DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. Applicant proposed new language for the title, but the new title is also not clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/08/2026 with respect to claims 1 – 20 and newly added claims 21 - 22 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Please refer to the following office action, which clearly sets forth the reasons for non-persuasiveness.
Applicant argues regarding claims 1 and 11 that Montesdeoca does not teach "displaying weather information associated with [a] first weather feature." (emphasis added). Instead, Montesdeoca teaches an augmented reality system that displays weather forecast information. (see at least Montesdeoca Figs. 1B and 1C and the brief descriptions for each). Using augmented reality to display weather forecast information is distinguishable from displaying weather information associated with a weather feature that exists in actual reality.
Examiner notes as discussed in at least paragraph 0030 of application as filed observation data includes “observation data such as but not limited radar, satellite data, surface observations, and so forth”, which examiner is taking as used to include create forecast data. Examiner notes displaying weather information associated with first weather feature is taught in Quevedo Montesdeoca by figures 1A – 1D, 2D; also column 2 lines 40 – 45, column 4 lines 12 – 17, also column 6 lines 18 – 43. Also note forecast data is not excluded from the claims as claimed, in fact observation data as argued includes “observation data such as but not limited radar, satellite data, surface observations, and so forth”. using augmented reality to display weather forecast information is not distinguishable from displaying weather information associated with a weather feature that exists in actual reality. Figures 1A – 1D, 2D; also column 2 lines 40 – 45, column 4 lines 12 – 17, also column 6 lines 18 – 43 clearly teach displaying weather information associated with said first weather feature. Examiner also notes figures 1B – 1C discusses item 126B which a time scroll bar showing from present to up to 6 hours in advance time for example or days if needed, column 6 lines 50 - 56. In fact there is no language in applicants claims precluding future weather data from being displayed.
Applicant argues regarding claims 5 and 16 that claims 5 and 16 have each been amended to recite that a first portion of the weather information is observation data. Observation data is distinguishable from forecast information at least because observation data pertains to current or previous weather while forecast information pertains to potential future weather. For at least this reason, the present rejections are improper. Applicant believes that Claims 5 and 16 are in condition for allowance and such is respectfully requested for Claims 5 and 16 and each claim depending therefrom.
Examiner notes that applicant claims and states in the specification as filed that Observation data includes observation data such as but not limited radar, satellite data, surface observations, and so forth. which examiner is taking as used to include create forecast data. Examiner also notes figures 1B – 1C discusses item 126B which a time scroll bar showing from present to up to 6 hours in advance time for example or days if needed, column 6 lines 50 - 56. In fact there is no language in applicants claims precluding future weather data from being displayed.
Applicant argues regarding claims 9, 10 and 19, 20 that Montesdeoca fail to teach "requesting a user confirmation that [an] image represents what a user wants more information about." Instead, Montesdeoca teaches user customization.
Examiner notes that applicant claims for claims 9 and 19 “wherein the application is further configured for requesting a user confirmation that said image represents what a user wants more information about”. Montesdeoca teaches in at least column 6 lines 50 – 63; figures 1A – 1D, 2D; specific criteria the user wants to see more information about is selected (user confirmation) via display elements shown on the display which user manipulates.
Additionally, newly added claims 21 – 22 are rejected as discussed below.
Hence rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quevedo Montesdeoca (US Patent No. 9,437,170).
Regarding claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches a visualization system for providing weather information (abstract, Systems and methods for generating Augmented Reality displays; also column 2 lines 28 – 36, weather forecast information), the visualization system comprising: an application configured for installation on a mobile device (column 20 line 61 – column 22 line 3), wherein said application is configured for: receiving positional information for a first geographical location, said first geographical location being a current location of said mobile device (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 - 22; location/geolocation); receiving orientation information for a first direction (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 - 22; orientation information), said first direction being a direction a first feature of said mobile device is being pointed (figures 1A – 1D, 2D); determining a first weather feature based on said first geographical location and said first direction, said first weather feature being located at a second geographical location (column 2 lines 28 – 36, column 3 lines 15 – 23, column 4 lines 1 - 8; weather forecast information); and displaying weather information associated with said first weather feature (figures 1A – 1D, 2D; also column 2 lines 40 – 45, column 4 lines 12 – 17, also column 6 lines 18 - 43).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein a distance between the first and second geographical locations is greater than a visibility distance associated with the first and second geographical locations (column 6 line 63 – column 7 line 7; figures 1A – 1D, 2D; locations is greater than a visibility distance associated with the first and second geographical locations).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein the orientation information for said first direction is received from said mobile device, and wherein the orientation information comprises a first compass heading associated with said first direction (column 11 lines 24 – 34 also figures 1A – 1D, 2D; compass).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said first feature of said mobile device is an image capturing device, wherein said first compass heading is calculated based on a direction the image capturing device is pointed, and wherein determining said first weather feature comprises determining that said image capture device is pointing substantially towards said second geographical location (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 – 22 figures 1A – 1D, 2D; orientation information related to weather forecast location).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said application is further configured for receiving said weather information, wherein at least a first portion of said weather information is observation data that includes at least one of radar data, satellite data, and surface observations (column 2 lines 28 – 36, column 3 lines 15 – 23, column 4 lines 1 – 8, column 14 line 60 – column 15 line 10; weather forecast information; also figures 1A – 1D, 2D, 5).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 5, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said weather information includes speed of motion and direction of said first weather feature (column 5 lines 47 – 62, column 5 lines 25 - 49; speed/velocity of wind; also figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 5, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said weather information includes positional information associated with said second geographical location (column 2 lines 1 – 13, column 4 lines 23 – 40, column 6 lines 25 – 43, column 7 lines 12 - 26; also figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said application is further configured for: receiving from said mobile device an image of said first weather feature (column 2 lines 42 – 45, column 3 lines 15 – 30, column 4 lines 1 – 17, column 7 lines 12 - 39); and displaying said image on said mobile device (column 2 lines 42 – 45, column 3 lines 15 – 30, column 4 lines 1 – 17, column 7 lines 12 - 39, figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 8, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein the application is further configured for requesting a user confirmation that said image represents what a user wants more information about (column 6 lines 50 – 63; figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein the application is further configured for receiving said user confirmation prior to displaying on said mobile device said weather information associated with said first weather feature (column 6 lines 50 – 63; figures 1A – 1D, 2D, 6).
