DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite that the microcontroller controls the pump to release air from the bladder without applying an DC drive voltage. It is unclear if this means that no power at all is provided to the pump of if no additional drive voltage is provided to the pump. If it is no power at all then it is unclear how the pump exhausts the air and where there is some other feature not claimed or that the pump itself when not powered allows the air to leak out. Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted to mean no additional drive voltage is applied.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is not clear what is meant by “a flow sensor for detecting the amount of inflation for monitoring the pressure in the bladder”. It is unclear if the flow sensor is measuring flow and pressure or inflation amount or if it is that the flow measurement is used to monitor the pressure in the bladder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. US 2014/0309541 in view of Darcey, JR et al. US 2012/0172652.
Regarding claim 1, Yamashita discloses blood pressure measurement device with a MEMS pump ([FIG2]), comprising:
a cuff having a bladder for wrapping around an object to be measured ([¶34] cuff 40);
a pump for inflating and deflating the bladder with air during an inflation and deflation process ([¶34] pump 31);
a microcontroller for controlling a drive voltage level of the pump, so as to control an air inflation speed of the pump within a predetermined inflation speed range during the inflation process ([¶36] control unit 20 [¶57] a constant inflation speed is maintained),
wherein the microcontroller reduces the drive voltage level of the MEMS pump by a voltage regulator circuit through a motor driving control circuit when the air inflation speed is greater than the predetermined inflation speed range, and the microcontroller increases the drive voltage level when the air inflation speed is smaller than the predetermined inflation speed range ([¶59,60] the voltage is controlled in order to have a constant speed. Changing the voltage changes the flow rate in order to have a constant inflation speed);
wherein the microcontroller emits a fixed-frequency signal to a motor driving control circuit to provide a fixed drive frequency to the pump ([¶93] the device can run with a constant frequency and a varied voltage signal);
a DC-DC boost circuit boosting a DC voltage of a system power supply to a DC voltage applicable for the motor driving control circuit to provide the drive voltage level to the MEMS pump
pressure sensor controlled by the microcontroller for detecting a pressure value in the bladder once for a certain period of time during the inflation process ([¶37] pressure sensor 33), and continuously sending a plurality of pressure signals having the pressure values to the microcontroller ([¶68,69] the pressure is measured continuously for control inflation speed)
wherein the microcontroller converts and computes the air inflation speed of the pump according to the pressure values ([¶69-71] the pressure is used to determine flow).
Yamashita does not specifically disclose that the pressure pump is a MEMS pump. Darcey teaches that MEMS pumps are a type of pump used in physiological sensing devices ([¶150]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the MEMS pump of Darcey into the device of Yamashita as it is just the simple substitution of one known element for another. Similarly, a MEMS pump would allow for reduced size.
Regarding claim 4, Yamashita discloses when the air inflation speed is greater than the predetermined inflation speed range, the microcontroller adjusts an input/output (I/O) pin of the voltage regulator circuit and use the motor driving control circuit to lower the drive voltage level of the MEMS pump, so as to control the air inflation speed and return the air inflation speed to be within the predetermined inflation speed range ([FIG.2][¶46] the voltage control circuit, or the voltage regulator, is in controlled by the control unit 20, through its I/O pin to control the drive circuit 63 to control the pump. [¶59,60] the voltage is adjusted to maintain a constant inflation speed).
Regarding claim 5, Yamashita discloses the microcontroller emits the fixed-frequency signal to the motor driving control circuit to provide the fixed drive frequency to the MEMS pump from the initialization stage till the pressure in the bladder is equal to 150 mmHg during the inflation process ([¶55,93] the pump can be driven with a fixed frequency and is inflated to 150mmHg or 200mmHg in the specific examples).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Darcey, JR further in view of McEwen et al. US 2017/0079537 and Thompson et al. US 2014/0206976.
Regarding claim 6, Yamashita does not disclose an alternating color light source and a transparent or translucent casing covering the MEMS pump, the microcontroller, the DC-DC boost circuit, and the alternating light source, wherein the alternating color light source changes color light with a pulse rate during blood pressure measurement. McEwen teaches a similar blood pressure measurement device that has indicator lights for pulse ([¶41] LEDs are used for indicating pulse). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the teachings of McEwen in order to present the patient status in a clear and unambiguous manner.
