Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/01/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A method at treating….” the word “at” should be amended to “for” or “of”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leuzzi et al (Neurol Neuroimmunol Neuroinflamm. 2015 Apr 9; hereinafter "Leuzzi;" See IDS 05/01/2025).
Regarding claims 1-3, and 8-11: Leuzzi explored the effects of a protracted treatment on neurologic outcome, in “a single-arm, open-label, 6-month extended phase 2 trial in which the enrolled patients received a monthly treatment of 50 mL of autologous erythrocytes loaded with 2 vials of 250 mg of dexamethasone phosphate (DSP) by EryDex (EryDel, Urbino, Italy) procedure.” Leuzzi disclosed that “[o]bservational studies have suggested that betamethasone may be effective in improving neurologic functions in patients with AT oral betamethasone (0.1 mg/kg),5 but corticosteroid side effects were quickly observed. To overcome these side effects and explore the effects of a more protracted treatment on neurologic outcome, we recently performed a single-arm, open-label, 6-month extended phase 2 trial in which the enrolled patients received a monthly treatment of 50 mL of autologous erythrocytes loaded with 2 vials of 250 mg of dexamethasone phosphate (DSP) by EryDex (EryDel, Urbino, Italy) procedure.” (See Leuzzi p. 1-2 2nd col.). Further Leuzzi taught that “[a]fter 6 infusions, patients experienced a clinical improvement of about 5 points on the International Cooperative Ataxia Rating Scale (ICARS)8 and a significant improvement in adaptive behavior, assessed by Vineland Adaptive Behavior Scales (VABS)” (See Leuzzi p.2, col. 2, 2nd para). Leuzzi tested EryDex in patients with mean age of 10.6 years (See Abstract), which falls within the claimed age range for claim 1. It is also noted that two tested patients were 8 years old, which falls within the claimed age range for claims 1 and 2. Table 1 noted ICARS change was -4 from baseline for one of the patients, -5 from base line in ICARS 7-30. Because reduction in ICARS represents improvement, the data demonstrates neurological improvement following EryDex treatment in patients who were 8 years old. As such, Leuzzi expressly taught treating AT patients within the claimed age ranges.
Leuzzi taught 250 mg DSP in 50 ml autologous erythrocytes and 9.4±0.8 mg/bg od DSP for 24 months. (See Abstract and p. 2, col.2 last para). As such Leuzzi taught administration of at least 5mg DSP.
As such every element of the claims is anticipated by Leuzzi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leuzzi et al (Neurol Neuroimmunol Neuroinflamm. 2015 Apr 9; hereinafter "Leuzzi;" See IDS 05/01/2025).
Regarding claims 4-7: The teachings of Leuzzi are set forth above. It is noted that Leuzzi did not teach the exact claimed doses of DSP loaded into erythrocytes. It is however, noted that Leuzzi taught that amount of DSP incorporated into erythrocytes is a parameter that can be optimized. In particular, Leuzzi taught that they optimized a DSP dose which was previously 6.7±6.9 to 9.4±0.8 mg/bag. A person of ordinary skill in the art following these teachings would have been motivated to select an appropriate dosing of DSP encapsulated within erythrocytes for administration including within the recited ranges in claims 4-7. The optimization is considered routine adjustment of a known loading parameter to obtain desired amount of DSP incorporated into erythrocyte preparation.
Claims 12-17 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leuzzi et al (Neurol Neuroimmunol Neuroinflamm. 2015 Apr 9; hereinafter "Leuzzi;" See IDS 05/01/2025) in view of Mambrini et al (WO2014181309A1; Published Nov 14, 2014; hereinafter “Mambrini;” See IDS 05/01/2025).
