DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed January 16, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there are no reference characters for the plurality of active region layers. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “comprises” should have been includes in lines 2, 3, 4 and 5. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 12-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “a corresponding emissive region material” should have been the corresponding emissive region material in lines 1-2 of claim 12 and line 2 of claim 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is not understood what actually constitutes the plurality of active region layers.
Claims 2-10 and 14-17 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 1.
Claims 12-13 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 11.
Claims 1-4, 6, 9-10 and 13 recite the limitation "the active region layers" in lines 10-11 and 13-15 of claim 1, line 2 of claim 2, line 2 of claim 3, line 2 of claim 4, line 2 of claim 6, line 1 of claim 9, lines 1-3 of claim 10 and line 3 of claim 13;
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the active region layer" in lines 3-4;
Claims 14-15 recite the limitation "the first electrode" in line 4 of both claims; and
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the opening" in lines 3.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
As best understood, claim(s) 1-11 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2020/0111851 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Park et al. teach a display panel 1000 comprising: at least one display part (at 330), comprising a display part (sub-) pixel arrangement Sub-P(x), comprising a plurality of emissive regions (in 310), each corresponding to a (sub-) pixel 310BRB, a lateral aspect of each emissive region (in 310) being defined by an intersection of lateral aspects of a plurality of active region layers (in 300); and at least one signal-exchanging part (in 100/200), comprising a signal-exchanging part (sub-) pixel arrangement 100/200, comprising at least one transmissive region 800 and a plurality of emissive regions (in 310), each corresponding to a (sub-) pixel 310BRB, wherein the signal-exchanging part (sub-) pixel arrangement 100/200 accommodates the at least one transmissive region 800 by varying a lateral extent of at least a first one of the active region layers (in 300) corresponding to at least one (sub-) pixel 310BRB therein, such that: at least one of: a size, shape, configuration, and orientation, of the lateral extent of the first one of the active region layers (in 300) is varied, and the first one of the active region layers (in 300) is positioned at an extremity of an intersection of the lateral extent of remaining ones of the active region layers (in 300) (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 2, Park et al. teach the size of the lateral extent of the first one of the active region layers (in 300) being reduced (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 3, Park et al. teach the shape of the lateral extent of the first one of the active region layers (in 300) being one of: rectangular, circular, and triangular (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 4, Park et al. teach the orientation of the lateral extent of the first one of the active region layers (in 300) rotated by a non-zero angle (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 5, Park et al. teach the non-zero angle being one of about: 45°, 90°, and 180° (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 6, Park et al. teach the intersection of the lateral extent of remaining ones of the active region layers (in 300) corresponding to an intersection of the lateral extent of the plurality of active region layers (in 300) in the display part (sub-) pixel arrangement Sub P(x) (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 7, Park et al. teach the plurality of active region layers (in 300) comprise: a first electrode 313, a second electrode 315, and at least one semiconducting layer 311 extending therebetween (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 8, Park et al. teach the first electrode 313 extending between a substrate 110 of the display panel 1000 and the second electrode 315 (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 9, Park et al. teach the first one of the active region layers (in 300) selected from one of: the first electrode 313, and the second electrode 315 (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 10, Park et al. teach the lateral extent, of the first one of the active region layers (in 300) in the display part (at 330), substantially bisects the intersection of the lateral extent of the remaining ones of the active region layers (in 300) (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 11, Park et al. teach at least one of the plurality of active region layers (in 300) formed by deposition of a corresponding emissive region material (in 310) (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 14, Park et al. teach the signal-exchanging part (sub-) pixel arrangement 100/200 varying from the display part (sub-) pixel arrangement Sub P(x) due to a difference between the signal-exchanging part (in 100/200) and the display part (at 330) in at least one of: a size, shape, configuration, and orientation, of the lateral extent of the first electrode 313 (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 15, Park et al. teach at least one of: a size, shape, configuration, and orientation, of the lateral extent of the first electrode 313 varying between the signal-exchanging part (in 100/200) and the display part (at 330) by varying the opening of a pixel definition layer 350 through which a layer surface of the first electrode 313 is exposed (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 16, Park et al. teach at least one of: a size, shape, configuration, and orientation, of the lateral extent of at least one semiconducting layer 311 being substantially the same between the signal-exchanging part (in 100/200) and the display part (at 330) (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
In regard to claim 17, Park et al. teach the size, shape, configuration, and orientation, of the lateral extent of the at least one semiconducting layer 311 being substantially the same between the signal-exchanging part (in 100/200) and the display part (at 330) (Figures 1-2 and 10-11A, pages 3-7 and 11-12, paragraphs [0059]-[0094] and [0123]-[0135]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon objected claim 12.
And, claims 12-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to display devices:
De Greef et al. (US 2017/0003496 A1) Jeon et al. (US 12,563,913 B2)
Lee et al. (US 2017/0256597 A1) Park et al. (US 2020/0006443 A1)
Yoon et al. (US 12,563,902 B2).
IMS
February 24, 2026
/IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898