DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 filed on 01/16/2025 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 02/13/2025 has been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 2700, 2514, 2516, 1900 4600, 4414, 4416.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: 2508e, 3608e, 4208e, 4408e.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The following reference signs are mentioned in the description but not included in the drawings: 2508e, 3608e, 4208e, 4408e.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 12, 15 and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, “one or more processors” on line 6 should read “the one or more processors”
In claim 12, “one or more processors” on line 10 should read “the one or more processors”
In claim 12, “one or more processors” on line 12 should read “the one or more processors”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “the one or more processors” on line 2 which is indefinite. It is unclear whether “the one or more processors” is referring to “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 3, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 6, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 10 or “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 12. For the purpose of examination: “one or more processors” in claim 12 lines 6, 10 and 12 will be interpreted as “the one or more processors.”
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “the one or more processors” on line 2 which is indefinite. It is unclear whether “the one or more processors” is referring to “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 3, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 6, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 10 or “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 12. For the purpose of examination: “one or more processors” in claim 12 lines 6, 10 and 12 will be interpreted as “the one or more processors.”
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites “the one or more processors” on line 3 which is indefinite. It is unclear whether “the one or more processors” is referring to “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 3, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 6, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 10 or “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 12. For the purpose of examination: “one or more processors” in claim 12 lines 6, 10 and 12 will be interpreted as “the one or more processors.”
The claim recites “the one or more processors” on line 6 which is indefinite. It is unclear whether “the one or more processors” is referring to “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 3, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 6, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 10 or “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 12. For the purpose of examination: “one or more processors” in claim 12 lines 6, 10 and 12 will be interpreted as “the one or more processors.”
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites “the one or more processors” on line 2 which is indefinite. It is unclear whether “the one or more processors” is referring to “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 3, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 6, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 10 or “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 12. For the purpose of examination: “one or more processors” in claim 12 lines 6, 10 and 12 will be interpreted as “the one or more processors.”
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites “the one or more processors” on line 2 which is indefinite. It is unclear whether “the one or more processors” is referring to “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 3, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 6, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 10 or “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 12. For the purpose of examination: “one or more processors” in claim 12 lines 6, 10 and 12 will be interpreted as “the one or more processors.”
The claim recites “the one or more processors” on line 6 which is indefinite. It is unclear whether “the one or more processors” is referring to “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 3, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 6, “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 10 or “one or more processors” in claim 12 line 12. For the purpose of examination: “one or more processors” in claim 12 lines 6, 10 and 12 will be interpreted as “the one or more processors.”
Claim 19 is rejected due to its dependency upon rejected claims and is rejected for the same reasons as outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Risbeck et al. (US 20220011731 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Risbeck discloses a controller for heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) equipment ([0004]: “One implementation of the present disclosure is a controller for heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) equipment…”) operable to affect an environmental condition of a building, ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the HVAC equipment is operable to affect an environmental condition of a building.”) the controller comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations. ”) obtaining one or more predictive models configured to predict values of an air quality control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment; ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the operations include obtaining one or more predictive models configured to predict values of a carbon emissions control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment. In some embodiments, the operations include executing an optimization process using the one or more predictive models to produce multiple sets of optimization results corresponding to different values of the control decision variables, the carbon emissions control objective, and the other control objective.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I) executing an optimization process using the one or more predictive models to produce multiple sets of optimization results corresponding to different values of the control decision variables, the air quality control objective, and the other control objective; ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the operations include obtaining one or more predictive models configured to predict values of a carbon emissions control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment.”; [0006] “In some embodiments, the other control objective includes at least one of an operating cost predicted to result from operating the HVAC equipment in accordance with the control decision variables or a capital cost of purchasing or installing the HVAC equipment. In some embodiments, executing the optimization process includes executing multiple optimization processes using different sets of constraints for the control decision variables or different search spaces for the control decision variables, the multiple optimization processes producing corresponding sets of the multiple sets of optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective) selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results based on the values of the air quality control objective and the other control objective; ([0007]: “In some embodiments, selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results include selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results for which the values of the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective are not both improved by another of the sets of optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective) and operating the HVAC equipment to affect the environmental condition of the building ([0010]: “In some embodiments, the HVAC equipment is operable to affect an environmental condition of a building.”) in accordance with the values of the control decision variables ([0010]: “ In some embodiments, the operations include obtaining one or more predictive models configured to predict values of a sustainability control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment.”) corresponding to a selected set of the optimization results. ([0010]: “In some embodiments, the operations include operating the HVAC equipment to affect the environmental condition of the building in accordance with the values of the control decision variables corresponding to a selected set of the optimization results.”).
