Double Patenting
Claim1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,322,381. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application define an invention that is merely an obvious variation of the invention claimed in the patent for the following reasons. Comparing the claims, such as claims 1 of the present application and claim 1of the patent, it is clear that all the elements of the claim 1 are found in claim 1 of the patent. The difference is claim 1 of the patent comprise the additional elements including, wherein the interpret-statement includes a pattern expression, and wherein the interpret-statement includes an action statement, that are not included in claim 1, therefore represents a species of the generic invention of the application claim. Since it has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, claim 1 of the present application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent.
Claims 2-20 correspond to claims 2-20 of the patent.
19026132
12322381
1.A method of building a natural language understanding application, the method including: generating at least one electronic record containing programming code, wherein the programming code includes an interpret-block, wherein the interpret-block includes an interpret-statement; the programming code being executable by a processor such that execution by the processor causes the processor to create a parse and an interpretation of a sequence of input tokens
1.A method of building a natural language understanding application, the method including: generating at least one electronic record containing programming code, wherein the programming code includes an interpret-block, wherein the interpret-block includes an interpret-statement, wherein the interpret-statement includes a pattern expression, and wherein the interpret-statement includes an action statement; the programming code being executable by a processor such that execution by the processor causes the processor to create a parse and an interpretation of a sequence of input tokens.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to
fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kendall et al. (US 5,995,918).
As to claim 1, Kendall teaches a method of building a natural language understanding application, the method including: generating at least one electronic record containing programming code, wherein the programming code (104/122) includes an interpret-block (202/204), wherein the interpret-block includes an interpret-statement 206; the programming code being executable by a processor such that execution by the processor causes the processor to create a parse and an interpretation of a sequence of input tokens (Figs.1-2, 5-8; Col.1, lines 5-15, Col.2, line 1-Col.3, line 10, Col.5, line 20-Col.8, line 9)
As to claim 2, Kendall teaches wherein the interpret-statement includes a pattern expression and an action statement (Col.2, line 43-Col.3, line 12; Fig.5).
As to claim 3, Kendall teaches wherein the pattern expression includes pattern tokens (Abstract; Fig.9).
As to claims 6-7 wherein at least one pattern token refers to a second interpret-block, wherein the second interpret-block has a return variable (Figs.2-6, Col.7, line 20-Col.8, line 56).
As to claim 8, Kendall teaches wherein an extended pattern token table refers to a table of token expressions, and each row in the table has a fixed returned return value, and has no associated action statement (Fig.5).
As to claim 9, Kendall teaches wherein the parse is a parse tree, and represents the interpret-block and interpret-statement data structures (Fig.3).
Regarding claims 10-11, 13-18 and 20, the corresponding instructions and system comprising the steps similar to the claims addressed above are analogous, therefore rejected as being anticipated by Kendall et al. for the foregoing reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 4-5, 12 and 19 are allowable because Kendal doesn’t teach wherein the pattern tokens are associated with weights and wherein the weights are automatically normalized.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jackson et al. “Method And System For Building And Running Natural Language Understanding Systems” (US 6629066) (Figs.2-7).
Lundberg et al. (US 2013/0268260) “SYSTEM AND METHODS FOR SEMIAUTOMATIC GENERATION AND TUNING OF NATURAL LANGUAGE INTERACTION APPLICATIONS” (Figs.5-10).
/DANIEL ABEBE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657