DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-28, 31-37, 40-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oh (US 2021/0005006 A1).
Consider claim 23, Oh teaches a video decoding device (reception device. Fig. 1; a point cloud data reception device. Fig. 22), comprising: a processor configured to (system in Fig. 1 may be implemented by hardware, software, a processor, and/or combination thereof. [0095]; Each element of the point cloud data transmission device and the point cloud data reception device in accordance with some embodiments may be hardware, software, a processor, and/or a combination thereof. [0100]): receive a media container file (The decapsulation processor (file/segment decapsulation) may decapsulate files or segments in accordance with ISOBMFF, etc., to acquire a point cloud bitstream or point cloud-related metadata (or a separate metadata bitstream). [0418]) associated with a three-dimensional (3D) point cloud (Fig. 24-26 show point cloud data in the format of an ISOBMFF file), wherein the media container file indicates an atlas track associated with an atlas frame of the 3D point cloud (Atlas represents a set of 2D bounding boxes. It may be patches, for example, patches projected onto a rectangular frame. [0146]. The V-PCC contains a patch data group that contains a patch tile group, which may be referred to as an atlas tile group. [0578] – [0580]. The atlas stream included in the G-PCC/V-PCC bitstream may be decapsulated based on a track in the file, and related signaling information may be parsed. [0422]. Atlas stream included on the V-PCC bitstream is stored as a track in the file. [0410]), the atlas track comprising information regarding one or more tiles of the atlas frame (The V-PCC contains a patch data group that contains a patch tile group, which may be referred to as an atlas tile group…. Signaling or flag information related to the patch tile group may be understood as information signaling an atlas tile group or information signaling each atlas tile. [0578] – [0580].); obtain the information regarding the one or more tiles of the atlas frame based on the atlas track (The decapsulation or decapsulator in accordance with some embodiments may divide and parse (decapsulate) the G-PCC/V-PCC bitstream based on one or more tracks in a file, and may also decapsulate signaling information therefor. The atlas stream included in the G-PCC/V-PCC bitstream may be decapsulated based on a track in the file, and related signaling information may be parsed. [0422]. The V-PCC contains a patch data group that contains a patch tile group, which may be referred to as an atlas tile group. [0578] – [0580]); and decode at least a part of the atlas frame based on the obtained information (The video decoding or video decoder 22001 in Fig. 22 performs geometry video decompression, attribute video decompression, occupancy map decompression, auxiliary data decompression, and/or mesh data decompression. The video decoder decodes the geometry video, the attribute video, the auxiliary data, and/or the mesh data in a process corresponding to the process performed by the video encoder of the point cloud transmission device. [0423]. The auxiliary data includes information about the patches. [0393]).
Consider claim 24, Oh teaches the one or more tiles correspond to a first subset of tiles of the atlas frame (Atlas represents a set of 2D bounding boxes. It may be patches, for example, patches projected onto a rectangular frame. [0146]. A patch tile group in accordance with embodiments may be referred to as an atlas tile group. In accordance with embodiments, a patch data group may include a patch tile group including a plurality of patch tiles, or may include patch tiles individually. Further, in accordance with embodiments, the patch tile group may include one or more atlas tiles. [0577] – [0580]).
Consider claim 25, Oh teaches the media container file further indicates at least one other atlas track associated with the atlas frame (Atlas represents a set of 2D bounding boxes. It may be patches, for example, patches projected onto a rectangular frame. [0146]. A patch tile group in accordance with embodiments may be referred to as an atlas tile group. In accordance with embodiments, a patch data group may include a patch tile group including a plurality of patch tiles, or may include patch tiles individually. Further, in accordance with embodiments, the patch tile group may include one or more atlas tiles. [0577] – [0580]. The patch data group (PDG) 28030 in the V-PCC bitstream may include patch parameters such as PDG_PSPS, PDG_PFPS, PDG_PFGPS, PDG_PFAPS, PDG_GPPS, and PDG_APPS. [0582]; A PDG, which is the patch data group 28030, may be included in the V-PCC track 24002d in accordance with embodiments. [0583]), the at least one other atlas track comprising information regarding a second subset of tiles of the atlas frame (Atlas represents a set of 2D bounding boxes. It may be patches, for example, patches projected onto a rectangular frame. [0146]. A patch tile group in accordance with embodiments may be referred to as an atlas tile group. In accordance with embodiments, a patch data group may include a patch tile group including a plurality of patch tiles, or may include patch tiles individually. Further, in accordance with embodiments, the patch tile group may include one or more atlas tiles. [0577] – [0580].).
