations of the groups of channels in the user interface and displaying the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels along the first axis in the updated user interface (Ellis; upon selection of the channel group, application can cease displaying the groups screen and can update the display to show a screen for the selected group, which includes a plurality of channels for that group; Fig 9, elements 910, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 13, paragraphs 124-125, and page 14, paragraph 127), the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels (Ellis; Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 13, paragraphs 124-125, and page 14, paragraph 127), and a plurality of representations of the groups of channels (Ellis; representations of a plurality of groups of channels; Fig. 9, elements 910, and page 13, paragraph 123).
Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose operations comprising displaying an animation of a plurality of representations sliding into an updated user interface along a first axis so as to obscure a plurality of representations.
In a related art, Grad does disclose operations comprising displaying an animation of a plurality of representations sliding into an updated user interface along a first axis so as to obscure a plurality of representations (system can animate program grid to have representation(s) animating in with a same direction, i.e. along an axis; page 5, paragraph 54, and Figs 3a and 3B, elements 41a and 41b, and wherein can also obscure a plurality of representations; pages 4-5, paragraphs 52-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Grad by allowing specific animations to be used with the already present guide and navigation operations provided in Ellis in view of Green, in order to provide an improved system and method for producing an EPG from program information in an EPG database for a plurality of channels, with the EPG displaying items relating to the programs available on a plurality of channels at a specified times with the use of animation techniques (Grad; page 1, paragraph 2, and page 2, paragraph 15).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, US 2007/0157248 in view of Green et al., US 2009/0113474, and further in view of Macrae et al. US 2005/0015803.
Regarding claim 8, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 7, as well as the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels is displayed at a first location in the updated user interface (Ellis; representations of channels from at least a first group are at least displayed under other elements/information in a an updated and displayed guide, i.e. at a particular location; Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 13, paragraphs 124-125, and page 14, paragraph 127), the method further comprising in response to receiving the second input (Ellis; can provide input, i.e. secondary/additional, for presentation of overlay, i.e. updated interface, related to the content/programming, schedule information, etc.; page 9, paragraph 91, and wherein can also receive input/request to revert back to category selection screen, which will allow user to select different category for display of those channels; Fig. 7, elements 701 and 710, and Fig. 9, elements 910, and page 9, paragraph 93, and page 13, paragraph 124, and changing from previous Sports category to News/World category; Fig. 7, elements 710, and see “Sports” and “News”, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 17, paragraph 148, and Fig. 17, element 1701, and see “World” and “Sports”), and the channels associated with the first group of channels (Ellis; Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 13, paragraphs 124-125, and page 14, paragraph 127).
Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose displaying an animation of a plurality of representations of channels of moving from a first location to a second location in an updated user interface in a direction substantially perpendicular to a first axis, wherein information related to a first channel is displayed in an area between the first location and the second location in the updated user interface.
In a related art, Macrae does disclose displaying an animation of a plurality of representations of channels of moving from a first location to a second location in an updated user interface in a direction substantially perpendicular to a first axis, wherein information related to a first channel is displayed in an area between the first location and the second location in the updated user interface (upon requesting information about currently selected channel/programming, guide will update to cause movement, i.e. animation, of certain channels and programming to be moved from their original location to a second position that is perpendicular with a guide/first axis, and information related to the first channel/programming will be displayed between at least the first position and the second position; page 9, paragraphs 110-111, and see transition from Fig. 8, elements 830 and 834 to Fig. 9, elements 830, 834, and 932).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Macrae by allowing specific effects and positioning of elements to be included with the already present programming guide of Ellis in view of Green, in order to provide an improved system and method for an interactive television program guide application with improved displays for providing real-time information to a user (Macrae; page 1, paragraphs 5-6).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, US 2007/0157248 in view of Green et al., US 2009/0113474, and further in view of Choi et al., US 2011/0267291.
Regarding claim 9, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 7, as well as the second input comprises selection of the first channel of the first group of channels, and after the selection of the first channel performing an operation (Ellis; after initial input to get to the particular channel group interface, additional input, i.e. second, can be received which selected particular channel/content, and wherein after this selection, access operation can at least be performed; page 14, paragraph 127).
