DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Application #19/025,797 filed on 16 January 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 12, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2009/0071053 to Thomele et al (Thomele ‘053).
Regarding Claims 2-3, 16, Thomele ’053 discloses a modular handgun system comprising:
an elongated universal trigger frame (fig.7, B) having a pair of slide rails (64/68) said trigger frame adapted to have a trigger assembly mounted thereto (fig.4);
a grip frame having an elongated channel (fig.5), a hand grip extending downwardly from said elongated channel (228), and a trigger guard extending between said elongated channel and said hand grip (232), said trigger frame removably mounted in said elongated channel of said grip frame (see Abstract and at least fig.7);
said trigger frame adapted to be used with a plurality of grip frames and with a plurality of slide and barrel assemblies, the plurality of grip frames comprising the grip frame (at least the Abstract, fig.7); and
a slide and barrel assembly slidably mounted on said slide rails of said trigger frame, the plurality of slide and barrel assemblies comprising the slide and barrel assembly (at least paragraph 20, see fig.7).
Regarding Claims 4-5, 17-18, see at least Abstract, fig.7, paragraphs 3, 33, 40, 43-45.
Regarding Claims 7, 19, Thomele ‘053 discloses a rearward portion of said trigger frame has a first rearward extension (see fig.4, 252), said grip frame has a first recess for receiving said extension (see fig.9), and trigger frame and grip frame have alignable openings including a pin removably inserted into said openings (260/264).
Regarding Claim 12, Thomele ‘053 discloses the trigger frame is adapted to (260, 96).
Regarding Claim 15, see fig.4 sidewalls 52 and rails above 64/68.
Regarding Claim 20, Thomele ’053 discloses a modular handgun system comprising:
an elongated universal trigger frame (fig.7, B) having a pair of slide rails (64/68) said trigger frame adapted to have a trigger assembly mounted thereto (fig.4), a rearward portion of said trigger frame has a first rearward extension (see fig.4, 252);
a grip frame having an elongated channel (fig.5), a hand grip extending downwardly from said elongated channel (228), said trigger frame removably mounted in said elongated channel of said grip frame (see Abstract and at least fig.7), said grip frame having a first recess for receiving said extension (see fig.9), and said trigger frame and grip frame have alignable openings;
a pin removably inserted into said openings (260/264); and
a slide and barrel assembly slidably mounted on said slide rails of said trigger frame (at least paragraph 20, see fig.7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 13-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2009/0071053 to Thomele et al (Thomele ‘053).
Regarding Claim 6, Thomele ‘053 discloses a plurality of grip frames and slide assemblies, and paragraph 43 discloses three sets of grip frames. Thomele ‘053 does not specifically disclose a fourth grip frame. However, Thomele ‘053 clearly teaches a modular handgun assembly with a plurality of grip frames to accommodate a wide variety of users and preferences, as well as a plurality of barrel and slide assemblies. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to have as many grip frames as desired with varying sizes, lengths, circumferences all as taught by Thomele ‘053 at least paragraphs 42-44. Thomele ‘053 does not put an upper limit on the number of interchangeable and modular parts of the system.
Regarding Claim 13, Thomele ‘053 does not specifically disclose the materials the trigger frame and grip frame are fabricated from. However, it is old and well-known in the art to utilize a polymer for a grip frame of a handgun, and a metallic unitary structure for the trigger frame, (see fig.2, B) for unitary structure.
Regarding Claim 14, Thomele ‘053 discloses the structure as claimed, and since the structure is disclosed, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113-I, The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2009/0071053 to Thomele et al (Thomele ‘053) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2008/0060247 to Thomele et al (Thomele ‘247).
Regarding Claims 8-9, Thomele ‘053 discloses the modular system but fails to specifically disclose the rearward portion of the trigger frame has: a second rearward extension, comprising a pair of transversely spaced apart rearward hooks, and said grip frame has a second recess which receives said second rearward extension.
However, Thomele ‘247 teaches a similar modular handgun system with a grip frame and a trigger frame, wherein the trigger frame has a pair of hooks and the second recess (see at least paragraph 16, figure 2 and hooks element 13).
It would have been a matter of obvious engineering design choice to modify the locking mechanism of Thomele ‘053 element 252 and create two hooks as taught by Thomele ‘247, as Thomele ‘053 and element 252 have hook-like features at their lateral edges, it would have amounted to a small engineering design choice as a known solution in the art and adapting one solution for another to achieve predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over all claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 10,119,777; 10,955,209; 11,525,645; 12,287,164. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued patents contain all of the claimed structural limitations. It is noted that the claims for “a universal trigger frame”, while a different preamble than the currently claimed “modular handgun system”, the same structural limitations and functionality limitations exist in both claim sets and they are not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for pertinent art.
/JOHN COOPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641