DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a reading part” and “an operation part” in claim 1.
The specification defines a reading part as scanner 207 and an operation part as display 205. Both parts are controller by CPU 201 and therefore have sufficient structure. Thus, no rejection under 35 USC 112(b) is deemed necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tokita (US 2023/0344950).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 7, Tokita discloses a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing a program to cause a computer to execute a method for controlling an image processing apparatus, a method for controlling an image processing apparatus, and an image processing apparatus, comprising:
a reading part configured to read an image of a document and generate image data (see Fig. 2, scanner 222 and paras 28-29);
an operation part configured to receive a prompt for causing generative Al to execute image analysis for extracting a predetermined character string from the image data (see Fig. 2, operation unit 220, and paras 28-29 and 68-74, based on a set folder distribution rule automatic text string extraction is performed by a trained AI model to extract a predetermined character string and create a folder for storage based on the extracted information, reference states the MFP 110 can play the role of client PC 111); and
at least one memory (RAM 213 and HDD 214) and at least one processor (CPU 211) which function as:
a transmission unit configured to transmit the image data and the prompt to the generative AI (see Fig. 2 and paras 28, 31, and 71, network I/F 219);
an acquisition unit configured to acquire the character string extracted through the image analysis performed by the generative AI (see Figs 7 and 16 and paras 43, 46-47, 56, 65-66, and 68-74, based on a set folder distribution rule automatic text string extraction is performed by a trained AI model to extract a predetermined character string and create a folder for storage based on the extracted information, reference states the MFP 110 can play the role of client PC 111); and
a control unit configured to perform control to store the image data in a folder indicated by a folder path including the character string that has been acquired (see Figs. 4, 7, and 16 and paras 68-74, based on a set folder distribution rule automatic text string extraction is performed by a trained AI model to extract a predetermined character string and create a folder for storage based on the extracted information, reference states the MFP 110 can play the role of client PC 111).
Regarding claim 2, Tokita further discloses wherein a job execution button for executing a job of reading an image of a document, generating image data, and storing the image data in the folder indicated by the folder path is registered, and the prompt is registered in association with the job execution button (see paras 36-37, 68, and 71, a user can press a start button that initiates the scanning process and based on a set folder distribution rule defined by the user in advance, automatic text string extraction is performed by a trained AI model to extract a predetermined character string and create a folder for storage based on the extracted information, reference states the MFP 110 can play the role of client PC 111).
Regarding claim 3, Tokita further discloses wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further function as:
a display unit configured to display the folder path (see Fig. 16 and para 66), and
a selection unit configured to allow a user to select whether to store the image data in the folder indicated by the folder path (see Fig. 16 and para 83, a user confirms the folder path by selecting the transmit button 1612).
Regarding claim 4, Tokita further discloses wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further function as an editing unit configured to cause a user to edit the folder path (see paras 66 and 83, a user can edit values and extraction tokens used to determine the folder path).
Regarding claim 5, Tokita further discloses wherein when the user selects not to store the image data in the folder indicated by the folder path, the transmission unit transmits the image data and another prompt in which supplementary information is added to the prompt to the generative AI (see Fig. 16 and paras 43, 46-47, 66, 68, 71, and 83, if the user selects the back button, the user can then edit a folder distribution rule that would change the information used by the trained AI model to extract character string data and create a folder path).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. To further show the state of the art please refer to the attached Notice of References Cited.
/MARK R MILIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681