Regarding claim 7, Risbeck teaches the controller of Claim 1.
Risbeck further teaches wherein executing the optimization process comprises executing multiple optimization processes using different sets of constraints for the control decision variables or different search spaces for the control decision variables, the multiple optimization processes producing corresponding sets of the multiple sets of optimization results. ([0006]: “In some embodiments, executing the optimization process includes executing multiple optimization processes using different sets of constraints for the control decision variables or different search spaces for the control decision variables, the multiple optimization processes producing corresponding sets of the multiple sets of optimization results.”).
Regarding claim 8, Risbeck teaches the controller of Claim 1.
Risbeck further teaches wherein selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results comprises selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results for which the values of the air quality control objective and the other control objective are not both improved by another of the sets of optimization results. ([0007]: “In some embodiments, selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results include selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results for which the values of the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective are not both improved by another of the sets of optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I. A Species Will Anticipate A Claim To A Genus).
Regarding claim 9, Risbeck teaches the controller of Claim 1.
Risbeck further teaches wherein selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results comprises: classifying the multiple sets of optimization results as either Pareto-optimal optimization results or non-Pareto-optimal optimization results with respect to the air quality control objective and the other control objective; and selecting the Pareto-optimal optimization results. ([0007]: “In some embodiments, selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results includes classifying the multiple sets of optimization results as either Pareto-optimal optimization results or non-Pareto-optimal optimization results with respect to the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective, and selecting the Pareto-optimal optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I. A Species Will Anticipate A Claim To A Genus).
Regarding claim 10, Risbeck teaches the controller of Claim 1.
Risbeck further teaches wherein selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results comprises selecting: a first set of optimization results that prioritizes the air quality control objective over the other control objective; a second set of optimization results that prioritizes the other control objective over the air quality control objective; and a third set of optimization results that balances the air quality control objective and the other control objective. ([0008]: “In some embodiments, selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results includes selecting a first set of optimization results that prioritizes the carbon emissions control objective over the other control objective, a second set of optimization results that prioritizes the other control objective over the carbon emissions control objective, and a third set of optimization results that balances the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I. A Species Will Anticipate A Claim To A Genus).
Regarding claim 11, Risbeck teaches the controller of Claim 10.
Risbeck further teaches the operations further comprising: presenting the values of the air quality control objective and the other control objective associated with the first set of optimization results, the second set of optimization results, and the third set of optimization results as selectable options via a user interface; and determining the selected set of the optimization results responsive to a user selecting one of the selectable options via the user interface. ([0009]: “In some embodiments, the operations further include presenting the values of the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective associated with the first set of optimization results, the second set of optimization results, and the third set of optimization results as selectable options via a user interface. In some embodiments, the operations further include determining the selected set of the optimization results responsive to a user selecting one of the selectable options via the user interface.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I. A Species Will Anticipate A Claim To A Genus).
Regarding claim 12, Risbeck discloses a method for controlling heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) equipment ([0004]: “One implementation of the present disclosure is a controller for heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) equipment…”) operable to affect an environmental condition of a building, comprising: ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the HVAC equipment is operable to affect an environmental condition of a building.”) obtaining, by one or more processors, one or more predictive models configured to predict values of an air quality control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment; ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations.”; “In some embodiments, the operations include obtaining one or more predictive models configured to predict values of a carbon emissions control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment. In some embodiments, the operations include executing an optimization process using the one or more predictive models to produce multiple sets of optimization results corresponding to different values of the control decision variables, the carbon emissions control objective, and the other control objective.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I. A Species Will Anticipate A Claim To A Genus) executing, by one or more processors, an optimization process using the one or more predictive models to produce multiple sets of optimization results corresponding to different values of the control decision variables, the air quality control objective, and the other control objective; ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations.”; “In some embodiments, the operations include obtaining one or more predictive models configured to predict values of a carbon emissions control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment.”; [0006] “In some embodiments, the other control objective includes at least one of an operating cost predicted to result from operating the HVAC equipment in accordance with the control decision variables or a capital cost of purchasing or installing the HVAC equipment. In some embodiments, executing the optimization process includes executing multiple optimization processes using different sets of constraints for the control decision variables or different search spaces for the control decision variables, the multiple optimization processes producing corresponding sets of the multiple sets of optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective) selecting, by one or more processors, one or more of the sets of optimization results based on the values of the air quality control objective and the other control objective; ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations.”; [0007] “In some embodiments, selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results include selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results for which the values of the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective are not both improved by another of the sets of optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective) and operating, by one or more processors, the HVAC equipment to affect the environmental condition of the building ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations.”; [0010] “In some embodiments, the HVAC equipment is operable to affect an environmental condition of a building.”) in accordance with the values of the control decision variables ([0010]: “ In some embodiments, the operations include obtaining one or more predictive models configured to predict values of a sustainability control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment.”) corresponding to a selected set of the optimization results. ([0010]: “In some embodiments, the operations include operating the HVAC equipment to affect the environmental condition of the building in accordance with the values of the control decision variables corresponding to a selected set of the optimization results.”).