Consider claim 26, Oh teaches the atlas track includes an indication of the number of tiles associated with in the atlas track (pfti_num_tile_groups_in_patch_frame_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of tile groups in each patch frame referring to the PFPS. [0872]).
Consider claim 27, Oh teaches the atlas track includes an indication of an identifier associated with the one or more tiles (pfti_tile_group_id[i] specifies the tile group ID of the i-th tile group. [0875] – [0877]).
Consider claim 28, Oh teaches the atlas track includes an indication that the one or more tiles belong to a tile group (pfti_top_left_tile_idx[i] specifies the tile index of the tile located at the top-left corner of the i-th tile group. [0873] – [0874]).
Consider claim 31, Oh teaches the media container file further indicates a sample entry associated with the atlas track (the stsd type box 25005a may include a sample entry for a V-PCC track in accordance with embodiments. The sample entry in accordance with some embodiments may be a vpcl type box 25006a and/or a vpcg type box 25006b. [0508] – [0515] and Fig. 25).
Consider claim 32, Oh teaches the processor is configured to decode the part of the atlas frame independently from one or more other parts of the atlas frame (I patch tile group. [0885] and [0921]).
Consider claim 33, claim 33 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 23. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 34, Oh teaches the one or more tiles correspond to a first subset of tiles of the atlas frame (Atlas represents a set of 2D bounding boxes. It may be patches, for example, patches projected onto a rectangular frame. [0146]. A patch tile group in accordance with embodiments may be referred to as an atlas tile group. In accordance with embodiments, a patch data group may include a patch tile group including a plurality of patch tiles, or may include patch tiles individually. Further, in accordance with embodiments, the patch tile group may include one or more atlas tiles. [0577] – [0580]), and wherein the media container file further indicates at least one other atlas track that comprises information regarding a second subset of tiles of the atlas frame (Atlas represents a set of 2D bounding boxes. It may be patches, for example, patches projected onto a rectangular frame. [0146]. A patch tile group in accordance with embodiments may be referred to as an atlas tile group. In accordance with embodiments, a patch data group may include a patch tile group including a plurality of patch tiles, or may include patch tiles individually. Further, in accordance with embodiments, the patch tile group may include one or more atlas tiles. [0577] – [0580]. The patch data group (PDG) 28030 in the V-PCC bitstream may include patch parameters such as PDG_PSPS, PDG_PFPS, PDG_PFGPS, PDG_PFAPS, PDG_GPPS, and PDG_APPS. [0582]; A PDG, which is the patch data group 28030, may be included in the V-PCC track 24002d in accordance with embodiments. [0583]).
Consider claim 35, claim 35 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 26. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 36, claim 36 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 27. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 37, claim 37 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 28. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 40, claim 40 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 31. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 41, claim 41 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 32. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 42, Oh teaches a video encoding device (transmission device. Fig. 1 and the device in Fig. 21), comprising: a processor (system in Fig. 1 may be implemented by hardware, software, a processor, and/or combination thereof. [0095]; Each element of the point cloud data transmission device and the point cloud data reception device in accordance with some embodiments may be hardware, software, a processor, and/or a combination thereof. [0100]) configured to: determine an atlas track (A file/segment encapsulator (file/segment encapsulation) 21009 encapsulates the video stream(s) and/or image(s) in the form of a file and/or segment. The file/segment encapsulator performs video track encapsulation, metadata track encapsulation, and/or image encapsulation. [0402]; The encapsulation or encapsulator in accordance with some embodiments may divide the V-PCC bitstream into one or multiple tracks and store the same in a file, and may also encapsulate signaling information for this operation. In addition, the atlas stream included on the V-PCC bitstream may be stored as a track in the file, and related signaling information may be stored. Furthermore, an SEI message present in the V-PCC bitstream may be stored in a track in the file and related signaling information may be stored. [0410]) associated with an atlas frame of a three-dimensional (3D) point cloud (Atlas represents a set of 2D bounding boxes. It may be patches, for example, patches projected onto a rectangular frame. [0146]. The V-PCC contains a patch data group that contains a patch tile group, which may be referred to as an atlas tile group. [0578] – [0580].), wherein the atlas track comprises information regarding a subset of tiles of the atlas