DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, regarding the double patent rejection, filed 05/28/2026, has been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejection of the claims has been withdrawn in light of the newly amended claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant argues A) the combination of references do not disclose the limitations of the claims as currently recited.
Regarding applicant’s argument A, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
At the onset, applicant is reminded to view the references as a whole. The claims as currently recited, merely recite selection of an intra prediction mode from a plurality of angles and directional options. The selection of the appropriate mode is either corresponding to a first mode (2-66) or a mode greater than 66.
Zhou explicitly discloses reference samples along a prediction direction used in the coding process. Furthermore, Zhou explicitly discloses extended intra prediction directions including the introduction of a 67th intra prediction mode. The respective modes, filters, angles and directions are utilized throughout the complete coding process.
Additionally, further clarification to the claim language is required. The claim as currently recited, discloses a selecting step, and two determination steps. There is no action in response to the selecting and determination steps. Clarification regarding the utilization and action based on the determined and selected data is required. Absent any action, a selection or determination alone would only be abstract at best. Claim 20 as currently recited discloses a CRM that comprises a bitstream that merely includes information. Further clarification regarding the structure and implementation of the function by the CRM is required.
Hence the limitations of the claim as currently recited are disclosed by the combination of references. Therefore, the rejections of the claims as currently recited is maintained. Please see office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US20180091825) (hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 claims a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III).
The CRM including the claimed bitstream in claim 20 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore, the bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Wang which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream.
Zhao discloses, a bitstream including information (Fig. 1, 0037-0041; CRM with memory and processor including bitstream).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US20180091825) (hereinafter Zhao) in view of Budagavi (US20120147955) (hereinafter Budagavi).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a method for intra-predicting a prediction block of a video image, the method comprising:
selecting a directional intra-prediction mode from a set of directional intra-prediction modes, wherein the set of directional intra-prediction modes includes directional intra-prediction modes and extended directional intra-prediction modes, the directional intra-prediction modes are within a first angle corresponding to an intra-prediction mode value between 2 and 66, the extended directional intra-prediction modes are within a second angle different from the first angle, and the second angle corresponds to intra-prediction mode value greater than 66 [Figs. 2-9, TBL1, 0031-0034, 0048-0051, 0072-0086; dynamic selection of intra prediction modes based on a variety of parameters and thresholds including angle and direction].
determining, for a prediction sample of the prediction block of the video image, a reference sample from a set of reference samples based on the directional intra-prediction mode [Figs. 2-9, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Zhao discloses the limitations of the claim. Although, Zhao discloses determination of filter types based on a plurality of parameters, Zhao does not explicitly disclose determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode.
Budagavi more explicitly discloses determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode [ABS, 0009-0011, 0023-0028, 0039-0045; adaptive determination of application of filters based on intra prediction mode].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Budagavi as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such improved prediction may be obtained by smoothing the values of the reference pixels (see Budagavi 0008).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses determining an intra-prediction angle corresponding to the directional intra-prediction mode; and selecting a filter based on the determined intra-prediction angle [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based in filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses selecting a filter from a set of filters based on a distance between the determined reference sample and a further reference sample of the prediction block of the video image [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses wherein: determining whether to apply the filter to the determined reference sample comprises determining a filter length based on the directional intra-prediction mode; and the method further comprises when the filter length is 1, determining not to apply the filter to the determined reference sample; or when the filter length is 3 or 5, determining to apply the filter to the determined reference sample [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses further comprising: selecting a filter from a set of filters based on the directional intra-prediction mode [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses wherein the set of filters includes filters with different filter lengths that span 1, 3 or 5 adjacent reference samples [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses wherein each filter of the set of filters performs a different smoothing over the determined reference sample and one or more adjacent reference samples [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses selecting a same filter for each directional intra-prediction mode from a first subset of the set of directional intra-prediction modes; and selecting a different filter for each directional intra-prediction mode from a second subset of the set of directional intra-prediction modes [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses wherein the second angle is less than 45° [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses a device for intra-predicting a prediction block of a video image, the device comprising:
at least one processor [Fig. 1, 0037-0041; CRM with memory and processor].
a memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the device to [Fig. 1, 0037-0041; CRM with memory and processor].