Regarding claim 15, Risbeck teaches the method of Claim 12.
Risbeck further teaches wherein executing the optimization process comprises executing, by the one or more processors, multiple optimization processes using different sets of constraints for the control decision variables or different search spaces for the control decision variables, the multiple optimization processes producing corresponding sets of the multiple sets of optimization results. ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations. ”; [0006] “In some embodiments, executing the optimization process includes executing multiple optimization processes using different sets of constraints for the control decision variables or different search spaces for the control decision variables, the multiple optimization processes producing corresponding sets of the multiple sets of optimization results.”).
Regarding claim 16, Risbeck teaches the method of Claim 12.
Risbeck further teaches wherein selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results comprises selecting, by the one or more processors, one or more of the sets of optimization results for which the values of the air quality control objective and the other control objective are not both improved by another of the sets of optimization results. ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations. ”; [0007] “In some embodiments, selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results include selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results for which the values of the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective are not both improved by another of the sets of optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I. A Species Will Anticipate A Claim To A Genus).
Regarding claim 17, Risbeck teaches the method of Claim 12.
Risbeck further teaches wherein selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results comprises: classifying, by the one or more processors, the multiple sets of optimization results as either Pareto-optimal optimization results or non-Pareto-optimal optimization results with respect to the air quality control objective and the other control objective; and selecting, by the one or more processors, the Pareto-optimal optimization results. ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations. ”; [0007] “In some embodiments, selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results includes classifying the multiple sets of optimization results as either Pareto-optimal optimization results or non-Pareto-optimal optimization results with respect to the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective, and selecting the Pareto-optimal optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I. A Species Will Anticipate A Claim To A Genus).
Regarding claim 18, Risbeck teaches the method of Claim 12.
Risbeck further teaches wherein selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results comprises selecting, by the one or more processors: a first set of optimization results that prioritizes the air quality control objective over the other control objective; a second set of optimization results that prioritizes the other control objective over the air quality control objective; and a third set of optimization results that balances the air quality control objective and the other control objective. ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations. ”; [0008] “In some embodiments, selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results includes selecting a first set of optimization results that prioritizes the carbon emissions control objective over the other control objective, a second set of optimization results that prioritizes the other control objective over the carbon emissions control objective, and a third set of optimization results that balances the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I. A Species Will Anticipate A Claim To A Genus).
Regarding claim 19, Risbeck teaches the method of Claim 18.
Risbeck further teaches further comprising: presenting, by the one or more processors, the values of the air quality control objective and the other control objective associated with the first set of optimization results, the second set of optimization results, and the third set of optimization results as selectable options via a user interface; and determining, by the one or more processors, the selected set of the optimization results responsive to a user selecting one of the selectable options via the user interface. ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations. ”; [0009] “In some embodiments, the operations further include presenting the values of the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective associated with the first set of optimization results, the second set of optimization results, and the third set of optimization results as selectable options via a user interface. In some embodiments, the operations further include determining the selected set of the optimization results responsive to a user selecting one of the selectable options via the user interface.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I. A Species Will Anticipate A Claim To A Genus).
