DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-16 and 21 are pending and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
New claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The phrase “fully treated” is used. The Specification at paragraph 58 defines treat, treating, treatment or variations thereof to include “clinical intervention in an attempt to alter the natural course of the individual, tissue or cell being treated….” Thus, the phrase “fully treated three days after topical administration” is not clear in light of the definition what is intended by the phrase. The examiner interprets this to mean that treatment is continued for a period of three days.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 does not allow for additional active agents. However, claim 7 includes PEG, which is taught by prior art of record to be an active agent. Thus, claims 7 and any claim include PEG is not further limiting nor within the scope of the independent claims, including claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Vitins (EP 2563374 B1) (of record) teaches application of PEG200 to PEG1000 can be topically administered up to 5 times daily to treat HSV-2 as an active agent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brantley, III et al., (US2017/0056383) (“Brantley”).
Brantley teaches treating HSV virus lesion pain by applying a quick and long active anesthetic. See Abstract. HSV-2 is associated with lesions around the genitals and treatment often centers around pain management. See par. 6. When applied to a lesion, relief is immediate and can last for hours. See par. 8. Application of 5% to 95% short and long anesthetics can be formulated as a liquid to apply to human tissues. See par. 12. Tetracaine and procaine are listed as short term anesthetics. Cinchocaine is listed as one of a total of 8 long term anesthetics. See par. 28. In one example, a compositions is applied directly to a herpetic ulcer. See par. 37. There is no indication that an active agent other than a ryanodine receptor antagonist is used and there is no requirement that water be incorporated into the composition. Carriers include nonaqueous carrier including emulsifiers, viscosity modifiers, and others. The total anesthetic in the final composition can be between 15% and 90%. The anesthesia can be maintained in an example for 4-6 hours. This could mean that application could be required up to 4 time daily. See par. 37. Additives can includes many surfactants, penetration enhancers, preservatives, and other additives. These are not limited to any one in particular.
Claims 1-3, 5 and 13 are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brantley, III et al., (US2017/0056383) (“Brantley”), as evidenced by Martin et al., “The effect of local anaesthetics on the ryanodine receptor/Ca2’ release channel of brain microsomal membranes,” FEBS Vol. 328, number 1,2 77-81 (1993).
Brantley teaches treating HSV virus lesion pain by applying a quick and long active anesthetic. See Abstract. HSV-2 is associated with lesions around the genitals and treatment often centers around pain management. See par. 6. When applied to a lesion, relief is immediate and can last for hours. See par. 8. Application of 5% to 95% short and long anesthetics can be formulated as a liquid to apply to human tissues. See par. 12. Tetracaine and procaine are listed as short term anesthetics. Cinchocaine is listed as one of a total of 8 long term anesthetics. See par. 28. In one example, a compositions is applied directly to a herpetic ulcer. See par. 37. There is no indication that an active agent other than a ryanodine receptor antagonist is used and there is no requirement that water be incorporated into the composition. Carriers include nonaqueous carrier including emulsifiers, viscosity modifiers, and others. The total anesthetic in the final composition can be between 15% and 90%. The anesthesia can be maintained in an example for 4-6 hours. This could mean that application could be required up to 4 time daily. See par. 37. Additives can includes many surfactants, penetration enhancers, preservatives, and other additives. These are not limited to any one in particular.
Martin evidences dibucaine and tetracaine are both ryanodine receptor antagonists. See p78, 1st par.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985); Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 9, the result of administration would appear to follow as a product of the active steps of administration. Such steps are taught by the cited prior art. The burden has shifted to Applicant to show that this does not occur as a result of those steps rendered obvious by the cited prior art, but also that the specific limitations and/or requirements to achieve such results is claimed and distinguishes over that which is taught. This would also appear to be a result of an optimizable treatment regimen.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant application to arrive at the claimed methods over Brantley III. One would be motivated to do so because Brantley teaches a composition for topical application to a herpes lesion wherein the composition does not require water and the composition does not require any agent other than ryanodine receptor antagonists. However, Brantley also teaches tetracaine to be a short lasting API that can be topically applied to a herpes lesion to give immediate relief. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed method in view of the cited prior art. Thus, if a POSA is interested in a composition that provides immediate relief, they would consider using tetracaine without an additional secondary ryanodine receptor antagonist.
Claims 1-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brantley, III et al., (US2017/0056383) (“Brantley”), as evidenced by Martin et al., “The effect of local anaesthetics on the ryanodine receptor/Ca2’ release channel of brain microsomal membranes,” FEBS Vol. 328, number 1,2 77-81 (1993), and in view of Jackson et al., (U.S. Pat. No. 6,461,644).
Brantley teaches treating HSV virus lesion pain by applying a quick and long active anesthetic. See Abstract. HSV-2 is associated with lesions around the genitals and treatment often centers around pain management. See par. 6. When applied to a lesion, relief is immediate and can last for hours. See par. 8. Application of 5% to 95% short and long anesthetics can be formulated as a liquid to apply to human tissues. See par. 12. Tetracaine and procaine are listed as short term anesthetics. Cinchocaine is listed as one of a total of 8 long term anesthetics. See par. 28. In one example, a compositions is applied directly to a herpetic ulcer. See par. 37. There is no indication that an active agent other than a ryanodine receptor antagonist is used and there is no requirement that water be incorporated into the composition. Carriers include nonaqueous carrier including emulsifiers, viscosity modifiers, and others. The total anesthetic in the final composition can be between 15% and 90%. The anesthesia can be maintained in an example for 4-6 hours. This could mean that application could be required up to 4 time daily. See par. 37. Additives can includes many surfactants, penetration enhancers, preservatives, and other additives. These are not limited to any one in particular.
Martin evidences dibucaine and tetracaine are both ryanodine receptor antagonists. See p78, 1st par.
Jackson teaches anesthetic including tetracaine base for use with a polymer carrier at concentrations to topically treat pain. Tetracaine and dibucaine are taught to last longer following removal of a film patch and are thus more ideal. Anesthesia can work for subjects with herpes infections for topical pain relief. Prior art claim 1 provides for a drug delivery polymer and a drug, wherein the drug is a topical anesthetic in base form and the topical anesthetic can be selected from tetracaine as one of few API’s. Jackson teaches an anesthetizing plastic reservoir base that provides for a slower continued release and anesthetizing effect.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985); Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 9, the result of administration would appear to follow as a product of the active steps of administration. Such steps are taught by the cited prior art. The burden has shifted to Applicant to show that this does not occur as a result of those steps rendered obvious by the cited prior art, but also that the specific limitations and/or requirements to achieve such results is claimed and distinguishes over that which is taught. This would also appear to be a result of an optimizable treatment regimen.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant application to arrive at the claimed methods over Brantley III and Jackson. One would be motivated to do so because Brantley teaches a composition for topical application to a herpes lesion wherein the composition does not require water and the composition does not require any agent other than ryanodine receptor antagonists. However, Brantley also teaches tetracaine to be a short lasting API that can be topically applied to a herpes lesion to give immediate relief. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed method in view of the cited prior art. Moreover, Jackson teaches a composition for topical application to treat herpes lesions wherein the only API is tetracaine, e.g. Further, Jackson provides embodiments in which a carrier provides for longer delivery of the API. This would further highlight the ability to not require other anesthetics because a controlled and longer-term release of tetracaine can be achieved with a carrier when topically applied in a form taught by Jackson.
As such, no claim is allowed.
Conclusion
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628