DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on the last line of paragraph [0001], "its entirety" should be changed to --their entireties-- for purposes of proper grammatical form.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On the second line of claim 3, the word “further” should be deleted, the reason being that the step of providing an emergency data submission link in claim 1 has not been recited as comprising anything, and therefore it is improper in claim 3 to recite that this step “further” comprises anything.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valla, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0346820.
As to claim 1, Valla discloses
a computer implemented method for sharing emergency data communications (note that the system disclosed by Vallla inherently is performed by a computer and it is used for sharing emergency data communications sent from an emergency service organization to a plurality of individuals in possession of a plurality of respective communication devices, e.g., desktop or laptop computers, mobile devices, etc), comprising:
providing an emergency data submission link (see paragraph [0308] of Valla which indicates that the messages sent from the emergency service organization to the communication devices can include a hyperlink that links to a full message from the emergency service organization) regarding an emergency notification to a plurality of communication devices (the plurality of communication devices are the above-noted desktop or laptop computers, mobile devices, etc);
receiving, via the emergency data submission link, a plurality of emergency data submissions related to the emergency notification from the plurality of communication devices, wherein each emergency data submission comprises an emergency location (again note paragraph [0308] of Vallla which indicates that the individuals who receive the message from the emergency service organization can respond to the message from the emergency service organization by giving information regarding the individuals' safety status and his/her location);
receiving, via one or more sensor feeds, sensor data related to at least one of the plurality of emergency data submissions (note what is indicated in paragraphs [0272], [0307] and [0513] of Valla, i.e., the disclosure by Valla of using one or more sensors to send sensor data to the emergency service provider, wherein such sensor data is sent via one or more sensor feeds, and such sensor data is inherently related to one or more emergency data submissions); and
displaying the submitted emergency incidents within a graphical user interface GUI (note the discussion throughout Valla of displaying the submitted emergency incidents submitted from the above-noted individuals, i.e., paragraphs [0024], [0042] through [0044], [0047], [0062] and [0065] through [0074], and note further that the above-noted sensor data will be displayed on the graphical user interface of the emergency service provider, along with the emergency data submissions received from the individuals experiencing the emergency, where such a graphical user interface is inherently included as part of an emergency response application which is accessed by the emergency service provider).
As to claim 2, in Valla the emergency service organization will inherently determine, based on the submitted emergency incidents from the above-noted individuals, an affected area for the emergency notification, as will the step of displaying the affected area within the graphical user interface of the above-noted emergency response application accessed by the emergency service provider.
As to claim 3, in Valla the claimed step of providing the emergency data submission link will inherently include obtaining an alert corresponding to the emergency from one or more sources, and the claimed identifying device identifiers are disclosed at paragraph [0183] of Valla, i.e., the disclosed unique identifiers which respectively correspond to each of the plurality of communication devices, the communication devices inherently being located within an estimated geographic area associated with the emergency (and inherently the emergency data submission link will be provided to the plurality of communication devices using the device identifiers).
As to claim 4, the above-noted one or more sources will inherently be a wireless communications device, a telephone landline, a public service answering point, etc.
As to claim 5, note the discussion throughout Valla regarding verification of the submissions from the above-noted individuals, i.e., paragraphs [0010], [0016] through [0017], [0037], [0046], [0095], [0134], [0141], [0148], [0158] and [0218].
As to claim 6, the above-noted step of verifying the plurality of emergency data submissions received from the respective communication devices will inherently comprise receiving a confirmation of an emergency data submission.
As to claim 7, as noted above, in Valla the message with the link is sent to the communication devices via the email addresses of the individuals.
As to claim 8, as noted above, in Valla the above-noted individuals can respond to the messages received from the emergency service organization in order to share his/her location.
As to claim 10, as noted above, in Valla the above-noted submission link included in the email is a hyperlink.
As to claims 11-20, the limitations of these claims are rejected using the same analysis as set forth above with regard to claims 1-8 and 10 (note paragraph [0170] and also claim 9 of Valla where this reference discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium which inherently will have instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a computing device, will cause the computing device to perform the above-noted steps of providing the emergency datalink via email, as well as the receiving, verifying, displaying and determining steps set forth in these two claims, and note further that the claimed memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory will be inherent in the system of Valla).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valla, supra.