Regarding claims 12, 16: The teachings of Leuzzi are set forth above. It is noted that Leuzzi did not teach a method of making erythrocytes loaded with DSP as required by the claim. (See Mambrini claim 9). However, Mambrini taught a process of making Dexamethosone loaded erythrocytes using the claimed method. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed method using the erythrocyte loading method of Mambrini. Both references are directed to the same EryDex technology and the same therapeutic agent, DSP. Applying a known loading procedure to the DSP loaded erythrocytes of Leuzzi would have been the predictable use of a known technique to prepare the same type of therapeutic product. It is also noted that claim 3 of Mambrini taught that the second hypotonic solution brings the erythrocytes to an osmolality between 200 and 170 mOsm/Kg as required by claim 16.
Regarding claim 13-15, and 17-19: Example 1 of Mambrini taught that “The erythrocytes, separated from 50 mL of whole blood [as required by claims 18-19] by means of a centrifugal system of the "Latham Bowl" type spinning at 5600 rpm, are washed with 750 mL of saline solution at a washing speed of 225 mL/min and transferred into the transfer bag. [This reads on step (a) and (b)(i) of claim 13, step (a) of claim 14, step (a)-(b) of 15].
A quantity of 300 mL of a first hypotonic solution having an osmolality of 200 mOsm/kg is added to the transfer bag, which is then incubated on a stir plate at room temperature for 5 minutes. [This reads on step (b)(ii) of claim 13, step (b) of claim 14, step (c) of claim 15]. The first hypotonic solution is then removed by centrifugation (Bowl) until a volume of about 80 mL is reached.
The erythrocytes thus concentrated are transferred back into the transfer bag to which 64 mL of a second hypotonic solution with an osmolality of 180 mOsm/kg are then added. The bag is then incubated at room temperature on a plate under stirring for 5 minutes. [This reads on step (b)(iii) of claim 13, step (c) of claim 14, step (d) of claim 15 and claim 17].
After incubation, the erythrocytes are concentrated using a hemoconcentration filter and about 80 mL of ultrafiltrate is collected in the reservoir to which a slight negative pressure is applied by means of a vacuum pump. [This reads on step (b)(iv) of claim 13].
The erythrocytes thus concentrated are then retrieved and transferred to a transfer bag. The drug of interest, in this example dexamethasone sodium phosphate (25 mg/mL), was pre-mixed with approximately 1 1 mL of water for injectable solutions (the preparation has an osmolality of about 20 mOsm/kg) and added to the concentrated erythrocytes by injection in the transfer bag. [This reads on step (b)(v) of claim 13, step (d) of claim 14 and step (e) of claim 15].
The content of the transfer bag is then incubated at room temperature on a plate under stirring for 10 minutes. A quantity of 3 mL of a sealing solution (with an osmolality of 3800 mOsm/kg) is then added.” [This reads on step (b)(vi) of claim 13, step (e) of claim 14].
A skilled artisan would have had a reason to employ the particular Mambrini process because Mambrini expressly taught that the process was developed to improve the efficiency of erythrocyte loading and reported substantially improved encapsulation efficiency, while using substantially reduced amount of DSP solution. (See Mambrini p. 4, lines 10-15). The claimed process therefore represents the application of Mambrini’s disclosed erythrocyte loading technique to its expressly contemplated DSP-AT treatment rather than a patentably distinct process.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leuzzi et al (Neurol Neuroimmunol Neuroinflamm. 2015 Apr 9; hereinafter "Leuzzi;" See IDS 05/01/2025) in view of ATTeST-IEDAT-02-2015 Study (First posted June 20, 2018 ; hereinafter “ATTeST;” See PTO-892).
Regarding claim 20: The teachings of Leuzzi are set forth above. Leuzzi did not teach subjects having weight between 9-15kg as required by the claim. It is however, noted that ATTeST indicated that the subjects must have a body weight less than 15 kg. (See ATTeST, p. 11). As such it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the EryDex treatment taught by Leuzzi for lower weight pediatric patients with AT, particularly in view of teachings of ATTeST. Selecting an appropriate weight would have constituted a routine clinical adaptation of the known EryDex treatment rather than a change in the therapeutic mechanism or active agent. The claimed subject matter therefore represents a patient selection limitation that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10849858 in view of Leuzzi et al (Neurol Neuroimmunol Neuroinflamm. 2015 Apr 9; hereinafter "Leuzzi;" See IDS 05/01/2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons indicated below.