Regarding claim 20, Risbeck discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media ([0292] “The present disclosure contemplates methods, systems and program products on any machine-readable media for accomplishing various operations.”) for controlling heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) equipment ([0004]: “One implementation of the present disclosure is a controller for heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) equipment…”) operable to affect an environmental condition of a building ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the HVAC equipment is operable to affect an environmental condition of a building.”) storing instructions thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the controller includes one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations. ”) obtain one or more predictive models configured to predict values of an air quality control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment; ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the operations include obtaining one or more predictive models configured to predict values of a carbon emissions control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment. In some embodiments, the operations include executing an optimization process using the one or more predictive models to produce multiple sets of optimization results corresponding to different values of the control decision variables, the carbon emissions control objective, and the other control objective.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I) execute an optimization process using the one or more predictive models to produce multiple sets of optimization results corresponding to different values of the control decision variables, the air quality control objective, and the other control objective; ([0004]: “In some embodiments, the operations include obtaining one or more predictive models configured to predict values of a carbon emissions control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment.”; [0006] “In some embodiments, the other control objective includes at least one of an operating cost predicted to result from operating the HVAC equipment in accordance with the control decision variables or a capital cost of purchasing or installing the HVAC equipment. In some embodiments, executing the optimization process includes executing multiple optimization processes using different sets of constraints for the control decision variables or different search spaces for the control decision variables, the multiple optimization processes producing corresponding sets of the multiple sets of optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective) select one or more of the sets of optimization results based on the values of the air quality control objective and the other control objective; ([0007]: “In some embodiments, selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results include selecting one or more of the sets of optimization results for which the values of the carbon emissions control objective and the other control objective are not both improved by another of the sets of optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective) and operate the HVAC equipment to affect the environmental condition of the building ([0010]: “In some embodiments, the HVAC equipment is operable to affect an environmental condition of a building.”) in accordance with the values of the control decision variables ([0010]: “ In some embodiments, the operations include obtaining one or more predictive models configured to predict values of a sustainability control objective and another control objective as a function of control decision variables for the HVAC equipment.”) corresponding to a selected set of the optimization results. ([0010]: “In some embodiments, the operations include operating the HVAC equipment to affect the environmental condition of the building in accordance with the values of the control decision variables corresponding to a selected set of the optimization results.”, where carbon emission control objectives are a type of air quality control objective. See MPEP 2131.02 I. A Species Will Anticipate A Claim To A Genus).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Risbeck et al. (US 20220011731 A1), in view of Jenkins et al. (US 20220268464 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Risbeck teaches the controller of Claim 1
Risbeck further teaches ([0006]: “In some embodiments, the other control objective includes at least one of an operating cost predicted to result from operating the HVAC equipment in accordance with the control decision variables or a capital cost of purchasing or installing the HVAC equipment.”).
Risbeck does not explicitly teach “wherein the air quality control objective comprises a mold risk control objective”.
In the same field of endeavor, Jenkins further teaches wherein the air quality control objective comprises a mold risk control objective ([0005]: “Based on the characteristics of the air, the control unit may select one or more paths for the air to flow and may direct one or more actions to control and optimize air quality for a particular environment, such as a building environment.”; [0021]: “For example, the sensors may detect characteristics such as temperature, air flows (volume, directional) pressure cascades, bioburden, humidity, particulates, mold,… and any other characteristics of air quality.”; [0022]: “In certain embodiments, the control unit 115 may make such a determination based upon set thresholds, which may be modified depending on the environment, based on changing information associated with the characteristics, and/or other factors. If a characteristic of air 101 exceeds and/or satisfies a previously set threshold, the control unit 115 may determine that treatment is necessary and the course of treatment is to modify the air characteristic such that it does not exceed the set threshold.”, where modifying the air characteristic is a control objective).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teachings of Risbeck to incorporate the teachings of Jenkins so as to include an air quality control objective comprising a mold risk control objective. Doing so would allow for the system to improve the air quality of indoor environments by reducing exposure to harmful substances ([0003]: “Human exposure to particulates, contaminants, and pathogens such as viruses, fungus, and bacteria create a risk of negative health effects. Such contaminants may be present in the air within structures.”).
Regarding claim 3, Risbeck teaches the controller of Claim 1.
Risbeck further teaches ([0005]: “In some embodiments, the other control objective includes an infection risk predicted to result from operating the HVAC equipment in accordance with the control decision variables.”).
Risbeck does not explicitly teach “wherein the air quality control objective comprises a mold risk control objective”.
