DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3, 5-7, 11-13, 17-21, 24-26 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al (U.S. Patent Number: US 9731141, hereinafter “Tran”- APPLICANT CITED) in view of Forsell (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2011/0196452, hereinafter “Forsell”).
Regarding claims 1, 26 and 51, Tran teaches an implantable medical device, an interrogator device and a method of controlling power provided to a device implantable in a subject (e.g. Abstract), comprising, at the implantable device (e.g. 36 Fig.1):
receiving powering ultrasonic waves from an interrogator (i.e. energy delivery device 40 Fig.1 sends acoustic ultrasound waves to the implantable medical device (IMD e.g. Col. 3 lines 50-63) 36 Fig. 1), the powering ultrasonic waves having a wave power (i.e. ultrasonic waves e.g. col. 3 lines 63-67, col. 4 line 66-col. 5 line 3);
converting energy from the powering ultrasonic waves into an electrical signal to power the implantable device (i.e. IMD 36 converts acoustic energy received into electrical energy which can be used immediately or stored for later use e.g. Col.3, lines 56-59).
While Tran does teach transmitting information to the interrogator (i.e. a responsive signal is sent by the IMD 36 back to the energy delivery device 40 that indicates a signal strength e.g. Col.5 lines 48-65), Tran does not specifically teach comparing a supply power provided by the electrical signal to a consumed power consumed by the implantable device; and transmitting to the interrogator information that indicates whether more power or less power should be transmitted to the implantable device, wherein the information is based on the comparison of the supply power to the consumed power.
In a similar field of endeavor, Forsell teaches a method and apparatus for supplying energy to an implant (e.g. Fig. 1, Abstract, [0108], [0485]: the wireless energy may be transmitted by means of sound) and further teaches comparing a supply power provided by the electrical signal to a consumed power consumed by the implantable device (e.g. [0236]: The amount of energy received by the implanted energy receiver may be compared with the energy used by the implanted components of the apparatus, In order to transfer the correct amount of energy, the energy balance and the required amount of energy is determined by means of a determination device including an implanted internal control unit X1015 (Fig.2) connected between the second switch X1028 and the medical device X100, Fig.2, [0239]); and
transmitting to the interrogator information that indicates whether more power or less power should be transmitted to the implantable device, wherein the information is based on the comparison of the supply power to the consumed power (e.g. Fig.2, [0239]: internal control unit X1015 is further connected to an internal signal transmitter X1027, arranged to transmit a control signal reflecting the determined required amount of energy, to an external signal receiver X1004c connected to the external control unit X1004b. The amount of energy transmitted from the external energy source X1004a may then be regulated in response to the received control signal, [0230]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Tran to compare the supplied power to consumed power and transmit information to the interrogator based on the comparison as taught by Forsell in order to provide the predictable results of ensuring the appropriate amount of energy is supplied.
Regarding claim 3, Tran in view of Forsell teaches the claimed invention and since they teach sending a control signal internal control unit X1015 is further connected to an internal signal transmitter X1027, arranged to transmit a control signal reflecting the determined required amount of energy, to an external signal receiver X1004c connected to the external control unit X1004b ( e.g. [0239]) as discussed above, they teach the information comprises a request, generated based on an available power at the implantable device and the consumed power, for either more or less power from the interrogator as claimed.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Tran in view of Forsell teaches the invention as claimed as discussed above and Tran further teaches receiving communication ultrasonic waves from the interrogator ( i.e. energy delivery device 40 sends signals to the IMD 36, e.g. 310 Fig.3, Col. 5 lines 50-53) ; and emitting an ultrasonic backscatter (i.e. a responsive signal is transmitted back to the energy delivery device 40 from the IMD 36 e.g. 320 Fig.3, Col. 5 lines 53-58, col. 6 lines 41-51i.e. The IMD 36 receives the acoustic signal and, in response, transmits a series of signals back to the energy delivery device) of the communication ultrasonic waves, wherein the ultrasonic backscatter encodes the information and generating an electrical signal based on the communication ultrasonic waves; and modulating the generated electrical signal based on the information, wherein the modulated electrical signal encodes the information into the ultrasonic backscatter (e.g. Col.5 lines 54-65, col. 6 lines 41-51).