While Ellis in view of Green also discloses a touch-sensitive surface of a device (Ellis; device with touch screen; page 9, paragraphs 89 and 95, and page 10, paragraph 104), Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose a contact detected in a first predefined region of a surface of a device, the contact having an intensity greater than an intensity threshold, and the surface having a plurality of predefined regions including the first predefined region.
In a related art, Choi does disclose a contact detected in a first predefined region of a surface of a device (touch contact with at least an upper part/region of a touch screen display; page 17, paragraphs 361, 366, and 369), the contact having an intensity greater than an intensity threshold (pattern of touch based on determined pressure of contact, i.e. interpreted to include determining pressures above/under certain amounts/threshold(s); page 17, paragraph 358, and can also relate to touch speed, i.e. intensity of the touch movement, wherein determination is made in relation to a particular speed, i.e. also interpreted to correspond to a threshold; page 17, paragraph 366), and the surface having a plurality of predefined regions including the first predefined region (screen can include different regions, including the upper part/region, and also including at least a lower part/region; page 17, paragraph 366, and page 18, paragraphs 377 and 393, and also including a left or right part/region; page 18, paragraph 382).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Choi by allowing certain operations to be performed based on input touch patterns and be used with the already present guide and touch navigation operations of Ellis in view of Green, in order to provide an improved image display apparatus and a method for operating the same, and more particularly, to an image display apparatus and a method for operating the same, which increase user convenience (Choi; page 1, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 10, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 7, as well as the second input comprises selection of the first channel of the first group of channels, and after the selection of the first channel performing an operation (Ellis; after initial input to get to the particular channel group interface, additional input, i.e. second, can be received which selected particular channel/content, and wherein after this selection, access operation can at least be performed; page 14, paragraph 127).
While Ellis in view of Green also discloses a touch-sensitive surface of a device (Ellis; device with touch screen; page 9, paragraphs 89 and 95, and page 10, paragraph 104), Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose a contact and a movement of the contact detected on a surface of a device, the movement of the contact being in a direction substantially perpendicular to a first axis.
In a related art, Choi does disclose a contact and a movement of the contact detected on a surface of a device (with at least detected touch pattern, including movement and direction; page 17, paragraph 358), the movement of the contact being in a direction substantially perpendicular to a first axis (movement in a direction that can be perpendicular to at least a first axis, i.e. such as from left to right and/or top to bottom; page 17, paragraph 369, and page 18, paragraphs 377 and 382).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Choi by allowing certain operations to be performed based on input touch patterns and be used with the already present guide and touch navigation operations of Ellis in view of Green, in order to provide an improved image display apparatus and a method for operating the same, and more particularly, to an image display apparatus and a method for operating the same, which increase user convenience (Choi; page 1, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 11, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 7, as well as the second input comprises selection of the first channel of the first group of channels, and after the selection of the first channel performing an operation (Ellis; after initial input to get to the particular channel group interface, additional input, i.e. second, can be received which selected particular channel/content, and wherein after this selection, access operation can at least be performed; page 14, paragraph 127).
While Ellis in view of Green also discloses a touch-sensitive surface of a device (Ellis; device with touch screen; page 9, paragraphs 89 and 95, and page 10, paragraph 104), Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose a contact detected on a surface of a device, the contact having an intensity greater than an intensity threshold for longer than a time threshold.
In a related art, Choi does disclose a contact detected on a surface of a device (touch contact with at least an upper part/region of a touch screen display; page 17, paragraphs 361, 366, and 369), the contact having an intensity greater than an intensity threshold for longer than a time threshold (pattern of touch based on determined pressure of contact, i.e. interpreted to include determining pressures above/under certain amounts/threshold(s); page 17, paragraph 358, and can also relate to touch speed, i.e. intensity of the touch movement, wherein determination is made in relation to a particular speed, i.e. also interpreted to correspond to a threshold; page 17, paragraph 366, and also includes duration of the touch, i.e. again interpreted to include determining duration(s) above/under certain amounts/threshold(s); page 17, paragraph 358).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Choi by allowing certain operations to be performed based on input touch patterns and be used with the already present guide and touch navigation operations of Ellis in view of Green, in order to provide an improved image display apparatus and a method for operating the same, and more particularly, to an image display apparatus and a method for operating the same, which increase user convenience (Choi; page 1, paragraph 3).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, US 2007/0157248 in view of Green et al., US 2009/0113474, and further in view of Hunter, US 2014/0006951.
