DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 14 in the reply filed on 1/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mayer et al. (2009/0018560 A1).
Regarding clam 1, Mayer discloses positioning a second member (2; Fig. 1B) with respect to a first member (1), by deforming ([0031], lines 13-19) a pin (3) to form an indentation (I); press-fitting ([0031], lines 1-12) the deformed pin (3) into a hole (20) in the first member (1). Note that pin (3) is pressed into the opening then deformed to form the indentation (I) then pressed beyond the initial indentation for a period of time. Mayer discloses abutting the second member (2) against the pin (3), wherein, when abutting the second member (2), a center position of a deformed area (DA) of the pin (3) is closer to the second member (2) than to a central axis of the pin (3).
[AltContent: textbox (DA)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (I)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Mayer discloses wherein the press-fitting corresponds to a direction in which the second member (2) is to abut the pin (3).
Regarding claim 3, Mayer discloses further comprising determining conditions () for deforming the pin (3).
Regarding claim 4, Mayer discloses wherein the determining ([0028]) is performed based on at least one of design information, and a shape of the pin.
Regarding claim 5, Mayer discloses wherein the conditions ([0031], lines 3-8) include at least one of a position of the pin while deforming, and a position of a tool utilized to deform the pin.
Regarding claim 6, Mayer discloses adjusting ([0031], lines 3-8) the conditions for deforming the pin, wherein the adjusting includes adjusting at least one of a position of the pin, a position of a tool utilized to deform the pin, and a setting of the tool.
Regarding claim 7, Mayer discloses wherein in the deforming and the press- fitting, the pin (3) is held in contact by a same holding unit (21).
Regarding claim 14, Mayer discloses processing a pin (3) configured to abut a second member (2), the pin (3) being configured to be press-fitted into a hole (20) provided in a first member (1) to position the second member (2) with respect to the first member (1), deforming ([0031], lines 13-19) the pin (3), wherein, when the second member (2) abuts the first member (1), a center position of a deformed area (DA) of the pin (3) is closer to the second member (2) than to a central axis of the pin (3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed on the attached PTO-892 are cited to show robot positioning devices for installing pins, and deforming operations.
/JERMIE E COZART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
February 18, 2026