Regarding claim 7, Tran in view of Forsell teaches the invention as claimed as discussed above and Tran further teaches receiving second powering ultrasonic waves from the interrogator that is configured to generate the second powering ultrasonic waves to have a second wave power based on the information (e.g. 330, 340 Fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 59-65 col. 6 lines 46-51).
Regarding claim 11, Tran in view of Forsell teaches the invention as claimed and Tran further teaches that the powering ultrasonic waves are received at an ultrasonic transducer (e.g. 38 Fig.1, Col. 3 lines 45-55) of the implantable device, and wherein determining the supply power comprises based on a maximum voltage of the ultrasonic transducer of the implantable medical device (e.g. Col. 6 line 8-15,i.e. IMD sends a response signal which is a measurement of the acoustic signal amplitude and therefore they determine maximum voltage of the ultrasonic transducer and determine available power based on it) .
Regarding claims 12, 13 and 55, Tran in view of Forsell teaches the invention as claimed as discussed above except for wherein determining the available power comprises charging an energy storage device based on the electrical signal; and determining an accessible power based on energy stored at the energy storage device and wherein the information indicates whether more or less power should be transmitted to the implantable device based on the accessible power.
Forsell further teaches charging an energy storage device based on the electrical signal and determining an accessible power based on energy stored at the energy storage device (e.g. [0226]: an energy storing device or accumulator, not shown here, may also be connected to the energy receiver X102 for accumulating received energy for later use by the medical device X100, additionally, characteristics of such an energy storing device, also reflecting the required amount of energy, may be measured as well) and wherein the accessible power is determined based on a rate of change of the energy stored at the energy storage device and wherein the information that indicates whether more power or less power should be transmitted to the implantable device is based on the accessible power (e.g. [0091]-[0095]: energy balance is determined and transmission of energy is controlled based on the storing rate corresponds to a reception rate).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Tran to include the teachings of Forsell as discussed above in order to provide the predictable results of ensuring that the correct amount of energy is supplied to the implant.
Regarding claims 17-21, 24 and 25, since Tran in view of Forsell teaches comparing a supply power provided by the electrical signal to a consumed power consumed by the implantable device; and transmitting to the interrogator information that indicates whether more power or less power should be transmitted to the implantable device, wherein the information is based on the comparison of the supply power to the consumed power as discussed above and therefore Tran in view of Forsell teaches determining if the supply power exceeds the consumed power.
They do not specifically teach charging an energy storage device based on a first voltage generated by the electrical signal at a first voltage node, wherein charging the energy storage device reduces the first voltage and
determining whether the energy storage device is fully charged and transmitting to the interrogator the information comprising an indication that the implantable device is being over powered that is configured to be receivable by the interrogator and causes the interrogator to generate second powering ultrasonic waves that have a second wave power that is less than the wave power of the powering ultrasonic waves and determining if the first voltage exceeds a predefined voltage level; and in response to determining that the first voltage exceeds the predefined voltage level and that the energy storage device is fully charged, opening one or more switches configured to generate the electrical signal from the powering ultrasonic waves to reduce the supply power and in response to determining that the supply power is less than the consumed power, transmitting to the interrogator the information comprising an indication that the implantable device is being under powered and receivable by the interrogator and causes the interrogator to generate second powering ultrasonic waves having a second wave power greater than the wave power of the powering ultrasonic waves.
Forsell teaches that the amount of energy received by the implanted energy receiver may be stored in an energy storing device such as a battery and optimized so that the battery receives optimal amount of energy to avoid excessive heating (e.g. [0226]) and transmit a control signal S to the external device to send more energy or stop sending more energy based on the battery condition (e.g. [0226]-[0233]) and therefore they teach charging an energy storage device and sending feedback as a control signal S based on the battery status and regulating the amount of energy transmitted.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the teachings of Tran in view of Forsell with charging the battery of the implantable device, determining the energy balance and optimizing the energy supplied to the battery based on the battery condition in order to avoid excessing heating as taught by Forsell in order to provide the predictable results of improving safety of the device and estimate an accurate indication of the correct amount of energy needed, which is sufficient to operate the medical device properly, but without causing undue temperature rise.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al (U.S. Patent Number: US 9731141, hereinafter “Tran” - APPLICANT CITED) in view of Forsell (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2011/0196452, hereinafter “Forsell”) and further in view of Park (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2017/0201130A1, hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 8, Tran in view of Forsell teaches the invention as claimed as discussed above and they teach that the interrogator is configured to adjust an instantaneous intensity value and a pulse width of the signal based on the information as discussed above, however they do not specifically teach that the powering ultrasonic waves comprise a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal.
