Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crow US 2012/0277914.
Re claim 31 Crow discloses An apparatus, comprising: an image sensor (see paragraph 21 note that the robot includes camera that captures images the robot is the image sensor) that generates a first image utilizing a first exposure parameter, a second image utilizing a second exposure parameter (see paragraph 67 note that multiple images with different exposures are calculated at each camera position), and a third image ( see paragraph 67 note that multiple exposures are calculated at each camera position) so that at least a portion of the first image and at least a portion of the second image are combined to generate a fourth image (see paragraph 69 note that for each rotational position multiple images at that position are combined to generate a HDR images) that is generated so that at least a portion of the third image and at least a portion of the fourth image are capable of being combined to generate at least a portion of a combined image (see paragraph 69 note that 4 HDR images which are combined images generate for each rotational position are combined to generate a panoramic image).
Re claim 32 Crow discloses
A computer-implemented method, comprising :at an apparatus: generating a first image ;generating a second image; generating a third image; (see paragraph 67 note that multiple images with different exposures are calculated at each camera position) and communicating the first image, the second image, and the third image, (see figure 1 and paragraphs 67 and 69 note that multiple images are captured by the camera then communicated presentation mechanism 126 ) for combining at least a portion of the first image and at least a portion of the second image to generate a fourth image (see paragraph 67 and 69 note that for each rotational position multiple images at that position with different exposures are combined to generate a HDR images), for combining at least a portion third image and at least a portion of the fourth image to generate at least a portion of a combined image(see paragraph 69 note that 4 HDR images which are each combined images from each rotational position are combined to generate a panoramic image).
Re claim 33 Crow discloses An apparatus, comprising :a display (see paragraph 24 “With respect to robot output, the user interface logic 114 outputs information to the user via the display”); one or more memories (see paragraphs 82 and 83); one or more processors in communication with the display and the one or more memories (see figure 1 and paragraph 89 82 and 83 and note that the elements may be implemented by a processor running software); and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the one or more memories and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for causing(see figure 1 and paragraph 89 82 and 83 and note that the elements may be implemented by a processor running software):
identification of a combined image that is a combination of at least a portion of a first image that exhibits a first exposure parameter and at least a portion of a second image that exhibits a second exposure parameter (see paragraph 67 and 69 note that for each rotational position multiple images at that position with different exposures are combined to generate HDR images); identification of a third image; and combination of at least a portion of the third image and at least a portion of the combined image to generate at least a portion of a high dynamic range (HDR) image(see paragraph 69 note that 4 HDR images which are each combined images from each rotational position are combined to generate a panoramic image) for being output via the display (see paragraph 69 “The resulting high resolution HDR panoramic image is then processed to produce a tone-mapped version that can be displayed using conventional image viewing techniques”)
Re claim 34 discloses A computer-implemented method, comprising: at an apparatus: identifying a combined image that is a combination of at least a portion of a first image that exhibits a first exposure parameter and at least a portion of a second image that exhibits a second exposure parameter (see paragraph 67 and 69 note that for each rotational position multiple images at that position with different exposures are combined to generate HDR images); identifying of third image; and combining at least a portion of the third image and at least a portion of the combined image to generate at least a portion of a high dynamic range (HDR) image(see paragraph 69 note that 4 HDR images which are each combined images from each rotational position are combined to generate a HDR panoramic image).
Cited Art
The following is a listing of cited art considered relevant but not cited in a rejection above:
Ninan US 2015/0256752 discloses ” Techniques are described to combine image data from multiple images with different exposures into a relatively high dynamic range image. A first image of a scene may be generated with a first operational mode of an image processing system. A second image of the scene may be generated with a second different operational mode of the image processing system. The first image may be of a first spatial resolution, while the second image may be of a second spatial resolution. For example, the first spatial resolution may be higher than the second spatial resolution. The first image and the second image may be combined into an output image of the scene. The output image may be of a higher dynamic range than either of the first image and the second image and may be of a spatial resolution higher than the second spatial resolution.”
Song US 2014/0098259 discloses “A photographing apparatus for synthesizing a plurality of continuously captured images is provided. The photographing apparatus includes a photographing unit that captures a plurality of images by continuously photographing an object; an input unit that receives a selection of a reference image from the plurality of captured images and a modification section in the reference image; a display unit that displays the reference image; a controller that, when the modification section is selected in the reference image and an image for replacing the modification section is determined, generates a mask image based on the modification section and generates a final image by synthesizing the reference image and the image for replacing the modification section using the mask image; and a storage unit that stores a data file including information of the mask image, the plurality of captured images, and the final image.”
Jang US 2012/0038800 discloses “A method of image processing includes: providing a radiance map, generating a first image in which an edge part is preserved and a flat part is smoothed by applying an edge preservation smoothing filter to the radiance map, generating a second image having a visually perceivable dynamic range by applying a correction curve to the first image, and generating a display image having corrected lightness by adjusting a hue value and a chroma value of the second image.” (see abstract).
Conclusion
/SEAN T MOTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673