Regarding claims 1-3, and 8-11: Claim 4 of the reference application taught a method of loading erythrocytes using dexamethasone sodium phosphate for the treatment of ataxia telangiectasia. While the reference application did not teach or suggest a subject less than about 10 years of age, comprising administering to the subject at least 5 mg of dexamethasone sodium phosphate (DSP), as indicated above, this would have been obvious in view of teachings of Leuzzi as indicated above.
Regarding claims 4-7: As indicated above it is noted that Leuzzi did not teach the exact claimed doses of DSP loaded into erythrocytes. It is however, noted that Leuzzi taught that amount of DSP incorporated into erythrocytes is a parameter that can be optimized. For the reasons indicated above, a person of ordinary skill in the art following this teachings would have been motivated to select an appropriate dosing of DSP encapsulated within erythrocytes for administration including within the recited ranges in claims 4-7.
Regarding claim 12 and 16: Claim 4 of the reference application taught a method of loading erythrocytes using dexamethasone sodium phosphate, for the treatment of ataxia telangiectasia. While the reference application did not teach or suggest a subject less than about 10 years of age, comprising administering to the subject at least 5 mg of dexamethasone sodium phosphate (DSP), as indicated above, this would have been obvious in view of teachings of Leuzzi as indicated above.
Claims 13-15 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10849858 in view of Leuzzi et al (Neurol Neuroimmunol Neuroinflamm. 2015 Apr 9; hereinafter "Leuzzi;" See IDS 05/01/2025) and further in view of Mambrini et al (WO2014181309A1; Published Nov 14, 2014; hereinafter “Mambrini;” See IDS 05/01/2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons indicated below.
Regarding claims 13-15 and 17: The teachings of the reference application, Leuzzi and Mambrini are set forth above. A skilled artisan would have had a reason to employ the particular Mambrini process in view of Leuzzi and the reference application because Mambrini and the reference application expressly taught that the process was developed to improve the efficiency of erythrocyte loading and reported substantially improved encapsulation efficiency, while using substantially reduced amount of DSP solution. (See Mambrini p. 4, lines 10-15). The claimed process therefore represents the application of Mambrini’s disclosed erythrocyte loading technique to its expressly contemplated DSP-AT treatment rather than a patentably distinct process.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10849858 in view of Leuzzi et al (Neurol Neuroimmunol Neuroinflamm. 2015 Apr 9; hereinafter "Leuzzi;" See IDS 05/01/2025) in view of ATTeST-IEDAT-02-2015 Study (First posted June 20, 2018 ; hereinafter “ATTeST;” See PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons indicated below.
The teachings of the reference application, Leuzzi and Mambrini are set forth above. The reference application taught a method to treat AT using erythrocyte loaded DSP. As such it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the EryDex treatment taught by Leuzzi in view of the reference application for lower weight pediatric patients with AT, particularly in view of teachings of ATTeST. Selecting an appropriate weight would have constituted a routine clinical adaptation of the known EryDex treatment rather than a change in the therapeutic mechanism or active agent. The claimed subject matter therefore represents a patient selection limitation that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12311059 in view of Leuzzi et al (Neurol Neuroimmunol Neuroinflamm. 2015 Apr 9; hereinafter "Leuzzi;" See IDS 05/01/2025), Mambrini et al (WO2014181309A1; Published Nov 14, 2014; hereinafter “Mambrini;” See IDS 05/01/2025) and ATTeST-IEDAT-02-2015 Study (First posted June 20, 2018 ; hereinafter “ATTeST;” See PTO-892).
The same reasoning as indicated above, apply.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JAGAMYA NMN VIJAYARAGHAVAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/EVELYN Y PYLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633