Park teaches a system and method for transmitting ultrasonic power comprising a pulse width modulator to convert the energy into a PWM signal (e.g. [0088]-[0090]). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have pulse width modulated powering ultrasonic wave signals as taught by Park in order to provide the predictable results of optimally improving conversion efficiency at a specific frequency band.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al (U.S. Patent Number: US 9731141, hereinafter “Tran” - APPLICANT CITED) in view of Forsell (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2011/0196452, hereinafter “Forsell”) and further in view of Gandhi et al (U.S. Patent Number: US 8214164, hereinafter “Gandhi” - APPLICANT CITED).
Regarding claim 15, Tran in view of Forsell teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for determining the consumed power of the implantable device based on an operating mode of the implantable device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Gandhi teaches an implantable medical device (e.g. Col.8 lines 54-62) with power supply (e.g. Abstract) and further teaches estimating battery usage (i.e. estimate battery longevity based on pace mode and pacing parameters of the IMD Col. 6 lines 14-18) and therefore the consumed power of the implantable device based on an operating mode of the implantable device. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify method of Tran in view of Forsell to include determining consumed power of the implantable device based on an operating mode of the implantable device as taught by Gandhi in order to provide the predictable results of estimation of battery longevity.
Regarding claim 16, Tran in view of Forsell teaches the invention as claimed and Tran teaches that the consumed power is consumed by the IMD and thus the load circuit, they do not specifically teach determining the consumed power based on a detected value of electrical current driving a load circuit of the implantable device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Gandhi teaches an implantable medical device (e.g. Col.8 lines 54-62) with power supply (e.g. Abstract) and further teaches estimating battery usage (i.e. estimate battery longevity based on pacing parameters of the IMD Col. 6 lines 14-18) and therefore they teach determining the consumed power based on a detected value of an electrical current driving a load circuit of the implantable medical device. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify method of Tran in view of Forsell to include determining the consumed power based on the detected value of an electrical current driving the load circuit of the implantable device as taught by Gandhi in order to provide the predictable results of estimation of battery longevity.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5-8,11-26, 51 and 55 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. US 12233269. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is broader and overlaps the subject matter of U.S. Patent No. US 12233269 as shown below. Additionally independent claim 26 and 51 of the current application also recite similar subject matter as claims 24 and 25 of U.S. Patent No. US12233269. Further dependent claims 3,5-8,11-25 and 55 recite limitations that are similar to the dependent claims 2-23 of U.S. Patent No. US 12233269.
Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
No prior art was found teaching individually, or suggesting in combination, all of the features of the applicants' invention, specifically "controlling one or more switches to control a plurality of capacitors configured to convert a first voltage generated by the electrical signal into a second voltage to power the implantable device; and determining the available supply power based on a switching frequency of at least one of the one or more switches” as claimed in claim 14 in combination with the recited limitations of the claimed invention.
No prior art was found teaching individually, or suggesting in combination, all of the features of the applicants' invention, specifically " determining if the first voltage exceeds a predefined voltage level; and in response to determining that the first voltage exceeds the predefined voltage level and that the energy storage device is fully charged, opening one or more switches configured to generate the electrical signal from the powering ultrasonic waves to reduce the supply power ” as claimed in claim 22 in combination with the recited limitations of the claimed invention.
While no prior art rejection has been applied for claims 14, 22 and 23, they are not indicated as allowable due to the double patenting rejections discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Penner et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2004/0172083 A1, hereinafter “Penner”) teaches an implantable stimulation system that comprises an implantable stimulator and a control device. The control device is configured to transmit acoustic waves to the implantable stimulator, and the implantable stimulator is configured to transform the acoustic waves into electrical current and generate stimulation energy based on the electrical current.
/MALLIKA D FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792