Although Valla does not disclose that the above-noted device identifier is obtained from a PSAP of the emergency service organization, a telephone service provider, a telephone device manufacture and/or a public safety agency, this limitation also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, the reason being that it was old and well-known in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's invention that a computer or other type of electronic communication device inherently includes such an identifier which can be obtained from a PSAP of the emergency service organization, a telephone service provider, a telephone device manufacture and/or a public safety agency, of which fact official notice is taken by the examiner.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 4-20 of co-pending Application No. 17/664,394 in view of Valla, supra. This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection. Applicant should note that all of the limitations of claims 1-20 of the present application are either anticipated by or would have been obvious from what is recited in the claims (as amended, in applicant's response filed on 01/16/25) in parent case 17/664,394.
As to independent claim 1 of the present application, note that the limitations recited on lines 1-7 are anticipated by what is recited on lines 1-7 of independent claim 1 of the '394 application, the limitations recited on lines 8-9 of claim 1 of the present application would have been obvious from the above-noted teaching by Valla in paragraphs [0272], [0307] and [0513], i.e., this reference teaches, as noted above, a computer implemented method for sharing emergency data communications including receiving, via one or more sensor feeds, sensor data related to emergency data submissions, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that claim 1 of the '394 application would benefit from being able to receive emergency data submissions from individuals experiencing an emergency where such emergency data submissions are the output of sensors such as those disclosed by Valla, and the limitations recited on lines 10-12 of claim 1 of the present application, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art who would have easily recognized that the above-noted emergency data submissions and sensor data should obviously be displayed on a graphical user interface of an emergency response application accessed by an emergency service provider, i.e., so that the emergency service provider would be able to quickly and easily see what the emergency is and where it is located.
As to claims 2-20 of the present application, note that all of the limitations of these claims are anticipated by what is recited in claims 2 and 4-20 (as presented in the applicant's response filed on 01/16/25) of the '394 patent. Specifically, the limitations of claim 2 of the present application are anticipated by what is recited in claim 2 of the ‘394 application, the limitations of claim 3 of the present application are anticipated by what is recited in claim 4 of the ‘394 application, the limitations of claim 4 of the present application are anticipated by what is recited in claim of the ‘394 application, the limitations of claim 5 of the present application are anticipated by what is recited on lines 8-9 of claim 1 of the ‘394 application, the limitations of claim 6 of the present application are anticipated by what is recited in claim 6 of the ‘394 application, the limitations of claim 7 of the present application are anticipated by what is recited in claim 7 of the ‘394 application, the limitations of claim 8 of the present application are anticipated by what is recited in claim 8 of the ‘394 application, the limitations of claim 9 of the present application are anticipated by what is recited in claim 9 of the ‘394 application, the limitations of claim 10 of the present application are anticipated by what is recited in claim 10 of the ‘394 application, and the limitations of claims 11-20 of the present application are anticipated by what is recited in claims 11-20 of the ‘394 application.
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Note also the several references cited on the attached PTO-892 form, each of which discloses, similar to Valla’s disclosure at paragraphs [0272], [0307] and [0513] of Valla (i.e., the disclosure by Valla of using one or more sensors to send sensor data to the emergency service provider, wherein such sensor data is sent via one or more sensor feeds, and such sensor data is inherently related to one or more emergency data submissions), receiving, via one or more sensor feeds, sensor data related to an emergency data submission. Specifically, note the abstract and paragraphs [0005], [0021], [0024] and [0030] of Martin et al '295, paragraphs [0007] through [0009] of Halse et al, paragraphs [0009], [0011] and [0013] of Pellegrini et al, paragraphs [0005] through [0007] of Martin et al '289, the abstract and paragraphs [0005], [0008] and [0010] of Katz et al, paragraphs [0007] through [0009] of Mehta et al '056, paragraphs [0005] through [0007] of Mehta et al '827, paragraphs [0008] through [0010] of Mehta et al '347 and the abstract and paragraphs [0003] through [0005] of Mehta et al '853.
Conclusion
/KENNETH B WELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842 June 12, 2026