DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification was received on 5/13/2026. The replacement is acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument in the Remarks, reference Lee (US 20210160497 A1) under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA , holds an effective filing date of July 3, 2019, is therefore prior to the effective filing date of august 23, 2019 of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130101035 A1 Wang; Ye-Kui et al. (hereafter Wang), and further in view of US 20210160497 A1 Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses A method of decoding a video (Fig.1), the method comprising: obtaining, from a bitstream, a current picture of the video, wherein the current picture is partitioned into a plurality of tiles (Fig.7, [07]); determining that the current picture is associated with a rectangular slice type (Fig.5, [121], [125], the syntax element representing the type of tile group, the slice, for a picture would be determined); parsing, from the bitstream, a flag representing whether a number of slices in the current picture is one ([62], [124]-[126], decapsulation unit parses encoded input SPS carrying tile grouping information to obtain bitwise flags such as num_tile_groups_minus2 or NumTileGroups), wherein a value of the flag is one of: a first value representing that the number of slices in the current picture is one ([126]), or a second value representing that the number of slices in the current picture is greater than one([127]-[131]); determining whether to parse slice configuration information from the bitstream based on the flag ([62], decapsulation is the parsing process based on tile group information such as NumTileGroups) ,
Wang fails to disclose wherein determining whether to parse slice configuration information from the bitstream comprises at least one of: responsive to determining that the number of slices in the current picture is one, refraining from parsing the slice configuration information from the bitstream, or responsive to determining that the number of slices in the current picture is greater than one, parsing the slice configuration information from the bitstream; and decoding, from the bitstream, the video based on the determination whether to the parse slice configuration information from the bitstream.
However, Lee teaches wherein determining whether to parse slice configuration information from the bitstream comprises at least one of ([119]): responsive to determining that the number of slices in the current picture is one, refraining from parsing the slice configuration information from the bitstream, or responsive to determining that the number of slices in the current picture is greater than one, parsing the slice configuration information from the bitstream ([08], a firs slice being a last is a single slice that would omit being parsed, if the first one being not a last means there are more slices that would lead to parsing); and decoding, from the bitstream, the video based on the determination whether to the parse slice configuration information from the bitstream ([119]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of decoding a video disclosed by Wang to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Lee, in order to improve encoding/decoding efficiency, as identified by Lee.
Regarding claims 2, 6, 10, Lee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, based on the flag, that the number of slices in the current picture is greater than one; and responsive to determining that the number of slices in the current picture is greater than one, parsing the slice configuration information from the bitstream ([08]).
Regarding claims 3, 7, 11, Wang discloses The method of claim 2, where the slice configuration information comprises syntax representing an index of a tile included in one of the slices ([123]).
Regarding claims 4, 8, 12, Lee teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the slice configuration information comprises syntax representing a difference between a first index of a first tile and a second index of a second tile, wherein the first tile and the second tile are included in one of the slices (Fig.31, [3921]).
Regarding claims 5, 9, see the rejection for claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY Y. LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487