DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the claims as currently recited refer to “a main angle”. Clarification is required to ascertain how ”a main angle” is determined or of any initial angle qualifies as “a main angle”.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Double Patenting
Instant Application (19/025767)
US12244795
Claim 1: a method for intra-predicting a prediction block of a video image, the method comprising: selecting a directional intra-prediction mode from a set of directional intra-prediction modes, wherein the set of directional intra-prediction modes includes directional intra-prediction modes and extended directional intra-prediction modes, the directional intra-prediction modes are within a main angle, and the extended directional intra-prediction modes are within a complementary angle different from the main angle; determining, for a prediction sample of the prediction block of the video image, a reference sample from a set of reference samples based on the directional intra-prediction mode; and determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode.
Claim 1: A method for intra-predicting a non-square prediction block of a video image, the method comprising: determining a directional intra-prediction mode from a set of directional intra-prediction modes, wherein each directional intra-prediction mode corresponds to a different intra-prediction angle, and the set of directional intra-prediction modes consists of extended directional intra-prediction modes only applied to non-square blocks; determining, for a prediction sample of the non-square prediction block, a reference sample from a set of reference samples based on the directional intra-prediction mode; determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode; and outputting a bitstream to indicate the directional intra-prediction mode.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12244795. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because to apply a determined filter to square and non-square blocks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US20180091825) (hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 claims a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III).
The CRM including the claimed bitstream in claim 20 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore, the bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Wang which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream.
Zhao discloses, a bitstream including information (Fig. 1, 0037-0041; CRM with memory and processor including bitstream).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US20180091825) (hereinafter Zhao) in view of Budagavi (US20120147955) (hereinafter Budagavi).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a method for intra-predicting a prediction block of a video image, the method comprising:
selecting a directional intra-prediction mode from a set of directional intra-prediction modes, wherein the set of directional intra-prediction modes includes directional intra-prediction modes and extended directional intra-prediction modes, the directional intra-prediction modes are within a main angle, and the extended directional intra-prediction modes are within a complementary angle different from the main angle [Figs. 2-7, TBL1, 0031-0034, 0048-0051, 0072-0086; dynamic selection of intra prediction modes based on a variety of parameters and thresholds including angle and direction].
determining, for a prediction sample of the prediction block of the video image, a reference sample from a set of reference samples based on the directional intra-prediction mode [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Zhao discloses the limitations of the claim. Although, Zhao discloses determination of filter types based on a plurality of parameters, Zhao does not explicitly disclose determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode.
Budagavi more explicitly discloses determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode [ABS, 0009-0011, 0023-0028, 0039-0045; adaptive determination of application of filters based on intra prediction mode].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Budagavi as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such improved prediction may be obtained by smoothing the values of the reference pixels (see Budagavi 0008).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses determining an intra-prediction angle corresponding to the directional intra-prediction mode; and selecting a filter based on the determined intra-prediction angle [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based in filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses selecting a filter from a set of filters based on a distance between the determined reference sample and a further reference sample of the prediction block of the video image [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses wherein: determining whether to apply the filter to the determined reference sample comprises determining a filter length based on the directional intra-prediction mode; and the method further comprises when the filter length is 1, determining not to apply the filter to the determined reference sample; or when the filter length is 3 or 5, determining to apply the filter to the determined reference sample [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses further comprising: selecting a filter from a set of filters based on the directional intra-prediction mode [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses wherein the set of filters includes filters with different filter lengths that span 1, 3 or 5 adjacent reference samples [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses wherein each filter of the set of filters performs a different smoothing over the determined reference sample and one or more adjacent reference samples [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses selecting a same filter for each directional intra-prediction mode from a first subset of the set of directional intra-prediction modes; and selecting a different filter for each directional intra-prediction mode from a second subset of the set of directional intra-prediction modes [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses wherein the complementary angle is less than 45° [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses a device for intra-predicting a prediction block of a video image, the device comprising:
at least one processor [Fig. 1, 0037-0041; CRM with memory and processor].
a memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the device to [Fig. 1, 0037-0041; CRM with memory and processor].
select a directional intra-prediction mode from a set of directional intra-prediction modes, wherein the set of directional intra-prediction modes includes directional intra-prediction modes and extended directional intra-prediction modes, the directional intra-prediction modes are withina main angle, and the extended directional intra-prediction modes are within a complementary angle different from the main angle [Figs. 2-7, TBL1, 0031-0034, 0048-0051, 0072-0086; dynamic selection of intra prediction modes based on a variety of parameters and thresholds including angle and direction].
determine, for a prediction sample of the prediction block of the video image, a reference sample from a set of reference samples based on the directional intra-prediction mode[Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based in filter type, angle and direction].