Regarding claim 15, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 14.
Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose a first representation of a first channel includes a visual indication of a current play position associated with the first channel, and the updated user interface includes content associated with the current play position.
In a related art, Hunter does disclose a first representation of a first channel includes a visual indication of a current play position associated with the first channel, and the updated user interface includes content associated with the current play position (channel representation(s) can include display of an indicator of the current time shown in relation to playback positions in the representation(s) of the channels, and wherein the information/timeline can move as time progresses, i.e. updated; Fig. 2, elements 100 and 102, and page 11, paragraph 324).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Hunter, by allowing specific timing indicator(s) to be utilized with the already present guide and time information in Ellis in view of Green, in order to provide an improved system and method for aggregating data relating to a plurality of media content items provided by a plurality of media content providers, providing the aggregated data to a user, and enabling a user to access particular content items by means of said aggregated data, wherein the content items are in the form of both scheduled content items and unscheduled content items (Hunter; page 1, paragraph 6).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, US 2007/0157248 in view of Green et al., US 2009/0113474, and further in view of Oh et al., US 2013/0276031.
Regarding claim 17, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 16, as well as a first representation of a first channel of the first group of channels has a current focus and comprises a first image (Ellis; first channel content can be the current focus, i.e. highlighting, and wherein this can include at least a first image such as a graphic; Fig. 10, elements 1001, 1011, and 1010, and page 14, paragraph 127), and the method further comprises while displaying the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels in the updated user interface, performing additional operations (Ellis; while displaying the guide with particular first category of channels, i.e. Fig. 10, can receive input/request to perform additional operations such as reverting back to category selection screen, which will allow user to select different category of channels, i.e. second, for display of those channels; Fig. 7, elements 701 and 710, and Fig. 9, elements 910, and page 9, paragraph 93, and page 13, paragraph 124, and changing from previous Sports category to News/World category; Fig. 7, elements 710, and see “Sports” and “News”, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 17, paragraph 148, and Fig. 17, element 1701, and see “World” and “Sports”, and/or showing addition information/video; page 11, paragraph 108).
Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose updating a first image associated with a first channel over time based on content associated with the first channel.
In a related art, Oh does disclose updating a first image associated with a first channel over time based on content associated with the first channel (representation of a channel can include and be updated over time with thumbnail image content associated the channel; page 7, paragraph 159, and page 15, paragraph 329, and page 18, paragraph 393).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Oh, by allowing specific types of channel representations to be utilized with the already present guide and channel representation(s) in Ellis in view of Green, in order to provide an improved display apparatus and a method for operating the same, which increase user convenience and allows a user to readily identify content of broadcast programs received through a plurality of channels (Oh; page 1, paragraph 1, and page 7, paragraph 159).
Regarding claim 18, Ellis in view of Green and Oh discloses while updating the first image over time based on content associated with the first channel and displaying the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels in the updated user interface, displaying the content associated with the first channel in a content display area of the updated user interface (Ellis; with plurality of channels being presented, and when channel/content is highlighted, i.e. the current focus, can present representation with live video from the media channel, i.e. live video has images that are updated over time; page 14, paragraph 133, and Figs. 10 and 11, elements 1020 and 1050, and Oh; upon a selection, content associated with the selection can be shown in corresponding area; page 7, paragraph 143, and page 15, paragraph 331).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, US 2007/0157248 in view of Green et al., US 2009/0113474, and further in view of Soinio, US 2005/0273833.