Yamashita as modified does not specifically disclose the casing is transparent or translucent. Thompson teaches a similar cardiovascular monitoring device that has a clear housing ([¶52]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the clear housing of Thompson in order to allow the lights to be visible to the user ([¶52]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Darcey, JR further in view of Welch et al. US 2013/0060147 and Thompson et al. US 2014/0206976.
Regarding claim 7, Yamashita does not specifically disclose an alternating color light source and a transparent or translucent casing covering the MEMS pump, the microcontroller, the DC-DC boost circuit, and the alternating light source, wherein the alternating color light source changes color between red and green lights to indicate a high blood pressure and a standard blood pressure respectively. Welch teaches a similar blood pressure monitoring device that has LEDs to indicate high and standard blood pressure readings ([¶37]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the LEDs of Welch in order to present the patient status in a clear and unambiguous manner ([¶37]).
Yamashita as modified does not specifically disclose the casing is transparent or translucent. Thompson teaches a similar cardiovascular monitoring device that has a clear housing ([¶52]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the clear housing of Thompson in order to allow the lights to be visible to the user ([¶52]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Darcey, JR further in view of Yamashita et al. US 2015/0094602 (herein after “602”).
Regarding claim 8, Yamashita does not disclose the motor driving control circuit emits a pulse width modulation (PWM) fixed-frequency signal to provide the fixed drive frequency to the MEMS pump. ‘602 teaches the same device using pulse width modulation ([¶6]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the teachings of ‘602 into the device of Yamashita as it is no more than used of a known technique to improve a similar device and would result in a predictable outcome
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Darcey, JR further in view of Cornwell US 4,178,918.
Regarding claim 2, Yamashita does not disclose the micro-controller controls the MEMS pump to deflate air from the bladder without applying any drive voltage to the MEMS pump. Cornwell teaches a similar blood pressure monitoring device that uses the pump to deflate the cuff without any drive voltage (Col. 7 lines 28-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the pump control of Cornwell in order to provide better linearity in the readings ([Col. 1 lines 21-44]).
Regarding claim 3, Yamashita does not disclose the MEMS pump is further configured to release the air from the bladder without applying any DC drive voltage to the MEMS pump and without using any air relief units. Cornwell teaches a similar blood pressure monitoring device that uses the pump to deflate the cuff without any drive voltage or air relief valve (Col. 7 lines 28-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the pump control of Cornwell in order to provide better linearity in the readings ([Col. 1 lines 21-44]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamashita does not specifically disclose the voltage regulator circuit adjusts the drive voltage level of the MEMS pump by changing the resistance or current. Cornwell teaches a similar blood pressure device that also uses voltage control like Yamashita and specifically teaches adjusting the voltage by adjusting the resistance ([FIG.8][Col. 8 lines 32-40] the regulator is a LM-117 which is a linear voltage regulator that uses a variable resistor). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the voltage regulator of Cornwell as it is the simple substitution of one know element, a voltage regulator, with another known element.
Regarding claim 10, Yamashita does not specifically disclose a flow sensor for detecting the amount of inflation for monitoring the pressure in the bladder. Cornwell teaches a similar blood pressure monitoring device that uses a flow sensor ([Col. 2 lines 48-64]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the flow sensor of Cornwell in order to provide a high-fidelity representation of arterial flow ([Col. 2 lines 48-64]).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Yamashita discloses blood pressure measurement device with a MEMS pump ([FIG2]), comprising:
a cuff having a bladder for wrapping around an object to be measured ([¶34] cuff 40);
a pump for inflating and deflating the bladder with air during an inflation and deflation process ([¶34] pump 31);
a microcontroller for controlling a drive voltage level of the pump, so as to control an air inflation speed of the pump within a predetermined inflation speed range during the inflation process ([¶36] control unit 20 [¶57] a constant inflation speed is maintained),
wherein the microcontroller reduces the drive voltage level of the MEMS pump by a voltage regulator circuit through a motor driving control circuit when the air inflation speed is greater than the predetermined inflation speed range, and the microcontroller increases the drive voltage level when the air inflation speed is smaller than the predetermined inflation speed range ([¶59,60] the voltage is controlled in order to have a constant speed. Changing the voltage changes the flow rate in order to have a constant inflation speed);
wherein the microcontroller emits a fixed-frequency signal to a motor driving control circuit to provide a fixed drive frequency to the pump ([¶93] the device can run with a constant frequency and a varied voltage signal);
a DC-DC boost circuit boosting a DC voltage of a system power supply to a DC voltage applicable for the motor driving control circuit to provide the drive voltage level to the MEMS pump
pressure sensor controlled by the microcontroller for detecting a pressure value in the bladder once for a certain period of time during the inflation process ([¶37] pressure sensor 33), and continuously sending a plurality of pressure signals having the pressure values to the microcontroller ([¶68,69] the pressure is measured continuously for control inflation speed)
wherein the microcontroller converts and computes the air inflation speed of the pump according to the pressure values ([¶69-71] the pressure is used to determine flow).