frame (Atlas represents a set of 2D bounding boxes. It may be patches, for example, patches projected onto a rectangular frame. [0146]. The V-PCC contains a patch data group that contains a patch tile group, which may be referred to as an atlas tile group…. Signaling or flag information related to the patch tile group may be understood as information signaling an atlas tile group or information signaling each atlas tile. A patch data group may include a patch tile group including a plurality of patch tiles, or may include patch tiles individually. Further, in accordance with embodiments, the patch tile group may include one or more atlas tiles. [0577] – [0580]); generate a media container file that includes the atlas track (The encapsulation processor may encapsulate the corresponding video/image/metadata in a file format such as ISOBMFF. The encapsulation processor may include the point cloud metadata in the file format. The point cloud-related metadata may be included, for example, in boxes at various levels on the ISOBMFF file format or as data in a separate track within the file. In accordance with an embodiment, the encapsulation processor may encapsulate the point cloud-related metadata into a file. The encapsulation or encapsulator in accordance with some embodiments may divide the G-PCC/V-PCC bitstream into one or multiple tracks and store the same in a file, and may also encapsulate signaling information for this operation. In addition, the atlas stream included on the G-PCC/V-PCC bitstream may be stored as a track in the file, and related signaling information may be stored. [0367] – [0368]); and encode the media container file (The encapsulation processor may encapsulate the corresponding video/image/metadata in a file format such as ISOBMFF. The encapsulation processor may include the point cloud metadata in the file format. The point cloud-related metadata may be included, for example, in boxes at various levels on the ISOBMFF file format or as data in a separate track within the file. In accordance with an embodiment, the encapsulation processor may encapsulate the point cloud-related metadata into a file. The encapsulation or encapsulator in accordance with some embodiments may divide the G-PCC/V-PCC bitstream into one or multiple tracks and store the same in a file, and may also encapsulate signaling information for this operation. In addition, the atlas stream included on the G-PCC/V-PCC bitstream may be stored as a track in the file, and related signaling information may be stored. [0367] – [0368]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-30 and 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US 2021/0005006 A1) in view of Denoual et al. (US 2019/0014162 A1).
Consider claim 29, Oh teaches all the limitations in claim 23 but does not explicitly teach the atlas track includes respective network abstraction layer (NAL) units associated with the one or more tiles.
Denoual teaches the atlas track includes respective network abstraction layer (NAL) units associated with the one or more tiles (the NAL units 221 corresponding to tile 1 are described in track 1 (referenced 201) in the TileRegionGroupEntry box 206. [0138] – [0142]; The first NALU map 1008 maps associated NAL units to the TileSetGroupEntry 1010 that describes the inter-layer tile dependencies as illustrated with references 1013 (dependency parameter: dependency_list=2) and 1012 (reference of the tile on which the current tile depends groupID=T01). The other NAL units are mapped to the TileRegionGroupEntry 1011 that does not define any inter-layer or intra-layer dependency. The video data are placed in the ‘mdat’ box 1020 as a list of samples 1021-1023, each conveying the tile data. [0225] – [0228]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of including respective NAL units associated with the one or more tiles because such incorporation would improve stream delivery. [0002].
Consider claim 30, Denoual teaches the atlas track does not include any NAL unit that is not associated with the one or more tiles (the NAL units 221 corresponding to tile 1 are described in track 1 (referenced 201) in the TileRegionGroupEntry box 206. [0138] – [0142]; The first NALU map 1008 maps associated NAL units to the TileSetGroupEntry 1010 that describes the inter-layer tile dependencies as illustrated with references 1013 (dependency parameter: dependency_list=2) and 1012 (reference of the tile on which the current tile depends groupID=T01). The other NAL units are mapped to the TileRegionGroupEntry 1011 that does not define any inter-layer or intra-layer dependency. The video data are placed in the ‘mdat’ box 1020 as a list of samples 1021-1023, each conveying the tile data. [0225] – [0228]. This shows all NAL units are associated with one or more tiles because all the NAL units are either mapped to the TileSetGroupEntry or TileRegionGroupEntry).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of including respective NAL units associated with the one or more tiles because such incorporation would improve stream delivery. [0002].
Consider claim 38, claim 38 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 29. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 39, claim 39 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 30. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486