Regarding claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches a visualization system for providing weather information (abstract, Systems and methods for generating Augmented Reality displays; also column 2 lines 28 – 36, weather forecast information), the visualization system comprising: an application configured for installation on a mobile device (column 20 line 61 – column 22 line 3), wherein said application is configured for: receiving a first geographical location, said first geographical location being a current location of said mobile device (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 - 22; location/geolocation); receiving weather information associated with a plurality of weather features within a range of said first geographical location ((column 6 line 63 – column 7 line 7; figures 1A – 1D, 2D), said plurality of weather features each having a corresponding geographical location (column 2 lines 28 – 36, column 3 lines 15 – 23, column 4 lines 1 - 8; weather forecast information); receiving a first direction from said mobile device, said first direction being associated with an orientation of said mobile device (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 - 22; orientation information); and displaying a first portion of said weather information, said first portion of said weather information comprising information about at least a first weather feature of said plurality of weather features when said first direction substantially corresponds with the corresponding geographical location of said first weather feature (figures 1A – 1D, 2D; also column 2 lines 40 – 45, column 4 lines 12 – 17, also column 6 lines 18 – 43; abstract, Systems and methods for generating Augmented Reality displays; also column 2 lines 28 – 36, weather forecast information).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said range is greater than a visibility distance of a user (column 6 line 63 – column 7 line 7; figures 1A – 1D, 2D; wherein said range is greater than a visibility distance of a user).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein receiving the first direction from said mobile device comprises receiving a first compass heading, the first compass heading being associated with the first direction (column 11 lines 24 – 34 also figures 1A – 1D, 2D; compass).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 13, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein the application is further configured for distinguishing said first weather feature from said plurality of weather features based on said first geographical location and said first compass heading (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 – 22 figures 1A – 1D, 2D; wherein the application is further configured for distinguishing said first weather feature from said plurality of weather features based on said first geographical location and said first compass heading).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 14, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said first compass heading is calculated based on a camera of said mobile device, and wherein distinguishing said first weather feature from said plurality of weather features comprises determining that said camera is pointing substantially towards the corresponding geographical location of said first weather feature (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 – 22 figures 1A – 1D, 2D; orientation information related to weather forecast location).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said weather information of said plurality of weather features includes observation data comprising at least one of radar data, satellite data, and surface observations (column 2 lines 28 – 36, column 3 lines 15 – 23, column 4 lines 1 – 8, column 14 line 60 – column 15 line 10; weather forecast information; also figures 1A – 1D, 2D, 5).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 16, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said weather information of said plurality of weather features includes a speed of motion and a direction of each of said plurality of weather features (column 5 lines 47 – 62, column 5 lines 25 - 49; speed/velocity of wind; also figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said application is further configured for receiving an image from a camera of said mobile device (column 2 lines 42 – 45, column 3 lines 15 – 30, column 4 lines 1 – 17, column 7 lines 12 - 39) and displaying said image on said mobile device, wherein said image includes at least said first weather feature of said plurality of weather features (column 2 lines 42 – 45, column 3 lines 15 – 30, column 4 lines 1 – 17, column 7 lines 12 - 39, figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said application is further configured for requesting a user confirmation that said image represents what a user wants more information about (column 6 lines 50 – 63; figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 19, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein the application is further configured to display on said mobile device said first portion of said weather information, the application being configured for receiving said user confirmation prior to displaying said first portion of said weather information (column 6 lines 50 – 63; figures 1A – 1D, 2D, 6).
Regarding claim 21, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said application is further configured for receiving a user confirmation prior to displaying on said mobile device said weather information associated with said first weather feature (Examiner notes figures 1B – 1C discusses item 126B which a time scroll bar showing from present to up to 6 hours in advance time for example or days if needed, column 6 lines 50 - 56. In fact there is no language in applicants claims precluding future weather data from being displayed. Therefore receiving a user confirmation prior to displaying on said mobile device said weather information associated with said first weather feature i.e. user can mode the scroll bar ahead in time then that time information will be shown after the scroll bar is moved by the user).
Regarding claim 22, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said application is further configured to display on said mobile device said first portion of said weather information after receiving a user confirmation (Examiner notes figures 1B – 1C discusses item 126B which a time scroll bar showing from present to up to 6 hours in advance time for example or days if needed, column 6 lines 50 - 56. In fact there is no language in applicants claims precluding future weather data from being displayed. Therefore wherein said application is further configured to display on said mobile device said first portion of said weather information after receiving a user confirmation i.e. user can mode the scroll bar ahead in time then that time information will be shown after the scroll bar is moved by the user).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gage (US Patent No. 11272143) teaches a method of monitoring and verifying weather information using a weather condition detection system of a vehicle is provided. The method includes receiving weather information by a computing device within the vehicle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
10/14/2026