Yamashita does not specifically disclose that the pressure pump is a MEMS pump. Darcey teaches that MEMS pumps are a type of pump used in physiological sensing devices ([¶150]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the MEMS pump of Darcey into the device of Yamashita as it is just the simple substitution of one known element for another. Similarly, a MEMS pump would allow for reduced size.
Yamashita does not specifically disclose the deflation process does not use any air relief units and wherein air from the bladder is exhausted through the MEMS pump in a second direction opposite the first direction. Cornwell teaches a similar blood pressure monitoring device that uses the pump to exhaust the air without using an air relief unit ([Col. 1 lines 21-44][Col. 3 lines 43-56]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the pump control of Cornwell in order to provide better linearity in the readings ([Col. 1 lines 21-44]).
Regarding claims 12 and 17, Yamashita discloses when the air inflation speed is greater than the predetermined inflation speed range, the microcontroller adjusts an input/output (I/O) pin of the voltage regulator circuit and use the motor driving control circuit to lower the drive voltage level of the MEMS pump, so as to control the air inflation speed and return the air inflation speed to be within the predetermined inflation speed range ([FIG.2][¶46] the voltage control circuit, or the voltage regulator, is in controlled by the control unit 20, through its I/O pin to control the drive circuit 63 to control the pump. [¶59,60] the voltage is adjusted to maintain a constant inflation speed).
Regarding claims 13 and 18, Yamashita discloses the microcontroller emits the fixed-frequency signal to the motor driving control circuit to provide the fixed drive frequency to the MEMS pump from the initialization stage till the pressure in the bladder is equal to 150 mmHg during the inflation process ([¶55,93] the pump can be driven with a fixed frequency and is inflated to 150mmHg or 200mmHg in the specific examples).
Claim(s) 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Darcey, JR and Cornwell further in view of McEwen et al. US 2017/0079537 and Thompson et al. US 2014/0206976.
Regarding claims 14 and 19, Yamashita does not disclose an alternating color light source and a transparent or translucent casing covering the MEMS pump, the microcontroller, the DC-DC boost circuit, and the alternating light source, wherein the alternating color light source changes color light with a pulse rate during blood pressure measurement. McEwen teaches a similar blood pressure measurement device that has indicator lights for pulse ([¶41] LEDs are used for indicating pulse). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the teachings of McEwen in order to present the patient status in a clear and unambiguous manner.
Yamashita as modified does not specifically disclose the casing is transparent or translucent. Thompson teaches a similar cardiovascular monitoring device that has a clear housing ([¶52]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the clear housing of Thompson in order to allow the lights to be visible to the user ([¶52]).
Claim(s) 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Darcey, JR and Cornwell further in view of Welch et al. US 2013/0060147 and Thompson et al. US 2014/0206976.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Yamashita does not specifically disclose an alternating color light source and a transparent or translucent casing covering the MEMS pump, the microcontroller, the DC-DC boost circuit, and the alternating light source, wherein the alternating color light source changes color between red and green lights to indicate a high blood pressure and a standard blood pressure respectively. Welch teaches a similar blood pressure monitoring device that has LEDs to indicate high and standard blood pressure readings ([¶37]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the LEDs of Welch in order to present the patient status in a clear and unambiguous manner ([¶37]).
Yamashita as modified does not specifically disclose the casing is transparent or translucent. Thompson teaches a similar cardiovascular monitoring device that has a clear housing ([¶52]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Yamashita with the clear housing of Thompson in order to allow the lights to be visible to the user ([¶52]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A CATINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791