In the same field of endeavor, Jenkins further teaches wherein the air quality control objective comprises a mold risk control objective ([0005]: “Based on the characteristics of the air, the control unit may select one or more paths for the air to flow and may direct one or more actions to control and optimize air quality for a particular environment, such as a building environment.”; [0021]: “For example, the sensors may detect characteristics such as temperature, air flows (volume, directional) pressure cascades, bioburden, humidity, particulates, mold,… and any other characteristics of air quality.”; [0022]: “In certain embodiments, the control unit 115 may make such a determination based upon set thresholds, which may be modified depending on the environment, based on changing information associated with the characteristics, and/or other factors. If a characteristic of air 101 exceeds and/or satisfies a previously set threshold, the control unit 115 may determine that treatment is necessary and the course of treatment is to modify the air characteristic such that it does not exceed the set threshold.”, where modifying the air characteristic is a control objective).
The reasons to combine Risbeck into Jenkins are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 13, Risbeck teaches the method of Claim 12.
Risbeck further teaches ([0005]: “In some embodiments, the other control objective includes an infection risk predicted to result from operating the HVAC equipment in accordance with the control decision variables.”; [0006] “In some embodiments, the other control objective includes at least one of an operating cost predicted to result from operating the HVAC equipment in accordance with the control decision variables or a capital cost of purchasing or installing the HVAC equipment.”)
Risbeck does not explicitly teach “wherein the air quality control objective comprises a mold risk control objective”.
In the same field of endeavor, Jenkins further teaches wherein the air quality control objective comprises a mold risk control objective ([0005]: “Based on the characteristics of the air, the control unit may select one or more paths for the air to flow and may direct one or more actions to control and optimize air quality for a particular environment, such as a building environment.”; [0021]: “For example, the sensors may detect characteristics such as temperature, air flows (volume, directional) pressure cascades, bioburden, humidity, particulates, mold,… and any other characteristics of air quality.”; [0022]: “In certain embodiments, the control unit 115 may make such a determination based upon set thresholds, which may be modified depending on the environment, based on changing information associated with the characteristics, and/or other factors. If a characteristic of air 101 exceeds and/or satisfies a previously set threshold, the control unit 115 may determine that treatment is necessary and the course of treatment is to modify the air characteristic such that it does not exceed the set threshold.”, where modifying the air characteristic is a control objective).
The reasons to combine Risbeck into Jenkins are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 4-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Risbeck et al. (US 20220011731 A1), in view of Ro et al. (US 20160231014 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Risbeck teaches the controller of Claim 1.
Risbeck further teaches ([0050]: “In some embodiments, the controller can use this composite model for optimal design (e.g., in an off-line implementation of the controller) to determine which additional disinfection strategies are desirable, cost effective, or necessary. The controller can also be used for on-line control to determine control decisions for various controllable equipment (e.g., dampers of the AHU) in real-time to minimize energy consumption or energy costs of the HVAC system while meeting temperature, humidity, and infectious quanta concentration constraints.”; [0289]: “The construction and arrangement of the systems and methods as shown in the various exemplary embodiments are illustrative only.”; “The order or sequence of any process or method steps can be varied or re-sequenced according to alternative embodiments. Other substitutions, modifications, changes, and omissions can be made in the design, operating conditions and arrangement of the exemplary embodiments without departing from the scope of the present disclosure.”).
Risbeck does not explicitly teach “wherein the air quality control objective comprises a productivity control objective”.
Ro further teaches wherein the air quality control objective comprises a productivity control objective ([0010]: “In addition, the computing device may analyze and process the received environmental data to determine, for instance, how conditions in the structure are to be manipulated to achieve a desired goal. The desired goal may be, for instance, conditions that meet a user's preferences. Moreover, the computing device output instructions to an environmental condition modifying device to modify the environmental conditions according to the determined manipulation.”; [0035] “At block 404, a score corresponding to the environmental condition in the structure may be computed based upon the received environmental data. Particularly, the hardware processor 310 may execute the instructions 324 to compute the score. According to an example, the score may pertain to a comfort level and/or a productivity level.” “The value of the score may depend upon various detected environmental conditions in the structure 130. For instance, the score may vary depending upon the level of carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2), humidity level, temperature, etc., of the ambient conditions in the structure 130.”, See Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teachings of Risbeck to incorporate the teachings of Ro so as to include an air quality control objective comprising a productivity control objective. Doing so would allow for the air conditions to be maintained at a healthy or comfortable level ([0002]: “The measured conditions may be evaluated to determine whether the conditions are at healthy and/or comfortable levels and modifications to the conditions, such as temperature and humidity, may be made based upon the outcome of the evaluated conditions.”).
Regarding claim 5, Risbeck teaches the controller of Claim 1.
