DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,213,744. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and the patent are direction to a device and system including the particulars of at least one processor, a memory storing data and an imaging device. Additionally, the independent claims of the present application and the patent include mapping a work volume and one or more no-fly zones, calculating a void volume based on a position of at least one surgical instrument and dimensions of an object, updating the work volume to include the void volume to yield an updated work volume and calculate a path for a robotic arm. The independent claims of the patent include additional limitations including receiving an image of an incision and determining dimensions of the incision based on the image. Examiner’s position is an object within a work volume for the purposes of surgery is well-known to include an incision. Further, dependent claims 2 and 16 include determining dimensions of the object associated with the patient using an image and claim 15 discloses the object as being associated with the patient is an incision. Claim 3 of the present application corresponds to claim 2 of the patent. Claims 4 and 17 of the present application corresponds to claim 5 of the patent. Claim 5 of the present application corresponds with claim 6 of the patent. Claims 6 and 7 of the present application correspond to claims 7 and 8 of the patent. Claims 8 and 18 of the present application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent. Claims 9, 14 and 20 of the present application corresponds to claim 10 of the patent. Claim 10 of the present application corresponds to claim 11 of the patent. Claim 11 of the present application corresponds to claim 12 of the patent. Claim 15 of the present application corresponds to claim 16 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sexson et al (WO 2020/236937).
Regarding claim 1, Sexson et al disclose a device, comprising:
at least one processor (circuitry that may include a microprocessor – [0080]); and
a memory storing data that, when processed (program logic 1350 including code 1352 that may be loaded into or stored in the memory 1330…and executed by the microprocessor – [0080]), that causes the at least one processor to:
map a work volume and one or more no-fly zones, wherein the work volume defines a volume which a robot may access, and wherein each of the one or more no-fly zones defines at least one volume in which the robot is restricted from accessing (go-zones 216 and no-go zone 212 may be communicated to the robot 200 because the position and orientation of the zones was mapped – [0067]);
calculate a void volume based on a position of at least one surgical instrument and dimensions of an object (the incision and initial unoptimized boundary conditions may be, for example, displayed as a representation of a colored cylinder – [0064]; when a final go-to zone 1312 has been created, refined no-go-zone data 105 may be sent…the cut path may be updated or the positioning and movements of the surgical robot may be updated…the no go-zones 216 and no-go-zone 212 may be communicated to the robot because the position and orientation of the zones was mapped using the known positions of the end effector 202 and the cutting tool 203 – [0067]; figs.7-9; wherein defining a default no-go-zone includes identifying a retractor within a field of view camera – [0091]);
update the work volume to include the void volume to yield an updated work volume (colored cylinder 1216 and no-go-zone 1212 – fig.6; [0057]; [0064]); and
calculate a path for a robotic arm of the robot to travel from outside a patient anatomy to within the patient anatomy, the path being within the updated work volume and that avoids the one or more no-fly zones (while steps are performed prior to entering the surgical theater, the described methods may be used during surgery and the cutting path may be adjusted to accommodate changes which may arise during surgery – [0068]; steps 730 and 740 – fig.15).
Regarding claim 2, Sexson et al disclose wherein the memory includes data that, when processed, causes the at least one processor to: process an image of the object to determine the dimensions (bone model may be provided via, for example, a computerized tomography scan segmentation – [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Sexson et al disclose wherein the position of the at least one surgical instrument is received from a navigation system (the secondary camera 690 may be operable to track one or more retractors 680 – [0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Sexson et al disclose wherein the memory includes data that, when processed, causes the at least one processor to: receive information about a surgical operating room (secondary camera for observing a surgical site of the patient – [0008]);
identify one or more obstacles in the surgical room based on the information (the secondary camera may be operable to track one or more retractors – [0074]); and
define the one or more no-fly zones based on the one or more obstacles (defining a default no-go-zone includes identifying a retractor within a field of view of the camera – [0091]).
Regarding claim 5, Sexson et al disclose wherein defining the one or more no-fly zones comprises determining an outer boundary of one or more objects (default boundary of the no-go-zone – [0064]; create a default boundary constraint; modifying the default boundary constraint inter-operatively – [0090]).
Regarding claim 8, Sexson et al disclose wherein the memory includes data that, when processed, causes the at least one processor to: receive updated information about an updated position of the at least one surgical instrument; calculate an updated void volume based on the updated position of the at least one surgical instrument; and update the updated work volume based on the updated void volume ([0071];[0072]; defining a default no-go-zone includes identifying a retractor within a field of view of the camera and is continuously performed and added to a new no-go-zone – [0091]).
Regarding claim 9, Sexson et al disclose wherein the memory includes data that, when processed, causes the at least one processor to: control the robotic arm to move along the path (once the cut mode is initiated by an appropriate control button…the surgical robot may then be used to perform a surgical cut as defined by robot commands – [0070]).