Regarding claim 22, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 21, as well as determining whether the currently-available content on the set of channels has the content type corresponding to the content category of the first group of channels comprises determining whether the content category of the currently-available content on the set of channels correspond to the content category of the first group of channels (Ellis; can determine common types for media channels with currently broadcast content; page 3, paragraph 42, and can then display the representations of channels associated with the particular common type/category; Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 14, paragraph 124, and corresponding to at least categories; page 5, paragraph 56).
Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose content on channels in a set of channels is tagged with content-category tags, and determining whether the content-category tags correspond to the content category.
In a related art, Soinio does disclose content on channels in a set of channels is tagged with content-category tags (metadata, i.e. tags, can related to genres, types, etc. of the channels and content; page 4, paragraph 34), and determining whether the content-category tags correspond to the content category (can perform determination(s) in relation to the metadata, i.e. tag, information and particular genre/category for channel(s); page 4, paragraph 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Soinio, by allowing grouping of channels/content, such as what is the already present in Ellis in view of Green, to be based on metadata/tag information associated with the channels/content, in order to provide an improved system and method for a highly customized broadcast services which does not require substantial infrastructure upgrade and investment (Soinio; page 1, paragraphs 5 and 6).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, US 2007/0157248 in view of Green et al., US 2009/0113474, and further in view of Thomas et al., US 8,850,490 and Barrett et al., US 2003/0196202.
Regarding claim 23, Ellis in view of Green discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 21, as well as while displaying the plurality of representations of the channels associated with the first group of channels (Ellis; display the representations of channels associated with the particular common type/category; Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 14, paragraph 124, and corresponding to at least categories; page 5, paragraph 56).
Ellis in view of Green does not explicitly disclose while displaying, determining that a content type of currently-available content on a first channel of a plurality of representations of channels no longer corresponds to a content category of a first group of channels, and in accordance with a determination that a first representation of the first channel is not a currently-selected representation in the plurality of representations of the channels, removing the first representation of the first channel from the plurality of representations of the channels; and
in accordance with a determination that the first representation of the first channel is the currently-selected representation in the plurality of representations of the channels, maintaining the first representation of the first channel in the plurality of representations of the channels.
In a related art, Thomas does disclose while displaying (can display channels having shared characteristic in that that they are subscribed; Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and 2470), determining that a content type of currently-available content on a first channel of a plurality of representations of channels no longer corresponds to a content category of a first group of channels (when channel is determined to be unsubscribed it no longer shares the subscribed characteristic; col. 12, line 62 – col. 13, line 6), and removing the first representation of the first channel from the plurality of representations of the channels (when channel is determined to be unsubscribed it can be removed from the interfaces/GUIs which show the subscribed channels as it no longer shares the subscribed characteristic; col. 32, lines 34-47, and col. 34, lines 61-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, and Thomas, by allowing adjustments on groupings of channels, such as the groupings already disclosed in Ellis in view of Green, in order to provide an improved system and method for a content platform which increases flexibility to users and expands the users' desire to quickly gain access to content of interest (Thomas; col. 1, lines 12-15 and 29-31).
Ellis in view of Green and Thomas does not explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that a first representation of a first channel is not a currently-selected representation in the plurality of representations of the channels performing an operation, and in accordance with a determination that the first representation of the first channel is the currently-selected representation in the plurality of representations of the channels, maintaining the first representation of the first channel in the plurality of representations of the channels.
In a related art, Barrett does disclose in accordance with a determination that a first representation of a first channel is not a currently-selected representation in the plurality of representations of the channels performing an operation, and in accordance with a determination that the first representation of the first channel is the currently-selected representation in the plurality of representations of the channels, maintaining the first representation of the first channel in the plurality of representations of the channels (system can determine if input has been received, i.e. such as moving off the current selection, or remaining on the current selection, and the EPG can then update only once input/movement is determined, i.e. the channel will remain if it is currently selected, but can be removed/updated once input is received; page 5, paragraphs 57-59, and Fig. 10A, elements 1004, 1006, and 1008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Ellis, Green, Thomas, and Barrett by allowing interface/guide updates to occur only at certain times, in order to provide an improved system and method for prioritizing the order in which information is displayed such that a viewer's selection and focus is always kept current (Barrett; page 1, paragraph 5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANDY A FLYNN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424