DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed May 22, 2026.
Drawings
The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn due to the amendment filed.
Specification
The objection to the abstract of the disclosure has been withdrawn due to the amendment filed.
Claim Objections
The objection to claims 12-13 has been withdrawn due to the amendment filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chae et al. (US 2021/0210564 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Chae et al. teach a display panel comprising: at least one display part DA1/DA2, comprising a display part (sub-) pixel arrangement (See Figure 5, Pm3/Pa3), comprising a plurality of emissive regions EA1/EA2, each corresponding to a (sub-) pixel Pm3/Pa3, a lateral aspect of each emissive region EA1/EA2 being defined by an intersection of lateral aspects of a plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c; and at least one signal-exchanging part (in DA2), comprising a signal-exchanging part (sub-) pixel arrangement (See Figure 5, DA2), comprising at least one transmissive region TA and a plurality of emissive regions EA2, each corresponding to a (sub-) pixel Pm3/Pa3, wherein the signal-exchanging part (sub-) pixel arrangement (See Figure 5, DA2) accommodates the at least one transmissive region TA by varying, relative to the display part (sub-) pixel arrangement (See Figure 5, Pm3/Pa3), a lateral extent of at least a first one of the plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c corresponding to at least one (sub-) pixel Pm3/Pa3 therein, such that: at least one of: a size, shape, configuration, and orientation, of the lateral extent of the first one of the plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c is varied, and the first one of the plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c is positioned at an extremity of an intersection of the lateral extent of remaining ones of the plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c, and at least one of a size, shape, orientation, and configuration of the (sub-) pixels Pm3/Pa3 in the signal-exchanging part (in DA2) is different from that of the display part (in DA1) (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 2, Chae et al. teach the size of the lateral extent of the first one of the plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c being reduced (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 3, Chae et al. teach the shape of the lateral extent of the first one of the plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c being one of: rectangular, circular, and triangular (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 4, Chae et al. teach the orientation of the lateral extent of the first one of the plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c being rotated by a non-zero angle (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 5, Chae et al. teach the non-zero angle being one of about: 45⁰, 90⁰, and 180⁰ (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 6, Chae et al. teach the intersection of the lateral extent of remaining ones of the plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c corresponds to an intersection of the lateral extent of the plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c in the display part (sub-) pixel arrangement (See Figure 5, Pm3/Pa3) (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 7, Chae et al. teach the plurality of active emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c comprise: a first electrode 221, a second electrode 223, and at least one semiconducting layer 222a/222b/222c extending therebetween (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 8, Chae et al. teach the first electrode 221 extending between a substrate 100 of the display panel and the second electrode 223 (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 9, Chae et al. teach the first one of the plurality of active emissive region layers 221/222a/222b/222c/223 selected from one of: the first electrode 221, and the second electrode 223 (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 10, Chae et al. teach the lateral extent, of the first one of the plurality of emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c in the display part DA1/DA2, substantially bisects the intersection of the lateral extent of the remaining ones of the emissive region layers (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 11, Chae et al. teach at least one of the plurality of emissive region layers 222a/222b/222c formed by deposition of a corresponding emissive region material (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claims 12-13, "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP § 2113.
In regard to claim 14, Chae et al. teach the signal-exchanging part (sub-) pixel arrangement (See Figure 5, Pm3/Pa3) varying from the display part (sub-) pixel arrangement (See Figure 5, Pm3/Pa3) due to a difference between the signal-exchanging part (See Figure 5, DA2) and the display part DA1 in at least one of: a size, shape, configuration, and orientation, of the lateral extent of the first electrode 221 (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 15, Chae et al. teach at least one of: a size, shape, configuration, and orientation, of the lateral extent of the first electrode 221 varies between the signal-exchanging part (See Figure 5, DA2) and the display part DA1 by varying the an opening of a pixel definition layer 119 through which a layer surface of the first electrode 221 is exposed (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 16, Chae et al. teach at least one of: a size, shape, configuration, and orientation, of the lateral extent of at least one semiconducting layer (in 222a/222b/222c) being substantially the same between the signal-exchanging part (See Figure 5, DA2) and the display part DA1 (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
In regard to claim 17, Chae et al. teach the size, shape, configuration, and orientation, of the lateral extent of the at least one semiconducting layer (in 222a/222b/222c) being substantially the same between the signal-exchanging part (See Figure 5, DA2) and the display part DA1 (Figures 5-8, pages 3-14, paragraphs [0069]-[0205]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to display devices:
Bang et al. (US 2021/0183983 A1) Bok et al. (US 2021/0193769 A1)
Gil (US 2019/0207156 A1) Jeong et al. (US 2021/0216157 A1)
Jeong et al. (US 2022/0107699 A1) Jung et al. (US 2021/0359025 A1)
Lee et al. (US 2022/0045160 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IMS
June 3, 2026
/IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898