Zhao discloses the limitations of the claim. Although, Zhao discloses determination of filter types based on a plurality of parameters, Zhao does not explicitly disclose determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode.
Budagavi more explicitly discloses determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode [ABS, 0009-0011, 0023-0028, 0039-0045; adaptive determination of application of filters based on intra prediction mode].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Budagavi as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such improved prediction may be obtained by smoothing the values of the reference pixels (see Budagavi 0008).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao discloses wherein the programming instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device to: determine an intra-prediction angle corresponding to the directional intra-prediction mode and select a filter based on the determined intra-prediction angle [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based in filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 13, Zhao discloses select a filter from a set of filters based on a distance between the determined reference sample and a further reference sample of the prediction block of the video image [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 14, Zhao discloses wherein: to determine whether to apply the filter to the determined reference sample, the programming instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the device to: determine a filter length based on the directional intra-prediction mode; and the programming instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device to: when the filter length is 1, determine not to apply the filter to the determined reference sample; or when the filter length is 3 or 5, determine to apply the filter to the determined reference sample [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 15, Zhao discloses select a filter from a set of filters based on the directional intra-prediction mode [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 16, Zhao discloses wherein the set of filters includes filters with different filter lengths that span 1, 3 or 5 adjacent reference samples [0049-0057, 0086-0091, 0127-0133; determining filter type and length based on a variety of parameters].
Regarding claim 17, Zhao discloses wherein each filter of the set of filters performs a different smoothing over the determined reference sample and one or more adjacent reference samples [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 18, Zhao discloses wherein the programming instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device to: select a same filter for each directional intra-prediction mode from a first subset of the set of directional intra-prediction modes; and select a different filter for each directional intra-prediction mode from a second subset of the set of directional intra-prediction modes [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 19, Zhao discloses wherein the complementary angle is less than 45° [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based on filter type, angle and direction].
Regarding claim 20, Zhao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising [Fig. 1, 0037-0041; CRM with memory and processor].
a bitstream including information indicating a directional intra-prediction mode of a block, wherein the directional intra-prediction mode of the block is determined from a set of directional intra-prediction modes, each directional intra-prediction mode of the set of directional intra- prediction modes corresponds to a different intra-prediction angle, and wherein the set of directional intra-prediction modes includes directional intra-prediction modes and extended directional intra-prediction modes, the directional intra-prediction modes are within a main angle [Figs. 2-7, TBL1, 0031-0034, 0045-0051, 0072-0086; dynamic selection of intra prediction modes based on a variety of parameters and thresholds including angle and direction].
the extended directional intra-prediction modes are within a complementary angle different from the main angle [Figs. 2-7, 0108-0113, 0118-0122, 0130-0139, 0145-0152, 0161-0171; deriving extended reference samples based in filter type, angle and direction].
Zhao discloses the limitations of the claim. Although, Zhao discloses determination of filter types based on a plurality of parameters, Zhao does not explicitly disclose determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode.
Budagavi more explicitly discloses determining whether to apply a filter to the determined reference sample based on the directional intra-prediction mode [ABS, 0009-0011, 0023-0028, 0039-0045; adaptive determination of application of filters based on intra prediction mode].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Budagavi as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such improved prediction may be obtained by smoothing the values of the reference pixels (see Budagavi 0008).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims including the resolution of any and all 35 USC 101 and 35 USC 112 matters.
The prior arts of record individually nor in combination do not explicitly disclose wherein when a filter length of the different filter lengths is 1, a coefficient for the selected filter is [1] or when the filter length of the different filter lengths is 3, coefficients for the selected filter is [1, 2, 1], when taken in the environment of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483