DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2025 and 12/16/2025 have been considered by the examiner. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quevedo Montesdeoca (US Patent No. 9,437,170).
Regarding claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches a visualization system for providing weather information (abstract, Systems and methods for generating Augmented Reality displays; also column 2 lines 28 – 36, weather forecast information), the visualization system comprising: an application configured for installation on a mobile device (column 20 line 61 – column 22 line 3), wherein said application is configured for: receiving positional information for a first geographical location, said first geographical location being a current location of said mobile device (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 - 22; location/geolocation); receiving orientation information for a first direction (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 - 22; orientation information), said first direction being a direction a first feature of said mobile device is being pointed (figures 1A – 1D, 2D); determining a first weather feature based on said first geographical location and said first direction, said first weather feature being located at a second geographical location (column 2 lines 28 – 36, column 3 lines 15 – 23, column 4 lines 1 - 8; weather forecast information); and displaying weather information associated with said first weather feature (figures 1A – 1D, 2D; also column 2 lines 40 – 45, column 4 lines 12 – 17, also column 6 lines 18 - 43).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein a distance between the first and second geographical locations is greater than a visibility distance associated with the first and second geographical locations (column 6 line 63 – column 7 line 7; figures 1A – 1D, 2D; locations is greater than a visibility distance associated with the first and second geographical locations).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein the orientation information for said first direction is received from said mobile device, and wherein the orientation information comprises a first compass heading associated with said first direction (column 11 lines 24 – 34 also figures 1A – 1D, 2D; compass).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said first feature of said mobile device is an image capturing device, wherein said first compass heading is calculated based on a direction the image capturing device is pointed, and wherein determining said first weather feature comprises determining that said image capture device is pointing substantially towards said second geographical location (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 – 22 figures 1A – 1D, 2D; orientation information related to weather forecast location).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said application is further configured for receiving said weather information, wherein at least a first portion of said weather information is associated with said first weather feature, and wherein said weather information includes at least one of radar data, satellite data, observation data, weather watches, weather warnings, weather reports from weather spotters, weather reports from the general public, and weather analytics (column 2 lines 28 – 36, column 3 lines 15 – 23, column 4 lines 1 – 8, column 14 line 60 – column 15 line 10; weather forecast information; also figures 1A – 1D, 2D, 5).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 5, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said weather information includes speed of motion and direction of said first weather feature (column 5 lines 47 – 62, column 5 lines 25 - 49; speed/velocity of wind; also figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 5, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said weather information includes positional information associated with said second geographical location (column 2 lines 1 – 13, column 4 lines 23 – 40, column 6 lines 25 – 43, column 7 lines 12 - 26; also figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said application is further configured for: receiving from said mobile device an image of said first weather feature (column 2 lines 42 – 45, column 3 lines 15 – 30, column 4 lines 1 – 17, column 7 lines 12 - 39); and displaying said image on said mobile device (column 2 lines 42 – 45, column 3 lines 15 – 30, column 4 lines 1 – 17, column 7 lines 12 - 39, figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 8, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein the application is further configured for requesting a user confirmation that said image represents what a user wants more information about (column 6 lines 50 – 63; figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein the application is further configured for receiving said user confirmation prior to displaying on said mobile device said weather information associated with said first weather feature (column 6 lines 50 – 63; figures 1A – 1D, 2D, 6).
Regarding claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches a visualization system for providing weather information (abstract, Systems and methods for generating Augmented Reality displays; also column 2 lines 28 – 36, weather forecast information), the visualization system comprising: an application configured for installation on a mobile device (column 20 line 61 – column 22 line 3), wherein said application is configured for: receiving a first geographical location, said first geographical location being a current location of said mobile device (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 - 22; location/geolocation); receiving weather information associated with a plurality of weather features within a range of said first geographical location ((column 6 line 63 – column 7 line 7; figures 1A – 1D, 2D), said plurality of weather features each having a corresponding geographical location (column 2 lines 28 – 36, column 3 lines 15 – 23, column 4 lines 1 - 8; weather forecast information); receiving a first direction from said mobile device, said first direction being associated with an orientation of said mobile device (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 - 22; orientation information); and displaying a first portion of said weather information, said first portion of said weather information comprising information about at least a first weather feature of said plurality of weather features when said first direction substantially corresponds with the corresponding geographical location of said first weather feature (figures 1A – 1D, 2D; also column 2 lines 40 – 45, column 4 lines 12 – 17, also column 6 lines 18 – 43; abstract, Systems and methods for generating Augmented Reality displays; also column 2 lines 28 – 36, weather forecast information).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said range is greater than a visibility distance of a user (column 6 line 63 – column 7 line 7; figures 1A – 1D, 2D; wherein said range is greater than a visibility distance of a user).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein receiving the first direction from said mobile device comprises receiving a first compass heading, the first compass heading being associated with the first direction (column 11 lines 24 – 34 also figures 1A – 1D, 2D; compass).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 13, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein the application is further configured for distinguishing said first weather feature from said plurality of weather features based on said first geographical location and said first compass heading (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 – 22 figures 1A – 1D, 2D; wherein the application is further configured for distinguishing said first weather feature from said plurality of weather features based on said first geographical location and said first compass heading).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 14, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said first compass heading is calculated based on a camera of said mobile device, and wherein distinguishing said first weather feature from said plurality of weather features comprises determining that said camera is pointing substantially towards the corresponding geographical location of said first weather feature (column 1 line 33 – column 2 line 13, column 5 lines 41 – 44, column 11 lines 1 – 22 figures 1A – 1D, 2D; orientation information related to weather forecast location).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said weather information of said plurality of weather features includes at least one of radar data, satellite data, observation data, weather watches, weather warnings, weather reports from weather spotters, weather reports from the general public, and weather analytics (column 2 lines 28 – 36, column 3 lines 15 – 23, column 4 lines 1 – 8, column 14 line 60 – column 15 line 10; weather forecast information; also figures 1A – 1D, 2D, 5).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 16, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said weather information of said plurality of weather features includes a speed of motion and a direction of each of said plurality of weather features (column 5 lines 47 – 62, column 5 lines 25 - 49; speed/velocity of wind; also figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said application is further configured for receiving an image from a camera of said mobile device (column 2 lines 42 – 45, column 3 lines 15 – 30, column 4 lines 1 – 17, column 7 lines 12 - 39) and displaying said image on said mobile device, wherein said image includes at least said first weather feature of said plurality of weather features (column 2 lines 42 – 45, column 3 lines 15 – 30, column 4 lines 1 – 17, column 7 lines 12 - 39, figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein said application is further configured for requesting a user confirmation that said image represents what a user wants more information about (column 6 lines 50 – 63; figures 1A – 1D, 2D).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 19, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Quevedo Montesdeoca teaches wherein the application is further configured to display on said mobile device said first portion of said weather information, the application being configured for receiving said user confirmation prior to displaying said first portion of said weather information (column 6 lines 50 – 63; figures 1A – 1D, 2D, 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Niem (US patent No. 20080019566) teaches a camera system with weather detection.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
04/01/2026