Risbeck further teaches ([0006]: “In some embodiments, the other control objective includes at least one of an operating cost predicted to result from operating the HVAC equipment in accordance with the control decision variables or a capital cost of purchasing or installing the HVAC equipment.”).
Risbeck does not explicitly teach “wherein the air quality control objective comprises a productivity control objective”.
Ro further teaches wherein the air quality control objective comprises a productivity control objective ([0010]: “In addition, the computing device may analyze and process the received environmental data to determine, for instance, how conditions in the structure are to be manipulated to achieve a desired goal. The desired goal may be, for instance, conditions that meet a user's preferences. Moreover, the computing device output instructions to an environmental condition modifying device to modify the environmental conditions according to the determined manipulation.”; [0035] “At block 404, a score corresponding to the environmental condition in the structure may be computed based upon the received environmental data. Particularly, the hardware processor 310 may execute the instructions 324 to compute the score. According to an example, the score may pertain to a comfort level and/or a productivity level.” “The value of the score may depend upon various detected environmental conditions in the structure 130. For instance, the score may vary depending upon the level of carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2), humidity level, temperature, etc., of the ambient conditions in the structure 130.”, See Figure 4).
The reasons to combine Risbeck into Ro are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 6, Risbeck teaches the controller of Claim 1.
Ro further teaches wherein the air quality control objective comprises a productivity control objective and the one or more predictive models are configured to predict values of a productivity score predicted to result from operating the HVAC equipment in accordance with the control decision variables. ([0010]: “In addition, the computing device may analyze and process the received environmental data to determine, for instance, how conditions in the structure are to be manipulated to achieve a desired goal. The desired goal may be, for instance, conditions that meet a user's preferences. Moreover, the computing device output instructions to an environmental condition modifying device to modify the environmental conditions according to the determined manipulation.”; [0035] “At block 404, a score corresponding to the environmental condition in the structure may be computed based upon the received environmental data. Particularly, the hardware processor 310 may execute the instructions 324 to compute the score. According to an example, the score may pertain to a comfort level and/or a productivity level.” “The value of the score may depend upon various detected environmental conditions in the structure 130. For instance, the score may vary depending upon the level of carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2), humidity level, temperature, etc., of the ambient conditions in the structure 130.”, See Figure 4).
The reasons to combine Risbeck into Ro are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 14, Risbeck teaches the method of Claim 12.
Risbeck further teaches ([0006]: “In some embodiments, the other control objective includes at least one of an operating cost predicted to result from operating the HVAC equipment in accordance with the control decision variables or a capital cost of purchasing or installing the HVAC equipment.”; [0050]: “In some embodiments, the controller can use this composite model for optimal design (e.g., in an off-line implementation of the controller) to determine which additional disinfection strategies are desirable, cost effective, or necessary. The controller can also be used for on-line control to determine control decisions for various controllable equipment (e.g., dampers of the AHU) in real-time to minimize energy consumption or energy costs of the HVAC system while meeting temperature, humidity, and infectious quanta concentration constraints.”; [0289]: “The construction and arrangement of the systems and methods as shown in the various exemplary embodiments are illustrative only.”; “The order or sequence of any process or method steps can be varied or re-sequenced according to alternative embodiments. Other substitutions, modifications, changes, and omissions can be made in the design, operating conditions and arrangement of the exemplary embodiments without departing from the scope of the present disclosure.”).
Risbeck does not explicitly teach “wherein the air quality control objective comprises a productivity control objective”.
Ro further teaches wherein the air quality control objective comprises a productivity control objective ([0010]: “In addition, the computing device may analyze and process the received environmental data to determine, for instance, how conditions in the structure are to be manipulated to achieve a desired goal. The desired goal may be, for instance, conditions that meet a user's preferences. Moreover, the computing device output instructions to an environmental condition modifying device to modify the environmental conditions according to the determined manipulation.”; [0035] “At block 404, a score corresponding to the environmental condition in the structure may be computed based upon the received environmental data. Particularly, the hardware processor 310 may execute the instructions 324 to compute the score. According to an example, the score may pertain to a comfort level and/or a productivity level.” “The value of the score may depend upon various detected environmental conditions in the structure 130. For instance, the score may vary depending upon the level of carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2), humidity level, temperature, etc., of the ambient conditions in the structure 130.”, See Figure 4).
The reasons to combine Risbeck into Ro are the same as articulated in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Conclusion
/N.P.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117