Regarding claim 10, Sexson et al further comprising: determining a cut angle to a target anatomical element based on the one or more no-fly zones, wherein calculating the path is further based on the determined cut angle (updates to static path may include…determine a more suitable angle and an updated orientation for cutting tool 203 – [0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Sexson et al disclose wherein the one or more no-fly zones include a zone where the at least one surgical instrument is located (wherein defining a default no-go-zone includes identifying a retractor within a field of view camera – [0091]).
Regarding claim 12, Sexson et al disclose wherein the object comprises an incision (creating an incision to access a first bone – [0092]).
Regarding claims 13 and 19, Sexson et al disclose a device and system, comprising:
an imaging device configured to capture images of a surgical environment (secondary camera having for observing a surgical site of the patient – [0008]);
at least one processor (circuitry that may include a microprocessor – [0080]); and
a memory storing data that, when processed (program logic 1350 including code 1352 that may be loaded into or stored in the memory 1330…and executed by the microprocessor – [0080]), that causes the at least one processor to:
map a work volume and one or more no-fly zones, wherein the work volume defines a volume which a robot may access, and wherein each of the one or more no-fly zones defines at least one volume in which the robot is restricted from accessing (go-zones 216 and no-go zone 212 may be communicated to the robot 200 because the position and orientation of the zones was mapped – [0067]);
calculate a void volume based on a position of at least one surgical instrument and dimensions of an object associated with a patient (the incision and initial unoptimized boundary conditions may be, for example, displayed as a representation of a colored cylinder – [0064]; when a final go-to zone 1312 has been created, refined no-go-zone data 105 may be sent…the cut path may be updated or the positioning and movements of the surgical robot may be updated…the no go-zones 216 and no-go-zone 212 may be communicated to the robot because the position and orientation of the zones was mapped using the known positions of the end effector 202 and the cutting tool 203 – [0067]; figs.7-9; wherein defining a default no-go-zone includes identifying a retractor within a field of view camera – [0091]), wherein the position of the at least one surgical instrument and the dimensions of the object associated with the patient are determined from the one or more images (bone model may be provided via, for example, a computerized tomography scan segmentation – [0059]; fig.1);
update the work volume to include the void volume to yield an updated work volume (colored cylinder 1216 and no-go-zone 1212 – fig.6; [0057]; [0064]); and
calculate a path for a robotic arm of the robot to travel from outside a patient to within the patient, the path being within the updated work volume and that avoids the one or more no-fly zones (while steps are performed prior to entering the surgical theater, the described methods may be used during surgery and the cutting path may be adjusted to accommodate changes which may arise during surgery – [0068]; steps 730 and 740 – fig.15).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Sexson et al disclose wherein the memory includes data that, when processed, causes the at least one processor to: control the robotic arm to move along the path (once the cut mode is initiated by an appropriate control button…the surgical robot may then be used to perform a surgical cut as defined by robot commands – [0070]).
Regarding claim 15, Sexson et al disclose wherein the object associated with the patient is an incision (creating an incision to access a first bone – [0092]).
Regarding claim 16, Sexson et al disclose wherein the memory includes data that, when processed, causes the at least one processor to: process the one or more images an image of the object to determine the dimensions (bone model may be provided via, for example, a computerized tomography scan segmentation – [0059]; fig.1).
Regarding claim 17, Sexson et al disclose wherein the memory includes data that, when processed, causes the at least one processor to: receive information about a surgical operating room (secondary camera for observing a surgical site of the patient – [0008]);
identify one or more obstacles in the surgical room based on the information (the secondary camera may be operable to track one or more retractors – [0074]); and
define the one or more no-fly zones based on the one or more obstacles (defining a default no-go-zone includes identifying a retractor within a field of view of the camera – [0091]).
Regarding claim 18, Sexson et al disclose wherein the memory includes data that, when processed, causes the at least one processor to: receive updated information about an updated position of the at least one surgical instrument; calculate an updated void volume based on the updated position of the at least one surgical instrument; and update the updated work volume based on the updated void volume ([0071];[0072]; defining a default no-go-zone includes identifying a retractor within a field of view of the camera and is continuously performed and added to a new no-go-zone – [0091]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sexson et al (WO 2020/236937) in view of Roh et al (2019/0262084).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Sexson et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed, but fail to explicitly disclose wherein calculating the path is further based on one or more parameters, and wherein each parameter of the one or more parameters has an assigned weight and wherein the weight is assigned by artificial intelligence using one or more data models.
However, Roh et al teach in the same medical field of endeavor, wherein calculating a path is further based on one or more parameters (identifying a type of tissue…at least in part, on a neural network model…in response to determining…causing the robotic surgical apparatus to perform a first surgical action – claim 1), and wherein each parameter of the one or more parameters has an assigned weight, wherein the weight is assigned by artificial intelligence using one or more data models (the model is initially on a training dataset which is a set of examples used to fit the parameters (e.g., weights of connections between “neurons” in artificial neural networks) of the model – [0050];[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the boundary definition training ([0062]) of Sexson et al with assigning weight to a parameter of Roh et al as it would provide the use of known computer technology to streamline and enhance the automated surgical procedure.
Conclusion
/ROCHELLE D TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797