DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 10, 17, 18, 25, and 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,251. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application recite substantially equivalent limitations as the claims of the reference patent, or the instant claims are otherwise anticipated by the reference claims. For example, the recitation of “assign each sensor included in the plurality of sensors to one of a plurality of ambient light ranges based on the ambient light level at the respective sensor” in claim 1 and the corresponding limitations in claims 7 and 13 of the instant application are substantially equivalent to the limitations “dynamically form a plurality of daylight sensor subgroups” and “dynamically form a plurality of daylight sensor subgroups” in claim 9 and the corresponding limitations in claims 17 and 25 of the reference patent. Claims 1-18 are further rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,753,147 and over claims 1-47 of U.S. Patent No. 9,752,383. In the case of reference patent 9,752,383: although the reference claims do not explicitly recite a method or a non-transitory storage device including instructions, the corresponding claims of the instant application are nonetheless obvious over the configurations set forth in the system claims of the reference patent.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-6 each recite “wherein the controller circuitry further to” or a similar limitation. These limitations should be amended to recite --wherein the controller circuitry is further configured to-- or similar, to ensure appropriate consistency and clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berman (U.S. Patent No. 7,977,904).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 13, Berman discloses a system controller (100), a method to control a plurality of motorized window treatments (the steps of the method are disclosed in the corresponding sections of the disclosure set forth below), and a non-transitory, machine-readable storage device that includes instructions (column 26, lines 27-42), the system controller/method/instructions comprising:
communication interface circuitry (column 4, lines 32-53; the ADI 105 is configured to communicate with at least the controller 100 and the sensors 125); and
controller circuitry (110) communicatively coupled to the communication interface circuitry, the controller circuitry to:
receive, from each of a plurality of sensors (125) via the communication interface circuitry, a signal indicative of an ambient light level at the respective sensor (column 18, lines 36-45), each of the plurality of sensors associated with at least one of a plurality of motorized window treatments (column 4, line 54-column 5, line 7 and column 5, line 62-column 6, line 29 discloses categorization of zones including specified window treatments and associated sensors);
assign each sensor included in the plurality of sensors to one of a plurality of ambient light ranges based on the ambient light level at the respective sensor (column 18, line 53-column 19, line 2 discloses at least two ranges: in-range and out-of-range; column 23, line 59-column 24, line 24 further discloses at least two ranges: above threshold and below threshold);
associate each of the plurality of ambient light ranges with a respective target window treatment position (column 23, line 59-column 24, line 24); and
for each of the sensors included in each of the plurality of ambient light ranges, determine a target motorized window treatment position for the at least one motorized window treatment associated with the respective sensor, the target motorized window treatment position based on the assigned ambient light level range of the respective sensor (column 23, lines 42-58).
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 14, Berman discloses that the controller circuitry is further configured to: cause a communication of an instruction to each of the plurality of motorized window treatments via the communication interface circuitry, the instruction to cause the respective motorized window treatment to travel to the determined target motorized window treatment position (column 19, lines 3-23; column 23, lines 42-58).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15, Berman discloses that the controller circuitry is further configured to: determine each of the plurality of ambient light ranges based on a distribution of the measured ambient light level in the signals received from the plurality of sensors (column 18, line 53-column 19, line 2; column 20, line 66-column 21, line 40; the controller 100 is operable responsive to an average of a plurality of sensors, including identification of sensors having an in-range value, which defines a distribution of measured light levels).
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 16, Berman discloses that to receive from each of the plurality of sensors the signal indicative of the ambient light level at the respective sensor, the controller circuitry is further configured to: receive, at intervals, from each of the plurality of sensors the signal indicative of the ambient light level at the respective sensor (as shown in Figure 4, sensor readings are plotted along time intervals over the course of the day; column 18, lines 6-35 further discloses measurements of solar radiation values over time, and user-defined time intervals).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 11, 12, 17, and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and upon filing of a Terminal Disclaimer to overcome the rejection under double patenting set forth above.
Conclusion
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634