DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 1/16/25.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (CN108390569, see translation presented by Applicant, hereinafter Xu).
Regarding Claim 1, Xu discloses a power supply circuit (fig. 4) having positive (U1) and negative (U2) output voltages, comprising: a primary side circuit (Np side) comprising: a resonant converter (31, p.2 ¶2); a transformer (32), wherein the transformer comprises a primary side winding (Np) and a secondary side winding (Ns), and the resonant converter is connected to the primary side winding; and a secondary side circuit comprising: a positive voltage output circuit (Ns, D1, D2, C1) connected to the secondary side winding and configured to output a positive output voltage; and a negative voltage output circuit (Ns, D3, D4, C2) connected to the secondary side winding and configured to output a negative output voltage (p.2, ¶3).
Regarding Claim 2, Xu discloses (fig. 4) the secondary side winding of the transformer comprises a first secondary side subwinding (Ns1) and a second secondary side subwinding (Ns2); wherein a first terminal of the first secondary side subwinding is connected to the positive voltage output circuit (U1), and a second terminal of the first secondary side subwinding is connected to ground (GND); wherein a first terminal of the second secondary side subwinding is connected to ground (GND), and a second terminal of the second secondary side subwinding is connected to the positive voltage output circuit (via D2) and the negative voltage output circuit (via D4).
Regarding Claim 3, Xu discloses (fig. 4) the negative voltage output circuit (Ns, D3, D4, C2) comprises: a first inverter diode (D4); and an inverter capacitor (C2); wherein a cathode of the first inverter diode is connected to the second terminal of the second secondary side subwinding, (Ns2) an anode of the first inverter diode is connected to a first terminal of the inverter capacitor (C2), and a second terminal of the inverter capacitor is connected to ground (+ to GND).
Regarding Claim 4, Xu discloses (fig. 4) a voltage of the inverter capacitor is the negative output voltage (U2, GND).
Regarding Claim 5, Xu discloses (fig. 4) the negative voltage output circuit (Ns, D3, D4, C2) further comprises: a second inverter diode (D3), wherein a cathode of the second inverter diode is connected to the first terminal of the first secondary side subwinding (Ns1), and an anode of the second inverter diode is connected to the first terminal of the inverter capacitor (C2).
Regarding Claim 9, Xu discloses (fig. 4) the positive voltage output circuit (Ns, D1, D2, C1) comprises: a first diode (D1); and an output capacitor (C1); wherein an anode of the first diode is connected to the first terminal of the first secondary side subwinding (Ns1), a cathode of the first diode is connected to a first terminal of the output capacitor (C1 +), a second terminal of the output capacitor is connected to ground (GND), and a voltage of the output capacitor is the positive output voltage (U1, GND).
Regarding Claim 10, Xu discloses (fig. 4) the positive voltage output circuit (Ns, D1, D2, C1) further comprises: a second diode (D2), wherein an anode of the second diode is connected to the second terminal of the second secondary side subwinding (Ns2), and a cathode of the second diode is connected to the first terminal of the output capacitor (C1 +).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Goto et al. (US20240006989, hereinafter Goto).
Regarding Claim 6, Xu discloses (fig. 4) the negative voltage output circuit (Ns, D3, D4, C2) comprises: a first diode (D4); and an inverter capacitor (C2); wherein a first terminal of the first diode is connected to the second terminal of the second secondary side subwinding, (Ns2) a second terminal of the first diode is connected to a first terminal of the inverter capacitor (C2), and a second terminal of the inverter capacitor is connected to ground (+ to GND).
Xu does not disclose the first diode is a first transistor.
Goto discloses (fig. 5) the first diode (D2) is a first transistor (¶24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xu to substitute transistors for diodes as disclosed in Goto to implement control and improve efficiency of the circuit.
Regarding Claim 7, Xu discloses (fig. 4) a voltage of the inverter capacitor is the negative output voltage (U2, GND).
Regarding Claim 8, Xu discloses (fig. 4) the negative voltage output circuit (Ns, D3, D4, C2) further comprises: a second diode (D3), wherein a first terminal of the second diode is connected to the first terminal of the first secondary side subwinding (Ns1), a second terminal of the second diode is connected to the first terminal of the inverter capacitor (C2).
Xu does not disclose the second diode is a second transistor.
Goto discloses (fig. 5) the second diode (D1) is a second transistor (¶24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xu to substitute transistors for diodes as disclosed in Goto to implement control and improve efficiency of the circuit.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Wu (US20170079099) further in view of Nishino et al. (US20100109571, hereinafter Nishino).
Regarding Claim 11, Xu does not disclose the power supply circuit further comprises a feedback circuit, a coupling circuit, a resonant control circuit, a protection circuit and a correction control circuit, and the primary side circuit further comprises a filter circuit, a bridge rectifier and a power factor correction circuit; wherein the feedback circuit is configured to output a feedback signal according to the positive output voltage or the negative output voltage; wherein the resonant control circuit is configured to receive the feedback signal from the feedback circuit through the coupling circuit and receive a voltage threshold from the protection circuit, and configured to compare the feedback signal with the voltage threshold to control the resonant control circuit; wherein the filter circuit is configured to filter an alternating current input voltage to form a filtered voltage, the bridge rectifier rectifies the filtered voltage to output a rectified voltage, and the power factor correction circuit is configured to output a direct current input voltage to the resonant control circuit according to the rectified voltage.
Wu discloses a power supply circuit (fig. 1) comprising a feedback circuit (IL1, IL2, Vo1, Vo2 to 60 to (32, 34), a coupling circuit (coupling at 60), a control circuit (60), a protection circuit (circuit providing a preset target value, S140 of fig. 3, ¶57) and a correction control circuit (60), and the primary side circuit further comprises a bridge rectifier (10, ¶27) and a power factor correction circuit (20); wherein the feedback circuit is configured to output a feedback signal according to the positive output voltage or the negative output voltage (Vo1 or Vo2); wherein the resonant control circuit is configured to receive the feedback signal from the feedback circuit through the coupling circuit and receive a voltage threshold from the protection circuit (¶57), and configured to compare the feedback signal with the voltage threshold to control the resonant control circuit (¶58); an alternating current input voltage (AC), the bridge rectifier rectifies the filtered voltage to output a rectified voltage, and the power factor correction circuit is configured to output a direct current input voltage to the resonant control circuit according to the rectified voltage (20 output).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xu to include control system as disclosed in Wu to minimize switching loss of the resonant converter and improve the efficiency of the system.
Nishino discloses (fig. 1a primary circuit comprises a filter circuit (34) wherein the filter circuit is configured to filter an alternating current input voltage (32) to form a filtered voltage (to DB).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Xu to include an AC filter as disclosed in Nishino to smooth the input current from high frequency components thus improving efficiency and quality of resonant system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20030090247, Patel, Amrit P. discloses a leading-edge modulator for post regulation of multiple output voltage power supplies.
US 20060170288, Usui; Hiroshi discloses a resonant DC-DC converter of multi-output type.
US 20140268930, MENDENHALL E discloses an apparatus for providing power supply for half bridge class D amplifier, controls transfer of charge through rectifiers of power supply circuit to compensate off side charging of capacitors on positive and negative supply voltages.
US 20160006361, Park; Sang Gab et al. discloses a multi-output power supply apparatus and output circuit thereof.
US 20160079872, RYU; Dong Kyun et al. discloses a power converter.
US 20240223088, XU; Kuiwei discloses a circuit, fan system, and transformer for power conversion.
US 6317337 Yasumura; Masayuki discloses a switching power supply circuit.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838