DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 January 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0253535 by Newman et al. (Newman hereinafter) in view of US 2013/0307586 by O’Connell et al. (O’Connell hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Newman discloses a method to control an electric load device [see at least Figure 4, (408)], comprising: maintaining, by electric load control circuitry [see at least Figure 4, (414)], a controllably conductive device [see at least Figure 4, (410)] in a non-conductive state [see at least paragraph 0057]; wherein the controllably conductive device reversibly transitions between a conductive state and the non-conductive state [see at least paragraphs 0026 and 0041], the controllably conductive device electrically coupled between a first terminal [see at least Figure 4, (402)] and a second terminal [see at least Figure 4, (406)] causing, by the electric load control circuitry, a first zero-cross detect circuit [see at least Figure 4, (420)]; receiving, by the electric load control circuitry, from the first zero-cross detect circuit an input signal indicative of a presence or an absence of an AC voltage [see at least paragraph 0053]; and responsive to the receipt, from the first zero-cross detect circuit, of the input signal indicative of the presence of the AC voltage at the first zero-cross detect circuit: causing, by the electric load control circuitry, the first controllable switch to remain in the conductive state [see at least paragraph 0050]; and receiving, by the electric load control circuitry, an AC source voltage zero crossing input signal from the first zero-cross detect circuit [see at least paragraph 0053].
Newman fails to explicitly disclose the zero-cross detect circuit. However, O’Connell discloses a zero-cross detect circuit with reversible switches [see at least Figure 4, (90), (92) or (82)] connected to ground [see at least Figure 4, (62)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a zero-cross detect circuit with the above configuration as it is a known circuit structure. Thus, allowing for using a produced and available part.
Regarding claim 11, Newman discloses a non-transitory, machine readable, storage device [see at least paragraph 0041] that includes instructions that, when executed by electric load control circuitry [see at least Figure 4, (400)], causes the electric load control circuitry to: maintain a controllably conductive device [see at least Figure 4, (410)] in a non-conductive state [see at least paragraph 0057]; wherein the controllably conductive device reversibly transitions between a conductive state and the non-conductive state [see at least paragraphs 0026 and 0041], the controllably conductive device electrically coupled between a first terminal [see at least Figure 4, (402)] and a second terminal [see at least Figure 4, (406)] a first zero-cross detect circuit [see at least Figure 4, (420)]; receive from the first zero-cross detect circuit an input signal indicative of a presence or an absence of an AC voltage [see at least paragraph 0053]; and responsive to the receipt, from the first zero-cross detect circuit, of the input signal indicative of the presence of the AC voltage at the first zero-cross detect circuit: remain in the conductive state [see at least paragraph 0050]; and receive an AC source voltage zero crossing input signal from the first zero- cross detect circuit [see at least paragraph 0053].
Newman fails to explicitly disclose the zero-cross detect circuit. However, O’Connell discloses a zero-cross detect circuit with reversible switches [see at least Figure 4, (90), (92) or (82)] connected to ground [see at least Figure 4, (62)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a zero-cross detect circuit with the above configuration as it is a known circuit structure. Thus, allowing for using a produced and available part.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0253535 by Newman et al. (Newman hereinafter) in view of US 2013/0307586 by O’Connell et al. (O’Connell hereinafter) in further view of US 2007/0188025 by Keagy et al. (Keagy hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Newman discloses a two-wire electric load control device [see at least Figure 4, (400)], comprising: a controllably conductive device [see at least Figure 4, (410)] reversibly transitionable between a conductive state and a non-conductive state [see at least paragraphs 0026 and 0041], the controllably conductive device electrically coupled between a first terminal [see at least Figure 4, (402)] and a second terminal [see at least Figure 4, (406)]; a first detect circuit [see at least Figure 4, (420)]; control circuitry operatively coupled to the controllably conductive device [see at least Figure 4, (414)], the first detect circuit, the control circuitry to: maintain the controllably conductive device in the non-conductive state [see at least Figure 4, (410)]; receive, from the first detect circuit an input signal indicative of a presence or an absence of an AC voltage [see at least paragraph 0053]; and responsive to the receipt, from the first detect circuit, of an input signal indicative of the presence of the AC voltage at the first detect circuit: remain in the conductive state [see at least paragraph 0050]; and receive, from the first detect circuit, an AC source voltage zero crossing input signal [see at least paragraph 0053].
Newman fails to explicitly disclose the zero-cross detect circuit. However, O’Connell discloses a zero-cross detect circuit with reversible switches [see at least Figure 4, (90), (92) or (82)] connected to ground [see at least Figure 4, (62)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a zero-cross detect circuit with the above configuration as it is a known circuit structure. Thus, allowing for using a produced and available part.
Newman in view of O’Connell fails to teach a second detect circuit. However, Keagy discloses further detect circuits [see at least Figure 6A, (636) or (638)] after a zero-crossing detector [see at least Figure 6A, (526)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to include a second detect circuit in order to further control aspects of the circuit. Thus, allowing for more refinement in dimming of a light and allowing for better control.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-10 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 2, 7 and 12 contain the limitation of a second zero-cross detection circuit with the first zero-cross detection circuit being on the input side of the controllably conductive device and the second zero-cross detection circuit being on the output side of the controllably conductive device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chau et al. (US 2015/0295505) discloses an AC load detection circuit.
Salvestrini (US 2014/0239842) discloses a load control device with a similar construction.
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836