select a directional intra-prediction mode from a set of directional intra-prediction modes, wherein the set of directional intra-prediction modes includes directional intra-prediction modes and extended directional intra-prediction modes, the directional intra-prediction modes are within a first angle corresponding to an intra-prediction mode value between 2 and 66, the extended directional intra-prediction modes are within a second angle different from the main angle and the second angle corresponds to an intra-prediction mode value greater than 66 [Figs. 2-9, TBL1, 0031-0034, 0048-0051, 0072-0086; dynamic selection of intra prediction modes based on a variety of parameters and thresholds including angle and direction].
determine, for a prediction sample of the prediction block of the video image, a reference sample from a set of reference samples based on the directional intra-prediction mode[Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based in filter type, angle and direction].
Zhao discloses the limitations of the claim. Although, Zhao discloses determination of filter types based on a plurality of parameters, Zhao does not explicitly disclose determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode.
Budagavi more explicitly discloses determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode [ABS, 0009-0011, 0023-0028, 0039-0045; adaptive determination of application of filters based on intra prediction mode].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Budagavi as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such improved prediction may be obtained by smoothing the values of the reference pixels (see Budagavi 0008).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao discloses wherein the programming instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device to: determine an intra-prediction angle corresponding to the directional intra-prediction mode and select a filter based on the determined intra-prediction angle [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based in filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 13, Zhao discloses select a filter from a set of filters based on a distance between the determined reference sample and a further reference sample of the prediction block of the video image [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 14, Zhao discloses wherein: to determine whether to apply the filter to the determined reference sample, the programming instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the device to: determine a filter length based on the directional intra-prediction mode; and the programming instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device to: when the filter length is 1, determine not to apply the filter to the determined reference sample; or when the filter length is 3 or 5, determine to apply the filter to the determined reference sample [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 15, Zhao discloses select a filter from a set of filters based on the directional intra-prediction mode [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 16, Zhao discloses wherein the set of filters includes filters with different filter lengths that span 1, 3 or 5 adjacent reference samples [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 17, Zhao discloses wherein each filter of the set of filters performs a different smoothing over the determined reference sample and one or more adjacent reference samples [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 18, Zhao discloses wherein the programming instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device to: select a same filter for each directional intra-prediction mode from a first subset of the set of directional intra-prediction modes; and select a different filter for each directional intra-prediction mode from a second subset of the set of directional intra-prediction modes [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 19, Zhao discloses wherein the angle is less than 45° [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 20, Zhao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising [Fig. 1, 0037-0041; CRM with memory and processor].
a bitstream including information indicating a directional intra-prediction mode of a block, wherein the directional intra-prediction mode of the block is determined from a set of directional intra-prediction modes, each directional intra-prediction mode of the set of directional intra- prediction modes corresponds to a different intra-prediction angle, and wherein the set of directional intra-prediction modes includes directional intra-prediction modes and extended directional intra-prediction modes, the directional intra-prediction modes are within a first angle corresponding to an intra-prediction mode value between 2 and 66 [Figs. 2-7, TBL1, 0031-0034, 0045-0051, 0072-0086; dynamic selection of intra prediction modes based on a variety of parameters and thresholds including angle and direction].
the extended directional intra-prediction modes are within a complementary angle different from the first angle corresponding to an intra prediction mode value greater than 66 [Figs. 2-9, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based in filter type, angle and direction].
Zhao discloses the limitations of the claim. Although, Zhao discloses determination of filter types based on a plurality of parameters, Zhao does not explicitly disclose determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode.
Budagavi more explicitly discloses determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode [ABS, 0009-0011, 0023-0028, 0039-0045; adaptive determination of application of filters based on intra prediction mode].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Budagavi as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such improved prediction may be obtained by smoothing the values of the reference pixels (see Budagavi 0008).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims including the resolution of any and all 35 USC 101 and 35 USC 112 matters.
The prior arts of record individually nor in combination do not explicitly disclose wherein when a filter length of the different filter lengths is 1, a coefficient for the selected filter is [1] or when the filter length of the different filter lengths is 3, coefficients for the selected filter is [1, 2, 1], when taken in the environment of the independent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483